Wexford Hurling Championship 2022

Replying To Viking66:  "Is a 3 point win enough? A 3 nil win in soccer is a fairly strong result. Maybe the conceding team should be awarded a 3 goal defeat?"
Definitely worth considering. Something to deter the easy option

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 18/07/2022 15:17:16    2432750

Replying To beano:  "No there isn't, but there should be. I know for a fact that Ferns missed out on the league final in football on score difference because they travelled to Horeswood with half a team to fulfill the fixture. Had they conceded a walkover they'd have got through.

The other team should be given a three point win. Even this week, Oulart have pulled put of the u-19 hurling, and after Buffers Alley hammering them, their points difference now counts for nought which isn't fair either."
It looks like its going to be an ever increasing problem.

I looked at the last weeks results today and in 7 days alone we have had 18 hurling games conceded.

Junior B hurling is one long list of games conceded and the u19 championship is the same. Only 7 of these 18 games were from u17 down

I thought everyone wanted to hurl club championship in July hence the fact we had an AI final yesterday!!!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 18/07/2022 15:42:04    2432759

Replying To tearintom:  "It looks like its going to be an ever increasing problem.

I looked at the last weeks results today and in 7 days alone we have had 18 hurling games conceded.

Junior B hurling is one long list of games conceded and the u19 championship is the same. Only 7 of these 18 games were from u17 down

I thought everyone wanted to hurl club championship in July hence the fact we had an AI final yesterday!!!"
Would you be saying that when you get to October/November Tom and the football championship is being ran then?
The thing is, right. Everything needs to be given a time to bed in and for co. boards in every county to decide what it is they want. Hearing counties not starting until the end of August anyway makes the All-Ireland being played yesterday a futile exercise.
But that is easy when you are not in a dual-code county and a county like Wexford benefits from the AI final being yesterday. Luckily, I think most clubs didn't lose players to the US for the summer.
The fear is the GAA could decide its back to September All-Ireland and F the club player. Is that what you want? Or what is the answer?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 18/07/2022 16:12:54    2432770

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Rapparees vs St.Martin's: Expect a really close game and as posted, Pepper was much improved from previous games. Martins till not flying on all cylinders with lads away and injured, with Jack O'Connor being their main outlet for scores. I think Rapps should shade it.

Cloughbawn vs Glynn: Cloughbawn secured a vital win last week against a surpingsly poor Ballymrun side, heavily relinant on Oisin Foley to do the scoring. Glynn seem to be there or there about in most of their games so far, expect them to have too much for Crossabeg. I think think themselves Harriers and Cloughbawn could all finish level on points and could come down to score difference.

Rathnure vs. Oylegate: As said above, Rathnure have been scoring plenty but its at the other end there seems to be an issue. Hard to know what gone wrong but they are in a rut and have to win this weekend to stay out of the relegation final if Shels win. Oylegate can play some great hurling on their day but I feel Rathnures need is greatest and this will see them over the line. Rathnure win.

Crossabeg vs. Naomh Eanna: Crossabeg were poor last weekend against Cloughbawn while Gorey made a strong comeback against Harriers. I could see Mac and co doing a lot of damage here and coming out with a number of goals. I expect a good Gorey win, by 8.

Ferns vs. Shelmaliers: Even though Shels have been average at best so far, they still have the players to go far in the championship. Ferns have been brilliant and I would go as far as to say there forwards have been the most impressive so far. Even though Ferns are going so well, I actually fancy the Shels to get the win here.

St.Anne's vs. Faythe Harriers: A expect a real close battle here, as posted previously, expect Chin to be close to the goal. Annes have played some great stuff so far while the last game for Harriers should give them some confidence. They will need to win this to make sure of being in the shake up and not in a relegation battle so I think they might just nick it.

Intermediate

Adamstown v HWH Bunclody
Adamstown are going down without a wimper at the minute and really need to put in a strong performance. There loss last week to Tara Rocks I feel has more or less condemned them to the relegation final so they need to concentrate on putting in better performances. HWH Bunclody with Nolan back will be in the shake up near the end so expect to win here by 7.

Oulart The Ballagh v Buffers Alley
Who would of thought a few years ago these two would be meeting in intermediate but here we are. Oulart seem out to destroy every team in intermediate while the Alley had two worrying results, losing to Ballygarrett and Blackwater. Lose here and its down to the final game against Taghmon to see if they stay out of relegation as they will lose on the head to head with Blackwater and Ballygarrett. On recent form cant see anything other than a Oulart win.

Tara Rocks v Askamore
Such an early start, It was noted above why wasnt the game on Saturday but I have heard one of the Rocks players is getting married on Friday so that might have something to do with it. Fair play to Askamore to agreeing to early start aswell. Tara Rocks got a vital win last week but Askamore have been quietly going about their business well. Expect them to just shade it.

Fethard v Gusserane
The men in red were probably somewhat surprised to lose last week while Gusserane have two good wins. Expect a tight game but think Fethard will have too much experience here, Very tight group so far over all.

Ballygarrett v Blackwater
Blackwater will be hoping they got their inconsistency issues sorted after their surprising victory over Buffers Alley. Ballygarret while beating Alley were very poor last week against Taghmon. Would expect Blackwater to come out on top which would make for a n interesting final weekend.

Taghmon v St. James
Taghmon have two really good wins so far while the Jimmies had a good win against Blackwater. On form you'd have to go with Taghmon.

Inter A
Oulart v Craanford - Oulart
Rosslare v Geraldines - Gers
Cushinstown v Martins - Cushinstown
Shels v Duffry - Shels
Shamrocks v Liam Mellows - Liam Mellows
Monageer v Horeswood - Monageer"
All right bar 2. Senior games are hard to call which is good!! :)

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 18/07/2022 16:43:38    2432781

Replying To Viking66:  "I'll give the predictions another go for the craic!

Senior

Glynn
Gorey
Anne's
Ferns
Rathnure
Martins

Intermediate

Fethard
Askamore
Bunclody
Oulart
Taghmon
Blackwater

Don't be rushing down the bookies with these after me getting around half of them wrong the last couple of weeks!"
6 out of 6 at both senior and intermediate! All 6 right at Intermediate. Only problem was it was all six wrong at Senior. And lads reckon it's not competitive?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 18/07/2022 17:10:38    2432788

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Would you be saying that when you get to October/November Tom and the football championship is being ran then?
The thing is, right. Everything needs to be given a time to bed in and for co. boards in every county to decide what it is they want. Hearing counties not starting until the end of August anyway makes the All-Ireland being played yesterday a futile exercise.
But that is easy when you are not in a dual-code county and a county like Wexford benefits from the AI final being yesterday. Luckily, I think most clubs didn't lose players to the US for the summer.
The fear is the GAA could decide its back to September All-Ireland and F the club player. Is that what you want? Or what is the answer?"
To be honest im not sure how having the AI final yesterday benefits the average club player in Wexford?

we are a dual county and thankfully the majority want to play both so when does a fella who want to play both for his club get a holiday or organise something in Wexford this summer?

Month of July/August which is when most people actually want to go on holidays for example so when do they go and also play championship for their clubs knowing they wont miss games?

I though the idea was to enable the club player time for these things?

Unless a fella can holiday in June hes pretty much cant so hes in the same boat he ever was as when the AI was played later.

The only certainty a club player in wexford got from the AI being brought final was for certain if you want to play dual for your club ye can forget about july or August for anything else so wheres the benefit?

Old system the case was to be certain you wont miss championship games do something in June but you might be lucky in July or August depending on how the Co team does.

Now its a case of Nah, june thats it, forget about it after that which basically says tough to anyone who has anything to do with primary schools be it profession or kids or wives eetc and the same for anyone doing their leaving cert basically!

Personally i believe we dont need an AI final in September never did but at the moment its far far too condensed.

A few years ago we used to play rounds of Club championship in April/May which worked well and i know County managers didnt like releasing players back to clubs etc but its not all about them. Of course thats not possible now.

TheHogues (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 18/07/2022 18:24:15    2432804

Replying To TheHogues:  "To be honest im not sure how having the AI final yesterday benefits the average club player in Wexford?

we are a dual county and thankfully the majority want to play both so when does a fella who want to play both for his club get a holiday or organise something in Wexford this summer?

Month of July/August which is when most people actually want to go on holidays for example so when do they go and also play championship for their clubs knowing they wont miss games?

Unless a fella can holiday in June hes pretty much cant so hes in the same boat he ever was as when the AI was played later.

The only certainty a club player in wexford got from the AI being brought final was for certain if you want to play dual for your club ye can forget about july or August for anything else so wheres the benefit?

Old system the case was to be certain you wont miss championship games do something in June but you might be lucky in July or August depending on how the Co team does.

Now its a case of Nah, june thats it, forget about it after that which basically says tough to anyone who has anything to do with primary schools be it profession or kids or wives eetc and the same for anyone doing their leaving cert basically!

Personally i believe we dont need an AI final in September never did but at the moment its far far too condensed.

A few years ago we used to play rounds of Club championship in April/May which worked well and i know County managers didnt like releasing players back to clubs etc but its not all about them. Of course thats not possible now."
If they want to keep the number of intercounty games there are at the moment then the current system is probably the only possible one to ensure club championships get the focus they deserve. And need.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 19/07/2022 14:40:19    2432949

Replying To TheHogues:  "To be honest im not sure how having the AI final yesterday benefits the average club player in Wexford?

A few years ago we used to play rounds of Club championship in April/May which worked well and i know County managers didnt like releasing players back to clubs etc but its not all about them. Of course thats not possible now."
It means the average club player in Wexford 19 years out of 20 will playing championship throughout late June, July, August, September and October.

You want to give up prime time during the summer just because a lad might want to go on holidays and miss a match?

If you want to expand the Intercounty season again because it is "too condensed", wouldn't that just result in more condensed club championships?

The April month absolutely did not work well.

Players were expected back training in January to prepare for a few matches in April and then not have another game in the competition until August.

It was the equivalent of playing the first two rounds of the Leinster or Munster championships in May and then not playing round 3 until September. It was madness.

The calendar we have currently is way better.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 19/07/2022 16:27:54    2432980

Replying To Onfor15:  "It means the average club player in Wexford 19 years out of 20 will playing championship throughout late June, July, August, September and October.

You want to give up prime time during the summer just because a lad might want to go on holidays and miss a match?

If you want to expand the Intercounty season again because it is "too condensed", wouldn't that just result in more condensed club championships?

Players were expected back training in January to prepare for a few matches in April and then not have another game in the competition until August.

It was the equivalent of playing the first two rounds of the Leinster or Munster championships in May and then not playing round 3 until September. It was madness.

The calendar we have currently is way better."
Spot on

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 19/07/2022 17:22:16    2432992

Replying To Onfor15:  "It means the average club player in Wexford 19 years out of 20 will playing championship throughout late June, July, August, September and October.

To be fair the argument the poster is referring to is the argument that this is way better for the club player cos he can arrange to do things in the summer months, holidays etc etc and it's an argument that's been repeated on here fairly often as one of the main advantages of the new system.

In Wexford that argument alone simply doesn't stack up.

Personally I think the condensing of the club championship is a bigger issue than the condensing of the inter county championships and it's something the Co Chairman referenced in his interview as a problem where he was indicating they would be suggesting to Croke Park that the Club finals get pushed back rather than having to be finished in the calendar year. He was suggesting the new bank holiday that's now coming in February be used as the date to finish Club championship. It's a great suggestion.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 19/07/2022 21:09:49    2433019

I think you answered your own question there. Or maybe it depends on what you define as an average club player.
in my experience Club players basically fall into three categories.
1. Committed - serious about their club and their sport GAA is their priority. will arrange social life around their GAA calendar.
2. Semi Committed - start the year off with great intentions - never miss a training session in Feb or march - probably went off the beer in January and shur when lent came along kept of it then. Has had a few break outs since but in the warm weather misses training as other distractions come along. Will stay on the bandwagon as long as it keeps rolling but is easily distracted by a field of hay, or a feed of drink, or a short skirt.
3. No real interest - turns up when it suits (usually when the soccer season has ended) cant be relied upon except to turn up for training when the team hits the semi final stage and put in a serious effort for the last few weeks.

I believe and hope that the season has been structured for the guys in Category 1 and I understand that most of those guys are happy with it.
If you are in Category 2 or 3 it probably doesnt suit - but then again nothing does!!

indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 112 - 20/07/2022 09:03:07    2433036

Getting rid of groups of 6 in Wexford would be a help. Too many games between both codes in such a short period. the 4 groups of 3 scenario was perfect.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 20/07/2022 09:19:12    2433040

I think youll find that club players are back training in January anyway and at the moment you want to play football only youre training from Janaury until the end of August before you get a championship game, how is that way better? The current system is terrible in Wexford imho, one niggly injury that ye never get a chance to clear basically means training all year only to miss the majority of the championship. Every interview after every club match these days references this and as another poster pointed out multiple games conceded and the u19 championship which should be one of the most important a complete disaster.

My point was in regards to the point that current average club player in Wexford being better off this year when in reality because of the Wexford championship structure theyre really not.

I fully support the idea of a split season but yeah i believe there is a middle ground where we dont need finals in the middle of July, start August would work for me and semi finals in mid july, say last weekend. If that was the case how put out would a club player in wexford be? In reality, not at all as we exited at Quarter final stage and still gives more breathing space for intercounty players who are being flogged.

If AI finals were at the start of August , say even make it the bank holiday weekend then literally only 4 counties out of 32 find themselves in a situation where they cant start their championships in July. Also push the provincial and AI club championships back to give a bit more space. That literally means 90% of Counties could start their championships in July if wanted.

The main gripe from the average club player wasnt that they had to be playing in June, july and august it was that they had no certainty as to when they played, they just wanted certainty.

Lastly and ive no doubt this will generate debate but we have the whole system backwards anyway.

For a truly proper split season we should actually be playing club first. At the end of the day county squads are picked from performing for your club yet we have county on before club. Imagine if we had been playing Club for the past few months and were facing into County finals now and then looking at Intercounty starting?

A bit radical to be fair but in reality if you were starting from scratch to design how you should structure things probably it would be worthy of debate.

TheHogues (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 20/07/2022 10:08:20    2433047

Replying To countyman2022:  "Getting rid of groups of 6 in Wexford would be a help. Too many games between both codes in such a short period. the 4 groups of 3 scenario was perfect."
That's basically it. Fact of the matter is that four groups of three would mean you'd need six less weeks overall to run the championships (you'd save three weeks in hurling, and three in football). You could put in a gap week in both between the group stages and the play-offs, and still start the whole thing four weeks later, so that players would know they'd have the first two or three weeks of July for holidays.

However, clubs didn't want four groups of three, and FWIW, would disagree myself too that it was "perfect", becase your entire championship season could be only three weeks long.

Bottom line is you can't have everything. If you want more games, you need more weeks to play them, and so there simply isn't the option of leaving a few weeks free in July/August for players to take holidays.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 20/07/2022 10:23:11    2433053

Replying To countyman2022:  "Getting rid of groups of 6 in Wexford would be a help. Too many games between both codes in such a short period. the 4 groups of 3 scenario was perfect."
Under the current format each team is guaranteed 5 games. Most will get 6 games.

6 meaningful games for a person playing there chosen sport over the course of a year is very little, yet you want to reduce it?

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 20/07/2022 10:36:54    2433058

100% agree.

Even having alternate weeks between both codes would be a help. TBF to the Co Board thats not their fault and they acknowledge its an issue.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 20/07/2022 10:38:18    2433059

Actually ignore my last point. I actually thought you said 4 groups of 4.

The groups of 6 are an issue but alternatively i dont believe the the 4 groups of 3 worked either. We went from having too few games to having too many within a short period of time further complicated by not alternating between both codes.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 20/07/2022 11:25:57    2433087

Replying To TheHogues:  "I think youll find that club players are back training in January anyway and at the moment you want to play football only youre training from Janaury until the end of August before you get a championship game, how is that way better? The current system is terrible in Wexford imho, one niggly injury that ye never get a chance to clear basically means training all year only to miss the majority of the championship. Every interview after every club match these days references this and as another poster pointed out multiple games conceded and the u19 championship which should be one of the most important a complete disaster.

My point was in regards to the point that current average club player in Wexford being better off this year when in reality because of the Wexford championship structure theyre really not.

I fully support the idea of a split season but yeah i believe there is a middle ground where we dont need finals in the middle of July, start August would work for me and semi finals in mid july, say last weekend. If that was the case how put out would a club player in wexford be? In reality, not at all as we exited at Quarter final stage and still gives more breathing space for intercounty players who are being flogged.

If AI finals were at the start of August , say even make it the bank holiday weekend then literally only 4 counties out of 32 find themselves in a situation where they cant start their championships in July. Also push the provincial and AI club championships back to give a bit more space. That literally means 90% of Counties could start their championships in July if wanted.

The main gripe from the average club player wasnt that they had to be playing in June, july and august it was that they had no certainty as to when they played, they just wanted certainty.

Lastly and ive no doubt this will generate debate but we have the whole system backwards anyway.

For a truly proper split season we should actually be playing club first. At the end of the day county squads are picked from performing for your club yet we have county on before club. Imagine if we had been playing Club for the past few months and were facing into County finals now and then looking at Intercounty starting?

A bit radical to be fair but in reality if you were starting from scratch to design how you should structure things probably it would be worthy of debate."
That's the most interesting suggestion so far. It would give a good break between intercounty League and Championship and therefore make the League more meaningful again also. Maybe start the League a little earlier and finish by March. Then club championships finishing by June. Either alternating football then hurling or alternating every couple of weeks. Then intercounty Championship July- September. Play the club leagues while the intercounty championship is on and lads can go on holiday etc. If they want.
Only downside for us as a county is that it will hurt our intercounty teams' chances of success as our players, most of whom are dual at club level, will be playing both hurling and football in the run in to the intercounty championship instead of just the one they play intercounty. I think playing football in the run up to the intercounty hurling Championship definitely hurt our hurlers in 2020.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 20/07/2022 12:39:58    2433110

There are not many clubs in Wexford who start training in January any more. Some might work in the gym in Jan-March or try to get fit. It is a natural thing post-Christmas to want to get fit!
I think it is well done this year but agree maybe 2 week of hurling then 2 weeks of football might suit better. But then you'll have clubs claiming it is an unfair advantage to Oulart or Rathnure or somebody.
TheHogues lads in their 20's can take holidays any time up from Halloween to the end of June. Very few club players have family commitments. It is a non-issue. Most of the young lads in my club take holidays in September when it is cheaper in any case.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 20/07/2022 13:50:41    2433137

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "There are not many clubs in Wexford who start training in January any more. Some might work in the gym in Jan-March or try to get fit. It is a natural thing post-Christmas to want to get fit!
I think it is well done this year but agree maybe 2 week of hurling then 2 weeks of football might suit better. But then you'll have clubs claiming it is an unfair advantage to Oulart or Rathnure or somebody.
TheHogues lads in their 20's can take holidays any time up from Halloween to the end of June. Very few club players have family commitments. It is a non-issue. Most of the young lads in my club take holidays in September when it is cheaper in any case."
Few club players have family commitments? I'd love know some of those clubs.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 20/07/2022 14:43:08    2433150