Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To tearintom:  "Yet Kilkenny or Galway dont apparently need a huge crowd at their games to get them over the line against the likes of Westmeath or Antrim?

It also comes down to logistics, yesterday was great wexford fans are brilliant, Dublin match was terrible, Wexford fans are bandwagoners, if only theyd support the team we could have won etc etc yet the difference in attendance was a whopping 600 people!!

Literally 600 people more turned up for a home game on a sunny sunday May afternoon at home than travelled to Dublin on a rubbish day for a saturday evening game at 5pm yet at the time wexford fans were slated left right and centre on here."
Most of the fans in Croker were Dubs. And tbh Kilkenny brought alot of support down yesterday too. Galway and Kilkenny got bigger crowds at training sessions than our supporters came to support us at home against Westmeath in a Championship game. I was up in Salthill we were outnumbered by the Galway fans at least 10 to 1.
Agree though the players shouldn't need supporters. I just was wondering would they help?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12101 - 29/05/2023 18:48:12    2482719

Replying To tearintom:  "Yet Kilkenny or Galway dont apparently need a huge crowd at their games to get them over the line against the likes of Westmeath or Antrim?

It also comes down to logistics, yesterday was great wexford fans are brilliant, Dublin match was terrible, Wexford fans are bandwagoners, if only theyd support the team we could have won etc etc yet the difference in attendance was a whopping 600 people!!

Literally 600 people more turned up for a home game on a sunny sunday May afternoon at home than travelled to Dublin on a rubbish day for a saturday evening game at 5pm yet at the time wexford fans were slated left right and centre on here."
Our game against Westmeath was 3pm Sunday btw!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12101 - 29/05/2023 18:48:53    2482720

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Same here, can't wait to make a weekend of it in Belfast while away games in Kilkenny and Carlow are as close as you'll get."
For sure! It will be great not having to go up and back to Salthill in a day! I've friends we can stay with in Antrim from when I was living up there!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12101 - 29/05/2023 18:50:20    2482721

The hysteria around getting rid of managers and putting the boot in on Darragh Egan in the last few weeks has been way over the top to say the least. Driven by a local radio presenter.

I think we would be mad not to want him for a 3rd year.

I think many people are forgetting that the last 2 years under Davy were largely awful and 2022 under Egan was a big improvement. Won every game in the league except the semi final, beat Kilkenny in Nowlan Park, pushed Clare all the way in All Ireland quarter final.

This year we have had to content with our best players being injured for important parts of the year and our best goalkeeper being unable to continue in the panel this year.

The two main bad performances that put us where we are this year were the Dublin game and the Westmeath game. I honestly don't see how management were responsible for either.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 29/05/2023 21:43:26    2482753

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "I'd be inclined to agree but serious lessons must be learned and remedied from this year. First Mac and chinner in full forward line are the way going forward. They caused Clare all sorts of problems last year and but for the injuries to chin and Rory we'd have won that game. Kilkenny full back line couldn't cope with them yesterday. Allow Rory float with those 2 inside and you can mix the game nicely
Heard chinner after the game commenting on the bond that's there between players and management which cannot be discounted
Also Egan has identified the need to get new talent on board and he has had a lot of the u20's in around the panel with a view to integrating them into the team.
My one pet hate still is conceding the puck out."
Things can get soft, cushy and complacent when there is a special bond between players and management.

Egan has shown he isn't up to it, a relegation win doesn't change that.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 744 - 29/05/2023 23:52:21    2482763

Wexford brought 9400 fans to Croker this year?

WEXILE_AGAIN (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 30/05/2023 08:07:16    2482774

Are ye serious when ye say Kilkenny didn't want us to go down. You are saying the lads from glenmore tullagher and the Rower didn't want to see us go down. Come into the parish pump after a game then you will know what the wexford Kilkenny rivalry is about thank god now we won't see them til after the all Ireland.

I have a lot of Kilkenny friends and they have shut up and won't say a word til July if they get there. And if they lose they will go into hiding again. I listened to the love in on kclr and it was the greatest load of ***** ever
Any Kilkenny person can call me out on this I have no problem answering
If you were ever in Ross and Kilkenny won an all Ireland or bet wexford especially in jimmy hanrahans you woulnt see the end of them if we win you wouldn't see them til Xmas. That's a fact

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 266 - 30/05/2023 08:50:32    2482781

Replying To Past hurler:  "Things can get soft, cushy and complacent when there is a special bond between players and management.

Egan has shown he isn't up to it, a relegation win doesn't change that."
A tight knit group with players and management has to be there. Doesn't mean they have to be best friends but it's far better than distrust. As I said previously, I'd like Egan to stay for another year, integrate some of the u20's into the team in the league next year.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 486 - 30/05/2023 10:43:23    2482799

The bulk of that crowd in Croke Park v Dublin were Dublin supporters and I would hazard a guess that the bulk of the Wexford supporters were Wexford people living in Dublin.
I can't comment on Sunday as I wasn't there, but even so with Wexford hurling on the line it is a big 2 fingers to the players who give so much freely. And next people will ask "Why don't players want to play for Wexford"?
Support needs to have a look at itself. No point every tom dick and harry turning up for a big match in Croke Park. I told my wife (who has a passing interest at best) to bring my children.
Supporters make a MASSIVE difference. That u20 support from Wexford was scandalous. Offaly won frees on the strength of their crowd. And they won by 2 points. Small margins.

Re Darragh Egan, it is inconceivable that he would be back next year. Looking at the match reports, what do people believe would have happened if Adrian Mullan, Paddy Deegan, etc had been fit? I know Wexford had injuries too with the 2 Recks. But the margins were tiny even still. Wexford were so close to being in the Joe McDonagh cup.

I went to several league games this year and championship ons and saw no game plan and that match v Clare was the most shambolic performance I have ever seen. Players need to take responsibility but so do management.
It felt like the life was sucked out of Wexford this year. A new face is needed to reboot the thing.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1140 - 30/05/2023 11:17:12    2482817

Replying To WEX98:  "There's a full recording of the game.
Should be able to share during the week."
Brilliant WEX98

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12101 - 30/05/2023 11:29:20    2482826

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Are ye serious when ye say Kilkenny didn't want us to go down. You are saying the lads from glenmore tullagher and the Rower didn't want to see us go down. Come into the parish pump after a game then you will know what the wexford Kilkenny rivalry is about thank god now we won't see them til after the all Ireland.

I have a lot of Kilkenny friends and they have shut up and won't say a word til July if they get there. And if they lose they will go into hiding again. I listened to the love in on kclr and it was the greatest load of ***** ever
If you were ever in Ross and Kilkenny won an all Ireland or bet wexford especially in jimmy hanrahans you woulnt see the end of them if we win you wouldn't see them til Xmas. That's a fact"
Spot on!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12101 - 30/05/2023 11:30:55    2482827

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "A tight knit group with players and management has to be there. Doesn't mean they have to be best friends but it's far better than distrust. As I said previously, I'd like Egan to stay for another year, integrate some of the u20's into the team in the league next year."
I too am now conflicted whether Egan should stay or not. Is there any outstanding manager out there thats available and would want the job? Think back to 2018 we had a poor season with a limp exit to Clare in Pairc Ui Caoimh. People were calling for Davys head after that and the next year we came close to an All Ireland Final . I do think the set up needs some sort of freshening up with new ideas if Egan is to stay on

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 30/05/2023 11:38:00    2482831

That would be brilliant - would love to look back at it.

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 30/05/2023 11:39:35    2482832

Replying To Punter72007:  "First of all, Well done to all the players and management.
You performed brilliantly on the day.
It was a great game of hurling.
Kilkenny played their part and it was a thriller with great goals on both sides.
So well done to all the panel and everybody involved.

Secondly, great to see such a big crowd out for the game.
I thing StoreysTash post worked!
A call to arms like never before on this site.

Anyway ... well done to all involved!
Loch Garman abu."
Haha, well I wouldn't think it had any effect on most posters on here but I knew I couldn't be there to help the team along and may have had a couple of drinks on board as I sat down to type it. If it got 1 more person there, great.
We are proud people and with a Tipperary gf I would have hated to see us relegated.
Was there only 9,500 at it? From the highlights and bits on Twitter the stand and open side looked full and a few on the terrace.
Would dearly love to see the game, the tension sounded incredible on the radio and South East Radio kept cutting out. I was on a patchy wifi at the time as was away for a few days.
I am not so sure relations are as good as made out. Its easy to be happy when the result went our way. I think it could be a case of parting with no hard feelings.
But at least we stayed up.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 30/05/2023 12:05:14    2482839

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Are ye serious when ye say Kilkenny didn't want us to go down. You are saying the lads from glenmore tullagher and the Rower didn't want to see us go down. Come into the parish pump after a game then you will know what the wexford Kilkenny rivalry is about thank god now we won't see them til after the all Ireland.

If you were ever in Ross and Kilkenny won an all Ireland or bet wexford especially in jimmy hanrahans you woulnt see the end of them if we win you wouldn't see them til Xmas. That's a fact"
Agreed. Its all down to Geography, same in all counties, like South Kilkenny people would probably have more of a connection to the Wexford rivalry whereas other near with Tipp border would say them or even around Slievrue with Waterford etc. Like the Tipp Kilkenny rivalry is huge, Limerick Clare rivalry is big, Galway Tipp, Cork Tipp all massive well known rivalries but the Wexford v Kilkenny game will hit home more for some around Glenmore, Tullogher and other exmaples like Galway for Clare people in Tubber, Crusheen, Offaly for Galway people in Eyrecourt, Tipperary for Limerick people in Doon, Limerick for some North Cork parishes. Some rivalries seem bigger than others alright but for people living near the borders these can mean even more for them than some more well known ones.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 30/05/2023 12:11:05    2482845

Replying To Onfor15:  "The hysteria around getting rid of managers and putting the boot in on Darragh Egan in the last few weeks has been way over the top to say the least. Driven by a local radio presenter.

I think we would be mad not to want him for a 3rd year.

I think many people are forgetting that the last 2 years under Davy were largely awful and 2022 under Egan was a big improvement. Won every game in the league except the semi final, beat Kilkenny in Nowlan Park, pushed Clare all the way in All Ireland quarter final.

This year we have had to content with our best players being injured for important parts of the year and our best goalkeeper being unable to continue in the panel this year.

The two main bad performances that put us where we are this year were the Dublin game and the Westmeath game. I honestly don't see how management were responsible for either."
Have to disagree.

League and championship there's been literally 2 performances all year where you could say OK that's good enough. Two good performances and that's it.

Clare at home in the league was absolutely disgraceful, we have regressed at a rate of knots this year. Now whether all that is on the manager is another question but its been a season long malaise, not just one or two games.

Whatever the grand plan was for this year it has not worked

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1353 - 30/05/2023 12:20:30    2482847

There blessed to have you as a friend don't know the pub you talk about but there's always a few but real genuine hurling folk in Kilkenny know they need us in leinster to keep them competitive.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 30/05/2023 12:38:27    2482854

That would be unreal lad would love to see it back

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 266 - 30/05/2023 12:47:43    2482858

Replying To Tiger1:  "There blessed to have you as a friend don't know the pub you talk about but there's always a few but real genuine hurling folk in Kilkenny know they need us in leinster to keep them competitive."
Did you not see eoin Murphy screaming and shouting at every ball Alan murphy would have done cartwheels around wexford park if that goal was allowed believe me I know the family Wally Walsh like a drink in the pump when he can. Get awyward loves giving it socks to us. Sit in the pump some night after kk beating us and believe me you will know what the wexford Kilkenny rivalry is like

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 266 - 30/05/2023 13:20:31    2482877

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The bulk of that crowd in Croke Park v Dublin were Dublin supporters and I would hazard a guess that the bulk of the Wexford supporters were Wexford people living in Dublin.
I can't comment on Sunday as I wasn't there, but even so with Wexford hurling on the line it is a big 2 fingers to the players who give so much freely. And next people will ask "Why don't players want to play for Wexford"?
Support needs to have a look at itself. No point every tom dick and harry turning up for a big match in Croke Park. I told my wife (who has a passing interest at best) to bring my children.
Supporters make a MASSIVE difference. That u20 support from Wexford was scandalous. Offaly won frees on the strength of their crowd. And they won by 2 points. Small margins.

Re Darragh Egan, it is inconceivable that he would be back next year. Looking at the match reports, what do people believe would have happened if Adrian Mullan, Paddy Deegan, etc had been fit? I know Wexford had injuries too with the 2 Recks. But the margins were tiny even still. Wexford were so close to being in the Joe McDonagh cup.

I went to several league games this year and championship ons and saw no game plan and that match v Clare was the most shambolic performance I have ever seen. Players need to take responsibility but so do management.
It felt like the life was sucked out of Wexford this year. A new face is needed to reboot the thing."
Maybe on reflection it is time for him to go. We only had 2 decent performances all year and looked like we had no game plan at all. The Clare game was embarrassing they literally walked through our defence

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 30/05/2023 13:22:18    2482878