Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "I've honestly no issue with anyone who is willing to give time to work with teams and I'm genuine in saying that. However we can't be dressing up the management that has been selected- Aidan O C was over the Rapps last year- they won the championship in 2021 - were effectively robbed of the 2022 championship when they had Ferns beaten only for an umpire who waved an obvious point wide. In 2023 with Aidan O C in charge for his first year they were a mile off that level and anyone who watches club hurling will tell you that. So making out his CV is better than Jacobs is without any substance, let's not forget Jacob was hurling himself this year so he can hardly manage a club team on the side. I have covered the Peters point above , judging someone on schools performance doesnt stand up to any scrutiny. Wexford school teams will never be winning all Irelands the way our talent is spread across the county in 4 or 5 schools. In KK they are 2 main hurling schools, very hard to compete with that. If Micky Laffan should have been selected we are looking at a scenario where the 3rd best candidate in for the job has got it. If people don't ask questions as to what we are doing in wexford to bring on our teams we will spend our days giving out about losing every year. It comes from the top and we need better processes in place and that goes well beyond this 20s conversation."
Yes you are correct Aidan was over Rapps last year and it didn't work out on the day, as what happens all the time right or wrong? He has managed senior hurling before and lost plenty, tell me somebody who hasn't? One year and unless you know the inner workings I wouldn't be able to answer why the Rapps didn't perform? You could say that of many teams the world over,had a decent league championship so on the days things don't work ,that's Sport, so I wouldn't be hanging my coat on the one. Again have a word with Liam Ryan and he would give you an honest assessment I am sure. Would be that confident without even knowing the chap. Rapps is only one of the clubs, what about other Clubs and there is plenty,to see was there positive influence? Maybe try likes of Cian Byrne, Foley from Horeswood they would give you an honest assessment after been with him for 4 years underage? There was no way you could hide anything with the scrutiny now involved so I think it's time to move on and let the man do his thing over next few months. There has been too much here about it already. If there is grievances better take it the County Board than on a hurling forum wouldnt you think? At the end we all support the one County, My last word on it unless I see more BS which I will pull someone up on. Wexford Abu

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 25/11/2023 03:21:11    2514534

Replying To cragask1234:  "I 100% agree with this but let's not make jacob out to be a paul kannerk either and dis respect o Connor .he's there now so let's hope he gets the strongest mngt team possible together and knits a strong team together. There's some excellent hurlers in that group, roche,kehoe,Purcell, Rowley, killian Byrne to name a few"
Eoin Whelan and Luke Murphy of this years starters are underage next year also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 25/11/2023 10:42:10    2514540

Does anyone know the last time a Wexford man was managing a Fitzgibbon team?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 25/11/2023 16:02:50    2514574

Replying To Past hurler:  "David Franks one of the best coaches in Ireland outside of the obvious Paul Kinnerk.

The lads in Ballygunnar say they owe a lot of their success to Franks."
Ballygunner success is down to years of hard work in the club.
Aidan O'Connor, Rory Jacob or Mickey Laffan would all win championships with them.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 27/11/2023 02:49:57    2514667

Replying To Viking66:  "Does anyone know the last time a Wexford man was managing a Fitzgibbon team?"
Could been Willie Cleary?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 27/11/2023 10:42:49    2514690

Replying To countyman2022:  "Could been Willie Cleary?"
Was just thinking it would be great for us as a county going forwards if we could get more lads managing at that level. How did Cleary get on? Who was he over?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 27/11/2023 17:04:26    2514769

Replying To Viking66:  "Was just thinking it would be great for us as a county going forwards if we could get more lads managing at that level. How did Cleary get on? Who was he over?"
He was UCD, only done a year I think, was with Freshers year before. Not sure how they went. Mokker O Keefe with DIT around same time, maybe a year or 2 before that.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 28/11/2023 09:35:10    2514811

Replying To Viking66:  "Was just thinking it would be great for us as a county going forwards if we could get more lads managing at that level. How did Cleary get on? Who was he over?"
Hes over the martins for next year

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 28/11/2023 16:01:53    2514896

Replying To Viking66:  "Does anyone know the last time a Wexford man was managing a Fitzgibbon team?"
James Flood involved with UCD Sigerson the past 5 years

FootballRising (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 28/11/2023 16:04:41    2514899

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Hes over the martins for next year"
A tough job by all accounts. If he gets those lads to play together and harness the abundance of talent they have and actually win another Senior title my opinion of him will definitely go up. Good to see they haven't looked outside the county also.
Maybe it's not really relevant to hurling but Waterfords commercial success down the centuries was achieved in part by a commitment to give the local man the job wherever possible, thereby keeping the money in the city and county. We need to encourage local men to go into management, and no better start than by trying to give local jobs to those local men. Would be great if former top players from the top clubs could follow the lead of Barntowns and Oularts lads, many of whom seem to get into management when their playing days are done. The county needs more of this. It happens in all the other top counties.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 28/11/2023 16:58:30    2514906

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/antrim-hurling-manager-darren-gleeson-hit-with-five-significant-departures-ahead-of-2024-season/a2108065140.html

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 29/11/2023 23:29:46    2515036

Replying To grassroots01:  "Caroline Currid leaving the Limerick camp...... if you were to listen to some lads on here Limerick will never win a match again as a sports psychologist seems to be the most important part of inter county hurling nowadays"
Posted this 2 months ago and still think her role was over played.. from Limericks announcements today they won't be replacing her so will be interesting to see how they do. See Limerick have brought in a coach from the 2015 under 21 team that hammered Wexford and I'd imagine this is all part of their long term planning .

Simple fact is we are not producing coaches in clubs or for our county teams and that shows by the farcical under 20 management team for this year. JJ and O'Loughlin main coaches for that under 21 team in 2015 and both been involved in senior set up. We won a leinster final in minor in 2019 and all of that management team put out to graze already...

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 30/11/2023 12:48:59    2515080

Replying To grassroots01:  "Posted this 2 months ago and still think her role was over played.. from Limericks announcements today they won't be replacing her so will be interesting to see how they do. See Limerick have brought in a coach from the 2015 under 21 team that hammered Wexford and I'd imagine this is all part of their long term planning .

Simple fact is we are not producing coaches in clubs or for our county teams and that shows by the farcical under 20 management team for this year. JJ and O'Loughlin main coaches for that under 21 team in 2015 and both been involved in senior set up. We won a leinster final in minor in 2019 and all of that management team put out to graze already..."
James Sheil is still managing. Had a 2 year stint with the u20s in 2020/1. Was over his own club St. Mary's Rosslare this year.
Eddie Cullen still involved with Ferns but not sure he managed since or ever did tbh.
John Conran is 66. Put alot into intercounty management over the years.
Liam Roche went in with James Sheil with the u20s.
Not sure what you are getting at in the last line of that post.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 30/11/2023 17:13:01    2515116

Skippy Ruth being rumoured in the running for the St. Mullins job. Excellent opportunity for him to gain more managerial experience in another county, competing in the Kilkenny Leagues, and working with 8 or 9 Senior intercounty hurlers at a decent standard of club. Hope he gets it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 30/11/2023 17:43:04    2515121

Replying To grassroots01:  "Posted this 2 months ago and still think her role was over played.. from Limericks announcements today they won't be replacing her so will be interesting to see how they do. See Limerick have brought in a coach from the 2015 under 21 team that hammered Wexford and I'd imagine this is all part of their long term planning .

Simple fact is we are not producing coaches in clubs or for our county teams and that shows by the farcical under 20 management team for this year. JJ and O'Loughlin main coaches for that under 21 team in 2015 and both been involved in senior set up. We won a leinster final in minor in 2019 and all of that management team put out to graze already..."
Limerick have already established a winning mentality so it's less important now.

I can't wait to see how they got on in closing out a very tight game under pressure.

Having said that, it will take a couple of seasons to see the difference

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2662 - 30/11/2023 19:04:05    2515127

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Think Limerck have proven its better to have 20 good lads who play to a great plan than having 5/6 absolutely unbelievable lads who you hope do enough to get the other 9/10 lads over the line. I really do admire Limerick and they've put everything into line to max out the group of lads who've all came at the right time and probably aren't finished collecting silverware for another few years. They've also arrived at a good junction in hurling where Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway are probably not as strong as they were around the mid 2010s and busy rebuilding teams. Not taking away at all from Limerick and they probably would have all Ireland's against those teams as well but maybe not as much. Maybe that's just me clutching at straws watching the hoover up all Ireland's. Do think gap closed a lot this year from watching their games against Clare, Galway and Kilkenny so maybe next year it'll be even tighter."
No great change from previous year. Clare and Limerick battles yield almost exactly the same results, in both years, but crucially Clare fail again to bring this fine form to Croke Park. In '22 Galway and KK were edged out in titanic battles, by 3 and 2 points respectively. This year,with Lynch and Casey back, both sides were beaten by nine points.
However, a leading team, after a long period on top, can go back almost overnight, as has often happened before.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 30/11/2023 21:49:18    2515133

Replying To Viking66:  "James Sheil is still managing. Had a 2 year stint with the u20s in 2020/1. Was over his own club St. Mary's Rosslare this year.
Eddie Cullen still involved with Ferns but not sure he managed since or ever did tbh.
John Conran is 66. Put alot into intercounty management over the years.
Liam Roche went in with James Sheil with the u20s.
Not sure what you are getting at in the last line of that post."
Well aware that Sheil was with Rosslare last year and brought them from relegation final in 2022 to title contenders and topping their group this year. Any of the footballers I talked to also credited him for winning out the football. What I was getting at is that we don't seem to have any coaching pathway for our good coaches. After that 2 year stint with the u20s in 2020/1 he's been cast aside by the CB when in my opinion he should've been nurtured. Can't comment on Cully and not sure what Liam Roche has done since either - that's all I was getting at, nothing else.

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 01/12/2023 10:31:36    2515153

Davy Redmond was also heavily involved in that Minor success in 19. Is he managing anyone at the moment? By all accounts he's a highly regarded coach.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 296 - 01/12/2023 10:58:04    2515159

Replying To Viking66:  "Skippy Ruth being rumoured in the running for the St. Mullins job. Excellent opportunity for him to gain more managerial experience in another county, competing in the Kilkenny Leagues, and working with 8 or 9 Senior intercounty hurlers at a decent standard of club. Hope he gets it."
Great news if he does

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 01/12/2023 11:00:00    2515160

Replying To grassroots01:  "Well aware that Sheil was with Rosslare last year and brought them from relegation final in 2022 to title contenders and topping their group this year. Any of the footballers I talked to also credited him for winning out the football. What I was getting at is that we don't seem to have any coaching pathway for our good coaches. After that 2 year stint with the u20s in 2020/1 he's been cast aside by the CB when in my opinion he should've been nurtured. Can't comment on Cully and not sure what Liam Roche has done since either - that's all I was getting at, nothing else."
Eddie Cullen is now refereeing - he was one of the new refs in Coiste na nÓg this year who are supposed to be moving up to adult level next year. Saw him in action a few times, and he's decent enough. Think he might still have had a coaching role with one of the development squads, but am not sure.

As for Sheil, looks like a real case of how there'd be criticism no matter what. Remember his last involvement with a county team was the defeat to Kildare in the U20 championship in 2021.

If he'd been kept on after that, there'd be all sorts of criticism of "why are we keeping that lad, can't even put out a team to beat Kildare".

But since he hasn't been involved since then, there's now criticism of "why did we let him go, he should have been nurtured".

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 01/12/2023 11:20:42    2515163