Munster Hurling Club Championship 2022

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Obsessed with peoples interest in Munster hurling?! Where do you get that nonsense from. Still, I suppose I shouldn't be surprised, going by some other of your near hysterical rantings earlier this year."
When the words munster and hurling are in the same sentence you comment on almost every single post in a negative way. Am I wrong?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/11/2022 15:53:38    2446892

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Its leinster v Munster in the all Ireland semi final so no repeat is possible."
Ah yes, I completely forgot that. A long road ahead but you'd expect two real high quality semifinals then. You'd have to give Thomas' a right chance at this stage but far from a foregone conclusion they will get through each of the next two games either.
Youd have to admire a number of clubs still in the championship for coming back year after year for the last number of years with very little break in most cases. Many of them from not huge catchment areas too.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/11/2022 15:58:11    2446893

Replying To Canuck:  "A few things struck me about the gunners today. I always thought Leavey and Cooke were light weights. The legs and necks on them is unreal. Billy O'Keeffe the club hurler of the year last year a sub. Ruddle a sub. Jake Foley a county under 20 player a sub. Na Piarsigh will be different kettle of fish next day as they are better now than the last time Ballygunner beat them. Fitzgearld a star in the making. Sullivan protects him. I hope Waterford do the same and not get him killed before his 19th birthday as they did to Shane Bennett.
There was one thing I appreciated from Ballygunner when 17 points ahead and clear path to goal at the end they took points. You don't need to embarrass your opposition. They worst case of that was during the Cork strike what Kilkenny did to the stand in team. The thing I did not like was the constant attempts to get Hutchison sent off. In fairness the ref was aware of it. A part from his scores he gave an exhibition of passing. It was a terrible assignment for Killruane playing so many games in a row but not the gunners fault. They had to wait around for 8 weeks.
Playing hurling in winter condition is terrible. Does anyone think higher ridges on the ball so it could be lifter easier would help ?"
Is there any chance of Ballygunner fading in the years ahead? They seem to have plenty of youth and the likes of the two Mahonys are maybe not as critical to them as they would have been in the past...
Obviously O'Keeffe and Coughlan are still important cogs too tho...
Seems they could dominate Munster for a few more years never mind the Waterford cship...

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/11/2022 16:01:21    2446894

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah yes, I completely forgot that. A long road ahead but you'd expect two real high quality semifinals then. You'd have to give Thomas' a right chance at this stage but far from a foregone conclusion they will get through each of the next two games either.
Youd have to admire a number of clubs still in the championship for coming back year after year for the last number of years with very little break in most cases. Many of them from not huge catchment areas too."
If Ballygunner or Na Pairsaigh are to win the all ireland they might have to win the game vs each other, Ballyhale in a AI semi final and maybe St Thomas in a final which is a big ask, the standard of the top 3-4 teams now in the country is a seriously high level.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1716 - 08/11/2022 16:36:44    2446897

Replying To Canuck:  "A few things struck me about the gunners today. I always thought Leavey and Cooke were light weights. The legs and necks on them is unreal. Billy O'Keeffe the club hurler of the year last year a sub. Ruddle a sub. Jake Foley a county under 20 player a sub. Na Piarsigh will be different kettle of fish next day as they are better now than the last time Ballygunner beat them. Fitzgearld a star in the making. Sullivan protects him. I hope Waterford do the same and not get him killed before his 19th birthday as they did to Shane Bennett.
There was one thing I appreciated from Ballygunner when 17 points ahead and clear path to goal at the end they took points. You don't need to embarrass your opposition. They worst case of that was during the Cork strike what Kilkenny did to the stand in team. The thing I did not like was the constant attempts to get Hutchison sent off. In fairness the ref was aware of it. A part from his scores he gave an exhibition of passing. It was a terrible assignment for Killruane playing so many games in a row but not the gunners fault. They had to wait around for 8 weeks.
Playing hurling in winter condition is terrible. Does anyone think higher ridges on the ball so it could be lifter easier would help ?"
Sure put a ridge on it as high as the Knockmealdowns altogether and then even a Cavan man may be able to lift it!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 08/11/2022 16:48:06    2446900

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "If Ballygunner or Na Pairsaigh are to win the all ireland they might have to win the game vs each other, Ballyhale in a AI semi final and maybe St Thomas in a final which is a big ask, the standard of the top 3-4 teams now in the country is a seriously high level."
Seen a podcast with John McIntyre the former Tipp player and Galway/Offaly manager and got to a club all Ireland with Clarinbridge. He was saying if any of Ballyhale, Ballygunner, Na Piarsaigh and Thomas's were on their own in another generation there'd have a lot more all Ireland's to their names (maybe didnt mean Ballyhale cus they've probably still dominated this generation) but the level those 4 teams are at at this moment in time is probably the highest 4 clubs have been at one time in the all Ireland race. Would be great to have all 4 play each other in an open draw but probably wishful thinking with the small window and lads do need a break as they all make up a strong part of their county teams. Great to watch them, all different styles too. No disrespect to Slaughtneil either, they could well have had an all Ireland in another generation or if they'd came 6/7 years previous. (Wouldn't beat against them still getting tha win over them either)

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 08/11/2022 18:32:22    2446906

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Seen a podcast with John McIntyre the former Tipp player and Galway/Offaly manager and got to a club all Ireland with Clarinbridge. He was saying if any of Ballyhale, Ballygunner, Na Piarsaigh and Thomas's were on their own in another generation there'd have a lot more all Ireland's to their names (maybe didnt mean Ballyhale cus they've probably still dominated this generation) but the level those 4 teams are at at this moment in time is probably the highest 4 clubs have been at one time in the all Ireland race. Would be great to have all 4 play each other in an open draw but probably wishful thinking with the small window and lads do need a break as they all make up a strong part of their county teams. Great to watch them, all different styles too. No disrespect to Slaughtneil either, they could well have had an all Ireland in another generation or if they'd came 6/7 years previous. (Wouldn't beat against them still getting tha win over them either)"
Loughrea might have something to say about St Thomas winning the galway County title 2 weeks time

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 08/11/2022 20:02:14    2446912

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Seen a podcast with John McIntyre the former Tipp player and Galway/Offaly manager and got to a club all Ireland with Clarinbridge. He was saying if any of Ballyhale, Ballygunner, Na Piarsaigh and Thomas's were on their own in another generation there'd have a lot more all Ireland's to their names (maybe didnt mean Ballyhale cus they've probably still dominated this generation) but the level those 4 teams are at at this moment in time is probably the highest 4 clubs have been at one time in the all Ireland race. Would be great to have all 4 play each other in an open draw but probably wishful thinking with the small window and lads do need a break as they all make up a strong part of their county teams. Great to watch them, all different styles too. No disrespect to Slaughtneil either, they could well have had an all Ireland in another generation or if they'd came 6/7 years previous. (Wouldn't beat against them still getting tha win over them either)"
Heard it too, was an enjoyable listen.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1716 - 08/11/2022 21:25:38    2446919

Replying To minor77:  "Loughrea might have something to say about St Thomas winning the galway County title 2 weeks time"
The only thing Loughrea will be saying is mouthing, St.Thomas' always had the measure of Loughrea and their tactics, apart from the old Portumna team and also Cappataggle....the only 3 teams who took none of their **** and gave back as good as they got!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 09/11/2022 10:53:40    2446941

How has this topic changed to Galway championship and Galway clubs??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 09/11/2022 13:19:27    2446969

Replying To CTGAA10:  "How has this topic changed to Galway championship and Galway clubs??"
HS threads get a life of their own!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 09/11/2022 13:23:25    2446970

Replying To tiobraid:  "Is there any chance of Ballygunner fading in the years ahead? They seem to have plenty of youth and the likes of the two Mahonys are maybe not as critical to them as they would have been in the past...
Seems they could dominate Munster for a few more years never mind the Waterford cship..."
Tiobraid they are very deep right through to the young kids. Despite the family ties between the players there seems to be no decent with who is playing or substituted. Mikey Mahoney was pulled a shore Sunday when not playing great. I think Pauric while probably has value still to them has run his course for the county. O'Keeffe is the best goalie in the country. No disrespect to Quaid and Murphy who are great also. Coughlan to me was never a great hurler but effective because he is cunning and knows when and where to foul. Takes a yellow card in every game but smart enough to avoid red.
I also don't know if their domination is good or bad for Waterford but I guess it keeps us in the shop window at some level. Also you cannot blame them for playing the hand the have and in fairness built. The nearest they came to have being beaten in Muster was in Waterford. (probable only playing in second gear though) It might be arguable that some of their stength belong to rivals and neighbours Passage East. Funny both clubs play together in football with Gaultier. Makes you wonder why they are not winning football.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 09/11/2022 14:19:21    2446985

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sure put a ridge on it as high as the Knockmealdowns altogether and then even a Cavan man may be able to lift it!"
Just a question as the rucks are harder again to get out of in winter as the ball wont come up. Any thing that can elevate that would be good. Cavan GAA and players do their bit to keep hurling going there and can play the game also. The same as Waterford do for football.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 09/11/2022 14:26:44    2446988

Replying To tiobraid:  "Is there any chance of Ballygunner fading in the years ahead? They seem to have plenty of youth and the likes of the two Mahonys are maybe not as critical to them as they would have been in the past...
Seems they could dominate Munster for a few more years never mind the Waterford cship..."
Tiobraid they are very deep right through to the young kids. Despite the family ties between the players there seems to be no decent with who is playing or substituted. Mikey Mahoney was pulled a shore Sunday when not playing great. I think Pauric while probably has value still to them has run his course for the county. O'Keeffe is the best goalie in the country. No disrespect to Quaid and Murphy who are great also. Coughlan to me was never a great hurler but effective because he is cunning and knows when and where to foul. Takes a yellow card in every game but smart enough to avoid red.
I also don't know if their domination is good or bad for Waterford but I guess it keeps us in the shop window at some level. Also you cannot blame them for playing the hand the have and in fairness built. The nearest they came to have being beaten in Muster was in Waterford. (probable only playing in second gear though) It might be arguable that some of their stength belong to rivals and neighbours Passage East. Funny both clubs play together in football with Gaultier. Makes you wonder why they are not winning football.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 09/11/2022 14:27:41    2446990

Canuck I'd disagree on your keeper view but o would put o keeffee on a par with Murphy but below quaid..I'd agree on Coughlan,definitely prepared to do anything to stop a forward from scoring and gets away with a lot of cynical stuff..on the upcoming semi v na piarsaigh..this has the makings of a super game..I feelboth defenses will be tested to their very limit..think the bally forwards are very good and in Fitz,Hutchinson and mikey Mahoney three who could cause fierce damage..free taking is a positive for ballyg aswell as mahony is better in my opinion..na piarsaigh have three vital players for me donohue,Peter Casey David Dempsey..a huge advantage to bally is the goalkeeping,condon is in his first munster championship while o keeffee seems to be there forever..both clubs have very strong benches.ill give a hesitant view to ballyg to get over the line by maybe 4 points..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 10/11/2022 16:19:42    2447113

Replying To tiobraid:  "When the words munster and hurling are in the same sentence you comment on almost every single post in a negative way. Am I wrong?"
You are wrong. Even on this topic, my first two comments were questions, and weren't negative towards Munster. My first comment was regarding Leinster, the second was in reply to someone who stated, without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster]'.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 11/11/2022 15:36:30    2447209

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You are wrong. Even on this topic, my first two comments were questions, and weren't negative towards Munster. My first comment was regarding Leinster, the second was in reply to someone who stated, without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster
'."]" without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster]'.

Jaysus, just watch the matches. That's your reasons for ye.

It's not about being "more interesting". It's about quality and standards. Galway and Wexford hurled against each other earlier this year. It was very "interesting", but an abysmal standard; typical Leinster hurling.

Fortunately, the KK quality and standards stand up to, and very often better their Munster equivalents. And I love that.

However, to even question that Munster hurling isn't as "interesting" as Leinster hurling has very little rationale basis. To even suggest that the quality of the Leinster championship is anywhere near what the 5 counties in Munster produce year-in year-out has no rationale basis at all.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 11/11/2022 17:33:20    2447228

Replying To foreveryoung:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You are wrong. Even on this topic, my first two comments were questions, and weren't negative towards Munster. My first comment was regarding Leinster, the second was in reply to someone who stated, without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster
'."
" without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster]'.

It's not about being "more interesting". It's about quality and standards. Galway and Wexford hurled against each other earlier this year. It was very "interesting", but an abysmal standard; typical Leinster hurling.

Fortunately, the KK quality and standards stand up to, and very often better their Munster equivalents. And I love that.

However, to even question that Munster hurling isn't as "interesting" as Leinster hurling has very little rationale basis. To even suggest that the quality of the Leinster championship is anywhere near what the 5 counties in Munster produce year-in year-out has no rationale basis at all."]You missed most of this year's Munster Championship so? Tipp and Waterford were largely dreadful. Cork didn't look much better except when they played Tipp and Waterford. The 1st half of Waterford v Limerick and the 2 Limerick v Clare games were the only games in Munster this year which didn't look like club challenge games. The rest was poor quality hurling, nearly no tackling, no intensity, no blood and thunder. Tippy tappy stuff perfectly demonstrated by Fitzgibbons goal against Tipp when he ran more than half the length of the pitch without meeting a single opponent. Compare that to Mikey Dwyers point v Kilkenny towards the end of a real game of hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 11/11/2022 18:06:35    2447231

Replying To foreveryoung:  "
'."
" without giving any reason, that the 'Munster championship is more interesting [than Leinster]'.

However, to even question that Munster hurling isn't as "interesting" as Leinster hurling has very little rationale basis. To even suggest that the quality of the Leinster championship is anywhere near what the 5 counties in Munster produce year-in year-out has no rationale basis at all."]It's a long time since all 5 counties in Munster performed to a decent level in the same year, if ever, but point taken. Historically the Munster Championship would have been more interesting. And no doubt Cork and Tipp will get back to winning ways sometime. They have to with the number of hurlers they have if for no other reason.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 11/11/2022 18:11:03    2447232

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Canuck I'd disagree on your keeper view but o would put o keeffee on a par with Murphy but below quaid..I'd agree on Coughlan,definitely prepared to do anything to stop a forward from scoring and gets away with a lot of cynical stuff..on the upcoming semi v na piarsaigh..this has the makings of a super game..I feelboth defenses will be tested to their very limit..think the bally forwards are very good and in Fitz,Hutchinson and mikey Mahoney three who could cause fierce damage..free taking is a positive for ballyg aswell as mahony is better in my opinion..na piarsaigh have three vital players for me donohue,Peter Casey David Dempsey..a huge advantage to bally is the goalkeeping,condon is in his first munster championship while o keeffee seems to be there forever..both clubs have very strong benches.ill give a hesitant view to ballyg to get over the line by maybe 4 points.."
CTGAA10 I should have mentioned Rowlands as up there among the greats. Quaid is in the shop window a lot more that O'Keeffe and Rowlands. The same for Murphy getting to All-Irelands. I think if you take the negatives Murphy has hit the ball out more often than the others and it is has ended up in the back of his net. Though still a great stopper. It is hard to find any faults in Quaid's game. However in my biased opinion O'Keeffe has been the best for over 10 years and still is. It is said now that he is to play for Waterford again. Not sure about that. O'Brien and Nolan are good enough and would get on any team. In the 50's and 60's we had good keepers. Mainly the great Ned Power. After that we had terrible keepers that cost us big time until Clinton Hennessy came along and now it is not an issue at any level.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 11/11/2022 18:26:51    2447238