Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Re. that Liam Ryan pass - not sure how widely known this is, but I know Ryan said afterwards that he thought it was Rory O'Connor he was passing to. Am sure he meant no disrespect to his Rapps colleague, but if he'd realised it was the relatively inexperienced Pepper instead, he'd more than likely have taken on the shot himself.

So his decision to pass instead of shoot wasn't out of lack of confidence in his own ability, but was instead in the mistaken belief that he was giving the ball to somebody he was even more confident would find the target.

I don't think any psychologist could help with a case of mistaken identity like that when you see a flash of a Wexford jersey and a white helmet and you've only got a split second to make a decision."
Maybe if he was in a calmer mindset he wouldn't have made that mistake? Look at Mannion kicking the ball in the last few seconds of the Leinster final also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 13/10/2023 14:13:28    2508185

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe if he was in a calmer mindset he wouldn't have made that mistake? Look at Mannion kicking the ball in the last few seconds of the Leinster final also."
Lots of sports pschs out there..not too many like caroline currid though

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 13/10/2023 14:55:54    2508204

Players making wrong decisions is 99% down to poor coaching and situational preparation and 1% psychology.
Wexford lost to Dublin last year because they did not hurl well enough. Little or nothing to do with psychology. I can't say about the West Meath game but from what I gather it was bad everything that day not just psychology and to be brutally honest, if you need a psychologist to get over Westmeath you have bigger problems.
Is there a top profession in any field who gets out of bed for 100 thousand? I know they might not be full time but I doubt strongly you'll see much change out of it if they are in Dublin say and you want them to drive down to Wexford 1-2 times a week? How much is that in mileage?
The costs add up and quickly.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 13/10/2023 15:03:24    2508208

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Players making wrong decisions is 99% down to poor coaching and situational preparation and 1% psychology.
Wexford lost to Dublin last year because they did not hurl well enough. Little or nothing to do with psychology. I can't say about the West Meath game but from what I gather it was bad everything that day not just psychology and to be brutally honest, if you need a psychologist to get over Westmeath you have bigger problems.
Is there a top profession in any field who gets out of bed for 100 thousand? I know they might not be full time but I doubt strongly you'll see much change out of it if they are in Dublin say and you want them to drive down to Wexford 1-2 times a week? How much is that in mileage?
The costs add up and quickly."
Consistency has absolutely everything to do with psychology and nothing to do with coaching.

If you're already hurling County and need excessive coaching you might as well give up.

Getting the ball up quickly, fielding, hooking blocking etc. Are coach able skills. These should be mastered by the time you're wearing purple and gold.

I will say that an abundance of coaching increases confidence but its still more a psychological issue.

I'm going to drop it now anyway as I don't think we'll agree.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2662 - 13/10/2023 16:39:13    2508235

On another note, purple and gold seats in the park look class

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2662 - 13/10/2023 16:39:56    2508236

Replying To Past hurler:  "Does anyone know if Kilkenny ever use a sports psychologist?

I've never seen it mentioned, but maybe they have one in their backroom team."
Brian Cody was that man!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 13/10/2023 21:02:20    2508266

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Lots of sports pschs out there..not too many like caroline currid though"
She is currently not employed by a hurling side.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 13/10/2023 21:03:21    2508267

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Players making wrong decisions is 99% down to poor coaching and situational preparation and 1% psychology.
Wexford didn't take their chances. They did make 20 more chances than Dublin did. If a good psychologist had the lads in a better frame of mind maybe they'd have took 2 more of them which would likely have won that game. Some of the misses were shocking and wouldn't have been missed by the same players in a training game or even a club game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 13/10/2023 21:06:40    2508268

Replying To WEX98:  "Oylegate U16s won the D2 final at the weekend beating Naomh Eanna.

U14 D1 hurling and football finals still to come."
U14 D1 Hurling Champions

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 376 - 14/10/2023 12:43:13    2508316

The average wage in the country is still only 44k and you'd be talking Jan-July probably part time. I think consulting fees in the region of 20k would be loads.

It's unlikely any psychologist would be paid more than the manager

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2662 - 14/10/2023 13:54:10    2508324

Replying To WEX98:  "U14 D1 Hurling Champions"
Congratulations lad.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 15/10/2023 18:14:24    2508494

Replying To WEX98:  "U14 D1 Hurling Champions"
Ye are doing something right anyway, seem to be competing well in most age groups.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 15/10/2023 23:40:26    2508558

anyone hear anything of players called into Senior the panel for training?

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 17/10/2023 18:00:26    2508912

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "anyone hear anything of players called into Senior the panel for training?"
Bizarre question to be asking on a public forum TerribleFootwork.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40980329.html

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/10/2023 10:35:31    2508985

Replying To Viking66:  "Bizarre question to be asking on a public forum TerribleFootwork.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40980329.html"
Not bizarre at all, infact I think your reply is far far more bizarre.

Do you seriously think I presumed their back training already for next year? I know their not back til mid or late November but I'm sure plans are already there for who will be going in for training, I doubt you put a training panel together at a weeks notice.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 18/10/2023 11:00:07    2508993

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Not bizarre at all, infact I think your reply is far far more bizarre.

Do you seriously think I presumed their back training already for next year? I know their not back til mid or late November but I'm sure plans are already there for who will be going in for training, I doubt you put a training panel together at a weeks notice."
Ah right your post made it sound to me like it had started already! I must've misread it!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/10/2023 11:14:18    2508997

Replying To Hurleronthequay:  "Mythen would be a great shout for the 20s, and I believe the Oilgate players loved hurling for him. Disappointed that Mick Jacob has been given another year with the minor, my cousin was on the panel last year and is underage again this year and the feeling is the returning players didn't want Mick back, very poor player management, there was 3 seemingly asked about the job and the favourite was the U16 Squad Manager but sure when an Oulart man is on the selection committee is was always going to be Mick. Pity because it's a very strong squad in 2024"
10 of this years minor panel (6 of them were starters) are underage next year.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 18/10/2023 11:31:39    2509001

Any news on the rest of the backroom team for the seniors or new manager for the 21s?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 18/10/2023 11:59:12    2509012

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "10 of this years minor panel (6 of them were starters) are underage next year."
They got to the u16a Michael Foley Cup final this year also and only lost to Kilkenny by a goal. They should be our best hope of minor success in a long time if things go well for them and they get that little bit of luck along the way.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/10/2023 13:53:42    2509039

Replying To Afinestick:  "Any news on the rest of the backroom team for the seniors or new manager for the 21s?"
Nothing concrete

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/10/2023 13:54:03    2509041