Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm in agreement that if this Irish team doesn't reach a semi final it'll be deemed a failure again..also I would have to question why the group draw was made almost 3 years ago..3 teams in Irish group ranked in the top 6..can I also ask more knowledgeable people than me,when has it become a thing to celebrate teams make a mistake like a knock on?I've noticed it a lot with some teams..even a ball not straight in a line out is celebrated..one other thing when a try is scored the subs joining in behind the goals,surely this is a dodgy situation to have happening.."
World rugby admitted theyve made the mistake of doing draw too early and wont do it for the next tournament

It has been a thing for years to celebrate turnovers/lineouts not straight. just like you see people celebrating all kinds of frees in hurling and any other sport.

subs need an area to warm up and always warm up in dead ball zone of tryline their side is scoring into.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3588 - 21/09/2023 20:55:52    2505122

France, South Africa and New Zeeland will share the same views about meeting Ireland as we will have about meeting, whether we win lose or draw will not change a thing about our approach to our next game, the draw was badly thought out but it affects all teams especially those in with a chance of at least making it to the final. Ireland have won the respect of all countries in this tournament and fear none that is not to say we are unbeatable; we have gone something like 14 games unbeaten there is a great chance we can make it 15, why not.

For years I had tunnel vision about sport in that I could only see one sport, mistake. We are a small country and we have reached the world stage in a lot of sports, like, golf, soccer, boxing, sculling and now rugby etc, etc., so now I say embrace and support them all.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2956 - 22/09/2023 09:58:09    2505142

Replying To KillingFields:  "bringing up mayo isnt childish. the point is relevant. not all defeats are the same. we have a horrid draw and all depends on how ireland do in the quarters whether its a failure or not."
Really? Grand so. I will entertain the Mayo thing even though it's not in the same ball park. Mayo had an average team in 89 Connaught was weak and Tyrone surprisingly made it out of Ulster. Mayo as expected lost to Cork in final. 96 I feel they were unlucky. 97 they flopped, 04 and 06 again very average Mayo teams who shouldn't even have got to a final but did. 2012 beaten by a better team. 2013 they flopped, Dublin didn't play well and Mayo froze. 16 and 17 they did everything they could, very unlucky in my opinion just no impact from bench. Same in 20. They absolutely flopped against Tyrone, so did the management team on the day. That was the worst one.

So that's Mayo covered. Just to hammer home the daft comparison we are comparing a team that made it to a final year on year to an Irish team who are usually in a group they should always get out of and then lose in the first real battle where it is knockout. I will say it again, I have defended the rugby team on here over and over again but if we are saying this is the best Irish squad in history, and that is the view from public and pundits then they have to go and do it this time. Losing tomorrow and getting beat in a quarter final would be same old, same old, and that would be unacceptable.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7972 - 22/09/2023 10:04:38    2505143

Away from the rugby chat at the minute, what did you make of the protests outside Leinster House during the week?
It would be easy to just dismiss them as the ravings of a dim-witted lunatic fringe. But the numbers involved, and the nasty atmosphere would be concerning.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 22/09/2023 10:32:50    2505151

Replying To supersub15:  "France, South Africa and New Zeeland will share the same views about meeting Ireland as we will have about meeting, whether we win lose or draw will not change a thing about our approach to our next game, the draw was badly thought out but it affects all teams especially those in with a chance of at least making it to the final. Ireland have won the respect of all countries in this tournament and fear none that is not to say we are unbeatable; we have gone something like 14 games unbeaten there is a great chance we can make it 15, why not.

For years I had tunnel vision about sport in that I could only see one sport, mistake. We are a small country and we have reached the world stage in a lot of sports, like, golf, soccer, boxing, sculling and now rugby etc, etc., so now I say embrace and support them all."
Fully agree with everything you say! The days of the Ban are long gone, and consigned to the trash where they belong. Rugby is an exciting, physical, skillful game, and we're lucky that Ireland is competing effectively on the World stage!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 22/09/2023 10:57:29    2505156

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Away from the rugby chat at the minute, what did you make of the protests outside Leinster House during the week?
It would be easy to just dismiss them as the ravings of a dim-witted lunatic fringe. But the numbers involved, and the nasty atmosphere would be concerning."
Idiots. The braindead online idiots having a public meet up. It is worrying no doubt.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7972 - 22/09/2023 11:59:32    2505176

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Really? Grand so. I will entertain the Mayo thing even though it's not in the same ball park. Mayo had an average team in 89 Connaught was weak and Tyrone surprisingly made it out of Ulster. Mayo as expected lost to Cork in final. 96 I feel they were unlucky. 97 they flopped, 04 and 06 again very average Mayo teams who shouldn't even have got to a final but did. 2012 beaten by a better team. 2013 they flopped, Dublin didn't play well and Mayo froze. 16 and 17 they did everything they could, very unlucky in my opinion just no impact from bench. Same in 20. They absolutely flopped against Tyrone, so did the management team on the day. That was the worst one.

So that's Mayo covered. Just to hammer home the daft comparison we are comparing a team that made it to a final year on year to an Irish team who are usually in a group they should always get out of and then lose in the first real battle where it is knockout. I will say it again, I have defended the rugby team on here over and over again but if we are saying this is the best Irish squad in history, and that is the view from public and pundits then they have to go and do it this time. Losing tomorrow and getting beat in a quarter final would be same old, same old, and that would be unacceptable."
Your Mayo analysis does indicate that it's best to review all seasons on their own merits. Some flops, some non-flops, some positives, some negatives, but all seasons are different, and are usually best assessed on their own merits.

The rugby is the same surely? This year's world cup should be assessed on it's own merits, and not through the prism of any disappointing outcomes that may have occurred for other Irish sides stretching back 36 years to 1987. Maybe the 'daft comparison' can help you get a grip of this?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 22/09/2023 12:45:41    2505189

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Your Mayo analysis does indicate that it's best to review all seasons on their own merits. Some flops, some non-flops, some positives, some negatives, but all seasons are different, and are usually best assessed on their own merits.

The rugby is the same surely? This year's world cup should be assessed on it's own merits, and not through the prism of any disappointing outcomes that may have occurred for other Irish sides stretching back 36 years to 1987. Maybe the 'daft comparison' can help you get a grip of this?"
To never win a game in the knockout stages, ever, is the same as a team getting to a final over and over, with different groups of players in different scenarios? We have talked this team up to the hilt for 18 months ans now we are looking to look for reasons to make excuses in case we lose. The players won't look for excuses, nor should they. I find the chat from fans a little tiresome now.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7972 - 22/09/2023 13:02:13    2505198

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Away from the rugby chat at the minute, what did you make of the protests outside Leinster House during the week?
It would be easy to just dismiss them as the ravings of a dim-witted lunatic fringe. But the numbers involved, and the nasty atmosphere would be concerning."
The journal did a very good article on who the people involved were and the common theme seemed to be that these people are removed from reality and believe their own theories, no different to what you would see in the US. The big difference is that in the US the state doesn't pay for everything they have. What would worry me about these people is not that they will ever get mass support but rather their heads are so messed up they are dangerous in a violent way - how long before we have a TD physically attacked and perhaps killed

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1829 - 22/09/2023 14:14:36    2505214

It's easy to dismiss them as such because that's just what they are.

In one of the most welfare-friendly, peaceful, stable, opportunity-filled countries on the planet, to expect the government to do more to improve one's personal situation any further reeks of "we've tried nothing and we're all out of ideas".

There's a place for protest, of course, but there's also a place for pride, self respect, articulate debate and willingness to strive for self improvement.

To paraphrase JFK "Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can actually do for yourself".

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5082 - 22/09/2023 14:25:14    2505216

Replying To cavanman47:  "It's easy to dismiss them as such because that's just what they are.

In one of the most welfare-friendly, peaceful, stable, opportunity-filled countries on the planet, to expect the government to do more to improve one's personal situation any further reeks of "we've tried nothing and we're all out of ideas".

There's a place for protest, of course, but there's also a place for pride, self respect, articulate debate and willingness to strive for self improvement.

To paraphrase JFK "Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can actually do for yourself"."
True. I wonder would these "patriots" have a single focal of gaeilge for example.
I anecdotally heard that one genius told Michael Healy-Rae "to go back to his own country"

I'm far removed from Dublin and city life these days but looking in from the outside, there does seem to be an increased sense that people feel they can go out and do what they want? Maybe it's a post-Covid thing, (where as we also know, conspiracy theories abounded), or maybe it's that the Guards hands are tied somewhat. But the likes of the gurriers who assaulted that American tourist, or these heavy handed protesters this week...we'd be better off if the Guards could get in there and, how shall I put this delicately, dish out some affirmative action.

I know that some liberal people might not want to hear that, and I'm not suggesting that Guards get carte blanche to dish out punishment. But where it's merited, a good belt of a baton might soften a few coughs.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 22/09/2023 16:11:46    2505238

Replying To zinny:  "We have only once performed in a QF and its the only time we were also beaten by a team that won it. Arguably we had no reason to be close to Australia that day. I don't buy your argument on not performing but still being a better team - preforming at the highest level when you have to is part of being a better team - you cannot claim you are a better team if you lose fair and square."
Maybe just splitting hairs, what I was saying is that a team can play to full potential and still be beaten by a better team on the day. There is no shame in that, I agree the best team wins the day. I beleive if we play to our best we can get past SA, however, the 7/1 bench split is a very clever plan against Ireland who play some of our best rugby in last 20 min, SA have a fresh pack who will continue to make every brakedown a war. An area we usually get a lot of joy in final quarter. Interesting to see what plan our management have to combat this.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2160 - 22/09/2023 16:16:30    2505241

Replying To TheFlaker:  "To never win a game in the knockout stages, ever, is the same as a team getting to a final over and over, with different groups of players in different scenarios? We have talked this team up to the hilt for 18 months ans now we are looking to look for reasons to make excuses in case we lose. The players won't look for excuses, nor should they. I find the chat from fans a little tiresome now."
Not making excuses at all, but beating NZ in a world cup ko game, I'll believe that when I see it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 22/09/2023 20:27:47    2505260

It was a bad day for democracy, when a rabble can threaten , or intimidate elected politicians, and Leinster House staff leaving the Dail. I hope the mob will be dealt with for all our sakes. The organisers seem to have plenty of time to carry out their so called protest.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1831 - 22/09/2023 22:07:01    2505266

Replying To zinny:  "The journal did a very good article on who the people involved were and the common theme seemed to be that these people are removed from reality and believe their own theories, no different to what you would see in the US. The big difference is that in the US the state doesn't pay for everything they have. What would worry me about these people is not that they will ever get mass support but rather their heads are so messed up they are dangerous in a violent way - how long before we have a TD physically attacked and perhaps killed"
A Sinn Féin TD was part of a mob that actually broke through a Garda line into Leinster House in 2010 and the mob had to be forced out by Gardaí. Another left TD was part of a howling mob that held minister Joan Burton in her car for hours during the water protests. For reference.

The idiots who harassed Healy Rae clearly did not know he voted against the hate speech laws which their stupid actions will help push. So you' wonder....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2929 - 23/09/2023 08:18:20    2505274

Replying To thelongridge:  "It was a bad day for democracy, when a rabble can threaten , or intimidate elected politicians, and Leinster House staff leaving the Dail. I hope the mob will be dealt with for all our sakes. The organisers seem to have plenty of time to carry out their so called protest."
Sadly, we are where we are and it's not at all good, when PC entered our lives, it slowly replaced common sense, integrity, personal responsibility and everyday stuff like that, it also brought with it pressure groups of a kind and untouchables.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2956 - 23/09/2023 10:30:22    2505288

Back to the topic of the day.

The doubters are obsessed with exciting the obvious historic strengths of the current world champions and therefore at the same time quietly brain washing the genuine Ireland supporter into thinking maybe we are not good enough to win against NZ. A couple of posters here are quiet good at camouflaging their views on the Ireland rugby team and their chances of progressing to their next game I think deep down inside they would sleep better tonight if Ireland was beaten.

My own view is "if" we are beaten we will be beaten by a team that will score more than us over the 80 min's game time, not because they are a better team than us overall on any given day.

Now I'm looking for an excuse as to why Ireland is the No 1 international rugby team in the world and why we are coming into tonight's game on the back of the world's biggest sporting stage, - probably because they earned it.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2956 - 23/09/2023 11:14:17    2505292

Galway Utd won the first division last night. I wonder has a club ever spent as much as them to win the first division.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1454 - 23/09/2023 12:33:54    2505303

Replying To supersub15:  "Back to the topic of the day.

The doubters are obsessed with exciting the obvious historic strengths of the current world champions and therefore at the same time quietly brain washing the genuine Ireland supporter into thinking maybe we are not good enough to win against NZ. A couple of posters here are quiet good at camouflaging their views on the Ireland rugby team and their chances of progressing to their next game I think deep down inside they would sleep better tonight if Ireland was beaten.

My own view is "if" we are beaten we will be beaten by a team that will score more than us over the 80 min's game time, not because they are a better team than us overall on any given day.

Now I'm looking for an excuse as to why Ireland is the No 1 international rugby team in the world and why we are coming into tonight's game on the back of the world's biggest sporting stage, - probably because they earned it."
No doubt a minority will be just waiting to stick the knife in if we get beaten tonight, but thats their loss .Of course the current champions deserve respect, always a very difficult team to beat especially at Wourld Cup. The best defence against the best attack. They have chozen a bench that can shut us down, but its high risk, one or two early injuries or if we can get ahead on scoreboard and it could fall apart for them. Both teams get another chance, more difficult for us as Scotland will not roll over, so it could be two knockout games week after week to get to semi. Hopefully a win tonight, then a two week break to recharge before we go again. Best of luck to management and the 23 who take the field tonight.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2160 - 23/09/2023 14:13:29    2505324

That was unbelievable. What a battle. Lineout totally failed but still managed to get over the line. Pure heart.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7972 - 23/09/2023 21:50:23    2505365