Galway Turnover Of Players.

Just seen something there recently that in 4 years since Galway were last in the semi final in 18 they only have 5 players from the 26 still in the panel, whereas Dublin still have 13 from the 26 that were involved that day.

The likes of Ruairi Lavelle, Eoghan Kerin, Seán Andy O'Ceallaigh, Declan Kyne, Cathal Sweeney, Peter Cooke, Ciaran Duggan, Ian Burke, Eamonn Brannigan, Tom Flynn, Micheál Daly, Adrian Varley all just have seemed to vanish all of a sudden from a neutral point of view. Maybe some of these players probably might not have been fully up to the standard to take Galway to the next level. Also the likes of Sean Armstrong, Gary O'Donnell and Gareth Bradshaw have retired.

I suppose the point I'm trying to make is that Padraig Joyce deserves a good bit of credit for rebuilding this Galway team, with such a big turnover of players, I suppose it also shows the strength that is there in Galway football that people don't talk about enough. All Ireland Minor Finalists in 2016,18 and 19. As well as Under 21 finalists in 2017 and Under 20 champions in 2020, just I suppose shows the work that is been done in Galway, which I can only admire and envy from their neighbours in Clare.

CartaDubh (Clare) - Posts: 51 - 08/07/2022 18:12:56    2430548

Replying To CartaDubh:  "Just seen something there recently that in 4 years since Galway were last in the semi final in 18 they only have 5 players from the 26 still in the panel, whereas Dublin still have 13 from the 26 that were involved that day.

The likes of Ruairi Lavelle, Eoghan Kerin, Seán Andy O'Ceallaigh, Declan Kyne, Cathal Sweeney, Peter Cooke, Ciaran Duggan, Ian Burke, Eamonn Brannigan, Tom Flynn, Micheál Daly, Adrian Varley all just have seemed to vanish all of a sudden from a neutral point of view. Maybe some of these players probably might not have been fully up to the standard to take Galway to the next level. Also the likes of Sean Armstrong, Gary O'Donnell and Gareth Bradshaw have retired.

I suppose the point I'm trying to make is that Padraig Joyce deserves a good bit of credit for rebuilding this Galway team, with such a big turnover of players, I suppose it also shows the strength that is there in Galway football that people don't talk about enough. All Ireland Minor Finalists in 2016,18 and 19. As well as Under 21 finalists in 2017 and Under 20 champions in 2020, just I suppose shows the work that is been done in Galway, which I can only admire and envy from their neighbours in Clare."
Be good to get any of Mike Daly Ian Burke Peter Cooke ,Adrian Varley back next year
Varley was outstanding for New York in their game this year
Peter Cooke was in the America due to work also
But lads need time out too and others missing due to work commitments
Ian Burke is Working in Dublin dont think hes played with Corofin this year yet

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 10/07/2022 11:11:04    2430986

Replying To rhudson:  "Be good to get any of Mike Daly Ian Burke Peter Cooke ,Adrian Varley back next year
Varley was outstanding for New York in their game this year
Peter Cooke was in the America due to work also
But lads need time out too and others missing due to work commitments
Ian Burke is Working in Dublin dont think hes played with Corofin this year yet"
In fairness that is true the inter county game is not for everyone. The lads that have come into the panel like Matthew Tierney, Rob Finnerty, Cillian McDaid, John Daly, Dylan McHugh, Jack Glynn, Patrick Kelly among others have really stepped up to the plate.

While Seán Kelly has turned into a leader of men and an absolutely outstanding player. While I would argue that Paul Conroy has played the best football of his career in the last two years.

Best of luck to ye in the final, ye have no reason to fear Kerry and for some reason I have a sneaky feeling that ye might beat Kerry, I could proven to be very wrong.

CartaDubh (Clare) - Posts: 51 - 11/07/2022 11:15:28    2431306

Replying To CartaDubh:  "Just seen something there recently that in 4 years since Galway were last in the semi final in 18 they only have 5 players from the 26 still in the panel, whereas Dublin still have 13 from the 26 that were involved that day.

I suppose the point I'm trying to make is that Padraig Joyce deserves a good bit of credit for rebuilding this Galway team, with such a big turnover of players, I suppose it also shows the strength that is there in Galway football that people don't talk about enough. All Ireland Minor Finalists in 2016,18 and 19. As well as Under 21 finalists in 2017 and Under 20 champions in 2020, just I suppose shows the work that is been done in Galway, which I can only admire and envy from their neighbours in Clare."
In terms of 5 out of 26 only still in the team, it's a bit misleading. Liam Silke, Paul Conroy, had previously been heavily featured in Kevin Walsh's squad but were unavailable for that game - think Conroy was injured. Cillian McDaid also would surely have been in that squad but was in Oz - he played fbd league in 2019. Eoin Finnerty was also in that squad, having played in league vs Kildare and I think he played a championship match in 2018.

Peter Cooke has previously featured in PJs panel, and probably would still be but currently travelling.

As you mentioned, he has brought through a lot of the 2017 u21 finalists (McDaid, McHugh, Molloy, Sean Kelly, Rob Finnerty, Eoin Finnerty, Dessie Conneely) and also the 2020 u20 champions (13 having played for Galway this year).

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 11/07/2022 12:25:57    2431344

Whats the story with Sean Andy? Seemed like a solid back a few years ago?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 11/07/2022 12:49:35    2431357

Replying To systematic:  "In terms of 5 out of 26 only still in the team, it's a bit misleading. Liam Silke, Paul Conroy, had previously been heavily featured in Kevin Walsh's squad but were unavailable for that game - think Conroy was injured. Cillian McDaid also would surely have been in that squad but was in Oz - he played fbd league in 2019. Eoin Finnerty was also in that squad, having played in league vs Kildare and I think he played a championship match in 2018.

Peter Cooke has previously featured in PJs panel, and probably would still be but currently travelling.

As you mentioned, he has brought through a lot of the 2017 u21 finalists (McDaid, McHugh, Molloy, Sean Kelly, Rob Finnerty, Eoin Finnerty, Dessie Conneely) and also the 2020 u20 champions (13 having played for Galway this year)."
Sean Kelly played under KW.....a lot even, for a young lad. Remember his role in Heaney's winner in Castlebar? That was 2018! Managers would surely be embarrassed at the notion that they've 'brought through' players of the calibre of Sean Kelly or John Daly or Matt Tierney. They'd be 'coming through' anyway, them sorta lads.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 12/07/2022 14:37:44    2431679

You would like to see some of the following back next year.
Mulkerrins (injured)
Faherty (injured)
Cooke (abroad)
McLoughlin ??
Varley ??
Daly (abroad)
I Burke (retired?)

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 13/07/2022 18:55:06    2431938

Replying To PancakeWard:  "You would like to see some of the following back next year.
Mulkerrins (injured)
Faherty (injured)
Cooke (abroad)
McLoughlin ??
Varley ??
Daly (abroad)
I Burke (retired?)"
What about Jason Leonard, Eamonn Brannigan and Conor Campbell?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 13/07/2022 19:23:00    2431940

Valley was playing with New York in the championship. Is Tom Flynn still part of the panel?

Michael Daly was very good u21.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 13/07/2022 20:33:32    2431952

Varley played with New York this year.

F4 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 47 - 14/07/2022 08:33:27    2431968

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Whats the story with Sean Andy? Seemed like a solid back a few years ago?"
Still in Galway anyway - played for his club in the Gaeltacht semi final back in June.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 802 - 14/07/2022 09:24:08    2431970

and Fiontain O'Currain? remember him playing as a young lad hes an absolute monster.

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 14/07/2022 09:48:22    2431978

Replying To tommy k:  "What about Jason Leonard, Eamonn Brannigan and Conor Campbell?"
Campbell is in the extended panel. The other two are not on the panel this year.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 14/07/2022 09:55:11    2431982

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Valley was playing with New York in the championship. Is Tom Flynn still part of the panel?

Michael Daly was very good u21."
Tom Flynn not there this year. I believe Michael Daly has an injury that prevented him from joining up with the county this year.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 14/07/2022 09:55:57    2431983

Replying To tommy k:  "What about Jason Leonard, Eamonn Brannigan and Conor Campbell?"
And of course Ronan Steede who had been playing very well for Galway in the league a couple of years ago before being discarded it seems. Also Michael and Martin Farragher.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 14/07/2022 10:09:14    2431988

Campbell on the panel but is haunted by injury. Was on the pitch after the game at the weekend.
Peter Cooke is home and played the last few league games for Moycullen.
Jason Leonard playing wing back for Corofin. You wouldn't have said he grasped his chances with Galway.
Varley was there for a long time and never established himself.
Mike Daly lovely player and it's a shame he's not involved for whatever reason, but I'm sure if he wanted to be he could have been.

Wouldn't worry too much about any of those lads this week anyway!

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 14/07/2022 10:32:45    2431993

Replying To tommy k:  "And of course Ronan Steede who had been playing very well for Galway in the league a couple of years ago before being discarded it seems. Also Michael and Martin Farragher."
Good FBD players.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 14/07/2022 10:53:49    2431998

Am I missing something??? Galway are in an All Ireland Final and Galway posters are on here lamenting who isn't on the panel ? You would expect they would be hughly impressed with the lads on the panel who have got you there rather than lamenting the lads who are not involved but didn't get you to a final. Mind Boggling

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 14/07/2022 12:08:36    2432029

What happened Barry McHugh and Ciaran Duggan? I know Duggan was injured for a long spell but he was a good player and so was McHugh who was also a very good free taker.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 20/07/2022 17:33:42    2433225

Replying To tommy k:  "What happened Barry McHugh and Ciaran Duggan? I know Duggan was injured for a long spell but he was a good player and so was McHugh who was also a very good free taker."
Do you follow club football in Galway Tommy?
If so, you would have seen plenty of McHugh last year as he won a county title with Mountbellew. He is indeed a brilliant freetaker and good from play too at club level. Probably just below the level of our current county forwards.
Duggan has had some serious injuries. He hasn't played much club football in the past few years as a result.
I would have thought there would be plenty more to be thinking of ahead of the weekend.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 21/07/2022 11:27:25    2433312