Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Blackbog:  "Shamrock Rovers supporters anti Queen Elizabeth chant.
Rovers should be hammered financially for this behaviour of a section of crowd. Mindless nonsense.
The ground is surrounded by Respect signs. No heed taken.
I have no time for ignorance where ever it comes from and that behaiour is just in the gutter.
I am not a royalist by any stretch but when a women of 96 dies.... Does it deserve hate like this
Absolutely not"
Sure, it's not hard to have some respect but why do ye think soccer matches were off in England. Because they couldn't trust their own people to show respect.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/09/2022 16:28:46    2440325

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think you need to have a night meter installed in order to benefit from cheaper off peak use, and it costs extra just to have that extra meter, not sure how it works with the new smart meters, maybe they can be used for both.
I wouldn't go leaving a tumble dryer on and going to bed either, those things are famous for causing fires.

On another topic I just glanced at here, I think those soccer fans in Dublin chanting about the British Queens death like that is a disgrace, shows what some soccer fans are really like,
I think a big part of the reason they postponed all the soccer games in England this weekend was they were worried that minute's silence etc would be disrespected."
The majority of them are respectful people and even if some of them might be anti-monarchy have enough cop on to respect the dead. What are they expecting when they have minute's of silence when the games eventually resume? They should have played the games. Schedule is tight enough trying to fit Premier League and European club games before the World Cup in the virtuous state of Qatar. Brand Premier League doesn't want events to blacken their image for the sponsors and worldwide TV subscribers.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 11/09/2022 17:56:29    2440330

Great win for Shane Lowry.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 11/09/2022 18:18:15    2440333

Brillant quote from Shane Lowry, one for the good guys. That should put greedy players in their box.

Neartheborder (Derry) - Posts: 56 - 11/09/2022 18:29:14    2440334

Replying To Saynothing:  "Sure, it's not hard to have some respect but why do ye think soccer matches were off in England. Because they couldn't trust their own people to show respect."
Maybe. Be some uproar if it happened at a GAA match. Let's not offer any justification whatsoever for these small handful of pea-brained morons. They are not Republicans; their silly, yobbish mouthing serves only to insult millions of ordinary decent English folk and people in the Unionist community and thereby to strengthen partition. It has a very anti-Republican effect. There is a time and a place for anyone's political opinions, but it's not drunken slabbering like that. Of course, the same clowns have zero to offer in real politics - all they know is how to be offensive. Millions of views on social media around the world. No use talking to people like that though. Brainless louts; beneath contempt.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 11/09/2022 19:59:30    2440348

A documentary from 1976 about RTÉ Radio's sports coverage.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 11/09/2022 20:19:48    2440352

Replying To Blackbog:  "Shamrock Rovers supporters anti Queen Elizabeth chant.
Rovers should be hammered financially for this behaviour of a section of crowd. Mindless nonsense.
The ground is surrounded by Respect signs. No heed taken.
I have no time for ignorance where ever it comes from and that behaiour is just in the gutter.
I am not a royalist by any stretch but when a women of 96 dies.... Does it deserve hate like this
Absolutely not"
Respect for the dead but Ukrainians, people that died in 9/11 and the rising prices has took a back seat. Don't forget the Royals weren't behind the door when Di was murdered

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 12/09/2022 09:43:34    2440377

In fairness to Shamrock Rovers fans, they had a minutes silence which was respected for the 3 dead children murdered in Tallaght.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 12/09/2022 10:00:59    2440380

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think you need to have a night meter installed in order to benefit from cheaper off peak use, and it costs extra just to have that extra meter, not sure how it works with the new smart meters, maybe they can be used for both.
I wouldn't go leaving a tumble dryer on and going to bed either, those things are famous for causing fires.

On another topic I just glanced at here, I think those soccer fans in Dublin chanting about the British Queens death like that is a disgrace, shows what some soccer fans are really like,
I think a big part of the reason they postponed all the soccer games in England this weekend was they were worried that minute's silence etc would be disrespected."
My house is recently built and when I was changing providers recently I had to read two separate readings from my meter box, one for daily peak and one for nightly off peak so I assume my meter box. This is why to me anyway it makes sense to consume power off peak. I'm open to correction though.

You're right too about the tumble dryer. The wife put in some bed clothes in ours one time, and not even for any wild length of time. Wasn't long before we got the burning smell. Luckily we were still up and powered all off.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 12/09/2022 13:47:30    2440416

I thought that the minute's applause had been introduced to stop people shouting out during a minute's silence? Certainly the reversion to the old format hasn't stopped the idiots, as events during the Hibs v Hearts match showed last week.

By chance I was at a wedding over the weekend in a rather Brexity, pro-forces part of England. Not my cup of tea usually, of course, but my hands were tied as it was one of herself's best friends getting hitched. Anyway, it was wall-to-wall media coverage of the Queen's passing, to the detriment of everything else. It was the same on Sunday too, which was weird given that it was the anniversary of 9/11, a fairly major historical event.

I don't support the shouting out during the silences, people being bothered during the removal etc. but I do think there should also be space for the unaffected to go about their daily lives. Is it really necessary to postpone all kids' football for the next couple of weeks? Give them a few black armbands and let them play FFS.

This sort of stuff has been building for the past few years in the UK, with the annual over the top Poppy commemorations and some of the bilious stuff that goes with it. All stoked for political reasons, of course.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2022 09:28:20    2440479

Replying To Gleebo:  "I thought that the minute's applause had been introduced to stop people shouting out during a minute's silence? Certainly the reversion to the old format hasn't stopped the idiots, as events during the Hibs v Hearts match showed last week.

By chance I was at a wedding over the weekend in a rather Brexity, pro-forces part of England. Not my cup of tea usually, of course, but my hands were tied as it was one of herself's best friends getting hitched. Anyway, it was wall-to-wall media coverage of the Queen's passing, to the detriment of everything else. It was the same on Sunday too, which was weird given that it was the anniversary of 9/11, a fairly major historical event.

I don't support the shouting out during the silences, people being bothered during the removal etc. but I do think there should also be space for the unaffected to go about their daily lives. Is it really necessary to postpone all kids' football for the next couple of weeks? Give them a few black armbands and let them play FFS.

This sort of stuff has been building for the past few years in the UK, with the annual over the top Poppy commemorations and some of the bilious stuff that goes with it. All stoked for political reasons, of course."
Seems to be the trend across Europe unfortunately. There has definitley been a rise in populism. I see that right-wing parties in Sweden and Italy are predicted to do well in upcoming elections. It's hardly a new thing though. History shows us that when inflation is high and people are finding every day life tough that they latch on to anyone or anything. These far right groups usually have all the answers, but usually perhaps more importantly they are able to point the finger of blame at some group or other. Take your pick from Jewish people to immigrants.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 13/09/2022 10:01:28    2440482

Replying To Gleebo:  "I thought that the minute's applause had been introduced to stop people shouting out during a minute's silence? Certainly the reversion to the old format hasn't stopped the idiots, as events during the Hibs v Hearts match showed last week.

This sort of stuff has been building for the past few years in the UK, with the annual over the top Poppy commemorations and some of the bilious stuff that goes with it. All stoked for political reasons, of course."
English nationalism on display.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 13/09/2022 10:14:32    2440484

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Seems to be the trend across Europe unfortunately. There has definitley been a rise in populism. I see that right-wing parties in Sweden and Italy are predicted to do well in upcoming elections. It's hardly a new thing though. History shows us that when inflation is high and people are finding every day life tough that they latch on to anyone or anything. These far right groups usually have all the answers, but usually perhaps more importantly they are able to point the finger of blame at some group or other. Take your pick from Jewish people to immigrants."
Yeah, it's great being a white European,you never get the blame for anything.....

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 13/09/2022 11:30:06    2440500

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Seems to be the trend across Europe unfortunately. There has definitley been a rise in populism. I see that right-wing parties in Sweden and Italy are predicted to do well in upcoming elections. It's hardly a new thing though. History shows us that when inflation is high and people are finding every day life tough that they latch on to anyone or anything. These far right groups usually have all the answers, but usually perhaps more importantly they are able to point the finger of blame at some group or other. Take your pick from Jewish people to immigrants."
People tend to vote for the centre when the existing set-up provides a comfortable standard of living for them, but unfortunately that segment of society has been declining for the past few decades across most of the West (just around the same time that the current brand of neoliberal orthodoxy came about). Throw in the Internet and the echo chambers on social media, concerns over immigration, the harmful effect of money in politics, the effects of climate change starting to be felt and the conditions are ripe for a deeply divided society.

I will say that the right wing brand of extremism is unfortunately not the only one present these days, as a certain renowned author experienced recently.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2022 11:36:48    2440501

Replying To thelongridge:  "English nationalism on display."
Yes, and Truss has been stoking that recently with her insulting comments towards the First Ministers of Scotland and Wales and the appointment of an arch Brexiter for the Secretary of State position up north.

They are all snakes ultimately anyway. Truss herself claimed to be devastated by QE II's passing but video has emerged from her university days of her calling for the abolition of the monarchy.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2022 11:45:45    2440508

All this talk, Britain is bad, Brexiteers are bad, the electorate is foolish bla bla bla for voting for right wing populists etc etc
The Scots, Welsh, Irish etc are well able to throw digs ourselves, this isn't a one way street.

Also, Sky news had on its show recently an author gushing over his book about a utopian world where white people have been eradicated, an Arab American lady recently gave a speech at an American University talking about how she fantasised about killing white people,the head of the New York Times online content has advocated a white holocaust, plenty more worrying stories like this too, little wonder people are concerned about immigration and demographic change when horrible people like these are becoming more and more influential.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 13/09/2022 12:31:44    2440515

Replying To Galway9801:  "All this talk, Britain is bad, Brexiteers are bad, the electorate is foolish bla bla bla for voting for right wing populists etc etc
The Scots, Welsh, Irish etc are well able to throw digs ourselves, this isn't a one way street.

Also, Sky news had on its show recently an author gushing over his book about a utopian world where white people have been eradicated, an Arab American lady recently gave a speech at an American University talking about how she fantasised about killing white people,the head of the New York Times online content has advocated a white holocaust, plenty more worrying stories like this too, little wonder people are concerned about immigration and demographic change when horrible people like these are becoming more and more influential."
Poor you

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 13/09/2022 13:18:57    2440520

Weddings in the UK can be fairly full enough affairs at the best of times without that being shoved down your throat.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 13/09/2022 13:32:01    2440522

Weddings in the UK can be fairly full enough affairs at the best of times without that being shoved down your throat.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 13/09/2022 13:32:27    2440523

Replying To Galway9801:  "All this talk, Britain is bad, Brexiteers are bad, the electorate is foolish bla bla bla for voting for right wing populists etc etc

Also, Sky news had on its show recently an author gushing over his book about a utopian world where white people have been eradicated, an Arab American lady recently gave a speech at an American University talking about how she fantasised about killing white people,the head of the New York Times online content has advocated a white holocaust, plenty more worrying stories like this too, little wonder people are concerned about immigration and demographic change when horrible people like these are becoming more and more influential."
I haven't met many Irish people who believe that Brexit is a good thing, but maybe you have a fresh perspective. What I will say is that walking up the street in Brexitland the other day, I saw a lot of low level poverty around, lots of discount shops, charity shops, a lack of industry etc. So while I think that the working class Brexiters (outside of the chinless wonders such as Johnson, Rees Mogg, Raab etc.) backed the wrong horse, it was clearly the case that the investment from the EU hadn't reached a lot of people there, or at least wasn't visible to them.

They are probably mistaken if they believe that the Conservatives are going to replace the EU cohesion funds that have been lost to the peripheral regions of their country, though.

I do agree with you about the hypocrisy that we see in the media regarding hate speech. Trevor Sinclair, for instance, racially abused a white policeman a few years back when being booked for drink driving. He continues to have a media career in the UK, something that I doubt would have happened if the circumstances were reversed.

I am also a bit concerned that there are elements on the left which are conflating racism (and many of the very bad things that flow from it) as a unique property of whiteness, something that can debunked with about three seconds of thought, but which seldom is in mainstream media.

Equality needs to mean equality, in order to have a harmonious society.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2022 14:45:09    2440536