Wexford Hurling Championship 2022

Replying To JimbobD:  "A keyboard warrior in all its glory. The Shamrocks GAA are doing fantastic redevelopment work on and off the pitch by brilliant volunteers and you think its OK to slate them on here after a cheap bottle of wine from Aldi. Maybe you should redirect some of your time into helping out at a local GAA and stop commenting on clubs that you know nothing about."
I don't drink wine at 16:04 in the afternoon.
I do lots of work in my club, am involved in managing underage teams in both codes. On underage committee. Don't call me a keyboard warrior.
I stand by my comment. In my experience, the undercurrent to any match at almost any underage grade in that pitch is hostile, nasty and unwelcoming, unlike practically every other club in Wexford where regardless of success, ability, etc at very least people are fair, decent and honest.
I hope that redevelopment work extends to culture and tidying up the reputation of the club on the pitch, on the line and in the bleachers.
For those worried about town teams being successful, Enniscorthy has a successful hurling team. Gorey has one. Wexford town and especially New Ross not so much.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1127 - 08/08/2022 11:11:32    2436620

Replying To alwaysasub:  "In fairness I never said it was a surprise, it was disappointing. Think it's a bit disengious to say there is a nasty undercurrent as plenty of hard working ppl in the club. Whatever anyone thinks of Wexford hurling is to move forward we need the town clubs going well."
Its not good to see any Club struggling, we need as many as possible all in healthy state and as an overall GAA community we should be concerned to see Club struggling rather than kicking them when theyre down.

Shamrocks are one example and of course the obvious being the Gers, theres huge untapped potential there in those 2 alone. As other have alluded to we need strong town teams

One of the issues with the Shamrocks is that the population increase in Enniscorthy over the last 2 decades or more has primarily been the other side of the town. All development was done within that catchment area with hardly anything on the Shannon side. The Shamrocks then find themselves with very much an aging population and a struggle to bring through younger players. I would expect that to change however with the opening of the bypass and now a much easier way to access that side of the town.

we have seen over the years how Clubs have been transformed by years of people moving to the area and boosting the club, Gorey being the prime example of this.

It will take time but i think the Shamrocks will be ok, the development work will be a huge boost for them but like every clubs theres a lot of people doing all they can to keep the show on the road.

There are a few clubs around the Enniscorthy area struggling at the moment but looking at a few of the results we now see both Davidstown and Ballyhogue in finals this weekend and most other clubs managed to retain their status Cloughbawn and Shamrocks aside

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1333 - 08/08/2022 11:47:37    2436627

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Ahead of the relegation final, just wondering if anyone know when the last time Rathnure were intermediate? Surely Pre Rackards. Can't find it anywhere"
Senior since 1940, won the Junior the previous year.....I put up a post a couple of pages back.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 08/08/2022 11:52:29    2436628

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I don't drink wine at 16:04 in the afternoon.
I do lots of work in my club, am involved in managing underage teams in both codes. On underage committee. Don't call me a keyboard warrior.
I stand by my comment. In my experience, the undercurrent to any match at almost any underage grade in that pitch is hostile, nasty and unwelcoming, unlike practically every other club in Wexford where regardless of success, ability, etc at very least people are fair, decent and honest.
I hope that redevelopment work extends to culture and tidying up the reputation of the club on the pitch, on the line and in the bleachers.
For those worried about town teams being successful, Enniscorthy has a successful hurling team. Gorey has one. Wexford town and especially New Ross not so much."
I'm sure the club that got you are delighted to have such a negative and bitter person in their ranks. I wouldn't like that being thought to my children anyway.

JimbobD (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 08/08/2022 12:10:53    2436633

Replying To JimbobD:  "A new pitch, floodlighting, a walking track and new fencing around both pitches."
Wasn't sure if the floodlights were new lad. Some venue in a great location above the town. Not sure why a hurling man from Dublin would have to be so negative. I've been to alot of the grounds around the county and that's one of the better ones.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11798 - 08/08/2022 12:28:28    2436635

For those worried about town teams being successful, Enniscorthy has a successful hurling team. Gorey has one. Wexford town and especially New Ross not so much."
Tbh I don't see much wrong with a bit of passion or bite at any level of the game. Once it doesn't get out of hand. Shamrocks don't seem to be any worse than any other club in my experience. We won the last game there handily enough and their mentors and players were very sound during and after it. We have had much more intense games against OLI and Adamstown in the recent past. Bannow Balltmitty also. But nobody got hurt and those games will stand to all of the young lads playing in them going forwards.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11798 - 08/08/2022 12:34:56    2436639

Replying To Viking66:  "Wasn't sure if the floodlights were new lad. Some venue in a great location above the town. Not sure why a hurling man from Dublin would have to be so negative. I've been to alot of the grounds around the county and that's one of the better ones."
Yeah its coming on well now thankfully and we have had great support and encouragement from the Wexford GAA community in fairness. I'm guessing the Dub is just latching on to old myths from 30 years ago

JimbobD (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 08/08/2022 12:55:37    2436642

The Harriers are an underage team in Wexford town who won 3 premier minors in a row?? Concentrate on your own little club and committee.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 08/08/2022 13:32:58    2436655

See Declan Ruth tweeting this morning about the referee in their game, calling it 'monumental bad referring' and shane on him. Obviously Rapps were probably unlucky to say the least, the last shot where everyone thought it was point and waved wide was hardly his fault. I presume the umpires got caught in the son. He did play alot of extra time over the 5 minutes but then there were a few stoppages.

At the moment we need referees and its hardly encouraging for future referees to see a former player with his standing tweeting and naming him also, no matter how valid his grievances maybe.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 08/08/2022 13:36:45    2436657

Replying To alwaysasub:  "See Declan Ruth tweeting this morning about the referee in their game, calling it 'monumental bad referring' and shane on him. Obviously Rapps were probably unlucky to say the least, the last shot where everyone thought it was point and waved wide was hardly his fault. I presume the umpires got caught in the son. He did play alot of extra time over the 5 minutes but then there were a few stoppages.

At the moment we need referees and its hardly encouraging for future referees to see a former player with his standing tweeting and naming him also, no matter how valid his grievances maybe."
If it is his account of course.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 08/08/2022 13:58:36    2436661

Replying To alwaysasub:  "See Declan Ruth tweeting this morning about the referee in their game, calling it 'monumental bad referring' and shane on him. Obviously Rapps were probably unlucky to say the least, the last shot where everyone thought it was point and waved wide was hardly his fault. I presume the umpires got caught in the son. He did play alot of extra time over the 5 minutes but then there were a few stoppages.

At the moment we need referees and its hardly encouraging for future referees to see a former player with his standing tweeting and naming him also, no matter how valid his grievances maybe."
No-one can accept a defeat anymore in the age of social media. That was a bad call, but solely on the umpire who waved it wide. From my watching of the game, the referee was bad for both sides. There were the typical time wasting antics and niggly stoppages in the allotted injury-time, so he was well within his rights to add a bit more. Ruth would have played with Redmond too at county level, it's not a good look if you ask me.

I would have said that not pushing on playing against fourteen men with the wind was a bigger reason Rapps didn't win. That and the penalty miss- Foley shouldn't have been in a position to take it in the first place as he couldn't have been right after the bang. They also tired badly in the second half, and it can't be down to the number of games as Ferns were in the exact same boat.

Easier to pin the blame elsewhere though.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1415 - 08/08/2022 14:16:44    2436665

Replying To Viking66:  "Wasn't sure if the floodlights were new lad. Some venue in a great location above the town. Not sure why a hurling man from Dublin would have to be so negative. I've been to alot of the grounds around the county and that's one of the better ones."
Viking/JimbobD,
I am not being negative/hostile, nor do I have a problem with hard, fair play. And at times, the red mist descends against any club but generally with the right people involved it can be calmed down at underage.
But I am not alone in holding the views I have of the Shamrocks and far from being based on 30 years ago, they are based on recent years albeit not this year. But I have witnessed first hand, more than once some awful stuff which has no place on a hurling pitch and especially not at underage level.
I will qualify what I say by highlighting that at adult level it is not a problem with this club from what I have seen over the years. In fact, the opposite is the case at adult level to their credit.
And I appreciate it is not the more affluent part of town, but I grew up hurling in Dublin and playing teams from similarly socially disadvantaged areas so I do know what I am talking about here.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1127 - 08/08/2022 15:55:49    2436686

Replying To countyman2022:  "The Harriers are an underage team in Wexford town who won 3 premier minors in a row?? Concentrate on your own little club and committee."
They are but it hasn't happened yet at senior level.
Who says I am from a little club?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1127 - 08/08/2022 15:57:12    2436687

So, who is going to win the senior final on Sunday?
Both Ferns and St. Martin's were in the same group and, while Ferns probably showed more form in the group stages the match between the two ended in a draw. Ferns showed real nerve and application to knock out the champs Rapps in extra time while St. Martin's outworked a curiously subdued Gorey team in the first semi-final.
I believe that the Martin's only had 7 of their 2019 winning team in their starting 15 on Sunday between injuries (Rory O'Connor, Jack O'Connor), travel (Joe O'Connor), retirement (Ciaran Lyng) and moving away (Luke White, Harry O'Connor, Aaron Maddock) while others are now subs due to the passing of time (Daithí Waters, Willie Devereux) so they have had to make do and mend as the championship unfolded. Given the most recent injuries to the O'Connor brothers it could be said that theirs is a team without stars so they have had to rely on teamwork and hard work more than might have been the case in previous years.
Ferns, on the other hand, probably have a stronger deck to deal from although the possible loss of young Scallan on foot of the straight red card on Sunday is a blow. I say "possible" as there's a strong tradition of unexpected reversals of disciplinary decisions. If both teams play to their peak potential, I think Ferns could win a first-ever senior title and the loss of Jack O'Connor tips the balance in their favour (no matter how well Maddock did when he came on as a sub). Match-ups will be crucial but here's a tentative vote for Ferns.

UncleJunior (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 08/08/2022 17:01:04    2436702

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Is it really a surprise the Shamrocks are relegated? There are lads hurling there who were hurling senior and intermediate for them when I moved to Wexford. And they were not young lads back then either.
As a club, at every level at underage there is a nasty undercurrent to them.
Good riddance to them."
Did they sort you out, soften you up a bit even when you moved down to Wexford? Did you think that you could cut it at club level in Wexford, only to find the cut and thrust of lads from clubs like the Shamrocks to be too much for you? Do you happen to have a bit of a yellow streak in your yellow belly?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 08/08/2022 18:03:48    2436706

Replying To UncleJunior:  "So, who is going to win the senior final on Sunday?
Both Ferns and St. Martin's were in the same group and, while Ferns probably showed more form in the group stages the match between the two ended in a draw. Ferns showed real nerve and application to knock out the champs Rapps in extra time while St. Martin's outworked a curiously subdued Gorey team in the first semi-final.
I believe that the Martin's only had 7 of their 2019 winning team in their starting 15 on Sunday between injuries (Rory O'Connor, Jack O'Connor), travel (Joe O'Connor), retirement (Ciaran Lyng) and moving away (Luke White, Harry O'Connor, Aaron Maddock) while others are now subs due to the passing of time (Daithí Waters, Willie Devereux) so they have had to make do and mend as the championship unfolded. Given the most recent injuries to the O'Connor brothers it could be said that theirs is a team without stars so they have had to rely on teamwork and hard work more than might have been the case in previous years.
Ferns, on the other hand, probably have a stronger deck to deal from although the possible loss of young Scallan on foot of the straight red card on Sunday is a blow. I say "possible" as there's a strong tradition of unexpected reversals of disciplinary decisions. If both teams play to their peak potential, I think Ferns could win a first-ever senior title and the loss of Jack O'Connor tips the balance in their favour (no matter how well Maddock did when he came on as a sub). Match-ups will be crucial but here's a tentative vote for Ferns."
It would be great to see Ferns win it purely because they haven't won it before. That said I don't think they are underdogs as such. They have a very good team and there's nothing between them and the Martins. Martins have maybe timed their form better but it will maybe take a bit of luck or a player or 2 having a particularly good game that will settle this one either way.
Hard to see past Oulart for Intermediate unfortunately but our lads will give it their best shot and you never know what might happen on the day.
Nothing between Horeswood and Liam Mellows either. While I'd like to see Horeswood win I think the Gorey district men might shade it.
Should be a good weekend for weather I can't wait for it all to begin!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11798 - 08/08/2022 18:14:45    2436708

Was as both the Intermediate Semi-Finals on Saturday and the Senior Finals on Sunday and here's what I think.

The score-line at the end of the Taghmon-Askamore match flattered Taghmon. Askamore didn't play a sweeper in the first hald against a strong breeze and Taghmon ended up scoring 1-14 on them. In the second half, Taghmon end up playing a sweeper and Askamore only ended up scoring 1-07 on them, with the goal coming in injury time. Taghmon's two goals in the second half were sucker punches in that they didn't come after a period of sustained Taghmon pressure, kind of came out of the blue more so than anything. Not saying that Taghmon didn't deserve to win but a 3 or 4 point win would have been a fairer reflection of the match than a 9 point win.

Tomkins was good throughout for Askamore, James Byrne and Tucker Kinsella were good in the first half but were smothered by the Taghmon defence in the second half. Ian Carty was operating at an unbelievably high level in the first half, he could genuinely be a starter for Wexford next year in the half-back line if he so wanted. Cathal Doyle was very bright for Taghmon as well, Stephen O'Gorman got around 1-03 from play and yet he'd still disappoint you a bit, does great work to get himself into scoring positions but fails to consistently deliver when shooting for points.

Oulart-Alley was dead in the first half, Alley had a big wind but only went in ahead by 1 at the break. Oulart woke up in the second half and put the game quickly to bed inside the first ten minutes of the second half. Oulart had a much better bench too; Declan Buggy, Rory Jacob, and Martin Óg Storey got five points from play between them. To be fair to them, there are a good few new faces in the Alley side and they did just win Premier U19 but they are still a bit away from Senior level. Ross Donohoe also got sent off as well, got booked inside five minutes for complaining to David Jenkins, wasn't a surprise when he got sent off after forty minutes for a late pull.

Gorey were very poor, don't know why they left Jack Cullen on for so long when he was very clearly injured and was hard set to move. Only really Cian Molloy and Jack Doran hurled well for Gorey, they got very little out of Conor McDonald. Kyle Firman was nothing short of sensational for the Martins', the form he was in would make you think he should be on the County Senior panel next year. If I were to quibble, I would say that the Martins' didn't really have any other stand-out performers in attack and were a bit dependent on him.

Ferns hurled poorly for 50 minutes, much like Gorey. The difference was that while Gorey forgot to wake up in the last 10 minutes, Ferns burst into life. The first half was a dour affair, both teams were playing sweepers and there was a lot of bad usage of possession, especially on Ferns's side. The Rapps made better use of the ball and were able to go into the break one ahead despite having played against the wind. Ferns hit an absolute tonne of wides in the second half and looked dead and buried after 50 minutes, being 0-16 to 0-10 down. Ferns might have the best depth in the county though and got a major boost from their bench. John Breen scored 1-01, Diarmuid Doyle scored 0-02, and Declan Byrne came in at corner-back and made a huge impact; Ferns pretty much always went short to Conor Scallan for large parts of the game and his distribution let them down IMO. Declan Byrne's use of the ball was much smarter and he was much better at sending diagonal balls to forwards running into space.

Looking ahead, if Oulart hurl to what they're capable of, they should beat Taghmon. On the other hand, Taghmon have absolutely nothing to lose and will have zero pressure on them. Oulart should have good experience in terms of dealing with pressure though.

Ferns v Martins' is 50/50. The one thing that may swing it is that the Martins' were a bit dependent yesterday on Kyle Firman in attack whereas Ferns have a much better spread of scorers. But then again, this Championship has been completely unpredictable so far so who knows what will happen come Sunday!

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 230 - 08/08/2022 19:18:14    2436716

St martin's to win actually play better without jack they seem to pass the ball around better the other forwards stand up, Oulart to win easy, on a side note people saying Taghmon have nothing to lose?,I think they have a county final to lose

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 434 - 09/08/2022 09:56:43    2436751

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Was as both the Intermediate Semi-Finals on Saturday and the Senior Finals on Sunday and here's what I think.

The score-line at the end of the Taghmon-Askamore match flattered Taghmon. Askamore didn't play a sweeper in the first hald against a strong breeze and Taghmon ended up scoring 1-14 on them. In the second half, Taghmon end up playing a sweeper and Askamore only ended up scoring 1-07 on them, with the goal coming in injury time. Taghmon's two goals in the second half were sucker punches in that they didn't come after a period of sustained Taghmon pressure, kind of came out of the blue more so than anything. Not saying that Taghmon didn't deserve to win but a 3 or 4 point win would have been a fairer reflection of the match than a 9 point win.

Tomkins was good throughout for Askamore, James Byrne and Tucker Kinsella were good in the first half but were smothered by the Taghmon defence in the second half. Ian Carty was operating at an unbelievably high level in the first half, he could genuinely be a starter for Wexford next year in the half-back line if he so wanted. Cathal Doyle was very bright for Taghmon as well, Stephen O'Gorman got around 1-03 from play and yet he'd still disappoint you a bit, does great work to get himself into scoring positions but fails to consistently deliver when shooting for points.

Oulart-Alley was dead in the first half, Alley had a big wind but only went in ahead by 1 at the break. Oulart woke up in the second half and put the game quickly to bed inside the first ten minutes of the second half. Oulart had a much better bench too; Declan Buggy, Rory Jacob, and Martin Óg Storey got five points from play between them. To be fair to them, there are a good few new faces in the Alley side and they did just win Premier U19 but they are still a bit away from Senior level. Ross Donohoe also got sent off as well, got booked inside five minutes for complaining to David Jenkins, wasn't a surprise when he got sent off after forty minutes for a late pull.

Gorey were very poor, don't know why they left Jack Cullen on for so long when he was very clearly injured and was hard set to move. Only really Cian Molloy and Jack Doran hurled well for Gorey, they got very little out of Conor McDonald. Kyle Firman was nothing short of sensational for the Martins', the form he was in would make you think he should be on the County Senior panel next year. If I were to quibble, I would say that the Martins' didn't really have any other stand-out performers in attack and were a bit dependent on him.

Ferns hurled poorly for 50 minutes, much like Gorey. The difference was that while Gorey forgot to wake up in the last 10 minutes, Ferns burst into life. The first half was a dour affair, both teams were playing sweepers and there was a lot of bad usage of possession, especially on Ferns's side. The Rapps made better use of the ball and were able to go into the break one ahead despite having played against the wind. Ferns hit an absolute tonne of wides in the second half and looked dead and buried after 50 minutes, being 0-16 to 0-10 down. Ferns might have the best depth in the county though and got a major boost from their bench. John Breen scored 1-01, Diarmuid Doyle scored 0-02, and Declan Byrne came in at corner-back and made a huge impact; Ferns pretty much always went short to Conor Scallan for large parts of the game and his distribution let them down IMO. Declan Byrne's use of the ball was much smarter and he was much better at sending diagonal balls to forwards running into space.

Looking ahead, if Oulart hurl to what they're capable of, they should beat Taghmon. On the other hand, Taghmon have absolutely nothing to lose and will have zero pressure on them. Oulart should have good experience in terms of dealing with pressure though.

Ferns v Martins' is 50/50. The one thing that may swing it is that the Martins' were a bit dependent yesterday on Kyle Firman in attack whereas Ferns have a much better spread of scorers. But then again, this Championship has been completely unpredictable so far so who knows what will happen come Sunday!"
I think an argument can be made that playing junior A isn't helping Gorey's seniors in the long-run. And aside from getting to the final in 2019, they aren't overly competitive in it either. Jack Cullen was carrying a knock all game, and Mac is in a protective boot since so looks like was playing through the pain barrier as well. But why couldn't they dip into their reserves, especially when we hear about all these young fellas coming through, and they are able to field two junior B teams?

Cian O'Tuama looks to be a real talent coming through, and scored well for their second team- surely he'd be worth a punt off the bench? Benny and Pedro Travers are surely no longer in the tooth than some of their contemporaries. In fairness to Martin's, they aren't afraid to spring someone from their second teams (Maddock played a game or two with their inter A's before making his return to the seniors). Maybe the gap between first team and second team is too big for Gorey, from what I can see of all the senior teams, their second team play at the lowest grade.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1415 - 09/08/2022 10:25:54    2436759

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "St martin's to win actually play better without jack they seem to pass the ball around better the other forwards stand up, Oulart to win easy, on a side note people saying Taghmon have nothing to lose?,I think they have a county final to lose"
Was just about to post that myself. Taghmons 1st Intermediate hurling final in over 20 years for a club that hasn't been senior since the early 50s. Hardly nothing to lose!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11798 - 09/08/2022 10:52:55    2436766