Regional Championship

Anyone on here go to any of the games?. I didn't get to see them myself, hard to find much detail in the reports I have seen.
Any good prospects for the county team?.
Heard from a guy who went in the first night that one of the Lough Crew players looked very good but then got himself sent off, regarding his chances of getting to the county panel hard to know will his good play be negated by getting sent off.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 28/10/2022 12:27:57    2445774

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Good start to the regional championship. I wasn't at any of the games so only read the reports.

It's great to see the likes of Harry Hogan, Jason Scully, Eoin Harkin and even Donal Keoghan (don't think he played but was listed) buying into this and not thinking their place is assured on the Meath panel.

Also even better to see ex county players like Burke, Tobin and Newman all playing while the likes of Kevin Ross, Seanie Mahon and Marty Mulhall who all have been fantastic club players through the years are buying in too.

My only annoyance is Dunshaughlin. None of the Dunshaughlin intermediate team are involved and I get that as they have a lenister championship to focus on. But lads from Dunshaughlin who aren't playing with the intermediates and then lining out for a regional team is a kick in the teeth. They aren't playing with Dunshaughlins first team so why are they with the regional side."
They are with the regional side as they are good enough to make the regional side despite being second team players for a senior club. Have you seen the players from other clubs that were selected on the Tara team? They wouldn't make Dunsaughlin's second team a lot of them.

Also, where did people get the idea that these are trials for the Meath team??? Some lad on Hoganstand Facebook ranting about ex county players playing. Didn't realize you weren't allowed to play club football anymore once you retire from the county scene…

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 28/10/2022 13:14:11    2445786

Replying To Crinigan:  "They are with the regional side as they are good enough to make the regional side despite being second team players for a senior club. Have you seen the players from other clubs that were selected on the Tara team? They wouldn't make Dunsaughlin's second team a lot of them.

Also, where did people get the idea that these are trials for the Meath team??? Some lad on Hoganstand Facebook ranting about ex county players playing. Didn't realize you weren't allowed to play club football anymore once you retire from the county scene…"
100% bang on here.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 28/10/2022 13:31:27    2445790

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Anyone on here go to any of the games?. I didn't get to see them myself, hard to find much detail in the reports I have seen.
Heard from a guy who went in the first night that one of the Lough Crew players looked very good but then got himself sent off, regarding his chances of getting to the county panel hard to know will his good play be negated by getting sent off."
It might help!

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 28/10/2022 14:30:34    2445798

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Anyone on here go to any of the games?. I didn't get to see them myself, hard to find much detail in the reports I have seen.
Heard from a guy who went in the first night that one of the Lough Crew players looked very good but then got himself sent off, regarding his chances of getting to the county panel hard to know will his good play be negated by getting sent off."
I was at that game the lad who got sent off was a corner back who looked good but he did get sent off very early on and his man did have a couple of points from play at that stage so I'm not sure he would be an automatic candidate. There were a few good players on show in the game but it must be said the man who stood out head and shoulders above the rest was Scully, obviously already a county panellist!

TigerKing (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 28/10/2022 14:32:59    2445799

Replying To Crinigan:  "They are with the regional side as they are good enough to make the regional side despite being second team players for a senior club. Have you seen the players from other clubs that were selected on the Tara team? They wouldn't make Dunsaughlin's second team a lot of them.

Also, where did people get the idea that these are trials for the Meath team??? Some lad on Hoganstand Facebook ranting about ex county players playing. Didn't realize you weren't allowed to play club football anymore once you retire from the county scene…"
Definitely a big part of the interest in the regional championship is identifying potential county players. This is what probably motivates many of the players to make themselves available.
Everyone knows the average standard of players in these regional teams should be a good bit higher than typical intermediate/ junior teams. The county management will obviously be attending the regional championship matches knowing this and you would imagine will take note of players who really stand out in these games.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 28/10/2022 16:26:40    2445817

Replying To TigerKing:  "I was at that game the lad who got sent off was a corner back who looked good but he did get sent off very early on and his man did have a couple of points from play at that stage so I'm not sure he would be an automatic candidate. There were a few good players on show in the game but it must be said the man who stood out head and shoulders above the rest was Scully, obviously already a county panellist!"
I hadn't heard the forward he was marking scored 2 points from play. The guy I was talking to was from Oldcastle direction so maybe wasn't a neutral observer.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 28/10/2022 18:47:41    2445824

I've no issues with ex County players or older club players wanting to play at a higher standard and test themselves. For some of these players they might get to win a championship.

The issue I have is players who can't get on their teams first team or even second team. Now I spoke to a Dunshaughlin man yesterday and he did say a couple of those players who are with Tara should be starting on the first team but he is at a loss as to why they aren't so I understand those lads are probably frustrated not getting the opportunity and when they chance came to play for their regional side they jumped at it.

Should we open up the regional championship to all second team players? If that is the case, Dunboyne and Ashbourne players will run riot as they were intermediate sides in the past.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 29/10/2022 11:49:13    2445846

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "I've no issues with ex County players or older club players wanting to play at a higher standard and test themselves. For some of these players they might get to win a championship.

The issue I have is players who can't get on their teams first team or even second team. Now I spoke to a Dunshaughlin man yesterday and he did say a couple of those players who are with Tara should be starting on the first team but he is at a loss as to why they aren't so I understand those lads are probably frustrated not getting the opportunity and when they chance came to play for their regional side they jumped at it.

Should we open up the regional championship to all second team players? If that is the case, Dunboyne and Ashbourne players will run riot as they were intermediate sides in the past."
Did Ashbourne's second teams run riot when they were in the intermediate championship a few years ago? No. No they didn't. They just about were competitive. Presumably you know this??? So why are you saying they would suddenly run riot? Neither are doing much in recent seasons at senior level either, esp Ashbourne.

Also can you name the players on the Blackhall, Dunsany or St Paul's teams who are better than the Dunsaughlin lads who represented Tara but who didn't get a chance to play? Dunsaughlin were an especially strong team for intermediate level in Meath. That's all. No mystery. Better to focus on why likes of Blackhall are so bad given the size of their catchment area.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 29/10/2022 12:24:22    2445847

Well the County Board who organise the thing describe it in the launch documents as a "Shop window for the county team".

https://meath.gaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/Meath-Regional-Championship-Oct-2022.pdf

And if that wasn't enough, Colm O'Rourke himself sees it them as trials for the county team:

"O'Rourke highlighted that he was enthusiastic to the idea of the regional competition for junior and intermediate clubs which should be up and running at the end of the championship.

We see this as an ideal way at looking at players in the county and anyone who wants to play for Meath will get an opportunity to do so and anyone who wants to opt out, well that's fine. We can take it that they don't want to play for Meath. It will be an opportunity to look at players in a competitive setting over a period of time. It would give us an opportunity to look at about 300 players over a four to six weeks period and everyone would get a great opportunity to try out for the county
."

https://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/Article/Index/324661

But I suppose lads here know more than Colm O'Rourke about how Colm O'Rourke is picking the Meath team....

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 29/10/2022 12:30:10    2445848

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "I've no issues with ex County players or older club players wanting to play at a higher standard and test themselves. For some of these players they might get to win a championship.

Should we open up the regional championship to all second team players? If that is the case, Dunboyne and Ashbourne players will run riot as they were intermediate sides in the past."
Most of the Dunshaughlin lads involved in Tara would start on 90% of the intermediate teams in the county. They are just unlucky that they are in a club where there first team was absolutely miles too good for the grade and were basically a senior team.

As far as I'm concerned the managers job is to pick the best players available to him. Most of these Dunshaughlin lads are the best players available to him.

From what I've seen of the other clubs involved they are not taking the place of any lad playing First team for Dunsany Blackhall or Kilbride who are better than them and who should be ahead of them so what's the problem?

Should the manager not pick the best players available to him or should he only pick lads who are playing for their first teams ?

Dunshaughlins 2nd team would run Blackhall close and probably beat Dunsany and Kilbride.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 29/10/2022 13:04:19    2445853

This isn't the only competition Dunshaughlin are avoiding. The U20 intermediate players are not involved with their own U20 team. Very strange carry on.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 29/10/2022 15:00:45    2445869

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Well the County Board who organise the thing describe it in the launch documents as a "Shop window for the county team".

https://meath.gaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/Meath-Regional-Championship-Oct-2022.pdf

And if that wasn't enough, Colm O'Rourke himself sees it them as trials for the county team:

"O'Rourke highlighted that he was enthusiastic to the idea of the regional competition for junior and intermediate clubs which should be up and running at the end of the championship.

We see this as an ideal way at looking at players in the county and anyone who wants to play for Meath will get an opportunity to do so and anyone who wants to opt out, well that's fine. We can take it that they don't want to play for Meath. It will be an opportunity to look at players in a competitive setting over a period of time. It would give us an opportunity to look at about 300 players over a four to six weeks period and everyone would get a great opportunity to try out for the county
."

But I suppose lads here know more than Colm O'Rourke about how Colm O'Rourke is picking the Meath team...."
The lads saying that these are pure trials would appear to know more about how O'Rourke is picking his team. If they are trials, is he running trials for senior club players or does O'Rourke mistakenly think he has been chosen as the Meath junior team manager?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 29/10/2022 16:07:30    2445882

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Well the County Board who organise the thing describe it in the launch documents as a "Shop window for the county team".

."

But I suppose lads here know more than Colm O'Rourke about how Colm O'Rourke is picking the Meath team...."
Of course its a shop window for the county team. Nobody said it wasn't. But they are not exclusively trial games . This competition has been in the works since 2019 only for covid delaying it . People seem to think it was CORs idea and he suggested it a few months back.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 29/10/2022 17:25:02    2445891

Replying To Crinigan:  "

."

The lads saying that these are pure trials would appear to know more about how O'Rourke is picking his team. If they are trials, is he running trials for senior club players or does O'Rourke mistakenly think he has been chosen as the Meath junior team manager?"
It's fairly simple. Players playing in the senior championship will likely be familiar to many including the management of the county team.
It is harder to identify potential inter county standard players from junior/ intermediate teams as they don't play in the best/ most high profile club competition.
Putting the best of junior/ intermediate club players in a competition against each other allows you to see can they perform when playing with/ against a higher standard of player.
The main interest people have in the competition is to identify potential inter county standard players.

GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 30/10/2022 15:48:34    2445959

Any stand out performances or discoveries so far?

AnFearBan1234 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 01/11/2022 13:36:36    2446109

Two upsets in group B tonight. Fair play to Tara. Without Dunshauglin I thought they wouldn't get out of the group. They are a struggling intermediate side, two good junior teams and a premier 1 team and they beat a side with 3 intermediate teams including 2 strong ones in Rathkenny and Walterstown. Good that there is still a place up for grabs in each group

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 02/11/2022 21:22:42    2446281

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Two upsets in group B tonight. Fair play to Tara. Without Dunshauglin I thought they wouldn't get out of the group. They are a struggling intermediate side, two good junior teams and a premier 1 team and they beat a side with 3 intermediate teams including 2 strong ones in Rathkenny and Walterstown. Good that there is still a place up for grabs in each group"
blackwater left 2 of there top forwards on the line untill it was too late , kicked too many wides in the first half with the breeze and brought on forwards in the 2nd half against a gale force wind , played too many 30 + aged players and left young lads on the line , total wrong approach

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/11/2022 10:20:00    2446300

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Two upsets in group B tonight. Fair play to Tara. Without Dunshauglin I thought they wouldn't get out of the group. They are a struggling intermediate side, two good junior teams and a premier 1 team and they beat a side with 3 intermediate teams including 2 strong ones in Rathkenny and Walterstown. Good that there is still a place up for grabs in each group"
Great performance from Tara against a much fancied Boyne Valley.

Were good value for their win . Didn't see last weeks games but they seem to have a brilliant team spirit forged already and the management are getting the most out of what on paper is probably one of the less fancied teams with not having the Dunshauglin first team lads available or kilbride u20 lads available and also having ST Pauls as one of their teams who would have nobody to contribute to the Tara side.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 03/11/2022 11:41:20    2446320

Replying To brian:  "blackwater left 2 of there top forwards on the line untill it was too late , kicked too many wides in the first half with the breeze and brought on forwards in the 2nd half against a gale force wind , played too many 30 + aged players and left young lads on the line , total wrong approach"
Was Dylan Morgan injured? Thought he'd be a shoe in on that team and their main inside forward. Anyone know why Mickey Burke wasn't playing? I've a suspicion Colm O'Rourke will call him in…

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 03/11/2022 13:02:35    2446338