Can all primary schools not just be Gaelscoils? One of the biggest blunders the founders of this state made if they were serious about the language was just having all schools through Irish medium. Let groups then get funding like Gaelscoils to set up English language schools but that they'd be the minority.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 369 - 20/09/2025 12:27:24 2636835 Link 0 |
Ah you are back. No rowing on the tv for you to watch? Where is the rowing on these days?
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8518 - 20/09/2025 13:15:23 2636838 Link 0 |
Comhghairdeas Kate O'Connor! Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10033 - 20/09/2025 13:30:53 2636840 Link 4 |
Yes fair play to her. Great achievement!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17088 - 20/09/2025 15:10:12 2636847 Link 0 |
Some motoring from McPhillips too. Irish record was barely under 1.44 some months back, and he's recorded an extraordinary 1.42:15 now. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4415 - 20/09/2025 15:31:51 2636849 Link 1 |
Outstanding performances from both. Their futures look bright.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1869 - 20/09/2025 16:27:01 2636851 Link 0 |
He looks like he has massive potential. From how he looked in the heat and semi-final it looked clear there was a lot more in him. Today's race had the fastest times to ever won gold, silver and bronze in a world championship 800m. His time would have medalled in any other championships and won gold in many of them. He was closing rapidly. He was a massively talented junior, had a lot of injury issues and is also a full-time student. The work he's been able to do this summer seems to have reaped massive rewards. He's physically very strong and has big kick, which will always give him a chance. A slightly slower pace there today and he could have won gold. The fact he was able to stick the pace and give himself a shot at the end was seriously impressive. Massive achievement for Kate. World medals in track and field are like hen's teeth in Ireland. To do it in an event like the heptathlon where we have no history, is incredible. Her progression this year has been great to see. European indoor bronze, world indoor silver and world outdoor silver all in the one year. That's a career for many top athletes. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2543 - 20/09/2025 16:29:47 2636852 Link 1 |
We didn't have long to wait. The eight year old has taken the wheel Now Mr T thinks that negative coverage of bim and his accomplishments are illegal !! Next up, it will be illegal not to like him. Is there no adult in the room to advise this guy / child to tone the rhetoric down ? Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1869 - 20/09/2025 16:30:15 2636853 Link 0 |
Amazing that they have now just put a tax on big tech with their 100k per via scheme. Only a few weeks ago the same industry were falling allover him - perhaps its the price they agreed to pay for no regulations of the tech sector. Trump wants money to pay for tax cuts and big tech want no regulations so there is the payoff. zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2077 - 20/09/2025 19:54:01 2636864 Link 0 |
Rowing? what are you on about. You probably do more rowing in Mayo. Anyway, good luck to Jim Gavin in Presidential race.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2664 - 21/09/2025 18:58:33 2636947 Link 0 |
Kate O Connor originally from Newry. People there not able to see RTE due to the geoblock. galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2664 - 21/09/2025 19:06:18 2636950 Link 0 |
Trump and his boys threatening media about what they might be saying,(my way or no way). CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2598 - 22/09/2025 13:08:58 2637050 Link 0 |
Just another ploy, attempt to show the right as caring and forgiving in contrast to the evil left. All the while Trump telling all he hates all who oppose him. Divide is getting wider by the day. All eyes on mid terms, will they even go ahead ?
seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2227 - 22/09/2025 14:44:49 2637074 Link 0 |
Charlie and the wife were are bible people, and bible people will often preach and speak of forgiveness, often in the most unforgiving of tones too.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4415 - 22/09/2025 15:08:10 2637077 Link 0 |
I think it's down to following one of the key tenets of Christianity. https://www.plough.com/en/topics/life/forgiveness/i-bear-no-grudge dolfos (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 22/09/2025 15:38:48 2637085 Link 0 |
You made a daft post about rowing and cricket getting huge coverage. Then you didn't reply to those who responded to you. The usual craic with a lot of posters on here. Make random statements that have no basis in reality then stay off the thread until we move on then back on posting as if nothing was said. So I ask again, where is this widespread coverage of rowing and cricket because I watch a lot of sport and listen to a lot of sports pods and this has passed me by? TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8518 - 22/09/2025 15:48:46 2637088 Link 0 |
Turning the other cheek is pretty central to Christianity to be honest
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3932 - 22/09/2025 17:51:39 2637108 Link 1 |