Galway Can Beat Kerry In The Final.

Replying To katser:  "I remember you saying back in 2018 that Mayo would win the All Ireland before Galway get a chance to even get to the Final."

Ha!
Really.
I don't think you are being honest.

And, given that you are demonstrating obvious difficulty in remembering/understanding posts that you are actually responding to in a 4 hr time frame, claiming to remember something from 4 years ago is probably not your best strategy.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 12/07/2022 18:43:53    2431745

There should be lots of spares for this final as neither county have a reputation for bringing large numbers for games.
Kerry will think they have it won, already made the trip v Dublin so it will affect their turnout, while Galway will max out at 25/30k at best..

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 12/07/2022 19:26:56    2431751

Galway have the same chance as Kerry and better than any other county

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1672 - 12/07/2022 19:48:37    2431757

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Remember this Galway team operated in Division 2 and failed in that Final…. Kerry romped home in Division 1…. There is a big difference between the teams… If both teams play to their potential there will be only one winner… the difference in quality in the 2 semi finals was massive"
And Dublin just got relegated to Division 2 but held Kerry to a one point win and arguably were unlucky not to have won. Where does that leave your argument? We get it, you like Kerry and don't like Galway, nothing wrong with that. Just stop trying to pretend you're impartial.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/07/2022 20:20:39    2431761

Of course we can win it, nobody is giving us a chance and this will be music to the ears of PJ, CON and the players. We will need to set up to stop early goals and still be in the game with 10 minutes to go, if it turns into a shootout there's only going to one winner. Kerry are a good side but are beatable, it's a huge opportunity for our lads and I believe one they can take. Gaillimh Abu

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 12/07/2022 20:56:52    2431770

If I was a Mayo fan, I think seeing Galway just rock up and winning the final this year first time of asking would be a bigger sickener than any of the finals Mayo have lost over the past 20 years!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/07/2022 21:00:17    2431771

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "No they cannot. This is a dead duck. Kerry forwards will run riot. Yesterday was the final"
That's like something the Cavan posters would say. Finals are anyone's as Tyrone have shown and i'm sure Galway won't be there just to make up the numbers. We don't know what they're planning in training and they'll have their own plan. Either way the final is something to look forward to.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 12/07/2022 21:48:31    2431775

Replying To ballydalane:  "If I was a Mayo fan, I think seeing Galway just rock up and winning the final this year first time of asking would be a bigger sickener than any of the finals Mayo have lost over the past 20 years!"
I Cant agree with that. I'd like to think that most genuine footballing Mayo supporters would not indulge in sour grapes. I could appreciate a bitter-sweet feeling alright but were Mayo to win the All Ireland in recent years , I would have seen it as a boost to Connacht football and would have said, well we know we are close to Mayo and if they can do it, we can.
I am as equally as proud to say that we have 3 x Connacht teams in Division 1 as I am of Galway's achievements this year.
The social supporting brigade ( of which there are plenty of in Mayo) may be less gracious than the genuine football supporter ( of which there are plenty of in Mayo).

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 843 - 13/07/2022 09:54:06    2431785

Replying To festinog:  "And Dublin just got relegated to Division 2 but held Kerry to a one point win and arguably were unlucky not to have won. Where does that leave your argument? We get it, you like Kerry and don't like Galway, nothing wrong with that. Just stop trying to pretend you're impartial."
Never said I liked Kerry or disliked Galway… what I did say was I hope Galway win but I don't think they will….. as for my argument as you put it when did the last team win an All Ireland after playing in Division 2 the same year…? I hope ye break the trend…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 13/07/2022 10:02:23    2431791

Replying To ballydalane:  "If I was a Mayo fan, I think seeing Galway just rock up and winning the final this year first time of asking would be a bigger sickener than any of the finals Mayo have lost over the past 20 years!"
The biggest sickener is that we didn't do it ourselves despite multiple chances to do so. What Galway do or don't do does not worry me. If they win it then fair play to them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 13/07/2022 10:03:39    2431794

Replying To anotheralias:  "I Cant agree with that. I'd like to think that most genuine footballing Mayo supporters would not indulge in sour grapes. I could appreciate a bitter-sweet feeling alright but were Mayo to win the All Ireland in recent years , I would have seen it as a boost to Connacht football and would have said, well we know we are close to Mayo and if they can do it, we can.
I am as equally as proud to say that we have 3 x Connacht teams in Division 1 as I am of Galway's achievements this year.
The social supporting brigade ( of which there are plenty of in Mayo) may be less gracious than the genuine football supporter ( of which there are plenty of in Mayo)."
Am with you on that to some degree. I see Mayo being a top 4 team for 10 yrs as only good for the province in that it raises the bar to some extent. If the Rossies had beaten us for instance in the Connacht Final and progressed to the final i would be totally behind them partly because they have not won it in a long time but also because our rivalry is relatively healthy.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 13/07/2022 10:21:52    2431801

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".

Ha!
Really.
I don't think you are being honest.

And, given that you are demonstrating obvious difficulty in remembering/understanding posts that you are actually responding to in a 4 hr time frame, claiming to remember something from 4 years ago is probably not your best strategy."
Then in 2020 when I predicted Galway to beat Mayo in the Connaught Final above in Croke Park, you flittered me saying Galway was nothing but a big bag of wind!
Well the shoe is on the other foot now with those big thick green and red glasses you wear!!
You'll eat some humble pie if Galway win the All Ireland lol

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2221 - 13/07/2022 11:27:26    2431817

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Never said I liked Kerry or disliked Galway… what I did say was I hope Galway win but I don't think they will….. as for my argument as you put it when did the last team win an All Ireland after playing in Division 2 the same year…? I hope ye break the trend…!"
2002 all ireland final had 2 division 2 teams in it Armagh v Kerry!

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 13/07/2022 11:53:18    2431825

Replying To Tj73:  "2002 all ireland final had 2 division 2 teams in it Armagh v Kerry!"
All of 20 years ago…… I was right and the only reason a Division 2 team won was because as you say both were Div 2…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 13/07/2022 12:32:16    2431836

Replying To katser:  "Then in 2020 when I predicted Galway to beat Mayo in the Connaught Final above in Croke Park, you flittered me saying Galway was nothing but a big bag of wind!
Well the shoe is on the other foot now with those big thick green and red glasses you wear!!
You'll eat some humble pie if Galway win the All Ireland lol"

2 years ago - thats well outside the 4hr window but no matter. The Croker Con final was in 2021 as it happens but time & reality need not concern us here.
That was when the King of Bohemia and the butcher's wife got involved in our exchange. They put aside their differences over the stolen ham and the ownership of the mongrel involved in the theft to take my side in the argument. And were well pleased when the actual result justified their interference in what was up to then a local matter.
The thieving canine took your part as I recall.

Ah the good old days!

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 13/07/2022 13:07:29    2431848

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Remember this Galway team operated in Division 2 and failed in that Final…. Kerry romped home in Division 1…. There is a big difference between the teams… If both teams play to their potential there will be only one winner… the difference in quality in the 2 semi finals was massive"
Sure in the previous round the Galway v Armagh game was a much better game than Kerry v Mayo. Games sometimes take on a life of their own depending on tactics, style of play and personnel.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2222 - 13/07/2022 13:12:00    2431851

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "All of 20 years ago…… I was right and the only reason a Division 2 team won was because as you say both were Div 2….."
Or because they beat the Division 1 teams to get there. They weren't parachuted into the final.
All this Division 1/2 stuff is over done at times.
I think Galway are a better team than Kildare and have been for the past 3-4 years prior to this year. Kildare were Division 1 this year. That doesn't make their chances of winning the All Ireland any better than ours.
Kerry are rightly favourites. They'd be favourites against Galway pretty much any year for the last 50 years. I think they can definitely be got at. Dublin with a relatively limited forward line, missing their most important inside forward, came very close to putting them out.
Kerry were flagging when the game tightened up and even the likes of David Clifford started to struggle. He kicked a point early in the 2nd half, but didn't score from play after that and kicked a couple of efforts wide when scores were badly needed.
The key for us is to keep it tight early on. We have forwards who can keep the scoreboard moving, if we can get them the ball. A tight game with 15 minutes left is anyone's, in my opinion.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 13/07/2022 13:29:10    2431857

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "All of 20 years ago…… I was right and the only reason a Division 2 team won was because as you say both were Div 2….."
Galway are now a division 1 team so I don't know why you read so much into divisions

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 13/07/2022 13:30:03    2431858

For plenty it will be. The 'sure we'll never hear the end of it if Galway lift the Sam' brigade, previously the 'sure we'll never hear the end of it if Dublin win 5 in a row' brigade. Won't make us any better or worse. They've little enough to be bothering about. Might as well be happy for them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 13/07/2022 13:47:20    2431866

Replying To Tj73:  "Galway are now a division 1 team so I don't know why you read so much into divisions"
Played Division 2 this season…, a whole different ball game than division 1 football

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 13/07/2022 14:10:29    2431875