Appalling Treatment Of Jubilee Teams

I feel that the treatment of the 25 year teams this year has been absolutely disgraceful.
I get that they are a couple of years behind. Fair enough.
But mother of god, to bring them out 1hr before throw-in to an empty stadium is an appalling way to treat these legends of the game.
I along with many others were really looking forward to seeing what Charlie Redmond, Colm Coyle, Maurice Fitzgerald, Martin Storey, Dalo, etc paraded around the park they graced with such glory and panache many moons ago.
Instead, they haven't even appeared in YouTube or anywhere so we can only guess.
These teams have some of the most iconic GAA figures, and the hurling men of the 90s propelled the game forward like no team before had done. From Ger Loughnane "we're going to do it" to Liam Griffin "Hurling is the Riverdance of sport" to Dalo's "Whipping Boys" to Storey's "Bridesmaids", it was an iconic era for hurling.
They all deserved the half-time adulation of the crowd and to treat them as an irrelevant "get it out of the way" manner is nothing short of a scandal. Shame on the GAA authorities for this.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1136 - 27/07/2022 11:45:33    2434819

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I feel that the treatment of the 25 year teams this year has been absolutely disgraceful.
But mother of god, to bring them out 1hr before throw-in to an empty stadium is an appalling way to treat these legends of the game.
I along with many others were really looking forward to seeing what Charlie Redmond, Colm Coyle, Maurice Fitzgerald, Martin Storey, Dalo, etc paraded around the park they graced with such glory and panache many moons ago.
Instead, they haven't even appeared in YouTube or anywhere so we can only guess.
These teams have some of the most iconic GAA figures, and the hurling men of the 90s propelled the game forward like no team before had done. From Ger Loughnane "we're going to do it" to Liam Griffin "Hurling is the Riverdance of sport" to Dalo's "Whipping Boys" to Storey's "Bridesmaids", it was an iconic era for hurling.
They all deserved the half-time adulation of the crowd and to treat them as an irrelevant "get it out of the way" manner is nothing short of a scandal. Shame on the GAA authorities for this."
Calm down, half them probably weren't even that bothered about being there to begin with.
Bloody everything these days is a "scandal", a "disgrace" bla bla bla.
Snowflake society.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 27/07/2022 12:05:48    2434827

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I feel that the treatment of the 25 year teams this year has been absolutely disgraceful.
They all deserved the half-time adulation of the crowd and to treat them as an irrelevant "get it out of the way" manner is nothing short of a scandal. Shame on the GAA authorities for this."
You are absolutely correct Exiled. Unfortunately what happened epitomises the dreadful leadership of the association that has prevailed over the past number of years. The President and the General Secretary have a lot to answer for.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 27/07/2022 12:23:51    2434831

Replying To Greengrass:  "You are absolutely correct Exiled. Unfortunately what happened epitomises the dreadful leadership of the association that has prevailed over the past number of years. The President and the General Secretary have a lot to answer for."
I agree 100% shocking treatment I would not turn up for that two men and a dog in Stadium it should be at 1/2 time as it was always

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 27/07/2022 12:47:53    2434839

Replying To Greengrass:  "You are absolutely correct Exiled. Unfortunately what happened epitomises the dreadful leadership of the association that has prevailed over the past number of years. The President and the General Secretary have a lot to answer for."
The President and the General Secretary are elected by the county delegates at the GAA Congress. If you have any issues about them, take it up with your county board, or club.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 27/07/2022 12:51:32    2434843

Some panelist on the RTE's Sunday Game commented on this decision to present Jubilee teams an hour before throw in. RTE itself were on air at this stage with a 90 mins pre match build up and could easily have shown the whole thing with comments on each player instead of repeating filler material between 2 and 3 pm. On a similar vein taking an ad break during presentation of the Tailteann cup to the victorious Westmeath team was a missed opportunity to fully promote the competition.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 27/07/2022 12:58:08    2434844

I wonder who on earth makes these decisions… Why not parade them at half time…? Another silly thing is not letting the players carry their hurls when they are doing their walk around the pitch when they arrive at the stadium… There are some serious muppets holding down jobs in the GAA making these calls ….. And don't get me started on the current President of the GAA….. Heaven help us who voted him in…?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1943 - 27/07/2022 13:28:32    2434855

Really who cares. I think it should be done away with tbh and any anniversary should be solely done within the counties themselves. FFS who wants to be reminded that they are 25 years older or in some cases more !!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 27/07/2022 14:09:10    2434870

It wasnt empty tho, empty suggests no one was there, there was people there and I was one of them. IMO these things have outran themselves, robotic claps from the stands as we listen to 30 names read whilst talking to people around us. If I or anyone else want to attend something like this i suggest their County boards run a function night of stories and craic and ill attend that

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 488 - 27/07/2022 14:33:24    2434873

Replying To Curlew66:  "Some panelist on the RTE's Sunday Game commented on this decision to present Jubilee teams an hour before throw in. RTE itself were on air at this stage with a 90 mins pre match build up and could easily have shown the whole thing with comments on each player instead of repeating filler material between 2 and 3 pm. On a similar vein taking an ad break during presentation of the Tailteann cup to the victorious Westmeath team was a missed opportunity to fully promote the competition."
I agree. Is there really any need for them to be on air so long anyway. They are talking complete rubbish most of the time but some people take their word as law. If o rourke or Spillane etc said kerry will win because of a, b,c and d some people won just go with that. In my opinion they know as much or as little as the rest of us and they're just filling the time with meaningless rubbish.

I think that jubilee thing is a farce too. Do they really expect a huge reception for any player whose county aren't even participating? Why would kerry or galway salute the dublin team of 95?? Means nothing to them. Its silly. I think these things should be done at County finals of affected counties, not all Ireland final day. Thank you.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 27/07/2022 14:59:42    2434883

Replying To howdareu:  "I agree. Is there really any need for them to be on air so long anyway. They are talking complete rubbish most of the time but some people take their word as law. If o rourke or Spillane etc said kerry will win because of a, b,c and d some people won just go with that. In my opinion they know as much or as little as the rest of us and they're just filling the time with meaningless rubbish.

I think that jubilee thing is a farce too. Do they really expect a huge reception for any player whose county aren't even participating? Why would kerry or galway salute the dublin team of 95?? Means nothing to them. Its silly. I think these things should be done at County finals of affected counties, not all Ireland final day. Thank you."
county finals already honour clubs teams but people want to hear the pundits and a good long preview and review of he games.

I dont see too much of an issue with honouring those teams of the past.
nice touch. shows what the GAA is all about etc but dont see any problem with the timings of it like the OP had.

Id much rather see nothing at half time or just u12s/minis/primary kids playing a couple of games and then a more interactive piece with a few fans and an MC

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 27/07/2022 17:26:48    2434936

Replying To Curlew66:  "Some panelist on the RTE's Sunday Game commented on this decision to present Jubilee teams an hour before throw in. RTE itself were on air at this stage with a 90 mins pre match build up and could easily have shown the whole thing with comments on each player instead of repeating filler material between 2 and 3 pm. On a similar vein taking an ad break during presentation of the Tailteann cup to the victorious Westmeath team was a missed opportunity to fully promote the competition."
Completely. It would have taken maybe 10 minutes of the pre-game. The thing could do with a shake-up, e.g. just introduce the goalkeeper and full back line, then half back, and so on.
It could be done in no time.
It must be a huge honour for a player to come back 25 years on and I remember this being a half-time staple and give me it over 3 waffling pundits any day.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1136 - 27/07/2022 18:26:58    2434949

Replying To howdareu:  "I agree. Is there really any need for them to be on air so long anyway. They are talking complete rubbish most of the time but some people take their word as law. If o rourke or Spillane etc said kerry will win because of a, b,c and d some people won just go with that. In my opinion they know as much or as little as the rest of us and they're just filling the time with meaningless rubbish.

I think that jubilee thing is a farce too. Do they really expect a huge reception for any player whose county aren't even participating? Why would kerry or galway salute the dublin team of 95?? Means nothing to them. Its silly. I think these things should be done at County finals of affected counties, not all Ireland final day. Thank you."
Not too long ago the arrival of the Archbishop of Cashel and the Taoiseach was marked with a musical salute and was televised live. Thankfully that has been discontinued as well.

bruffgael (Limerick) - Posts: 144 - 27/07/2022 20:06:29    2434964

As a few have said, the glory of these occasions is greatly exaggerated. The jubilee teams get a nice suit and probably enjoy meeting each other again, but really the appeal of having your name called out in front of 2 different counties' fans for a smattering of polite applause isn't that great.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 27/07/2022 21:19:28    2434975

Replying To daytona11:  "Really who cares. I think it should be done away with tbh and any anniversary should be solely done within the counties themselves. FFS who wants to be reminded that they are 25 years older or in some cases more !!"
Bah humbug!

I care, so do plenty of other people and most importantly the players care........The Brother wasn't too impressed, he spoke to Wexford GAA TV this week about it.

We're (Wexford) not even winning an All-Ireland every 25 years FFS.......it might be grand for the likes of Kilkenny, they'll be there nearly every year.

Kildare haven't won in nearly 100 years! Imagine if they won one.......how long before ye would forget about it?

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 380 - 27/07/2022 21:40:26    2434977

Replying To CastleBravo:  "As a few have said, the glory of these occasions is greatly exaggerated. The jubilee teams get a nice suit and probably enjoy meeting each other again, but really the appeal of having your name called out in front of 2 different counties' fans for a smattering of polite applause isn't that great."
You have something there Bravo. Honouring them at half time in a home championship game in front of their own supporters who appreciate them more could be the way to go.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 28/07/2022 09:46:35    2434998

Replying To WEX98:  "Bah humbug!

I care, so do plenty of other people and most importantly the players care........The Brother wasn't too impressed, he spoke to Wexford GAA TV this week about it.

We're (Wexford) not even winning an All-Ireland every 25 years FFS.......it might be grand for the likes of Kilkenny, they'll be there nearly every year.

Kildare haven't won in nearly 100 years! Imagine if they won one.......how long before ye would forget about it?"
It's well forgotten about at this stage mate. I'd rather focus on the future. Everything seems to be an outrage these days anyway. If it had of been at half time and the kids don't get a run out for the mini matches there would be uproar too. The lads got a nice suit, a feed and presumably a few drinks.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2022 10:00:08    2435008

I don't think they were appallingly treated. However each player receives a round of applause. That's 60+ players and by the time the 10th was introduced the crowd was on their phones and the interest was lost. That must be hard for the ex players themselves.

With underage games at half time it is difficult to find a slot to fit the jubilee teams in. But if they had a section in the ground where they could be introduced as a group, the big screen could play a pre-recording of each team member, their photo and the position they played on the winning team. That could all be done simultaneously with the underage games. ongoing pitchside.

Totally agree there has to be a better way, but it was good to see the teams of 95, 96 & 97 being acknowledged.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/07/2022 11:20:57    2435040

Replying To KillingFields:  "county finals already honour clubs teams but people want to hear the pundits and a good long preview and review of he games.

I dont see too much of an issue with honouring those teams of the past.
nice touch. shows what the GAA is all about etc but dont see any problem with the timings of it like the OP had.

Id much rather see nothing at half time or just u12s/minis/primary kids playing a couple of games and then a more interactive piece with a few fans and an MC"
Not too many on here seem to want to hear pundits previewing and reviewing games. Its painful and tedious and most of the time they just come out with cliches and over used terminology that add nothing to the thing. I don't mind a few minutes of it but an hour and a half previewing a game that just lasts over an hour is a bit daft. Still I suppose it saves rte having to think up of anything creative for that particular slot.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 28/07/2022 13:08:41    2435067

Replying To daytona11:  "It's well forgotten about at this stage mate. I'd rather focus on the future. Everything seems to be an outrage these days anyway. If it had of been at half time and the kids don't get a run out for the mini matches there would be uproar too. The lads got a nice suit, a feed and presumably a few drinks."
And a free ticket!!

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 28/07/2022 13:16:55    2435072