Derry V Galway

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Congratulations Galway, it was a pretty dire game but the better team definitely won. Not sorry to see the back of the northern supporters & their vuvuzelas - very unsportsmanlike display this year from them all. Their booing & jeering has no place in our game"
Yourself and Ulsterman are like two grumpy old men.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 09/07/2022 20:20:52    2430845

Replying To Vish:  "Well done Galway but let's be honest here , Derry are bang average , over rated and gas lighted by the like of brolly .
Galway will now have to earn an All Ireland unlike the 98-01 finals where the opposition was either poor or way past their sell by date.."
Kildare were a young team hotly tipped to win, Meath, also favorites, had just buried a much vaunted Kerry in the SFs, but don't let that get in the way of your astute observations. Did some Galway lad cause you a mischief?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 09/07/2022 20:21:27    2430846

Replying To Vish:  "Well done Galway but let's be honest here , Derry are bang average , over rated and gas lighted by the like of brolly .
Galway will now have to earn an All Ireland unlike the 98-01 finals where the opposition was either poor or way past their sell by date.."
I think Galway got past two decent teams in the All Ireland series, the last day was probably a bigger win than today but Dublin and Kerry got handy QF's with Galway probably getting a tough QF but handy enough SF. Derry are well ahead of Mayo and Cork though but Joyce got it spot on today.

By any means stop Derry getting early goals, even if that means returning 1 point themselves in first 20 minutes. Then push out, bring an intensity and test Derry's fitness on such a big pitch without the momentum of a big early lead. By the second half start a higher press and push forwards on.

Every section of the game was managed perfectly by Joyce and Galway, a really top performance on and off the field.

If you have a high standard defence and forward unit you can win an All Ireland, Galway have both and will take some stopping in the final.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 09/07/2022 20:22:12    2430849

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Sure no need to be down or to stop ?"
In Louth? You're right there. You've never got over THAT Leinster final have you? LOL.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 09/07/2022 20:22:42    2430850

Replying To Ulsterman:  "More than Mayo know about winning All Irelands."
Last I looked Mayo have 3, more than most Ulster teams. Some have the big fat Zero.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 09/07/2022 20:23:38    2430851

Replying To Ulsterman:  "In Louth? You're right there. You've never got over THAT Leinster final have you? LOL."
Nah - we move on. You should try it

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 09/07/2022 20:24:30    2430853

Replying To Saynothing:  "Yourself and Ulsterman are like two grumpy old men."
Ain't that the truth. Having a go at a county for the price they charge for food in petrol stations. I've seen it all now. Next he'll be complaining about the use of the metric system...

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 09/07/2022 20:27:38    2430858

Replying To baire:  "I was at it Crúicín Folamh and who did I meet in the Hogan but one of our best dual players ever, Alan Kerins! Remember him, a chaitín míáù!"
Well I do, a Bhaire! One of my favourite players, and a gentleman to boot.. I recall Galway losing to Tipp in 2001 hurling final - Alan was inconsolable as hurling was his first love, and fair play...

John O'Mahony, a manager I also greatly admired, brought him around to concentrating on football final a few weeks later.. and the rest is history.

Great result last night in minor, and again today. We are one Galway..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 09/07/2022 20:36:14    2430867

Replying To Vish:  "Kildare certainly don't.
The New bridge or nowhere match is more or less an All Ireland for the Kildare, and have been living off it ever since..
Small-time.."
Any county that gets to 7 finals and flunks them shouldn't be talking about how to win All-Irelands. We even took ye in that same year in the U20 All-Ireland Final.

I just hope when we get back to an All-Ireland final it's a much vaunted Mayo team waiting for us.
Where's this arrogance coming from? Ye actually wallow in failure. When ye win a senior All-Ireland, then you can swagger.

I actually would always shout for Mayo when ye got to a final or if ye were you up against one of the big guns in a semi or Quarter-Final. I was hoarse from shouting the night ye beat Dublin last year. Then ye threw yet another final and something inside just turned, everything was set up, ye had knocked out one of the greatest football teams of all time, Kerry were gone and ye still couldn't do it. Enough is enough. I often thought it, and it could happen this year that for all Mayo's huffing and puffing Galway would turn around and win another All-Ireland before ye.

I don't know if we will ever see another All-Ireland but I would like to think if we got the opportunities ye have had we would take at least one of them.

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 09/07/2022 20:38:36    2430869

Back from game. Bar the Comer performance it didn't feel or look like an all ireland semi final. The first half was as poor a game a football at that level for as long as I can recall. Galway upped it in second half pushed up on Derry kickout and pinned Derry back. Derry have had a fantastic year but they will regret their performance there today didn't really go for it. The tactical straitjacket was kept on whole way through when it needed something different. Armagh had shown how vulnerable galway were under a high ball bit Derry never really tested them there. Galway will relish going in as underdogs in the final but can't see kerry or Dublin not scoring more than six points.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 09/07/2022 20:53:14    2430876

Can't argue with you, handy run to the final, Derry and Armagh were not in the quarter and semi finals for over 20 years, it's a different story putting a Kerry or Dublin out. Like we had Derry in the semi finals in 98 01 and this year, as well as Armagh in the quarter when you look at it you could not have asked for a handier run!

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 09/07/2022 21:00:33    2430880

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Congratulations Galway, it was a pretty dire game but the better team definitely won. Not sorry to see the back of the northern supporters & their vuvuzelas - very unsportsmanlike display this year from them all. Their booing & jeering has no place in our game"
You can guarantee there'll be no booing tomorrow.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 09/07/2022 21:02:47    2430881

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Any county that gets to 7 finals and flunks them shouldn't be talking about how to win All-Irelands. We even took ye in that same year in the U20 All-Ireland Final.

I just hope when we get back to an All-Ireland final it's a much vaunted Mayo team waiting for us.
Where's this arrogance coming from? Ye actually wallow in failure. When ye win a senior All-Ireland, then you can swagger.

I actually would always shout for Mayo when ye got to a final or if ye were you up against one of the big guns in a semi or Quarter-Final. I was hoarse from shouting the night ye beat Dublin last year. Then ye threw yet another final and something inside just turned, everything was set up, ye had knocked out one of the greatest football teams of all time, Kerry were gone and ye still couldn't do it. Enough is enough. I often thought it, and it could happen this year that for all Mayo's huffing and puffing Galway would turn around and win another All-Ireland before ye.

I don't know if we will ever see another All-Ireland but I would like to think if we got the opportunities ye have had we would take at least one of them."
Ye played Dublin during those years, and ye took multiple 16 point hammerings off them..
(Mayo lost 3 close finals to Dublin including replays )

You wouldn't have got within an arses roar of McGuinness Donegal (2012) , or Tyrone's aggressive and powerful (2021) team, so this blind sighted theory of yours that Kildare wold have got over the line in one of those finals is nothing short of delusionary..
You are in absolutely no position to mock Mayo football..
Never have, never will.

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 09/07/2022 21:07:44    2430885

derry didnt play as good as they can today ..probly will be there or thereabouts next year again i think the occasion got to them they just looked nervous and didnt kick on at all

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 09/07/2022 21:16:32    2430892

Replying To totalrecall:  "Another masterclass from Rory Gallagher...."
Fair play to Derry for coming a long way in a short space of time but that style of football was found out when the Dubs pulled one over on Donegal. No plan B and the players so coached to death that they couldn't even attempt some of the off the cuff attacking play Armagh played. Literally didn't know what to do outside of the system and bereft of individual flair. If they can get rid of some of the rigidity and bring through a couple of handy forwards to help out McGuigan they can still be a force. All not lost.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 09/07/2022 21:18:34    2430894

Replying To Vish:  "Ye played Dublin during those years, and ye took multiple 16 point hammerings off them..

You wouldn't have got within an arses roar of McGuinness Donegal (2012) , or Tyrone's aggressive and powerful (2021) team, so this blind sighted theory of yours that Kildare wold have got over the line in one of those finals is nothing short of delusionary..
Never have, never will."
Donegal took extra time to beat us in 2011 and we had a goal disallowed for a square ball that clearly wasn't which had put us six points up. Stop talking nonsense and embarrassing yourself.
I don't often agree with Joe Brolly and didn't agree with his assessment about ye for a long time, but by Jaysus he has ye read well, a bunch of losers. I feel sorry for Lee Keegan, the only man who turned up to win those games.

Regarding Kildare in the 2013-2018 period is not a fair comparison as that was a team in transition. You can blow your trumpet all you like but the net return for all that grandstanding is a big fat zero

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 09/07/2022 21:19:33    2430895

Replying To Vish:  "Ye played Dublin during those years, and ye took multiple 16 point hammerings off them..

Never have, never will."
I don't think he's mocking Mayo football as much as he's just pointing out facts about Mayo's downfalls. Such a brutal record in senior finals, especially after beating Dublin last year that should have thrown that monkey off their backs and they go on and misfire again. The happy to be there brigade.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 09/07/2022 21:22:18    2430896

Replying To Peadarw:  "derry didnt play as good as they can today ..probly will be there or thereabouts next year again i think the occasion got to them they just looked nervous and didnt kick on at all"
A combination of Galway defence being very good and Derry just don't have the quality up front aside from McGuigan. McGuigan being so good has masked over that the rest of the forwards are average.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 09/07/2022 21:24:57    2430898

Replying To Peadarw:  "derry didnt play as good as they can today ..probly will be there or thereabouts next year again i think the occasion got to them they just looked nervous and didnt kick on at all"
Derry weren't allowed to play as good today against a well organised Galway who had their homework done. I'll be surprised if Derry reach the last 4 again next year even in Ulster Tyrone will be better next year and Donegal will improve once they replace Bonner and Armagh have more room for improvement.

@Vish you need to get over yourself. Every All Ireland title is earned. You own team played Tyrone and Donegal in finals and Dublin was woeful in the 2016 final and Mayo still could get over the line.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 09/07/2022 21:35:26    2430907

Hey Derry,

Boooooooooooooooooooooooo

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 09/07/2022 21:47:49    2430914