Down GAA thread

One major upset, and almost a bigger one in the Down quarter-finals. All-Ireland champions Kilcoo were taken to penalties by Clonduff, who even had a penalty to win it. But as usual, Kilcoo somehow prevailed in the end.
Kilcoo's main rivals, Burren were strong favourites to beat Warrenpoint (5-1 on with the bookies). That game also went to penalties, and again, Burren had a penalty to win, but failed to convert, and lost in the sudden death.
Both winning teams went first in the penalty shootout , which is a significant advantage; in soccer the team going first wins 3 out of 5 times.

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 27/09/2022 09:50:09    2441994

What is the story about the Kilcoo boys. Was there any on the panel last night??

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 05/01/2023 12:28:24    2451230

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "What is the story about the Kilcoo boys. Was there any on the panel last night??"
Stupid question

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 05/01/2023 15:42:45    2451265

A successful McKenna cup campaign I think we can agree on, playing three division one teams great experience for the boys. That Derry team today was nothing short of their best available bar the Glenn lads so fair play to the boys for playing and performing as they did. Conor Alberto clearly has had a massive influence on them lads cause if you'd have asked me at the start of this I thought we were in for a short campaign. Looking forward to the league here should be exiting. Would all but love other Kilcoo boys and not only them but all the best lads in the county to just by in. Look at Derry there a few years back they were probably in a worse place than this down team and look at them now. Football is about your clubs but county should bring a sense of pride as well to fellas especially when yous are flipping brilliant at it

There is no better man than Conor for the job so good luck mate. I got one will be following you all the way

Antrimroad (Down) - Posts: 119 - 15/01/2023 21:51:03    2452636

Any word on the Johnson brothers???

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 16/01/2023 15:34:35    2452726

Replying To Antrimroad:  "A successful McKenna cup campaign I think we can agree on, playing three division one teams great experience for the boys. That Derry team today was nothing short of their best available bar the Glenn lads so fair play to the boys for playing and performing as they did. Conor Alberto clearly has had a massive influence on them lads cause if you'd have asked me at the start of this I thought we were in for a short campaign. Looking forward to the league here should be exiting. Would all but love other Kilcoo boys and not only them but all the best lads in the county to just by in. Look at Derry there a few years back they were probably in a worse place than this down team and look at them now. Football is about your clubs but county should bring a sense of pride as well to fellas especially when yous are flipping brilliant at it

There is no better man than Conor for the job so good luck mate. I got one will be following you all the way"
I was very impressed with Down yesterday. They showed loads of desire and real determination with some serious quality to boot. I think however we were sloppy in defence which was uncharacteristic of us and Chris's McKaigue typified that with the sending off. We badly missed Conor Glass and Ethan Doherty. They make the team tick. Niall Loughlin was a big miss as well. All in all though it was an entertaining game and both sides had positives to take out of it. Down will certainly be amongst the favourites to go up if they can offer the same type of performances in Division 3.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 155 - 16/01/2023 20:26:59    2452778

Is the Kilcoo lads back ?Shelan Johnstone?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1140 - 18/01/2023 21:58:19    2453035

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Is the Kilcoo lads back ?Shelan Johnstone?"
Yes there our a few lads on the panel, and have being playing in the Mckenna cup.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 19/01/2023 12:00:11    2453067

Have the Johnson brothers returned?????

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 19/01/2023 13:53:50    2453093

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "Have the Johnson brothers returned?????"
I hope so, the youngest one was captain of a very well drilled u20 team so we can only hope. Maybe some lads are with the university's as we well but unsure. Seen a burren lad was captain of ulster so hopefully there will be more additions to the county after that's all wrapped up

Antrimroad (Down) - Posts: 119 - 23/01/2023 20:06:57    2453805

What's the mood like in Down at the minute? Will Laverty get everyone rowing behind him? There's no doubt that Down have been under-achieving these past few years. Always had a soft spot for Down. They traditionally play a very exciting brand of football. I hope ye get out of Div 3. I would say our championship match against Down this year will be a completely different proposition to last year's.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9128 - 24/01/2023 10:10:51    2453849

Replying To Lockjaw:  "What's the mood like in Down at the minute? Will Laverty get everyone rowing behind him? There's no doubt that Down have been under-achieving these past few years. Always had a soft spot for Down. They traditionally play a very exciting brand of football. I hope ye get out of Div 3. I would say our championship match against Down this year will be a completely different proposition to last year's."
I think we have been underperforming since 2010 and to be honest we over performed that year. Nonetheless it was an AI that we should have won as Cork were no big shakes. I think the mood seems to be good but the game this weekend will be crucial to our season. We have always been a county that thrives on confidence, more so than any other county in Ulster, maybe Ireland. As for our championship game against Donegal that maybe a step too far this year but we certainly need to give a better account of ourselves, which I have no doubt we will. Laverty is a winner and he won' accept anything else. You can be guaranteed that we will be 100% prepared in every aspect for this game.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 24/01/2023 12:28:05    2453920

Great start to the league away to Tipp, lads put a massive effort in from the off and played some great football with Pat Havern using the Tipperary defence all sorts off problems.
Lads linked up well and tackling was strong which helped with turnover ball.
Once McParland got his second yellow we lost our way somewhat and tipp pushed on but we still kicked some great points and Gilmore very unlucky with a shot that rattled the crossbar.

All in all a great start for the lads and with still a number of boys to come back its a great sign, now we look forward to Antrim coming to Newry on sat night and hopefully get that second win under our belt.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 30/01/2023 18:21:07    2455373

I was reading the article in the Irish News today written by John Clarke about the injury to Barry O'Hagan. He stated that it would be a 'huge loss but but there is still enough firepower to keep the Mourne momentum going'. I don't think we realise how big a loss it is going to be. He has been the go to forward in Down for a number of years and he will be sorely missed. He has that X factor that belongs to a player who is born with pure talent. Every county team has one and he certainly has been ours in the recent past.

I do like youg Gilmore as he is the type of forward you would hate to mark. Havern has been good also as has Brown, Kerr and Murdock. But to do something special takes a special player -Linden, Carr, Wee James and Breen to name a few. That's what O' Hagan has.

He also stated that the Johnston brothers maybe back. This would be a great boost to Down football if all 3 of them came back to the Down panel. I also think, although highly critical of him at the time, Eugene Brannigan should also be asked back. He can only make this team better and that's what all Down supporters want -The best players in the county representing the county.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 10/02/2023 13:27:42    2457653

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "I was reading the article in the Irish News today written by John Clarke about the injury to Barry O'Hagan. He stated that it would be a 'huge loss but but there is still enough firepower to keep the Mourne momentum going'. I don't think we realise how big a loss it is going to be. He has been the go to forward in Down for a number of years and he will be sorely missed. He has that X factor that belongs to a player who is born with pure talent. Every county team has one and he certainly has been ours in the recent past.

I do like youg Gilmore as he is the type of forward you would hate to mark. Havern has been good also as has Brown, Kerr and Murdock. But to do something special takes a special player -Linden, Carr, Wee James and Breen to name a few. That's what O' Hagan has.

He also stated that the Johnston brothers maybe back. This would be a great boost to Down football if all 3 of them came back to the Down panel. I also think, although highly critical of him at the time, Eugene Brannigan should also be asked back. He can only make this team better and that's what all Down supporters want -The best players in the county representing the county."
Agree regarding Barry, I've been to all the games In Mckenna cup and league and he will be a hugh lost going forward not just his scores but his all round play and leadership, wish him a speedy recovery.

Sheelan and Ryan johnston our in the panel and should hopefully be back soon likewise Mooney and a few others, we have strong defenders who like getting forward chipping in with a few scores and likewise midfield and thats what we will need going forward a spread of scorers, as Gilmore and havern will have targets on there back.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 10/02/2023 16:22:18    2457713

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Agree regarding Barry, I've been to all the games In Mckenna cup and league and he will be a hugh lost going forward not just his scores but his all round play and leadership, wish him a speedy recovery.

Sheelan and Ryan johnston our in the panel and should hopefully be back soon likewise Mooney and a few others, we have strong defenders who like getting forward chipping in with a few scores and likewise midfield and thats what we will need going forward a spread of scorers, as Gilmore and havern will have targets on there back."
Agree with all that has been said, when i was a young lad , it was such an honour to be asked to play for our famous county and wear the famous red and black, i hope and do think that is the case today, and every player who is asked to do so will do it with pride

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 11/02/2023 20:37:51    2457867

O'Hagan a big miss for ye, but hopefully some of the players mentioned above do come back into the panel.

All the best for 2023, Down inter county football has been in the shadows for too long.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 12/02/2023 12:30:48    2457906

Replying To ahsure.:  "O'Hagan a big miss for ye, but hopefully some of the players mentioned above do come back into the panel.

All the best for 2023, Down inter county football has been in the shadows for too long."
Thanks Ahsure. I think it is definitely far too long since we have been at the top table. I hope this is the right managerial appointment to get us back there. I for one think so, but Laverty can only work with what he has got. There has always been a proud footballing tradition in our county but I believe until we get our underage structures correct, as Tyrone have, it will be difficult. This team is young and needs nurtured. It also has'nt been beaten during Laverty's tenure (except by penalties against Derry). It will be interesting to see how they respond to getting beaten, as this will come. I believe this weekends game will be critical in their development as they were very fortunate against Antrim.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 15/02/2023 11:27:15    2458369

Only caught the second half and there was plenty to like about the Down team going forward. They attacked with real pace and had some excellent passing in tight spaces. They could have had more goals and threw away a few chances for points.

The effort in the second was much improved Down pressing the Fermanagh kick out and Gilmore catching their goalkeeper out the field is worthy of a mention as it led to a penalty.

Down's defending was poor, they seemed to be zonal marking but there was no pressure on runners and Fermanagh found space as they liked scoring easily with every attack. There was then a switch to man to man marking and Down pressed the Fermanagh kick out and for a time there seemed to be an improvement.

There was another problem, the perennial problem that never goes away. Down won almost nothing in midfield, they also picked up very little breaking ball. It's early days and the team and management will improve but you can't keep conceding such big scores and hope your forwards will pull the game out of the fire in the last ten minutes. Big games against Cavan and Westmeath to come and a big improvement is required.

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 19/02/2023 18:13:46    2459118

Replying To Newmitch:  "Only caught the second half and there was plenty to like about the Down team going forward. They attacked with real pace and had some excellent passing in tight spaces. They could have had more goals and threw away a few chances for points.

The effort in the second was much improved Down pressing the Fermanagh kick out and Gilmore catching their goalkeeper out the field is worthy of a mention as it led to a penalty.

Down's defending was poor, they seemed to be zonal marking but there was no pressure on runners and Fermanagh found space as they liked scoring easily with every attack. There was then a switch to man to man marking and Down pressed the Fermanagh kick out and for a time there seemed to be an improvement.

There was another problem, the perennial problem that never goes away. Down won almost nothing in midfield, they also picked up very little breaking ball. It's early days and the team and management will improve but you can't keep conceding such big scores and hope your forwards will pull the game out of the fire in the last ten minutes. Big games against Cavan and Westmeath to come and a big improvement is required."
All true , goalkeeping mistakes again , i think we need a keeper who can move out the field like , tyrone monaghan armagh to name a few, bubba maybe fits that bill if not Ohare surley must start next day, Midfield we just cant seem to win clean or break ball, to be honest i dont think we can afford to lose another game, hopefully a few too come in there is talk of the Jonstons , Brannigans, Guinness McCabe, how is mooneys recovery going , were goin to need them all, but i do know Laverty is a canny boy and wont be afraid to make the tough decisions

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 19/02/2023 20:50:52    2459215