Shane Walsh Transfer

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He wasn't commuting from Dublin when playing for Galway. He's only moving to Dublin now to start college. It couldn't have been sorted earlier this year as he wasn't in Dublin."
Did he not distinctly say he was getting a lift up and down with John Divilly though, now that he was living and studying in Dublin. If its the case that hes only moving to Dublin now surely a few trips down to play out the rest of the year with Kilkerrin/ Clonberne are'nt going to take that much of a toll. Transfer away then January and everyones happy. As a previous poster said ,its the timing that looks a little off

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 04/08/2022 11:08:05    2436148

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Then he should see the year out with his club. They are probably a couple of weeks from Championship and were planning on having him available.

Likewise, if you're a forward in Kilmacud and played all league games for them then lose your spot to a guy who has just transferred in before Championship you'd be annoyed."
"Then he should see the year out with his club". He doesn't want to see the year out with his club.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 04/08/2022 11:30:05    2436155

Replying To Greengrass:  "As far as I know students were allowed to play county championship football with the colleges in which they were studying. They were also allowed at the same time play county championship with their own clubs. Niall McNamee and Shane Lennon did that in 2006 with UCD. UCD won the championship in Dublin that year and Rhode won the championship in Offaly. UCD and Rhode played each other in that year's Leinster club semi final which Rhode won by a point. Niall McNamee played for Rhode against UCD that day. As for the GAA " becoming a total laughing stock in society" would you catch yourself on. Hyperbole at it's finest."
A couple of points.
Its been several years since colleges have really been a serious option in club championships. UCG/NUIG are several years gone from Galway champ . GMIT never played in it. I don't see UCD in this years Dublin draw. So in honesty I dont know what point you are trying to make .
My english not as good as yours so I had to look up the definition of hyberbole...exaggerated statements or claims not meant to be taken literally.
I dont think its any way an exaggeration that the GAA could be a laughing stock.. I have on many occasions witnessed people laughing about how silly the GAA handle certain issues... as a GAA person I don't like it ..but it happens... and I fear this will be another scenario that will force me to listen to this type of response.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 04/08/2022 11:44:07    2436161

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Then he should see the year out with his club". He doesn't want to see the year out with his club."
In that case I can only hope that he doesn't want to declare for Dublin too.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 04/08/2022 12:02:17    2436175

Replying To anotheralias:  "A couple of points.
Its been several years since colleges have really been a serious option in club championships. UCG/NUIG are several years gone from Galway champ . GMIT never played in it. I don't see UCD in this years Dublin draw. So in honesty I dont know what point you are trying to make .
My english not as good as yours so I had to look up the definition of hyberbole...exaggerated statements or claims not meant to be taken literally.
I dont think its any way an exaggeration that the GAA could be a laughing stock.. I have on many occasions witnessed people laughing about how silly the GAA handle certain issues... as a GAA person I don't like it ..but it happens... and I fear this will be another scenario that will force me to listen to this type of response."
Firstly I accept your point about the universities taking part in the senior club championships of the counties in which they are located. Secondly there are now many, many different pathways people can follow in order to obtain the qualifications required to pursue a career. Shane Walsh is 29 and is most likely pursuing a post graduate qualification in order to become a PE teacher. Those qualifications are achieved through online work and placements in school. They generally take two years to complete. Hibernian is one organisation which offers those courses. I know several people who have qualified in that way.
Thirdly, I like you have heard and witnessed people sneering at the GAA. One such incident was Damian Duff calling the GAA "f*****g dinosaurs" at the time of the Liam Miller testimonial. Stephen Kenny repeated those comments and said the GAA " made dinosaurs look good." The GAA had procedures to follow and they were correct to do so. All Damian Duff and Stephen Kenny achieved was to show how ignorant they were in relation to GAA procedures. Most people who sneer at the GAA are poorly informed or they are bigots. There are procedures in place and they are in place for good reason. In Louth one club in particular is notorious for poaching players and that club has done so for decades. They are shameless about it. The interests of individual players and the interests of clubs have to be balanced. That is a difficult, nuanced balancing act and it is almost never a black and white issue. The GAA is an amazing sporting organisation. Granted there are times when it doesn't help itself but then the same can most certainly be said of the FAI and the IRFU.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/08/2022 14:40:20    2436212

Replying To Greengrass:  "Firstly I accept your point about the universities taking part in the senior club championships of the counties in which they are located. Secondly there are now many, many different pathways people can follow in order to obtain the qualifications required to pursue a career. Shane Walsh is 29 and is most likely pursuing a post graduate qualification in order to become a PE teacher. Those qualifications are achieved through online work and placements in school. They generally take two years to complete. Hibernian is one organisation which offers those courses. I know several people who have qualified in that way.
Thirdly, I like you have heard and witnessed people sneering at the GAA. One such incident was Damian Duff calling the GAA "f*****g dinosaurs" at the time of the Liam Miller testimonial. Stephen Kenny repeated those comments and said the GAA " made dinosaurs look good." The GAA had procedures to follow and they were correct to do so. All Damian Duff and Stephen Kenny achieved was to show how ignorant they were in relation to GAA procedures. Most people who sneer at the GAA are poorly informed or they are bigots. There are procedures in place and they are in place for good reason. In Louth one club in particular is notorious for poaching players and that club has done so for decades. They are shameless about it. The interests of individual players and the interests of clubs have to be balanced. That is a difficult, nuanced balancing act and it is almost never a black and white issue. The GAA is an amazing sporting organisation. Granted there are times when it doesn't help itself but then the same can most certainly be said of the FAI and the IRFU."
Agreed. Although I think the IRFU are solid enough. FAI laughing at GAA! Now that's a joke. If the GAA do certain things badly they are miles ahead of the FAI who are a total farce.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 04/08/2022 15:54:06    2436223

Replying To anotheralias:  "Agreed. Although I think the IRFU are solid enough. FAI laughing at GAA! Now that's a joke. If the GAA do certain things badly they are miles ahead of the FAI who are a total farce."
They're well ahead of the IRFU as well. Look at the club scene in rugby. It has absolutely no profile at national in this country. I've a strong interest in sport in general yet I have no idea who are the champions in the AIL League. Were the finals broadcast? The Irish mens team is on a high at the moment thank God but we all know how quickly that can change. The women's squad are about to be offered professional contracts and that is to be welcomed. Leinster are a formidable force but the other three provinces are struggling to make any appreciable impact. We all remember the ladies provincial teams having to tog out alongside the refuse, the mice and the rats.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/08/2022 16:41:32    2436231

I can get over lads transferring clubs for permanent residence and work, getting married into an area...etc (although I don't think a mostly online college course is good enough a reason...especially during college holidays) but it's the timing of it that's probably caused most of the hassle. Pushing a transfer the week before the championship starts in both counties is just plain stupid and brain dead. Why not do this in Januaray when 99% of Irish club transfers are done? Seems like he's had his head swayed more than anything (just an opinion) not taking a shot at Shane, super footballer and seems a nice fella but just the timing could not be any worse and college is not a proper reason. If coming home to play every two weeks and maybe train 1/2 times in between is too much then it's hard to see him doing 4/5 times a week with Galway. Why not train with Kilmacud Crokes during the week and play with his club then. Enough of us had to do this in college. Just think there's too many angles to this transfer that don't seem right but the timing would be the main one. Transfer in January if he feels that strong about it then...not the week of championship.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 04/08/2022 17:01:43    2436234

Agree it's hard see him traveling up and down 3-4 times a week when Galway start back in prob mid December if he can't go down for prob 5 times a month with club , obviously he getting well compensated very well I'd say to play in Dublin ,, coukd see a lot more college students moving to different clubs now that this transfer is going through

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 04/08/2022 19:42:56    2436253

Replying To Greengrass:  "Firstly I accept your point about the universities taking part in the senior club championships of the counties in which they are located. Secondly there are now many, many different pathways people can follow in order to obtain the qualifications required to pursue a career. Shane Walsh is 29 and is most likely pursuing a post graduate qualification in order to become a PE teacher. Those qualifications are achieved through online work and placements in school. They generally take two years to complete. Hibernian is one organisation which offers those courses. I know several people who have qualified in that way.
Thirdly, I like you have heard and witnessed people sneering at the GAA. One such incident was Damian Duff calling the GAA "f*****g dinosaurs" at the time of the Liam Miller testimonial. Stephen Kenny repeated those comments and said the GAA " made dinosaurs look good." The GAA had procedures to follow and they were correct to do so. All Damian Duff and Stephen Kenny achieved was to show how ignorant they were in relation to GAA procedures. Most people who sneer at the GAA are poorly informed or they are bigots. There are procedures in place and they are in place for good reason. In Louth one club in particular is notorious for poaching players and that club has done so for decades. They are shameless about it. The interests of individual players and the interests of clubs have to be balanced. That is a difficult, nuanced balancing act and it is almost never a black and white issue. The GAA is an amazing sporting organisation. Granted there are times when it doesn't help itself but then the same can most certainly be said of the FAI and the IRFU."
Shane Walsh is studying for a BA in Physical Education, did a year in Portobello Institute, on his Linkedin. Grand if you can do a lot of the studies online or a blended option, home mainly then some trips to Dublin for some lectures, but maybe he wants to go the classroom route and live in Dublin. Online is not for everyone, some lecturers are too remote and hard to contact but in classroom they can be more helpful and students help each other out. He's not contracted to play for anyone. The spiel from his club chairman was ridiculous. Let Shane Walsh decide what Shane Walsh wants to do with his life. Plenty of players have played for clubs or counties that aren't where they're from and will continue to do so. A story about nothing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 04/08/2022 20:38:57    2436258

Replying To MayoDan:  "He can actually play for Dublin, once he plays a club championship game for Kilmacud. Remember Seanie Johnston?

It won't happen however."
Wrong.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 05/08/2022 12:24:23    2436312

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Once you've played a Championship game in your new County you become eligible for that County."
Not in Dublin.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 05/08/2022 12:44:03    2436319

Replying To StopTheLights:  "Nothing....... But he won't"
Wrong he cant.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 05/08/2022 12:46:30    2436321

Replying To Galway9801:  "Has he ruled out a transfer to the dubs?"
Cant play for Dublin Full stop.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 05/08/2022 12:51:54    2436323

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's not that I don't have an issue with it. Of course I want him to stay, but in my opinion you simply can't support his decision to move clubs based on personal convenience and choice, while at the same time opposing an inter County transfer based on the exact same reasons.
All these people patting him on the back for doing what's right for himself would change their tune very quickly if /when he declares for Dublin.

If nothing else this episode certainly puts to bed any lingering notion that club comes before county anyways."
Cant declare for Dublin. Dont be making things up.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 05/08/2022 13:00:56    2436325

Replying To gerry1414:  "Cant declare for Dublin. Dont be making things up."
Anyone who plays Championship (Junior, Inter or Senior) in Dublin is eligible to play for Dublin.

Same as any other county.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 05/08/2022 13:18:07    2436329

Replying To MesAmis:  "Anyone who plays Championship (Junior, Inter or Senior) in Dublin is eligible to play for Dublin.

Same as any other county."
As already posted,to declare for Dublin County football team you must be born in Dublin or play under age football in Dublin,fact. Cant believe how fellas make up things.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 05/08/2022 14:31:59    2436344

Replying To gerry1414:  "As already posted,to declare for Dublin County football team you must be born in Dublin or play under age football in Dublin,fact. Cant believe how fellas make up things."
Several hurlers switched to Dublin who were not born in Dublin or play underage for Dublin ie Niall Corcoran . Is there different rules in football ? any link to these separate rules

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 05/08/2022 14:55:51    2436345

Replying To gerry1414:  "As already posted,to declare for Dublin County football team you must be born in Dublin or play under age football in Dublin,fact. Cant believe how fellas make up things."
As already posted,to declare for Dublin County football team you must be born in Dublin or play under age football in Dublin,fact. Cant believe how fellas make up things.
gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 05/08/2022 14:31:59 243

Just because you say it's a fact doesn't make it true.

What you are stating is far from fact.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 05/08/2022 15:19:51    2436348

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Several hurlers switched to Dublin who were not born in Dublin or play underage for Dublin ie Niall Corcoran . Is there different rules in football ? any link to these separate rules"
Dublin Hurling is different.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 05/08/2022 15:48:30    2436350