Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Commodore:  "For the last 15 -20 years, every new housing development in Ireland has been required to have both public and private housing, the objective was to abolish the "Council estate" tag, to no longer marginalize those from lower income families.
In time that should start producing environments that have less negative influences to youngsters.

As for a more immediate solution, FF/FG Government basically started offering younger criminals from inner City Dublin the chance for them and their families to move out to others places upon release from prison to start over, provided with social housing, furniture etc and options to enrole in the ETB courses while getting full payments. A new life.

The problem is that it has enabled the drug industry to spread more rapidly to every rural corner of Ireland, rather than give up crime, they used this as a networking tool. Not all have done that, but we seen a noticeable surge in drug availablity in tiny rural villages and it seemed to coincide.

Also we have people regularly in court with over 100 previous convictions, who are given €300 fines and maybe 2 months in prison, its a joke. Then if locals attempt to deal with such anti-social behaviour, the Gardai are all over the locals, almost like they are protecting the criminals. If they seriously want to stamp out repeated criminal offending, they need they need to start putting people with exhaustive criminal records away for 10 - 20 years."
The guards and the North police know only too well who the main drug dealers are. Can't understand why they're not dealt with and dealt hard. Ireland is ruined with the filth.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2627 - 13/04/2026 21:31:16    2666259

Agreed.

Have never seen sense in say a 5 year sentence with the final 2 suspended.

If you want prison to truly reform someone, make them do a year inside, with the following 10 years suspended. Break the law, in any way, upon release and serve a further 10.

You get 1 chance.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5318 - 13/04/2026 18:26:38

Its a joke, seen court cases in Letterkenny in recent years with lads with over 100 previous convictions getting away with a small fine and light slap on the hand.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1734 - 13/04/2026 23:40:56    2666283

Replying To cavanman47:  "Agreed.

If you want prison to truly reform someone, make them do a year inside, with the following 10 years suspended. Break the law, in any way, upon release and serve a further 10.

You get 1 chance."
Thats a ridiculously hard right wing attitude that i could never agree with and dont see many in politics agree with either
Break law in any way? What crimes would you see that person then do another 10 years in prison?
Prison should be about reform but how would you fund all this extra cost of people potentially being in prison longer?

On the third level thing. i must have grown up very priviledged and my parents, both their families, all bar 1 went to third level,, only 1 who didnt, went to agricultural college as he took over family farm

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3963 - 14/04/2026 11:02:58    2666321

Replying To Commodore:  "Agreed.

You get 1 chance.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5318 - 13/04/2026 18:26:38

Its a joke, seen court cases in Letterkenny in recent years with lads with over 100 previous convictions getting away with a small fine and light slap on the hand."
If we were to start building today we wouldn't be able to rectify the prison capacity issue for 5 to 6 years. Thats the problem the justice system has in relation to sentencing.
If we had enough funds in place today we wouldnt be able to fix the shortage of Guards, Prison Officers, Social Workers, Foster care or Social Care. The suitable candidates just dont exist in the state atm. At least the ones who are suitable are pursuing different career paths. The applicants (that are eligible) just arent out there.
This affects education also. All the teaching vacancies are in the schools that the kids we have been discussing attend. Graduates take those jobs and move on as soon as possible to " better" schools. There is therefore very little continuity and professional investment in the schools that these kids attend.
There is no easy fix to any of this. If it was only money we might have some chance but we also lack the human resources. None of it is an " irish" problem per se. Its EU and possibly worldwide.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 195 - 14/04/2026 11:44:54    2666330

Replying To KillingFields:  "Thats a ridiculously hard right wing attitude that i could never agree with and dont see many in politics agree with either
Break law in any way? What crimes would you see that person then do another 10 years in prison?
Prison should be about reform but how would you fund all this extra cost of people potentially being in prison longer?

On the third level thing. i must have grown up very priviledged and my parents, both their families, all bar 1 went to third level,, only 1 who didnt, went to agricultural college as he took over family farm"
Sounds like it. Very different out our way. Of my parents families nobody went to third level, and very very few people of their generation would have, in their localities. Move on one generation and a large proportion did go on to third level. My point being what was generational and the norm, can change very quickly.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2760 - 14/04/2026 11:51:30    2666334

Commodore, where is the evidence that criminals get social housing from rural council allocation?

Genuinely interested that you think this is happening or has happened. Only equivalent was Limerick re-housing after the relocation of people from "troubled estates" to curb the feuds, That was once off and abandoned for obvious reasons.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4176 - 14/04/2026 11:54:56    2666336

Away from all the polictical chat, I'd like to mention the sadness I felt this morning when I heard of Moya Brennan's passing. She was an outstanding musical talent, and was a fine ambassador for Gaoth Dobhair, Donegal and Ireland.
Suimhneas síoraí dá hanam uasal.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10294 - 14/04/2026 12:52:50    2666350

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Away from all the polictical chat, I'd like to mention the sadness I felt this morning when I heard of Moya Brennan's passing. She was an outstanding musical talent, and was a fine ambassador for Gaoth Dobhair, Donegal and Ireland.
Suimhneas síoraí dá hanam uasal."
Sar amhránaí. Tá an chéad ceirnín o Clannad, eisithe níos mó ná 50 bliain ó shin, agam fós.

Nuacht brónach ach bhí saol iomlán sabhair aici.

Ar Dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4176 - 14/04/2026 13:45:45    2666363

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Away from all the polictical chat, I'd like to mention the sadness I felt this morning when I heard of Moya Brennan's passing. She was an outstanding musical talent, and was a fine ambassador for Gaoth Dobhair, Donegal and Ireland.
Suimhneas síoraí dá hanam uasal."
100 per cent Lockjaw. I have spent a lot of time up there and have had many a night in Leos. A wonderful talent and ambassador as you said.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8812 - 14/04/2026 14:14:54    2666374

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Commodore, where is the evidence that criminals get social housing from rural council allocation?

Genuinely interested that you think this is happening or has happened. Only equivalent was Limerick re-housing after the relocation of people from "troubled estates" to curb the feuds, That was once off and abandoned for obvious reasons."
I heard through a few different sources over a few years,

After an attempted robbery in East Donegal around 2014 - 2015 I think, the culprit were apprehended during the act, and it later emerged he only moved to Co Donegal following his release from prison for similar crimes. In court the defense solicitor said that he and his family accepted a initiative to relocate to Donegal for a 'new start'.

Second source was from the ETB, who indicated there was some type of government initiative active from prison to relocate selective young criminals getting released, hoping that new social settings might keep them out of prison in future.

In addition to the above, the last 5-10 years a good few outsider families relocated to Donegal without jobs lined up. Some ended up in trouble, like drugged up guy assaulted a 14-15 year old in a chipper for no reason in broad daylight one Sunday. More recently I think the guy who stole the Bus Eireann bus in Letterkenny and drove it to Sheriff st in Dublin might have been one who availed of it or was visiting a pal.

This is not recent, this has been ongoing over the last 10 - 12 years time frame. I never seen any official publicity or info around it, not sure who acquires housing or apartments for them.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1734 - 14/04/2026 14:22:20    2666379

The Irish Government should stand down and call a general election. That would be honourable and restore faith in the Irish political system as it would show they recognise their failure.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1749 - 14/04/2026 14:24:59    2666381

Replying To TheFlaker:  "100 per cent Lockjaw. I have spent a lot of time up there and have had many a night in Leos. A wonderful talent and ambassador as you said."
Yep. A night out in Leo's is very recommended to anyone visiting these parts.
Great food, great pints and great music.
Moya will be sadly missed :(

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10294 - 14/04/2026 14:42:24    2666389

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "The Irish Government should stand down and call a general election. That would be honourable and restore faith in the Irish political system as it would show they recognise their failure."
And 30,000 turkeys have voted for Christmas!

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 473 - 14/04/2026 15:17:59    2666403