Munster Hurling Club Championship 2022

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To foreveryoung:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "You are wrong. Even on this topic, my first two comments were questions, and weren't negative towards Munster. My first comment was regarding Leinster, the second was in reply to someone who stated, without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster
'."
" without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster]'.

Jaysus, just watch the matches. That's your reasons for ye.

It's not about being "more interesting". It's about quality and standards. Galway and Wexford hurled against each other earlier this year. It was very "interesting", but an abysmal standard; typical Leinster hurling.

Fortunately, the KK quality and standards stand up to, and very often better their Munster equivalents. And I love that.

However, to even question that Munster hurling isn't as "interesting" as Leinster hurling has very little rationale basis. To even suggest that the quality of the Leinster championship is anywhere near what the 5 counties in Munster produce year-in year-out has no rationale basis at all."]It's a long time since all 5 counties in Munster performed to a decent level in the same year, if ever, but point taken. Historically the Munster Championship would have been more interesting. And no doubt Cork and Tipp will get back to winning ways sometime. They have to with the number of hurlers they have if for no other reason."]I was talking about the club championships, not county. Look at the title of this topic.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 12/11/2022 09:56:57    2447268

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To foreveryoung:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "You are wrong. Even on this topic, my first two comments were questions, and weren't negative towards Munster. My first comment was regarding Leinster, the second was in reply to someone who stated, without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster
'."
" without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster]'.

It's not about being "more interesting". It's about quality and standards. Galway and Wexford hurled against each other earlier this year. It was very "interesting", but an abysmal standard; typical Leinster hurling.

Fortunately, the KK quality and standards stand up to, and very often better their Munster equivalents. And I love that.

However, to even question that Munster hurling isn't as "interesting" as Leinster hurling has very little rationale basis. To even suggest that the quality of the Leinster championship is anywhere near what the 5 counties in Munster produce year-in year-out has no rationale basis at all."]You missed most of this year's Munster Championship so? Tipp and Waterford were largely dreadful. Cork didn't look much better except when they played Tipp and Waterford. The 1st half of Waterford v Limerick and the 2 Limerick v Clare games were the only games in Munster this year which didn't look like club challenge games. The rest was poor quality hurling, nearly no tackling, no intensity, no blood and thunder. Tippy tappy stuff perfectly demonstrated by Fitzgibbons goal against Tipp when he ran more than half the length of the pitch without meeting a single opponent. Compare that to Mikey Dwyers point v Kilkenny towards the end of a real game of hurling."]Ignore my previous reply to you. I replied to the wrong person.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 12/11/2022 09:59:26    2447269

Replying To foreveryoung:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You are wrong. Even on this topic, my first two comments were questions, and weren't negative towards Munster. My first comment was regarding Leinster, the second was in reply to someone who stated, without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster
'."

However, to even question that Munster hurling isn't as "interesting" as Leinster hurling has very little rationale basis. To even suggest that the quality of the Leinster championship is anywhere near what the 5 counties in Munster produce year-in year-out has no rationale basis at all."]Jasus, read the title of the topic, we're talking about club hurling, not county.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 12/11/2022 10:01:22    2447270

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
'."

However, to even question that Munster hurling isn't as "interesting" as Leinster hurling has very little rationale basis. To even suggest that the quality of the Leinster championship is anywhere near what the 5 counties in Munster produce year-in year-out has no rationale basis at all."]Jasus, read the title of the topic, we're talking about club hurling, not county."]My mistake! Apologies for that. The club scene seems more balanced overall than the county scene: good Galway clubs, ; Kilkenny champs (especially Ballyhale), Cuala and Mount Leinster Rangers; strong Munster representatives, Ballygunner, NAP, Clare & Tipp clubs; and Ulster with teams like Slaughtneil, Dunloy and Loughgiel over the years. Of course, I forgot the once mighty Birr club side.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 12/11/2022 16:00:54    2447305

Ballygunner are scary. Mighty second half. As much as I'd love to see Ballyea get to the All Ireland Final I can't see past Mighty Ballygunner. Fair play to them.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 20/11/2022 16:57:47    2448234

Enjoyed that Ballygunner versus Na Piarsaigh match today.
Great intensity from start to finish and I suppose you could describe it as a game of 2 halves with Ballygunner outfought and outhought In the first half and Ballygunner gaining the upper hand in the second.
Very enjoyable match all through.
The Waterford.men will.be hard to stop now

Having had that tough game today and especially with how they played the second half will give them immense confidence which should get them to an All Ireland semi at least.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 20/11/2022 18:30:31    2448240

Brilliant game today, Ballygunner were awesome in the last 20 mins, best wishes to Mike Casey hopefully the injury isn't the feared worse case scenario.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 20/11/2022 19:37:04    2448244

Ballygunner are a truly serious team who are definitely going to be hard to beat..their second half was outstanding..they also managed to keep Casey and Breen quite which very few club sides can manage..I take it final will be in thurles and that cork won't get it??finally best wishes to mike Casey,hope it's not as serious as it looked..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 20/11/2022 20:46:04    2448249

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Ballygunner are a truly serious team who are definitely going to be hard to beat..their second half was outstanding..they also managed to keep Casey and Breen quite which very few club sides can manage..I take it final will be in thurles and that cork won't get it??finally best wishes to mike Casey,hope it's not as serious as it looked.."
A great game and the performance was a credit to both teams. However in the end Ballygunner were the better team and best wishes to them for the rest of the Championship.
One thing, other than all that, that struck me yesterday was the very support Na Piarsaigh had and how poor overall support for hurling in Limerick City. Ballygunner supporters travelled a long journey to Limerick yesterday and yet they seemed to be about 4 to 1 in excess of the NAP support.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 21/11/2022 09:41:22    2448269

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Ballygunner are a truly serious team who are definitely going to be hard to beat..their second half was outstanding..they also managed to keep Casey and Breen quite which very few club sides can manage..I take it final will be in thurles and that cork won't get it??finally best wishes to mike Casey,hope it's not as serious as it looked.."
A great game and the performance was a credit to both teams. However in the end Ballygunner were the better team and best wishes to them for the rest of the Championship.
One thing, other than all that, that struck me yesterday was the very support forNa Piarsaigh had and how poor overall support for hurling in Limerick City is. Ballygunner supporters travelled a long journey to Limerick yesterday and yet they seemed to be about 4 to 1 in excess of the NAP support.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 21/11/2022 09:43:05    2448270

Replying To Oldtourman:  "A great game and the performance was a credit to both teams. However in the end Ballygunner were the better team and best wishes to them for the rest of the Championship.
One thing, other than all that, that struck me yesterday was the very support forNa Piarsaigh had and how poor overall support for hurling in Limerick City is. Ballygunner supporters travelled a long journey to Limerick yesterday and yet they seemed to be about 4 to 1 in excess of the NAP support."
The Quality was miles better than game in Ennis Ballygunner are a very good team indeed
I was shocked to see Mike Casey go down like that really hope it not a recurrence of the old injury really hope its nothing serious all GAA followers will hope that

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 880 - 21/11/2022 11:21:54    2448290

Replying To clooney:  "The Quality was miles better than game in Ennis Ballygunner are a very good team indeed
I was shocked to see Mike Casey go down like that really hope it not a recurrence of the old injury really hope its nothing serious all GAA followers will hope that"
Thanks Clooney. It is nice to see people from other counties express their good wishes to MC.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 21/11/2022 15:42:31    2448341

Replying To clooney:  "The Quality was miles better than game in Ennis Ballygunner are a very good team indeed
I was shocked to see Mike Casey go down like that really hope it not a recurrence of the old injury really hope its nothing serious all GAA followers will hope that"
For sure Clooney. I didn't like the way he went down it didn't look good. Hope he's OK.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 21/11/2022 15:53:15    2448344

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Thanks Clooney. It is nice to see people from other counties express their good wishes to MC."
Unfortunately I missed all games at the weekend but sad to hear this. Hopefully its not serious. MC is a man who obviously maximises his ability and to come back the way he did and at that level takes some doing. Having done the injury myself I know the mental torture involved to get through it (albeit not at that level!). To do it again would be horrific.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/11/2022 17:29:00    2448553

Replying To Viking66:  "For sure Clooney. I didn't like the way he went down it didn't look good. Hope he's OK."
Heard its not an ACL which is good news! Hopefully the knee damage is minor enough.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 28/11/2022 10:13:39    2448917

Replying To Viking66:  "Heard its not an ACL which is good news! Hopefully the knee damage is minor enough."
Yeah I think Michael Verney was reporting its a 2-3 month injury which is great news considering what we all initially feared.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 28/11/2022 11:13:32    2448926

Replying To Viking66:  "Heard its not an ACL which is good news! Hopefully the knee damage is minor enough."
Good news.

Some very short odds for games at the weekend. Ballygunner at 1/6 is very short and handicap is only -6. I'm probably the only one that can see an upset here but I give Ballyea a chance and a good chance of getting below that handicap.

Slauhgtneil are 1/2 in Ulster but handicap is only -2. I think there could be a chance of an upset here too.

BS are 1/7 to win Leinster with handicap of -6 which I think they could cover with ease. KC coughed up numerous goal scoring chances time after time yesterday and I can see BS scoring 5/6 goals in this one.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/11/2022 11:27:39    2448929

Replying To tiobraid:  "Good news.

Some very short odds for games at the weekend. Ballygunner at 1/6 is very short and handicap is only -6. I'm probably the only one that can see an upset here but I give Ballyea a chance and a good chance of getting below that handicap.

Slauhgtneil are 1/2 in Ulster but handicap is only -2. I think there could be a chance of an upset here too.

BS are 1/7 to win Leinster with handicap of -6 which I think they could cover with ease. KC coughed up numerous goal scoring chances time after time yesterday and I can see BS scoring 5/6 goals in this one."
"BS are 1/7 to win Leinster with handicap of -6 which I think they could cover with ease".

You've got this wrong (mixed up). BS are 1/7 to win Leinster with no handicap. The are 5/6 to win with a handicap of -6 points; or 8/13, -5 pts; or 1/2, -4 pts. All prices from Paddy Power. Other bookies have yet to give prices.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 28/11/2022 12:22:38    2448942

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""BS are 1/7 to win Leinster with handicap of -6 which I think they could cover with ease".

You've got this wrong (mixed up). BS are 1/7 to win Leinster with no handicap. The are 5/6 to win with a handicap of -6 points; or 8/13, -5 pts; or 1/2, -4 pts. All prices from Paddy Power. Other bookies have yet to give prices."
Sorry that should have read they are 1/7 to win and the handicap is -6. If they were 1/7 at -6 PP would go out of business!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/11/2022 13:57:10    2448960

Replying To tiobraid:  "Good news.

BS are 1/7 to win Leinster with handicap of -6 which I think they could cover with ease. KC coughed up numerous goal scoring chances time after time yesterday and I can see BS scoring 5/6 goals in this one."
I don't think it would be such a shock if Dunloy win Ulster. Crokes and Ballyea winning would be more of a shock although both are in their finals on merit and could well win.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 28/11/2022 14:19:03    2448966