Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Breffni40:  "If the premise of a joke is a complete (deliberate?) misunderstanding of basic pronouns and language used for thousands of years then I think you need to work on your punchlines. or just accept humour is not your strong point. It's fine, it's not for everybody"
I can be funny, very occasionally,but I just typed that response for a wee bit of craic, didn't mean for it to irritate you.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 16/03/2024 00:25:26    2531310

Replying To Breffni40:  "Anyway, sin is just a religious construct we were taught as young boys by men in dresses called father for some reason"
Anti religious sentiment is bigotry, fatherhood is fluid, ,, and there's nothing wrong with a man wearing a dress, in fact it's quite brave and inspiring.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 16/03/2024 00:27:36    2531311

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Even if they get beaten by Scotland they will still be nominated as team of the year.

Dublin 4 and it's satellites are increasingly out of touch with the rest of us."
Viewing numbers would say they are not.

You see nothing wrong with supporting an industry (I would never class it at a sport) that originated out of the landlord class in Ireland and to this days is sustained by the wealthy who receive tax breaks, that spawned an industry and still is one of the biggest supporters, that turns hundreds of thousands into misery.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 16/03/2024 01:06:57    2531313

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "A lot of people lose the run of themselves. Lot of nonsense about bookies losing. They lay most of liability off on exchanges and cleaned up on some races including the Albert Bartlett today and the hunters.

I knew lads who were in the Berties Dream syndicate which won that race in 2013. 66/1 in morning and SP 33s. They won a fair pile as did a few of us here but when one of them was collecting his few grand the bookie told him he'd kept over 90% of the book!"
Never met a poor bookie Barney;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 16/03/2024 07:19:37    2531315

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Even if they get beaten by Scotland they will still be nominated as team of the year.

Dublin 4 and it's satellites are increasingly out of touch with the rest of us."
So you don't mind supporting the privileged sport of horse racing Barney (Michael O Leary, J. P McManus, Willie Mullins etc), but you continually have a chip on your shoulder (one of many) about the 32 county Irish Rubgy team who today are going for the championship.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 16/03/2024 07:32:07    2531316

Replying To Viking66:  "Never met a poor bookie Barney;-)"
As the saying goes… " Horse racing is the sport of Kings … and best left to them"

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 16/03/2024 09:43:18    2531329

Replying To zinny:  "Viewing numbers would say they are not.

You see nothing wrong with supporting an industry (I would never class it at a sport) that originated out of the landlord class in Ireland and to this days is sustained by the wealthy who receive tax breaks, that spawned an industry and still is one of the biggest supporters, that turns hundreds of thousands into misery."
People have been racing horses for as long as there's been people and domesticated horses.

It is true that the landlord class here organised the first official races, but then they also sponsored and supported the first publicly organised hurling matches. Mar is léir ón sár leabhair a scríobh Liam Ó Caithnia.

As for the gambling industry you could similarly make the point about Guinness - under the guise of Zero!!! - sponsoring rugby and other sports. Alcohol when used irresponsibly causes more harm than betting.

People have free will. Most people can drink, eat, gamble and whatever without any need for them to be banned or restricted other than the existing age limits etc.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2564 - 16/03/2024 09:54:58    2531331

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "People have been racing horses for as long as there's been people and domesticated horses.

It is true that the landlord class here organised the first official races, but then they also sponsored and supported the first publicly organised hurling matches. Mar is léir ón sár leabhair a scríobh Liam Ó Caithnia.

As for the gambling industry you could similarly make the point about Guinness - under the guise of Zero!!! - sponsoring rugby and other sports. Alcohol when used irresponsibly causes more harm than betting.

People have free will. Most people can drink, eat, gamble and whatever without any need for them to be banned or restricted other than the existing age limits etc."
Are you equating Irish peasants with the people who could ride horses in history? Did the landlord get off his horse to play hurling?
The GAA has dropped anything to do with Alcohol and Gambling but you seem happy to support an industry that makes its living off it.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 16/03/2024 17:48:43    2531441

Replying To Viking66:  "Never met a poor bookie Barney;-)"
A countryman of your own didn't make a great deal from it....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 16/03/2024 18:29:43    2531456

Replying To zinny:  "Are you equating Irish peasants with the people who could ride horses in history? Did the landlord get off his horse to play hurling?
The GAA has dropped anything to do with Alcohol and Gambling but you seem happy to support an industry that makes its living off it."
Perhaps you might read the history.

Not sure if there is a translation.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2564 - 17/03/2024 00:13:13    2531581

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "So you don't mind supporting the privileged sport of horse racing Barney (Michael O Leary, J. P McManus, Willie Mullins etc), but you continually have a chip on your shoulder (one of many) about the 32 county Irish Rubgy team who today are going for the championship."
Your Lucky 15 bombed :-)

So its the world's fault ....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2564 - 17/03/2024 00:15:37    2531582

Replying To zinny:  "Are you equating Irish peasants with the people who could ride horses in history? Did the landlord get off his horse to play hurling?
The GAA has dropped anything to do with Alcohol and Gambling but you seem happy to support an industry that makes its living off it."
The GAA hasn't dropped anything to do with Alcohol and Gambling. They dropped some national sponsorship deals because of the optics. Plenty of clubs getting sponsorship from pubs and bookies and very grateful for their support. Gordon Elliot sponsors the county champions here in Meath and they have a lovely setup. Definitely though alcohol and gambling regulations should be tighter around advertising and 'incentives' especially online gambling. But, like a lot of things these days the atitude is to ban things rather than encourage responsible gambling and drinking. Too many of our youth think responsible is the same as being boring and not cool. I'm 55 and never been cool, thankfully. But we don't talk about young people's mental health, depression and suicide nearly enough and why we drink and gamble too much, not unrelated, and other excesses like driving like lunatics. Easier to say nothing and ban stuff than question why we do it and can we sort that, enjoy a few sociable drinks, a few bets, drive with other drivers, cyclists, pedestrians in mind. And stop taking our phones for walk, an accident waiting to happen and likely to get some online casino offering us a free tenner with new membership!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 17/03/2024 11:27:02    2531619

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The GAA hasn't dropped anything to do with Alcohol and Gambling. They dropped some national sponsorship deals because of the optics. Plenty of clubs getting sponsorship from pubs and bookies and very grateful for their support. Gordon Elliot sponsors the county champions here in Meath and they have a lovely setup. Definitely though alcohol and gambling regulations should be tighter around advertising and 'incentives' especially online gambling. But, like a lot of things these days the atitude is to ban things rather than encourage responsible gambling and drinking. Too many of our youth think responsible is the same as being boring and not cool. I'm 55 and never been cool, thankfully. But we don't talk about young people's mental health, depression and suicide nearly enough and why we drink and gamble too much, not unrelated, and other excesses like driving like lunatics. Easier to say nothing and ban stuff than question why we do it and can we sort that, enjoy a few sociable drinks, a few bets, drive with other drivers, cyclists, pedestrians in mind. And stop taking our phones for walk, an accident waiting to happen and likely to get some online casino offering us a free tenner with new membership!"
Exactly. Personal responsibility.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2564 - 17/03/2024 11:54:36    2531626

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Exactly. Personal responsibility."
Something lacking in the youth (most people under 50 really, and some over) of today.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/03/2024 19:39:18    2531754

Replying To cavanman47:  "Something lacking in the youth (most people under 50 really, and some over) of today."
Something lacking too amongst some parents mollycoddling their children. Don't seem to have the iniative of children of 40 years ago. Mam and working all hours but spoiling them too much. Maybe technology has something to answer for? Instead of pushing children outdoors playing with friends, kicking a ball or a bit of divilment it's too easy to keep them happy to leave them inside with a phone, an Xbox or in front of the television. Driving them 20 mins to school to avoid 5 mins walk in the rain and same children only too happy to head off playing sports in the rain. Not a bother on them if they're let. I know I sound like the 70s and 80s were the dark ages and we walked miles to bring a sod of turf to school but more distractions nowadays have a lot to answer for.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 18/03/2024 02:45:20    2531843

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Something lacking too amongst some parents mollycoddling their children. Don't seem to have the iniative of children of 40 years ago. Mam and working all hours but spoiling them too much. Maybe technology has something to answer for? Instead of pushing children outdoors playing with friends, kicking a ball or a bit of divilment it's too easy to keep them happy to leave them inside with a phone, an Xbox or in front of the television. Driving them 20 mins to school to avoid 5 mins walk in the rain and same children only too happy to head off playing sports in the rain. Not a bother on them if they're let. I know I sound like the 70s and 80s were the dark ages and we walked miles to bring a sod of turf to school but more distractions nowadays have a lot to answer for."
Yeah, technology and perhaps more significantly social media seems to be a major issue.

There are too many people in their 20s and 30s hoping to emulate the latest youtuber or tick-tocker and see a livelihood house, car etc just fall into their laps than looking at what the last number of generations in this country did and roll up their sleeves and work for it.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/03/2024 12:48:05    2531910

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yeah, technology and perhaps more significantly social media seems to be a major issue.

There are too many people in their 20s and 30s hoping to emulate the latest youtuber or tick-tocker and see a livelihood house, car etc just fall into their laps than looking at what the last number of generations in this country did and roll up their sleeves and work for it."
Rolling up ones sleeves requires motivation and motivation is hard to come by when you're born into comfort as let's face it, so many of us are.
As a boxer once said its hard to get up and train when you've slept in silk sheets.

I also think being surrounded by misandry (passing itself off as feminism) has had a disheartening effect on many young men.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 18/03/2024 20:25:49    2532002

Replying To Galway9801:  "Rolling up ones sleeves requires motivation and motivation is hard to come by when you're born into comfort as let's face it, so many of us are.
As a boxer once said its hard to get up and train when you've slept in silk sheets.

I also think being surrounded by misandry (passing itself off as feminism) has had a disheartening effect on many young men."
The "elite" has managed to destroy any real commitment by Irish born people to the state or tge idea of,a united Ireland. Other than some makes up nonsense.

Referendums perhaps prove that tge,tide is turning. Young people are leaving not because they can't get a place to live even on a,decent wage but because the nation has lost its soul.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2564 - 18/03/2024 22:33:13    2532017

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The "elite" has managed to destroy any real commitment by Irish born people to the state or tge idea of,a united Ireland. Other than some makes up nonsense.

Referendums perhaps prove that tge,tide is turning. Young people are leaving not because they can't get a place to live even on a,decent wage but because the nation has lost its soul."
Jases Barney yer great craic

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 18/03/2024 22:52:59    2532023

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The "elite" has managed to destroy any real commitment by Irish born people to the state or tge idea of,a united Ireland. Other than some makes up nonsense.

Referendums perhaps prove that tge,tide is turning. Young people are leaving not because they can't get a place to live even on a,decent wage but because the nation has lost its soul."
Young people are leaving because the nation has lost its soul? That is one of the funniest things i have ever read. They are leaving because of work and a chance to live in class places with super weather for most of the year. Not sure what circles you mix in Barney but the craic must be 90 wherever you grab a pint.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 18/03/2024 23:28:00    2532029