Wexford Clubs In The Leinster Club Hurling Championship

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Oulart were as good as those teams. They were better than Kilcormac Killoughey, Coolderry, MLR. But these 3 knew how to hurl in winter when skill can be out-battled.
I think I remember Oulart beating Ballyhale and James Stephens and losing to these teams. Crazy."
On the day they weren't better than the Offaly teams or MLR. That's why they lost. MLR only narrowly lost to Ballyhale last year and Offaly teams have far more AIs won than Wexford teams. Oulart had some of the best hurlers in Wexford at the time, half the intercounty team, but it has to be remembered that the Wexford team of the late noughties early teens was probably the worst since before WW2. I desperately wanted to see Oulart win an AI but fact is they just weren't quite good enough.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 11/11/2022 18:17:35    2447234

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Oulart were as good as those teams. They were better than Kilcormac Killoughey, Coolderry, MLR. But these 3 knew how to hurl in winter when skill can be out-battled.
I think I remember Oulart beating Ballyhale and James Stephens and losing to these teams. Crazy."
On the day they weren't better than the Offaly teams or MLR. That's why they lost. MLR only narrowly lost to Ballyhale last year and Offaly teams have far more AIs won than Wexford teams. Oulart had some of the best hurlers in Wexford at the time, half the intercounty team, but it has to be remembered that the Wexford team of the late noughties early teens was probably the worst since before WW2. I desperately wanted to see Oulart win an AI but fact is they just weren't quite good enough.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 11/11/2022 18:17:49    2447235

Replying To Punter72007:  "EGS - All good points.

I'd add in another.
Oulart in their prime (7-15 years ago) didn't have as much competition internally in Wexford.
And this was a bad thing for them because with tighter matches, you get exposure to more pressure, tighter marking and clutch shots. You get battle hardened for very tough matches.
When they came up against quality opposition, they didn't have that tight match experience."
But maybe it did affect BG, look how long it took them to get the upper hand of NAP, with an apparently better panel.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 12/11/2022 10:25:03    2447274

Replying To Punter72007:  "EGS - All good points.

I'd add in another.
Oulart in their prime (7-15 years ago) didn't have as much competition internally in Wexford.
And this was a bad thing for them because with tighter matches, you get exposure to more pressure, tighter marking and clutch shots. You get battle hardened for very tough matches.
When they came up against quality opposition, they didn't have that tight match experience."
But maybe it did affect BG, look how long it took them to get the upper hand of NAP, with an apparently better panel.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 12/11/2022 10:25:18    2447275

They were good enough to win an AI, it's just that they struggled in Winter conditions. For as good as they were technically, they were never the biggest physically. Fair play to MLR for beating them but MLR were quite limited back then in terms of their hurling, they were able to physically over-power Oulart and had a good free-taker in Denis Murphy. Just looking back at it and they scored a grand total of four points from play that day. Kilcormac/Killoughey were again not as good as Oulart in terms of their technical ability but had a very physical side and their full-forward line were able to physically dominate the Oulart full-back line. To be fair to Coolderry, they were a good technical side and were probably the best team to beat Oulart in the four finals they lost, O'Loughlin Gaels probably the second best.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 12/11/2022 11:18:52    2447278

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "They were good enough to win an AI, it's just that they struggled in Winter conditions. For as good as they were technically, they were never the biggest physically. Fair play to MLR for beating them but MLR were quite limited back then in terms of their hurling, they were able to physically over-power Oulart and had a good free-taker in Denis Murphy. Just looking back at it and they scored a grand total of four points from play that day. Kilcormac/Killoughey were again not as good as Oulart in terms of their technical ability but had a very physical side and their full-forward line were able to physically dominate the Oulart full-back line. To be fair to Coolderry, they were a good technical side and were probably the best team to beat Oulart in the four finals they lost, O'Loughlin Gaels probably the second best."
Hurling isn't all about technical ability. That attitude has been a big problem in the way Wexford look at players from underage upwards and a big reason why we haven't had the senior success our playing numbers would suggest we should have.
Bear with me on this because it is a little left field. A lad who is going to be tall as an adult usually does most of his growing between 11 and 16. Around the age Larry O Brother states is when you can spot a good hurler. He said development when you get to adult stage doesn't really happen. If you are going to be very good you will be spotted at that age. Problem with that is if you are growing inches a month you are going to look uncoordinated and bad at hurling. If you don't believe me try basic hurling skills like even picking up the ball while wearing 3 or 4 inch platform shoes. Your hand eye coordination will be a little out. If your arms grow an inch in length in a short period of time it will surely affect your judgement when catching the ball. I remember lads at school that fell over their own feet while in the midst of a growth spurt.
Limerick stuck with lads like Hegarty and Hayes when their hurling wasn't technically as sharp. And they are reaping the benefits now.
Anyway back to your point. Oulart had some great technical hurlers back then. Alot of them backboned our Senior intercounty team. Rory Jacob was very good in particular and having seen him 3 or 4 times this year he is still technically very good. But to win top level games of hurling you need more than technically good hurlers. Apart from technical ability factors like heart, drive, teamwork, having really good players in the important positions, having height in positions where you need height, and strength as in not height but good core strength, etc are all factors in what makes a good hurling team. Consistency was another problem that great Oulart team had. They didn't turn up in some of those games you mention above.
I think it's a bit simplistic just to blame Oularts lack of an AI on winter pitches. Firstly their opponents had to play on the same pitches. And secondly that's when the AI Club championships were actually played. And still are. So it's kind of irrelevant discussing who would have won AIs IF they were played in the summer.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 12/11/2022 14:53:05    2447297

Oulart out, that's a big shock. Wexford clubs don't exactly have a stellar record in the Intermediate and Junior Championships but the sense I got was that Dublin clubs have been even worse. And my (Possibly mistaken) understanding of the Dublin Senior Hurling Championship was that it was very top-heavy so that the Intermediate Championship would be quite weak as a result.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 12/11/2022 15:53:39    2447304

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Oulart out, that's a big shock. Wexford clubs don't exactly have a stellar record in the Intermediate and Junior Championships but the sense I got was that Dublin clubs have been even worse. And my (Possibly mistaken) understanding of the Dublin Senior Hurling Championship was that it was very top-heavy so that the Intermediate Championship would be quite weak as a result."
Penalties a tough way to lose but Naomh Barrog would be known as only a decent intermediate side in Dublin who had a good run this year but then again I don't rate Wexford club hurling as a high standard for a Liam McCarthy standard.

But then again Danesfort of Kilkenny got knocked out by the Meath champions Trim today at home in Nowlan park so intermediate Leinster is no walk in the park.

Funnily enough Naas who won Intermediate AI title last year moved up to senior this year and hammered the Offaly senior champions today Shinrone.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 718 - 12/11/2022 16:58:12    2447309

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Oulart out, that's a big shock. Wexford clubs don't exactly have a stellar record in the Intermediate and Junior Championships but the sense I got was that Dublin clubs have been even worse. And my (Possibly mistaken) understanding of the Dublin Senior Hurling Championship was that it was very top-heavy so that the Intermediate Championship would be quite weak as a result."
I'm sure there are some even within their own ranks who will attribute some of the blame to entering the junior B football. The greatest irony of it all is if the hurling championship was played second, when its perceived to be a more unfavourable time of year to play it, at least the respective champions would be sharper entering Leinster.

Bit of a shock alright, and I heard they beat Ferns in a practise match in preparation.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 12/11/2022 17:37:14    2447314

They haven't hurled at championship intensity in nearly 2 months, not exactly that much of a shock

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 12/11/2022 17:59:52    2447315

Was in Parnell park today and first and foremost what a disgrace Parnell park was pitch was shambolic. And no you can't blame the weather because weather was not as bad as it was in wexford this week. Secondly 3 month lay off badly hampered them especially in the first half touch was poor.Free taking was way off. Missed 3 missed a 65 and hit the post from another one. Best players for oulart was probably eoin Moore, Gareth Sinnott, Rory Jacob when he came on. Martin og storey caught a lot of balls but had no runners and no offence was terrible in his execution. Half forward line was very small and high balls which they used a good bit was terrible. And typical wexford teams found it hard to win the dirty ball. Disappointing result especially with danesfort gone aswell. As for the ref we'll say nothing

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 259 - 12/11/2022 18:19:28    2447317

Barróg wouldn't get within 20 points of the Dublin semi finalists. Great achievement for them against one of the great Wexford clubs.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2528 - 12/11/2022 18:30:03    2447318

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Barróg wouldn't get within 20 points of the Dublin semi finalists. Great achievement for them against one of the great Wexford clubs."
Very disappointing for Oulart. All the talk for their last while
Was there walk to the all ireland. Seemed to be caught cold today, I know they hadn't played in a while but would of been heavy favourites today. They will say the football has cost them but maybe standard of intermediate in Wexford is poor. Also Just saw a video of the fighting in front of the stand from the match, looks like more supporters involved than the actual players.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 12/11/2022 19:20:44    2447322

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Was in Parnell park today and first and foremost what a disgrace Parnell park was pitch was shambolic. And no you can't blame the weather because weather was not as bad as it was in wexford this week. Secondly 3 month lay off badly hampered them especially in the first half touch was poor.Free taking was way off. Missed 3 missed a 65 and hit the post from another one. Best players for oulart was probably eoin Moore, Gareth Sinnott, Rory Jacob when he came on. Martin og storey caught a lot of balls but had no runners and no offence was terrible in his execution. Half forward line was very small and high balls which they used a good bit was terrible. And typical wexford teams found it hard to win the dirty ball. Disappointing result especially with danesfort gone aswell. As for the ref we'll say nothing"
Just seen a video of disgraceful scenes on and off the pitch in Parnell park today. These mass brawls have to be stopped once and for all and as for the behaviour in the stand with punches being thrown by a number of so called supporters….it's just depressing.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 12/11/2022 19:39:37    2447324

Replying To Viking66:  "Hurling isn't all about technical ability. That attitude has been a big problem in the way Wexford look at players from underage upwards and a big reason why we haven't had the senior success our playing numbers would suggest we should have.
Bear with me on this because it is a little left field. A lad who is going to be tall as an adult usually does most of his growing between 11 and 16. Around the age Larry O Brother states is when you can spot a good hurler. He said development when you get to adult stage doesn't really happen. If you are going to be very good you will be spotted at that age. Problem with that is if you are growing inches a month you are going to look uncoordinated and bad at hurling. If you don't believe me try basic hurling skills like even picking up the ball while wearing 3 or 4 inch platform shoes. Your hand eye coordination will be a little out. If your arms grow an inch in length in a short period of time it will surely affect your judgement when catching the ball. I remember lads at school that fell over their own feet while in the midst of a growth spurt.
Limerick stuck with lads like Hegarty and Hayes when their hurling wasn't technically as sharp. And they are reaping the benefits now.
Anyway back to your point. Oulart had some great technical hurlers back then. Alot of them backboned our Senior intercounty team. Rory Jacob was very good in particular and having seen him 3 or 4 times this year he is still technically very good. But to win top level games of hurling you need more than technically good hurlers. Apart from technical ability factors like heart, drive, teamwork, having really good players in the important positions, having height in positions where you need height, and strength as in not height but good core strength, etc are all factors in what makes a good hurling team. Consistency was another problem that great Oulart team had. They didn't turn up in some of those games you mention above.
I think it's a bit simplistic just to blame Oularts lack of an AI on winter pitches. Firstly their opponents had to play on the same pitches. And secondly that's when the AI Club championships were actually played. And still are. So it's kind of irrelevant discussing who would have won AIs IF they were played in the summer."
There is a lot in what your are saying about developing skills. Scouting by knowlegable people i so important anymore. Also once you get the best I think some times teams drift two far from what they are best at. New management. Wexford to me with skill added doggedness and tough fair play with success. Waterford were always flamboyant. Not saying you dont have to change with a changing game but measured. Kilkenny will change a bit but the core game as they play not much.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 12/11/2022 19:42:19    2447325

Replying To Past hurler:  "Penalties a tough way to lose but Naomh Barrog would be known as only a decent intermediate side in Dublin who had a good run this year but then again I don't rate Wexford club hurling as a high standard for a Liam McCarthy standard.

But then again Danesfort of Kilkenny got knocked out by the Meath champions Trim today at home in Nowlan park so intermediate Leinster is no walk in the park.

Funnily enough Naas who won Intermediate AI title last year moved up to senior this year and hammered the Offaly senior champions today Shinrone."
Naas will surprise a few more people.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 12/11/2022 19:51:40    2447327

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Was in Parnell park today and first and foremost what a disgrace Parnell park was pitch was shambolic. And no you can't blame the weather because weather was not as bad as it was in wexford this week. Secondly 3 month lay off badly hampered them especially in the first half touch was poor.Free taking was way off. Missed 3 missed a 65 and hit the post from another one. Best players for oulart was probably eoin Moore, Gareth Sinnott, Rory Jacob when he came on. Martin og storey caught a lot of balls but had no runners and no offence was terrible in his execution. Half forward line was very small and high balls which they used a good bit was terrible. And typical wexford teams found it hard to win the dirty ball. Disappointing result especially with danesfort gone aswell. As for the ref we'll say nothing"
It is a poor result for Oulart but they can't have been training too hard if they entered the junior b football competition.

Maybe it was to keep the fitness levels up.

I am not sure Ferns will beat St.Mullins tomorrow either.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 718 - 12/11/2022 19:54:24    2447329

Well done to Horeswood and good luck in the hurling semi final. Hard luck to Oulart.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 12/11/2022 19:58:00    2447330

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Just seen a video of disgraceful scenes on and off the pitch in Parnell park today. These mass brawls have to be stopped once and for all and as for the behaviour in the stand with punches being thrown by a number of so called supporters….it's just depressing."
I was on the other side of the stand behind the naomh barrog bench so didn't get a good view of the row. I did see both sets of selectors getting involved aswell as the oulart subs. It all came from a blatant free for oulart when things were tight and possibly could have won the game for them. Still no excuse and for supporters to get involved.

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 259 - 12/11/2022 20:23:42    2447333

Replying To Viking66:  "On the day they weren't better than the Offaly teams or MLR. That's why they lost. MLR only narrowly lost to Ballyhale last year and Offaly teams have far more AIs won than Wexford teams. Oulart had some of the best hurlers in Wexford at the time, half the intercounty team, but it has to be remembered that the Wexford team of the late noughties early teens was probably the worst since before WW2. I desperately wanted to see Oulart win an AI but fact is they just weren't quite good enough."
I am a Limerick man with strong connections to Oulart. The year Oulart should have won the All Ireland was 2016. They played NAP in the Semi Final and playing with the wind in the first half played only five forwards and Ronan Lynch absolutely cleaned up, with ball been hit down on him and he unmarked. In the second half they reverted to their normal game ad playing into the wind, played far better and brought NAP to extra time.. The Final afterwards was a cake walk.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 12/11/2022 20:56:28    2447336