Regional Championship

Replying To Foley91:  "Because its being run at the same time as the u20 football amd u21 hurling championships. Also most of these guys are likely in college playing college games."
Yeah so let them make a choice to play or not to play. Don't ban them from the competition. Ridiculous suggetion.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 07/10/2022 13:12:03    2443097

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Yeah so let them make a choice to play or not to play. Don't ban them from the competition. Ridiculous suggetion."
Your right. To hell with player welfare.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 07/10/2022 13:30:04    2443103

Replying To Foley91:  "Your right. To hell with player welfare."
What are you on about. Throwing out the old player welfare line. If they don't want to play because they have too much other stuff going on club football club hurling college etc well they don't have to play. Nobody is making them play.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 07/10/2022 13:41:22    2443106

Replying To Foley91:  "Your right. To hell with player welfare."
i have to say, as a long time critic of the county board, i have to give them credit when i think they deserve it
Im assuming the ideas behind this are many, but one must be, to reward quality junior & intermediate club players who are plying their trade at the lower grades & who might otherwise think that there is never really an opportunity for these guys to test themselves at a higher level or be "recognised" on the county stage , to finally feel that has changed.
So, whatever problems are associated with it, and a congested fixture schedule is always a problem that can be easily dealt with if people are reasonable & respectful , time of year, etc...overall...i think its just brilliant to see so many coaches 9qulaity coaches ) given off their time to this, and to me that has got to be commended
brilliant to see launch last night...new jersies...kit for guys... I cant see how this doesnt create a buzz in a small junior club

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 07/10/2022 13:54:57    2443110

I'm not against the competition just feel its timing with the u 20 and u21 is unfair on these players who will be asked to play in it.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 07/10/2022 14:35:03    2443119

Replying To Foley91:  "I'm not against the competition just feel its timing with the u 20 and u21 is unfair on these players who will be asked to play in it."
There's the key word. "Asked"

They don't have to if they don't want to. Nobody forcing anyone

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 07/10/2022 15:22:27    2443128

Replying To Blackspot09:  "There's the key word. "Asked"

They don't have to if they don't want to. Nobody forcing anyone"
Its a tough one to be fair. Any you player under the age of 20 who is genuinely good enough will have been involved in Meath U20's (generally, there can always be an exception but its very rare). Now if you're managing one of these teams you are going to want to get the absolute best players available regardless of what else they have going on, and if you're a young 18-20 year old you're not going to be thinking that you have years ahead of you to prove yourself and opt out, you're going to want to play every game for every team you can. And while right now they may get through it grand, its the long term wear and tear effects, eventual player burnout that is the issue. I would slightly lean towards airing on the side of caution and making it for only the Over 20's as the U20's will be in the shop window anyway during the U21 competitions, and this also allows more of the older players into the regional set up giving a wider cast of players.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 07/10/2022 16:02:28    2443139

Assuming all players made themselves available, which region will have the strongest team? An Tuascairt have the biggest pick of teams. Tara have the intermediate and junior finalists but that could be a curse too if they go on to Leinster. Loughcrew seem a good shout with a potentially strong young team.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 07/10/2022 16:32:40    2443146

Replying To ratlag:  "Its a tough one to be fair. Any you player under the age of 20 who is genuinely good enough will have been involved in Meath U20's (generally, there can always be an exception but its very rare). Now if you're managing one of these teams you are going to want to get the absolute best players available regardless of what else they have going on, and if you're a young 18-20 year old you're not going to be thinking that you have years ahead of you to prove yourself and opt out, you're going to want to play every game for every team you can. And while right now they may get through it grand, its the long term wear and tear effects, eventual player burnout that is the issue. I would slightly lean towards airing on the side of caution and making it for only the Over 20's as the U20's will be in the shop window anyway during the U21 competitions, and this also allows more of the older players into the regional set up giving a wider cast of players."
Don't agree at all that the u20 club championship is a shop window.

Possibly at Division 1 but even then I would have my doubts. If there is some talented young u20 player from a weak junior a or b team who thinks he can push on and wants to be in the shop window the club u20 division 4 or 5 championship v another poor team or an amalgamation of clubs is not a shop window for him.

Pitting himself against a Donal Keoghan or a Matthew Costello in the regional championship will be a shop window so there's no way we should be even discussing depriving young lads of this opportunity.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 08/10/2022 09:33:24    2443167

The launch was well thought out and there has been loads of effort into it. This is a huge chance for players from smaller clubs to make their name. I really hope that he appetite and buy in is there

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 10/10/2022 14:20:01    2443411

Does anyone know if this is being repeated for senior teams? And if not then why not?

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 10/10/2022 17:20:48    2443458

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Does anyone know if this is being repeated for senior teams? And if not then why not?"
You want them to make regional teams out of the 16 senior teams? You'd end up with about 4 teams. My thinking of their reasoning is that most junior and inter club players are not exposed to the same level of training as senior club players, especially the top half of senior clubs. The Regional championship gives every club player in Meath a realistic chance to play with other driven and motivated players with a good level of coaching and at a senior level standard. Senior clubs (with the exception of a few) already get this and don't need a regional championship to get it

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 11/10/2022 09:04:13    2443516

I can remember reading some logical argument about bringing smaller community clubs together to make a population quota of 5000. I might be wrong, but I think there was talk about big towns being able to field 2 teams (logic being half of 10000 equals 5000.) I may have all been a dream? Anyone else remember that talk?

Stiofan (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 11/10/2022 10:56:37    2443537

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Does anyone know if this is being repeated for senior teams? And if not then why not?"
We already have a competition where the best senior players are grouped together and play each other, it's the Senior Football Championship...

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 11/10/2022 14:20:39    2443584

Replying To CastleBravo:  "We already have a competition where the best senior players are grouped together and play each other, it's the Senior Football Championship..."
I know that. It's just that I had heard that senior teams were possibly pairing up for this competition - there are drawbacks of course but if the sole purpose of this was to give every play an opportunity to put himself forward, then it could have been a good thing. Colm has been involved with Simonstown up until recently and probably did not see much of the SFC.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 12/10/2022 09:40:22    2443675

Replying To stillaroyal:  "I know that. It's just that I had heard that senior teams were possibly pairing up for this competition - there are drawbacks of course but if the sole purpose of this was to give every play an opportunity to put himself forward, then it could have been a good thing. Colm has been involved with Simonstown up until recently and probably did not see much of the SFC."
Theres no real benefit to pairing up Senior teams, those players are already playing at the top level of club football in the county, the idea of the regional team is for the Inter Junior etc players to play at the higher standard

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 12/10/2022 10:38:57    2443689

Replying To ratlag:  "Theres no real benefit to pairing up Senior teams, those players are already playing at the top level of club football in the county, the idea of the regional team is for the Inter Junior etc players to play at the higher standard"
The only benefit of involving the senior teams in the regional championship would be if they just competed as their individual clubs so the likes of bru na boinne or the tara region etc would play against an Ashbourne Wolf Tones Rataoth etc. This would be interesting I think but I would imagine the interest from senior clubs and players would not be great.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 12/10/2022 11:13:32    2443707

Replying To Blackspot09:  "The only benefit of involving the senior teams in the regional championship would be if they just competed as their individual clubs so the likes of bru na boinne or the tara region etc would play against an Ashbourne Wolf Tones Rataoth etc. This would be interesting I think but I would imagine the interest from senior clubs and players would not be great."
Completely agree, once a Senior team is out of Keegan and no prospect of a Leinster championship then its effectively just another Cup game as such if it were to happen. Unless regional teams were added to the Keegan cup I doubt senior clubs would have interest but I also don't think this can happen due to logistics of championship numbers and the running of the Inter and Junior competitions as well

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 12/10/2022 12:46:34    2443727

The regional championships could work in the future with the involvement of Senior clubs like the Kerry system. However in Meath we need to get rid of the ridiculous Cup games in the muck and slop in February (Cup competitions still haven't been completed due to games off). Can't expect club players to play all year round from January to November/December.

Now there is talk of Meath following the Wexford system next year, where the hurling championship is played first to completion, and then football followed. Not sure about this but it could benefit football teams who have players away over the summer months. Also there are less hurling teams than football.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 12/10/2022 13:35:17    2443738

Replying To ratlag:  "Completely agree, once a Senior team is out of Keegan and no prospect of a Leinster championship then its effectively just another Cup game as such if it were to happen. Unless regional teams were added to the Keegan cup I doubt senior clubs would have interest but I also don't think this can happen due to logistics of championship numbers and the running of the Inter and Junior competitions as well"
Perhaps regional teams could be incorporated into the feis cup at the start of the year or something along these lines? Might reinvigorate the feis cup which is a joke of a competition now and it would give a lot of lads involved in those Regional teams from Junior A/B clubs in particular the opportunity to put themselves against the top senior clubs which they don't get a chance to do.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 12/10/2022 14:50:06    2443756