Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Viking66:  "The big thing they all lack is experience of actually winning an AI as intercounty management.......but hopefully that will change in the future."
That's like saying Andy Farrell isn't a top level coach as Ireland didn't achieve what they wanted at the world cup, very small margins decided the last 2 u20 Leinster finals for example.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 14/11/2023 11:45:45    2512928

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Rossiter has 5 years with Davy's set up and 2 years managing the u20s under his belt, Franks has 2 years with the u20s aswel as probably the most professional club set up in the country in Ballygunner, Eanna Martin was involved in top level intercounty as a player until 3 years ago and 2 years since with the u20s, Mythen doesn't have much experience but you hear nothing but good things from Oylegate, Jason Ryan has a wealth of intercounty and club experience in both codes. I don't think we're doing too bad on paper..."
I agree im happy enough with the backroom team aslong as we recruit a sports phycologist. I agree the under 20 backroom team is underwhelming . Has it been ratified yet? This is a crucial age group in players development and we need to continue being very competitive at this grade.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 14/11/2023 12:04:46    2512941

Replying To Afinestick:  "I agree im happy enough with the backroom team aslong as we recruit a sports phycologist. I agree the under 20 backroom team is underwhelming . Has it been ratified yet? This is a crucial age group in players development and we need to continue being very competitive at this grade."
And also FAO of the Viking man ...... Paul Aherne is the name of the psychologist who's been appointed.

Don't know much about him, but I did find this - http://p2yp.ie/About-Us.php http://p2yp.ie/About-Us.php">link
Not much detail there either, though.

On the other thing...a mail sent to clubs earlier in the month said that Aidan O'Connor will be proposed for U20 manager at the next County Board meeting, to be held next Tuesday (Nov. 21). Whether or not he's ratified there remains to be seen!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 14/11/2023 12:52:36    2512953

Replying To Pikeman96:  "And also FAO of the Viking man ...... Paul Aherne is the name of the psychologist who's been appointed.

Don't know much about him, but I did find this - http://p2yp.ie/About-Us.php http://p2yp.ie/About-Us.php">link

On the other thing...a mail sent to clubs earlier in the month said that Aidan O'Connor will be proposed for U20 manager at the next County Board meeting, to be held next Tuesday (Nov. 21). Whether or not he's ratified there remains to be seen!"
Its a mistake if that set up is ratified.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 14/11/2023 13:11:50    2512963

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "That's like saying Andy Farrell isn't a top level coach as Ireland didn't achieve what they wanted at the world cup, very small margins decided the last 2 u20 Leinster finals for example."
You are missing the point. Top managers know what to do to make up those small margins. And Andy Farrell won 17 games in a row including a grand slam. Its a long time since Wexford won half as many games in a row.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/11/2023 13:18:32    2512968

Replying To grassroots01:  "I hope you're right - I forgot about Ryan and he will be a great addition."
He's a top man. His experience will be invaluable.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/11/2023 13:19:04    2512970

Replying To Pikeman96:  "And also FAO of the Viking man ...... Paul Aherne is the name of the psychologist who's been appointed.

On the other thing...a mail sent to clubs earlier in the month said that Aidan O'Connor will be proposed for U20 manager at the next County Board meeting, to be held next Tuesday (Nov. 21). Whether or not he's ratified there remains to be seen!"
Thanks Pikeman. I'll make some enquiries;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/11/2023 13:19:37    2512971

Replying To countyman2022:  "

Its a mistake if that set up is ratified."
Possibly. But:

- with Rory Jacob withdrawn for reason (and one of us here know the exact ins and outs of what the sticking points were)
- O'Connor being the preferred choice of the Hurling Advisory Committee of the two remaining candidates (Micky Laffan being the other)
- and nobody else willing to stand for the job at all, despite many others having been approached

then you could argue that not to ratify it would be a mistake as well. We'd be down to being left with only the third choice of the Hurling Advisory Committee of the original three candidates, or else having nobody at all.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 14/11/2023 13:44:36    2512976

Sorry. Post above should say:
with Rory Jacob withdrawn for *some* reason (and *none* of us here know the exact ins and outs of what the sticking points were)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 14/11/2023 14:06:34    2512984

https://www.wit.ie/news/news/Sports-enthusiast-graduates-with-MSc-Applied-Sport-and-Exercise-Psychology

Bit of background.

Performance and Sport Psychology - Learning GAA https://learning.gaa.ie/sites/default/files/Coaching%20the%20Mental%20Game%20-%20Motivation.pdf

A piece he wrote.

Lucy: 'We kind of knew there was a big performance in us' https://www.westmeathindependent.ie/2021/09/08/lucy-we-kind-of-knew-there-was-a-big-performance-in-us/

Worked with his native county's ladies after playing for Westmeath for years.

https://youtu.be/2_TIU31RTG8?si=1ltE9EUO45DHwzZh

Worked previously with our camogie lads also

https://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/2023/04/11/seventy-players-sign-up-for-camogie-elite-skills-academy/

This seems to be his 1st men's intercounty gig. I wish him the very best of luck with it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/11/2023 14:25:59    2512994

https://www.wit.ie/news/news/Sports-enthusiast-graduates-with-MSc-Applied-Sport-and-Exercise-Psychology

Bit of background.

Performance and Sport Psychology - Learning GAA https://learning.gaa.ie/sites/default/files/Coaching%20the%20Mental%20Game%20-%20Motivation.pdf

A piece he wrote.

Lucy: 'We kind of knew there was a big performance in us' https://www.westmeathindependent.ie/2021/09/08/lucy-we-kind-of-knew-there-was-a-big-performance-in-us/

Worked with his native county's ladies after playing for Westmeath for years.

https://youtu.be/2_TIU31RTG8?si=1ltE9EUO45DHwzZh

Worked previously with our camogie lads also

https://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/2023/04/11/seventy-players-sign-up-for-camogie-elite-skills-academy/

This seems to be his 1st men's intercounty gig. I wish him the very best of luck with it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/11/2023 14:26:19    2512995

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Sorry. Post above should say:
with Rory Jacob withdrawn for *some* reason (and *none* of us here know the exact ins and outs of what the sticking points were)"
Well they aren't telling anyway. It's not really any of our business in any case!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/11/2023 14:32:35    2512997

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "Sorry. Post above should say:
with Rory Jacob withdrawn for *some* reason (and *none* of us here know the exact ins and outs of what the sticking points were)"
Well they aren't telling anyway. It's not really any of our business in any case!"
Who was the coach that Rory Jacob had lined up that Wexford GAA would not agree to allow be involved?

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 15/11/2023 10:40:21    2513099

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "Sorry. Post above should say:
Well they aren't telling anyway. It's not really any of our business in any case!"
Who was the coach that Rory Jacob had lined up that Wexford GAA would not agree to allow be involved?"]I'm fairly sure it was the other way round?

They wanted him to add a coach (and no, I don't know who it was), but Jacob refused?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 15/11/2023 11:22:17    2513121

Replying To Pikeman96:  "
Replying To hurlorhurley:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "Sorry. Post above should say:
Who was the coach that Rory Jacob had lined up that Wexford GAA would not agree to allow be involved?"]I'm fairly sure it was the other way round?

They wanted him to add a coach (and no, I don't know who it was), but Jacob refused?"]Still no response, for the question of rossiter trying to poach footballers..

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 936 - 15/11/2023 15:28:20    2513194

Replying To hunting:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "[quote=hurlorhurley:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "Sorry. Post above should say:

They wanted him to add a coach (and no, I don't know who it was), but Jacob refused?"]Still no response, for the question of rossiter trying to poach footballers.."]Haven't heard of any myself tbh. Like yourself I'm interested to hear more, but I doubt we will.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 15/11/2023 15:53:35    2513202

I think this utter tripe of Rossiter 'trying to poach footballers' is the greatest load of rubbish I have ever heard!! If a player is good enough for both codes, should it not be a players decision to go with whatever code he wants? How do we develop either of the codes if that's the attitude people have?
In relation to Flannery being ratified but now stepped away due to work commitments, I think we all need to remember that this is an amateur sport and sometimes other life commitments get in the way of plans that had been made , and there's not one thing can be done to prevent that.

wexfan09 (Wexford) - Posts: 30 - 15/11/2023 21:48:01    2513254

Replying To grassroots01:  "How can Flannery be put forward, ratified and listed as being part of the setup (regardless of role) and then doesn't take up that role due to "work commitments"... essentially our inter county set up is 3 ex Wexford players with no proven track record , Dessie who did well with Oylgate and then an Offaly man in Franks as the only coach with proven track record but not at intercounty.... and the under 20 set up is worse..."
How is the U20 setup worse? It's not ratified yet and backroom team is not finalised,so how can you say it's worse?

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 15/11/2023 23:12:21    2513264

Replying To countyman2022:  "

Its a mistake if that set up is ratified."
U20 The backroom team is not finalised yet so how do you know it's a mistake?

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 15/11/2023 23:21:01    2513265

Replying To Tox73:  "How is the U20 setup worse? It's not ratified yet and backroom team is not finalised,so how can you say it's worse?"
Are you familiar with the Irish mentality of only being happy when your giving out?

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 16/11/2023 10:03:44    2513283