Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "There was a collective and unacceptable downing of tools in the 2nd half yesterday, they need to man up this week and start the repair work of the mess they've caused, yesterday had nothing to do county boards, historic underage set ups etc. in my opinion, they just paid the ultimate price for a rotten attitude in the 2nd half."
Absolutely desperate result yesterday. Just an aside, why do Wexford find it so hard to convert penalties? Our penalty taking record is shambolic

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 186 - 22/05/2023 12:06:51    2480437

Replying To ecad123:  "Can see why manager is being blamed for this one! 15 points up at half time and loose by 2, the manager was not the reason that Wexford lost this game imo. Now it does not look good that he is still persisting with injured players."
Persisting with injured players because we have very little coming through over the last few years and any that have come through aren't as good as what they are/will be replacing. We can't expect to compete for top titles if were not winning at underage. Every successful county team in ether code has been backbones by a successful underage team. We seem content with just being competitive instead of winning. Tom Dempsey keeps saying we're a county that only needs a little bit of success. What a load of ********. He's been involved with underage teams in the past and if that's the attitude of a previous underage coach, well that's worrying. Supporters will latch on to successful teams. If we're struggling for numbers now, imagine what it'll be like in the Joe McDonagh next year. More worryingly, it's not a guarantee that we get out of that especially if the older brigade retire. I'm sure Offaly thought they'd be back a lot sooner than they did. Very worried.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 22/05/2023 12:10:18    2480441

Another thing is i don't see the point of fans on this forum turning on each other

We all want Wexford to do well

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 22/05/2023 12:18:04    2480444

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "For what it's worth I'd give Rossi the job next year, if Wexford hurling is to rebuild over the 2-3 years I think it will have to be based around the 2022/23 u20 teams."
If not he definitely deserves another year with the u20s or u21s if they change the age group.
He might not want the job but whatever Joe Fortune said to his lads at half time definitely worked wonders for them. And the move to 15 on 15. The substitutions he made all worked out well too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 22/05/2023 12:20:07    2480448

Replying To Tiger1:  "Yes but Dublin would have to beat Galway by about 30 points not going to happen ."
Kilkenny are through anyway because they took 3 out of 4 points from those two games plus they've a score difference of +6. All three teams can't finish with a positive score difference over those three games so therefore, Kilkenny are already qualified for a Leinster Final

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 22/05/2023 12:22:13    2480449

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "If we're focusing on under-age, I think we're better off focusing on U20 results and not Minor. Galway win the All-Ireland Minor every second year yet have only won one Senior All-Ireland in the last 30 years. On the flip side, Clare got their backsides handed to them at Minor level by Cork in 2021 yet went very close to them last week at U20.

I think it makes sense to use Kilkenny as a barometer at U20. I'm not saying they've been wonderful but they still generally are one of the better teams in the country consistently.

2010: Wexford lose to Dublin AET in Leinster Final; probably at least as good as KK that year
2011: Beat KK in LQF, lose by 10 to Dublin in LF
2012: Lose heavily to a very good KK side in LSF; a decent few Wexford hurlers did end up coming from that side though
2013: Beat KK in LF
2014: Beat KK easily in LQF; win Leinster
2015: Beat KK heavily in LF
2016: Lose to Dublin in LQF but a lot of good players end up coming from this side
2017: Lose heavily to KK in the LF, only Cathal Dunbar emerged from the 1996s
2018: Lose to Galway by a point in the LF; probably around KK's level; had they had U21 the following year, I think we'd likely have won Leinster
2019: Lose to KK by 2 points in the LF; quite a poor crop though
2020: Lose by 8 points to Dublin in the LQF; quite a poor side again
2021: Lose to Kildare in the LPQF; very poor crop
2022: Lose to KK by a point in the LF; KK win the AI
2023: Lose to Offaly by 2 points in the LF; beat Kilkenny in the LSF

I accept that the above is not All-Ireland winning form but 2019-2021 aside, it should still be good enough to be relatively competitive with KK at Senior level IMO. Could we do better at underage level? Absolutely. Are our underage crops dire? Not really (Barring our current 22yos, 23yos, and 24yos).

I don't want to be here taking a deliberately rosy-eyed view of proceedings and I understand that people are very angry right now. But I don't think everything is quite as bad as some make it out to be. Under-age processes take time to implement and moreover, they take time to bear fruit. We won't really know how good/bad our U14s are until they are U20 in all honesty"
John O'brien reffed that 2018 game iirc. What did ye 'really' lose by, I wonder!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 22/05/2023 12:26:56    2480452

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Sheedy seems to think ye're grand lads, just some of yere defending wasn't 'Wexford defending' that's all, nothing to worry about. According to Sheedy, Galway are the team with the problems, just not consistent since 2012 etc, which wan will show up, and all that bla bla."
Don't think it's wise to read anything into what Sheedy says, he's very good buddies with Darragh Egan

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 22/05/2023 12:33:05    2480455

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "Absolutely desperate result yesterday. Just an aside, why do Wexford find it so hard to convert penalties? Our penalty taking record is shambolic"
Everything has been said but I find it hard that we are blaming county board, minor managers, chairmen etc etc and not one mention of the players .. Jackie Tyrell called a spade a spade last night .. not one of them stood up when counted .. the two goals Wexford conceded at the end were something you'd see in an U10 game .. zero pressure on Westmeath guys to strike in 90 yard balls .. and MOH goes up twice to catch both .. fails and two goals .. final point was a half hearted attempted to bat a ball and it was picked up and popped over the bar. So if anyone should put their hands up it's the players .. Yes Egan will be replaced at the end of the season and I've long thought he is out of his league but letting a 17 point lead slip has to go onto the players .. simple as

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 136 - 22/05/2023 12:35:11    2480456

I think we'd actually be better off sacking Egan right now and installing Keith Rossiter as interim manager but can't see that happening.

I'm guessing the next manager will need to be (a) a Wexfordman, (b) experienced, and (c) have that edge/dog/intensity in him. I think Keith should probably stick to the U20s for now and gain experience that way, punting on a novice manager hasn't worked these last two years. Joe Fortune fuflils all of the above criteria. He may have been involved to the U20 side that lost to Kildare but in his defence, he didn't have the raw materials at hand to compete

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 22/05/2023 12:43:45    2480462

Replying To Yellow:  "Another thing is i don't see the point of fans on this forum turning on each other

We all want Wexford to do well"
True but emotions are running high after yesterday and the people who disappear for vast periods of time then come firing out of the woodwork over the last 24 hours need to be pulled up on it.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 22/05/2023 12:45:28    2480465

Replying To Timbertony:  "Others here can comment but the inclusion of the men from 96 on management teams has not paid dividends. From memory weren't Tom Dempsey and maybe Martin Storey over a good Minor team that somehow lost v 13 players one day in Croke Park? Could be wrong there but I remember Tom joking about it years later

We aren't going to be competitive for next few years so there's no point spending huge money on outside management teams or pre season trips to Portugal. Start with someone like Joe Fortune who might be a bit excitable but has lots of experience and will give it his all. Give him the authority to get some overrated egos off the panel, which he won't shy away from, and let's go back to basics and restoring pride in the jersey starting with the first league game. Spend big on outside coaches at underage level if we need it to improve standards, that's what Limerick did."
Wasn't he over the u20 team that lost to Kildare? Not against him being appointment senior manager at all, but it may have hurt his chances of becoming senior manager in the eyes of upper management. Should definitely be involved with underage in Wexford IMO. He was involved with Dublin underage structures was he not?

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 22/05/2023 12:46:37    2480466

Replying To Viking66:  "If not he definitely deserves another year with the u20s or u21s if they change the age group.
He might not want the job but whatever Joe Fortune said to his lads at half time definitely worked wonders for them. And the move to 15 on 15. The substitutions he made all worked out well too."
Give the job to Rossiter. No Way .
Offaly u20 down to 14 men and what does Rossiter do on the line. Wexford play with 2 Sweepers . He spent to much time working under Davy .

castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 22/05/2023 12:48:07    2480467

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "John O'brien reffed that 2018 game iirc. What did ye 'really' lose by, I wonder!!"
Ironically, after the weekend just gone, we lost that game in 2018 because we couldn't deal with a hit and hope ball into the penalty area.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 22/05/2023 12:50:46    2480471

Replying To Timbertony:  "Others here can comment but the inclusion of the men from 96 on management teams has not paid dividends. From memory weren't Tom Dempsey and maybe Martin Storey over a good Minor team that somehow lost v 13 players one day in Croke Park? Could be wrong there but I remember Tom joking about it years later

We aren't going to be competitive for next few years so there's no point spending huge money on outside management teams or pre season trips to Portugal. Start with someone like Joe Fortune who might be a bit excitable but has lots of experience and will give it his all. Give him the authority to get some overrated egos off the panel, which he won't shy away from, and let's go back to basics and restoring pride in the jersey starting with the first league game. Spend big on outside coaches at underage level if we need it to improve standards, that's what Limerick did."
We had to ask Liam Dunne in 2012 to come in and try build a new Team . He did that over a few years and did a good job in giving all the young players a fair chance but got very little thanks if any thanks. Davy was handed a team coming into its Prime .

castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 22/05/2023 12:59:56    2480479

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "If we're focusing on under-age, I think we're better off focusing on U20 results and not Minor. Galway win the All-Ireland Minor every second year yet have only won one Senior All-Ireland in the last 30 years. On the flip side, Clare got their backsides handed to them at Minor level by Cork in 2021 yet went very close to them last week at U20.

I think it makes sense to use Kilkenny as a barometer at U20. I'm not saying they've been wonderful but they still generally are one of the better teams in the country consistently.

2010: Wexford lose to Dublin AET in Leinster Final; probably at least as good as KK that year
2011: Beat KK in LQF, lose by 10 to Dublin in LF
2012: Lose heavily to a very good KK side in LSF; a decent few Wexford hurlers did end up coming from that side though
2013: Beat KK in LF
2014: Beat KK easily in LQF; win Leinster
2015: Beat KK heavily in LF
2016: Lose to Dublin in LQF but a lot of good players end up coming from this side
2017: Lose heavily to KK in the LF, only Cathal Dunbar emerged from the 1996s
2018: Lose to Galway by a point in the LF; probably around KK's level; had they had U21 the following year, I think we'd likely have won Leinster
2019: Lose to KK by 2 points in the LF; quite a poor crop though
2020: Lose by 8 points to Dublin in the LQF; quite a poor side again
2021: Lose to Kildare in the LPQF; very poor crop
2022: Lose to KK by a point in the LF; KK win the AI
2023: Lose to Offaly by 2 points in the LF; beat Kilkenny in the LSF

I accept that the above is not All-Ireland winning form but 2019-2021 aside, it should still be good enough to be relatively competitive with KK at Senior level IMO. Could we do better at underage level? Absolutely. Are our underage crops dire? Not really (Barring our current 22yos, 23yos, and 24yos).

I don't want to be here taking a deliberately rosy-eyed view of proceedings and I understand that people are very angry right now. But I don't think everything is quite as bad as some make it out to be. Under-age processes take time to implement and moreover, they take time to bear fruit. We won't really know how good/bad our U14s are until they are U20 in all honesty"
Yesterday was historically bad. Westmeath's first championship win over us since 1940. To put that into perspective, it predates the emergence of Rackard (who made his intercounty hurling debut in '42) and the revolution that followed. In fact, we were still more of a footballing entity then. It's without doubt the darkest day in Wexford hurling history from a results point of view.

We can point to how competitive we are vs. Kilkenny at underage throughout a specific timeframe, but it's the fortunes of the seniors that puts bums on seats and what is remembered in the record books, and this year has been nothing short of an unmitigated disaster.

You have the county board organising a fundraiser for the senior hurlers holiday fund last month (oh sorry a training camp), asking supporters to dip into our pockets again after the release of a limited edition jersey (in time for Christmas) and other such commercial ventures. There should be a ban on all foreign excursions now for a couple of years until they achieve something tangible.

We had the county board chairman on SE radio in the aftermath of the Offaly under-20 game condemning our lack of support, but I didn't hear of any free buses for school-going kids or anything like that for the occasion (which Offaly have been excellent at pushing). Besides, it's the height of communion season, I'm sure families have enough on their plates.

No doubt in a couple of weeks, we will be "market-leaders" in getting the club championships up and running. We'll get it run off in time for Leinster they'll say, when equally important for the brand will be having the TG4 live spot for the senior hurling final again.

Nevermind a review of football in the county, which is needed, a full review of all structures needs to be conducted. At least our senior footballers seem to have tactical flexibility and appear to be playing for their manager, a Wexford native no less.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 22/05/2023 13:04:17    2480483

Sorry but Wexford need to focus on player retention and getting people on to the panel, not off it.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 22/05/2023 13:06:12    2480484

Replying To castletownman:  "Give the job to Rossiter. No Way .
Offaly u20 down to 14 men and what does Rossiter do on the line. Wexford play with 2 Sweepers . He spent to much time working under Davy ."
Lads like you who only appear out of the woodwork after the dark days are no good.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 22/05/2023 13:32:09    2480498

Replying To castletownman:  "Give the job to Rossiter. No Way .
Offaly u20 down to 14 men and what does Rossiter do on the line. Wexford play with 2 Sweepers . He spent to much time working under Davy ."
He took off our centre back and put on a forward towards the end of the game. Who were the 2 sweepers?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 22/05/2023 13:34:16    2480499

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Wasn't he over the u20 team that lost to Kildare? Not against him being appointment senior manager at all, but it may have hurt his chances of becoming senior manager in the eyes of upper management. Should definitely be involved with underage in Wexford IMO. He was involved with Dublin underage structures was he not?"
No that was James Shiel over the u20s in 2021. Joe Fortune was on the backroom team.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 22/05/2023 13:44:11    2480506

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Lads like you who only appear out of the woodwork after the dark days are no good."
It was more than a dark day yesterday . Bring back Davy and ROSSIRER they will brighten up our days for sure .
7 backs and 5 forwards . Fantastic system for 7 years now .

castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 22/05/2023 13:58:34    2480510