Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "TBH it looked suspicious that your account only appeared here when this situation on the u20s arose."
Thanks terrible footwork- I used to read through the various forums for a few years but haven been told about the under 20 fiasco it wound me up particularly so I said I'd comment on it. Id be concerned about where Wexford hurling is going the last few years and that's where im coming from. If you don't agree with my take on it that's fine. I intend to comment on other matters in the future aswell , if you're still suspicious that's no bother either.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 27 - 23/11/2023 18:52:06    2514362

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "TBH it looked suspicious that your account only appeared here when this situation on the u20s arose."
Mine didnt, Ive been here. And most don't like the straight talking. But anyone who cant see what they've done wrong here might as well follow the Wexford Youths. Its stinks.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 23/11/2023 18:55:14    2514364

Replying To countyman2022:  "He walked away as he was asked to add one more person to his backroom team- that there wasn't enough on it. Yet the incoming management ticket has less on theirs. And the manager is as old school and behind tactically as you will get. We all know the real reason- they didn't want 3 Oulart men over minor, u-20 and senior. It will be to the detriment of Wexford hurling."
Are you saying that the Current U20 is old school? Well that then tells me you know nothing about it and just sore your own man didn't get it. What Clubs have Rory Jacob managed? Why was he not over teams in St Peter's for last couple of years? The U20s were beaten in 2 Leinster finals. Current manager was beaten in the minor Leinster final in '21 and would know these players very well since U14. You name all the Clubs that Rory managed and compare to the current manager or Mickey Laffan who has managed all over the County as well. Tactically behind as you get, give some examples of that. Running down someone that has won 4 All Irelands in Kilkenny as a player, ah he was only over u15s! Now that's a joke. Ronan O Brien has a vast amount of hurling under his belt, Kieran Joyce ,backs coach and Mitch Jordan as forwards coach. Colin Breen as selector has also managed at club level. Also will be enhanced with Shaun Murphy and Paul Morris as player liaison and will help with back and forwards. You are belittling for the sake of it. Time to move on and leave the nastiness to the side, Championship dosent start till next APRIL. These people should be commended for giving up their time to Wexford Hurling.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 23/11/2023 22:31:48    2514379

Replying To cragask1234:  "He didn't coach our under 20s by the way, David Frank's was the lead coach because clearly keith felt Rory wasn't enough. Considering his poor record with st Peters this ' highly rated' stuff is questionable to say the least"
David Franks one of the best coaches in Ireland outside of the obvious Paul Kinnerk.

The lads in Ballygunnar say they owe a lot of their success to Franks.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 726 - 24/11/2023 09:44:41    2514389

Replying To cragask1234:  "Well said. I do feel it's very bad form on Rorys part ti jump ship to dublin, i would even go as far as to suggest he's throwing the toys out of the pram here. He has a very modest coaching record to say the least not too Mention his coaching ticket including a head coach only willing to commit part time. I feel Rory has turned his back on a group of players he has worked with by assisting a direct rival and this could well do his chances of future wexford jobs more harm than good. Just look what has happened with Joe fortune? I feel Rory should of built his cv and experience by taking on an adult team within wexford. There is no positive spin to this. I also feel aidan o connors appointment and backroom team is very underwhelming and I would of been in favour of the ticket proposed by mick laffan as he has been doing excellent work both in underage and adult hurling in barntown/clongeen and varies underage squads but it wasn't to be."
He's gone to Bunclody now

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 24/11/2023 10:07:03    2514391

Replying To Tox73:  "Are you saying that the Current U20 is old school? Well that then tells me you know nothing about it and just sore your own man didn't get it. What Clubs have Rory Jacob managed? Why was he not over teams in St Peter's for last couple of years? The U20s were beaten in 2 Leinster finals. Current manager was beaten in the minor Leinster final in '21 and would know these players very well since U14. You name all the Clubs that Rory managed and compare to the current manager or Mickey Laffan who has managed all over the County as well. Tactically behind as you get, give some examples of that. Running down someone that has won 4 All Irelands in Kilkenny as a player, ah he was only over u15s! Now that's a joke. Ronan O Brien has a vast amount of hurling under his belt, Kieran Joyce ,backs coach and Mitch Jordan as forwards coach. Colin Breen as selector has also managed at club level. Also will be enhanced with Shaun Murphy and Paul Morris as player liaison and will help with back and forwards. You are belittling for the sake of it. Time to move on and leave the nastiness to the side, Championship dosent start till next APRIL. These people should be commended for giving up their time to Wexford Hurling."
No, I am saying Aidan O Connor is. Done nothing with the Alley. Colin Breen has 2 years with Monageer, cant get past a semi final in Wexford's 3rd tier. As for Mitch, how did things in Craanford go? Joycey with one year with the u-15's in Kk doing a few drills, hardly riveting. In comparison with what Rory had in place- if you think Aidans ticket is stronger you follow the wrong sport. As for saying 'sore my man didn't get it', I have nothing to do with the man.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 24/11/2023 10:15:08    2514394

Replying To Tox73:  "Are you saying that the Current U20 is old school? Well that then tells me you know nothing about it and just sore your own man didn't get it. What Clubs have Rory Jacob managed? Why was he not over teams in St Peter's for last couple of years? The U20s were beaten in 2 Leinster finals. Current manager was beaten in the minor Leinster final in '21 and would know these players very well since U14. You name all the Clubs that Rory managed and compare to the current manager or Mickey Laffan who has managed all over the County as well. Tactically behind as you get, give some examples of that. Running down someone that has won 4 All Irelands in Kilkenny as a player, ah he was only over u15s! Now that's a joke. Ronan O Brien has a vast amount of hurling under his belt, Kieran Joyce ,backs coach and Mitch Jordan as forwards coach. Colin Breen as selector has also managed at club level. Also will be enhanced with Shaun Murphy and Paul Morris as player liaison and will help with back and forwards. You are belittling for the sake of it. Time to move on and leave the nastiness to the side, Championship dosent start till next APRIL. These people should be commended for giving up their time to Wexford Hurling."
Tox73 - you say the 20s were beaten in 2 Leinster finals .. why has Rossiter the manager of those teams been given the senior job on the back of that so ? Have the 20s performed well or poorly in the last few years and who is getting credit or not in your book? What club teams did Rossiter manage to a high level to get a senior job? Bunclody intermediates? You cant have one yardstick for one job and change when it suites. As regards Peters this point is coming up again and again , Jacob has only been teaching on half hours there the last 3 or 4 years so crediting or blaming him for success or lack of is non sensical. Some fellas work in schools for years without necessary or noted success , schools hurling or sport is totally different to club or county there is actually little or no comparison. Is John Kielys school winning Harry cups every year ? No is the answer to that question by the way.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 27 - 24/11/2023 10:18:51    2514395

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Thanks terrible footwork- I used to read through the various forums for a few years but haven been told about the under 20 fiasco it wound me up particularly so I said I'd comment on it. Id be concerned about where Wexford hurling is going the last few years and that's where im coming from. If you don't agree with my take on it that's fine. I intend to comment on other matters in the future aswell , if you're still suspicious that's no bother either."
I'm not disagreeing with at all and honestly don't know enough about the situation with Jacob to pass comment so I haven't, and yes from the outside the handling of sorting the u20 management does look questionable to say the least, I was just making the point the timing of your arrival did look more than a coincidence.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 24/11/2023 10:36:07    2514401

Replying To countyman2022:  "Mine didnt, Ive been here. And most don't like the straight talking. But anyone who cant see what they've done wrong here might as well follow the Wexford Youths. Its stinks."
As I said in a post a few mins ago I haven't passed any comment on the Jacob situation as I don't know enough about it but from the outside the process of getting the u20 management together looks far from ideal, by the way I wouldn't call you straight talking I'd just call you someone that would start a fight in an empty room.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 24/11/2023 10:42:31    2514408

Replying To Past hurler:  "David Franks one of the best coaches in Ireland outside of the obvious Paul Kinnerk.

The lads in Ballygunnar say they owe a lot of their success to Franks."
That's what I'm saying ,Frank's is s fantastic coach

cragask1234 (Wexford) - Posts: 29 - 24/11/2023 11:13:17    2514416

Replying To countyman2022:  "No, I am saying Aidan O Connor is. Done nothing with the Alley. Colin Breen has 2 years with Monageer, cant get past a semi final in Wexford's 3rd tier. As for Mitch, how did things in Craanford go? Joycey with one year with the u-15's in Kk doing a few drills, hardly riveting. In comparison with what Rory had in place- if you think Aidans ticket is stronger you follow the wrong sport. As for saying 'sore my man didn't get it', I have nothing to do with the man."
Neither ticket is particularly inspiring as I've said before. However ar least aidan o connnor has had some degree of success as a mngr including getting a poor buffers alley team back senior a few years back and getting gussarne to intermediate. What has Rory on his cv? Nothing with St Peters and assisting with under 20s and oulart Camogie.... .of the 3 mick laffan would of been the best choice,young wexford coach with an upwards trajectory....

cragask1234 (Wexford) - Posts: 29 - 24/11/2023 11:24:55    2514421

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "As I said in a post a few mins ago I haven't passed any comment on the Jacob situation as I don't know enough about it but from the outside the process of getting the u20 management together looks far from ideal, by the way I wouldn't call you straight talking I'd just call you someone that would start a fight in an empty room."

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 24/11/2023 11:55:09    2514438

Replying To cragask1234:  "Neither ticket is particularly inspiring as I've said before. However ar least aidan o connnor has had some degree of success as a mngr including getting a poor buffers alley team back senior a few years back and getting gussarne to intermediate. What has Rory on his cv? Nothing with St Peters and assisting with under 20s and oulart Camogie.... .of the 3 mick laffan would of been the best choice,young wexford coach with an upwards trajectory...."
I've honestly no issue with anyone who is willing to give time to work with teams and I'm genuine in saying that. However we can't be dressing up the management that has been selected- Aidan O C was over the Rapps last year- they won the championship in 2021 - were effectively robbed of the 2022 championship when they had Ferns beaten only for an umpire who waved an obvious point wide. In 2023 with Aidan O C in charge for his first year they were a mile off that level and anyone who watches club hurling will tell you that. So making out his CV is better than Jacobs is without any substance, let's not forget Jacob was hurling himself this year so he can hardly manage a club team on the side. I have covered the Peters point above , judging someone on schools performance doesnt stand up to any scrutiny. Wexford school teams will never be winning all Irelands the way our talent is spread across the county in 4 or 5 schools. In KK they are 2 main hurling schools, very hard to compete with that. If Micky Laffan should have been selected we are looking at a scenario where the 3rd best candidate in for the job has got it. If people don't ask questions as to what we are doing in wexford to bring on our teams we will spend our days giving out about losing every year. It comes from the top and we need better processes in place and that goes well beyond this 20s conversation.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 27 - 24/11/2023 12:08:22    2514442

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "I've honestly no issue with anyone who is willing to give time to work with teams and I'm genuine in saying that. However we can't be dressing up the management that has been selected- Aidan O C was over the Rapps last year- they won the championship in 2021 - were effectively robbed of the 2022 championship when they had Ferns beaten only for an umpire who waved an obvious point wide. In 2023 with Aidan O C in charge for his first year they were a mile off that level and anyone who watches club hurling will tell you that. So making out his CV is better than Jacobs is without any substance, let's not forget Jacob was hurling himself this year so he can hardly manage a club team on the side. I have covered the Peters point above , judging someone on schools performance doesnt stand up to any scrutiny. Wexford school teams will never be winning all Irelands the way our talent is spread across the county in 4 or 5 schools. In KK they are 2 main hurling schools, very hard to compete with that. If Micky Laffan should have been selected we are looking at a scenario where the 3rd best candidate in for the job has got it. If people don't ask questions as to what we are doing in wexford to bring on our teams we will spend our days giving out about losing every year. It comes from the top and we need better processes in place and that goes well beyond this 20s conversation."
Nail. On. Head.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 24/11/2023 12:48:49    2514452

Like everybody else here, I don't know all the ins and outs of the U20 situation. But what I do know or am led to believe includes this:

- No secret that Rory Jacob was the preferred choice. However, there were some concerns over the strength of his backroom team, based mainly (I believe) on how the proposed Head Coach wouldn't always be available. And yes, I know there are differing accounts of just how often he'd be unavailable. So, Hurling Advisory Committee (HAC) spent time encouraging Jacob to bring somebody else on board as well, Jacob refused, and that was the end of that.

- Suggestions that "they just didn't want another Oulart man" don't stack up. If that was the case, why put so much effort into encouraging Jacob to strengthen his backroom team, so that they could nominate him for the job after all?

- O'Connor was the preferred one of the two remaining candidates. I know there are advocates here for Mickey Laffan, but O'Connor was the choice of the Hurling Advisory Committee. Again, that's people like Adrian Fenlon, Doc O'Connor, Liam Griffin, and Niall Williams. I know we're all anonymous here and so there's a chance that one or more of the Laffan advocates might be somebody equally knowledgeable and respected, but on balance, I'd be inclined to put more faith in the choice of the HAC than the views of some anonymous poster online.

- Having said all that, am not convinced myself that O'Connor's team is stronger than what Jacob's would have been, even with a Head Coach who'd be unavailable sometimes, and even without bringing somebody else on board to make up for that.

- Either way, true that O'Connor didn't have a great year with the Rapps. But don't lose sight of how his CV was strong enough for a genuine contender for the senior hurling championship to go looking for him in the first place. Maybe there were other issues at play in the Rapps, or maybe he just wasn't a good "fit" for the club. Has happened before that a manager does well with a number of teams, then not so well with another, before doing well again with the next team he takes on.

- And bottom line is that O'Connor and his backroom team are now in place all right (they were ratified on Tuesday night), so surely the important thing is for everyone to get behind them and move on from whatever exactly went on over the past few weeks.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 24/11/2023 13:39:27    2514463

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Like everybody else here, I don't know all the ins and outs of the U20 situation. But what I do know or am led to believe includes this:

- No secret that Rory Jacob was the preferred choice. However, there were some concerns over the strength of his backroom team, based mainly (I believe) on how the proposed Head Coach wouldn't always be available. And yes, I know there are differing accounts of just how often he'd be unavailable. So, Hurling Advisory Committee (HAC) spent time encouraging Jacob to bring somebody else on board as well, Jacob refused, and that was the end of that.

- Suggestions that "they just didn't want another Oulart man" don't stack up. If that was the case, why put so much effort into encouraging Jacob to strengthen his backroom team, so that they could nominate him for the job after all?

- O'Connor was the preferred one of the two remaining candidates. I know there are advocates here for Mickey Laffan, but O'Connor was the choice of the Hurling Advisory Committee. Again, that's people like Adrian Fenlon, Doc O'Connor, Liam Griffin, and Niall Williams. I know we're all anonymous here and so there's a chance that one or more of the Laffan advocates might be somebody equally knowledgeable and respected, but on balance, I'd be inclined to put more faith in the choice of the HAC than the views of some anonymous poster online.

- Having said all that, am not convinced myself that O'Connor's team is stronger than what Jacob's would have been, even with a Head Coach who'd be unavailable sometimes, and even without bringing somebody else on board to make up for that.

- Either way, true that O'Connor didn't have a great year with the Rapps. But don't lose sight of how his CV was strong enough for a genuine contender for the senior hurling championship to go looking for him in the first place. Maybe there were other issues at play in the Rapps, or maybe he just wasn't a good "fit" for the club. Has happened before that a manager does well with a number of teams, then not so well with another, before doing well again with the next team he takes on.

- And bottom line is that O'Connor and his backroom team are now in place all right (they were ratified on Tuesday night), so surely the important thing is for everyone to get behind them and move on from whatever exactly went on over the past few weeks."
Good post. probably worth adding that I believe that the preferred choice wasn`t available in the first place. I also heard that approaches were made to all 3 candidates to work together and combine the best of each ticket with the 20s and others being involved with squads. As you say the HAC would be good people and I am sure they and the director of hurling and chairman wanted the best set up possible.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 24/11/2023 14:03:31    2514471

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Like everybody else here, I don't know all the ins and outs of the U20 situation. But what I do know or am led to believe includes this:

- And bottom line is that O'Connor and his backroom team are now in place all right (they were ratified on Tuesday night), so surely the important thing is for everyone to get behind them and move on from whatever exactly went on over the past few weeks."
Last paragraph the important one. And true for all 3 management teams. Hopefully 1 or all of them can deliver at least a Leinster and maybe an AI. I wish them all the very best of luck and likely will be at all their games shouting the teams on.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 24/11/2023 15:23:45    2514490

Replying To countyman2022:  "Nail. On. Head."
I 100% agree with this but let's not make jacob out to be a paul kannerk either and dis respect o Connor .he's there now so let's hope he gets the strongest mngt team possible together and knits a strong team together. There's some excellent hurlers in that group, roche,kehoe,Purcell, Rowley, killian Byrne to name a few

cragask1234 (Wexford) - Posts: 29 - 24/11/2023 19:53:50    2514521

That's a fair balanced report as we have seen yet. Hurling Advisory Commitee with the Director of Hurling Niall Williams were the guys who were making the final decisions on the interviews that were held. They had a number of concerns across the board so they obviously sat down and tried to make adjustments with candidates, whether it was to strengthen backroom teams, maybe add some of their own personnel who they seen fit as to who would work well which I think is a good thing. They are all hurling people with a wonderful knowledge of Wexford and hurling in General.Wexford GAA Adding a Sport psychologist was one who was available to all senior teams, Same with Physios, Strength and conditioning coaches so they work with all teams. If there are grievances with any of the potential Management team I am sure they would work with you and try to help out. You would hope that anyway. Wish them all the best as it's a big commitment ,hope Keith,Aidan And Michael all the best in the year ahead.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 25/11/2023 02:42:44    2514532

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Tox73 - you say the 20s were beaten in 2 Leinster finals .. why has Rossiter the manager of those teams been given the senior job on the back of that so ? Have the 20s performed well or poorly in the last few years and who is getting credit or not in your book? What club teams did Rossiter manage to a high level to get a senior job? Bunclody intermediates? You cant have one yardstick for one job and change when it suites. As regards Peters this point is coming up again and again , Jacob has only been teaching on half hours there the last 3 or 4 years so crediting or blaming him for success or lack of is non sensical. Some fellas work in schools for years without necessary or noted success , schools hurling or sport is totally different to club or county there is actually little or no comparison. Is John Kielys school winning Harry cups every year ? No is the answer to that question by the way."
Keith Rossiter was given the senior job because he was probably the highest qualified in the county. After 2 outside men the CB definitely done the right IMO and got a Wexford man into the position for hopefully 3-5 years as there is gonna be a lot of changing of the old guard and the blending of youth where Rossiter would have the best knowledge of both sides of the spectrum, Senior team and Emerging U20 talent, 4 years with Davy and 2 years with the U20s, would you agree? This would have been ahead of managing Club teams , so not with you on your yardstick point….

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 25/11/2023 02:56:07    2514533