Armagh Vs Galway

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "First of all regarding Armagh and the perception of them instigating melees, We have played this Armagh outfit as much as anyone if not more in recent years, and I have seen no issues in that regard.
They do however have an all for one, one for all ethic engrained in them, with their current management team you would expect little else. This can be a good thing, but must be in a more controlled manner. For me this is an issue for their management going forward , full stop.
Regarding sanctions, it goes without saying the eye gouging incident needs to be dealt with in isolation as it is a new departure tbat must be nipped in the bud straight away.
The problem with imposing appropriate sanctions on each team is that they will not result in equitable sanctions, in that imposing bans on Armagh players is not the same as imposing bans on Galway players.

There can be no doubt that a Galway player instigated the melee, it was plain for every fair minded person to see that he jumped on top of an Armagh player from behind leaving the pitch, this is not just a physical assault but is a degrading act. If sanctions are to be imposed as per the rules he is in trouble. That being the case Galway may have two very important players missing on either end of the pitch for the all ireland semi final at least. If Armagh have four or five banned, while it may be appropriate, it is not equitable

The GAA have an issue here and now is the time to regulate sanctions more equitably. Let's say for example both teams were docked 2 league points for next year's league campaigns, that would be equitable, or that red cards be carried over to next year's championship. Just examples

There is also the culture of pushing and imposing physicality on opponents rampant in the game. This is an issue for referees and no one else, the rules are there and are simply not implemented. If a player comes on the pitch and pushes, or is pushed by, an opponent that's a yellow card simple as, do it twice and you're off.
I noticed during the warm ups on Sunday players actually practicing pushing each other so as to mentally and physically prepare themselves for the inevitable.
Referees, apply the rules, its not up to you to keep players on the pitch, it's up to the players themselves and management.
For example Monaghan played Dublin in the League this year and the referee refused to allow any pulling or dragging of players off the ball, early on, Players knew early they weren't going to get away with it. One of the best forward displays this year was witnessed by those attending that day because of the contribution of that referee, I have no doubt on that.
Apply the rules and property regulate sanctions and our games are still the best in the world

Thats all I'm going to say about that"
Not sure which Galway player you are referring to but clearly Damien Comer did not instigate the melee. Himself and Shane Walsh were targeted from the get go and I am now questioning what role have linesmen other than manning the line. On numerous occasions both of these players (Walsh particularly) had off the ball stuff thrown at them. Yes Comer was involved in pushing and shoving (one incident with Raftery during the game) and then the full time situation where he was involved. But let nobody be misguided. The eye gouging brought this to a whole new level. Yes one of our subs could be in trouble as he certainly threw a hand/fist at TK. Other than that it was hard to see were any other punches thrown although our no. 4 Jack Glynn seemed to be set on at one point by an Orchard crew. Yes unsavoury but most handbags which unfortunately happens quite a bit.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 28/06/2022 13:13:53    2428301

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He has to shoulder a lot of the blame though. He could have seriously damaged Damien Comer's eye, battered his eye in effect. He was a lucky boy that Damien didn't get a hold of him. What type of melee was it in seriousness? Looked very bad because it was live on RTE and the likes of Virgin Media trying to have a trial by media last night trying to portray a culture of 'violence' in the GAA. Shame on them. Maybe Armagh lose home advantage for a league season. I respect your opinion Eoinóg but in this case losing home advantage for 3 years league and championship is an excessive punishment."
Yeah I think an appropriate ban for the main perpetrators and a hefty fine for the associated county boards is probably the most likely outcome.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9131 - 28/06/2022 13:45:06    2428313

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He has to shoulder a lot of the blame though. He could have seriously damaged Damien Comer's eye, battered his eye in effect. He was a lucky boy that Damien didn't get a hold of him. What type of melee was it in seriousness? Looked very bad because it was live on RTE and the likes of Virgin Media trying to have a trial by media last night trying to portray a culture of 'violence' in the GAA. Shame on them. Maybe Armagh lose home advantage for a league season. I respect your opinion Eoinóg but in this case losing home advantage for 3 years league and championship is an excessive punishment."
I wouldn't say it was excessive for almost blinding some one. Also it has to be taken in context.this is the 3rd time this year for armagh. Obviously they didn't learn the first 2 occasions therefore need punished and an example made of.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 28/06/2022 14:04:21    2428325

Replying To BLT:  "Comer may have started it but based on the crazy rule of "contributing to a melee", he can't get any retrospective ban. A lot of Armagh lads could though. Deplorable behaviour by their subs and non togging subs. Even people involved with the team doing far too much pushing and shoving.

I think the worst piece of the weekend was the fact that Sean Cavanagh was on the Sunday Game talking about sanctions etc. This is the same chap who the GAA brought in a new rule on the back of his rugby tackle on Conor McManus."
Comer didn't even start it. The camera just caught Comer's reaction but it was one of the Armagh lads who got in Comer's face first. Then the pushing and shoving started.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 28/06/2022 14:24:33    2428341

Replying To kiloughter:  "Not sure which Galway player you are referring to but clearly Damien Comer did not instigate the melee. Himself and Shane Walsh were targeted from the get go and I am now questioning what role have linesmen other than manning the line. On numerous occasions both of these players (Walsh particularly) had off the ball stuff thrown at them. Yes Comer was involved in pushing and shoving (one incident with Raftery during the game) and then the full time situation where he was involved. But let nobody be misguided. The eye gouging brought this to a whole new level. Yes one of our subs could be in trouble as he certainly threw a hand/fist at TK. Other than that it was hard to see were any other punches thrown although our no. 4 Jack Glynn seemed to be set on at one point by an Orchard crew. Yes unsavoury but most handbags which unfortunately happens quite a bit."
There was clear footage on one of the news programmes last night to concur with what I am referring to I'm afraid, not shown on Sunday. not a witch hunt or anything

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/06/2022 14:30:12    2428343

Replying To kiloughter:  "Not sure which Galway player you are referring to but clearly Damien Comer did not instigate the melee. Himself and Shane Walsh were targeted from the get go and I am now questioning what role have linesmen other than manning the line. On numerous occasions both of these players (Walsh particularly) had off the ball stuff thrown at them. Yes Comer was involved in pushing and shoving (one incident with Raftery during the game) and then the full time situation where he was involved. But let nobody be misguided. The eye gouging brought this to a whole new level. Yes one of our subs could be in trouble as he certainly threw a hand/fist at TK. Other than that it was hard to see were any other punches thrown although our no. 4 Jack Glynn seemed to be set on at one point by an Orchard crew. Yes unsavoury but most handbags which unfortunately happens quite a bit."
Watch last night's 9 o clock news on Rteplayer and tell me what happened at 22.19

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/06/2022 14:40:27    2428350

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Watch last night's 9 o clock news on Rteplayer and tell me what happened at 22.19"
That's Ethan Rafferty jumping on the back of one of his defenders celebrating at the final whistle.. That's not a Galway player ffs

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 28/06/2022 15:32:29    2428392

There'll be one suspension and possibly fines for the County Boards imo. The 'contributing to a melee' charge doesn't stand up as has been shown this season, so it's unlikely the GAA will want to go down that road. Anyhow from a Galway perspective give a fine if need be but let the lads play an All Ireland Semi Final including rescinding Kelly's red card.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 28/06/2022 15:39:02    2428396

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Watch last night's 9 o clock news on Rteplayer and tell me what happened at 22.19"
At the match I have to admit sitting in the lower Cusack middle section I did not see a Galway player jumping on an opponent unless it happened further down towards the hill goal we were shooting into. With the commotion etc I only had eyes on the area right in front of the Cusack. Funny the 1st I heard of this angle and have just looked at the RTE player for Sunday and Monday's 9 news. Nothing showing unless you have a separate link. On the Monday showing there is a second or two widespan picture on the Monday news @ 9 which shows in the bottom left Ethan Raftery jumping on one of his own guys naturally celebrating the comeback and Damo Comer in the top left walking towards the changing rooms. Other than that I cannot see any of our guys jumping on opponents as the next footage is the actual brawl. Unless I am missing some other link.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 28/06/2022 15:58:04    2428413

Are u stupid? That's Rafferty jumping on the back of his own man

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 28/06/2022 16:03:21    2428418

Replying To Lockjaw:  "See this is the problem. Instead of calling out the obvious and accepting responsibility, deflection and whataboutery seek to absolve.

I haven't seen anyone stereotype the entire population of Armagh as thugs despite what is being suggested.

Earlier in this thread I suggested that the GAA need to get their house in order. Their disciplinary process is too easily circumvented. It's like having a child that isn't punished for misbehaviour. If there is no deterrent then repeat behaviour will happen. You say that lots of other counties are involved in similar incidents? True. But if players (bans) and county boards (fines) were properly sanctioned then I can guarantee you everyone would think twice about their next melee.

Donegal were punished for their part in the Letterkenny melee and accepted punishment. I would suggest not punished enough given the injury that young Mackin suffered. But this just further illustrates my point. If these melees aren't harshy dealt with they will continue and injuries such as the one Mackin suffered, or worse will inevitably occur."
I think you've glazed over the part where I absolutely called TK out over the incident and also suggested he should personally apologise to Comer. I
I'm not quite sure how you have interpreted that as not "calling out the obvious and accepting reponsibility", but nonetheless.
We are talking about a broader issue here within the GAA and I think I'm entitled to draw on other examples this year where people have been involved in melees and suffered injuries as a consequence.

Orchardgael22 (Armagh) - Posts: 15 - 28/06/2022 17:26:58    2428434

Replying To Saynothing:  "A orange ( kicks with other foot )man on this morning on BBC radio Ulster stuck up for the GAA by saying this is not a GAA thing, it's a society thing. Gone are the days where two boys on a night took a swipe at each other and maybe got a black eye, nowadays it's turns into a full scale brawl. The separate tunnel thing is an non goer, what happens on field stays on field. Nothing but praise for the two lads that were sent off , took their cards, shuck hands and moved on."
Inclined to agree with a lot you are saying. The one thing i take issue with is this notion that its a society thing. In the same breath it was mentioned that some northern teams have grown up this way and some say its a toughness thing that's brought to the field. In solving any problem there is an important part to understand the causes but i think these sort of excuses are pure and utter red herrings.

As some examples, take American football, boxing and even Rugby. Different societies across these sports with different upbringings take part and while they manage to kick the crap out of each other on the field (ring), they manage to leave it on the field and the utter respect that's shown in general at the end of these sports is to be admired.

So why cant we have the same levels of respect. The reason is quite simple in that its accepted for far too long where aggression (vital part of our game) goes uncontrolled. This is effectively bringing the sport into disrepute...

How far away were we from Comer loosing an eye and the Armagh lad subsequently taking a punch and ending up with a bleed on the brain. Some may think far fetched but all just a symptom of the problem

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 28/06/2022 18:02:04    2428444

Ethan Rafferty jumped on his teammate's back in celebration at the amazing comeback. Now you tell me what that has to with Galway?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 28/06/2022 18:57:54    2428456

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Great post OG and I agree with every bit of it. I heard McConville say on the Second Captains podcast that apparently TK has already reached out to Galway and Comer.

To be honest I had not heard what happened with Mackin, the first I heard of his injury was in the week leading up to the championship match where they said they weren't appealing his ban because he was injured anyway. I thought it happened in training or was that the other Mackin that got the worrying injury in training, am I mixing them up? If he got the fractured eye socket in that nonsense in Letterkenny then the Donegal man should've been cited and if it was one of the Donegal players banned then justice was done?

The ban should be more severe for those types of incidents without a doubt."
Long time lurker but not one for posting. But reading a few bits of misinformation floating about I thought I'd add my twopence. Mackin injured his eye socket in a training ground incident. I think it was Aaron Kernan I heard on a podcast describe it as a freak accident. Absolutely nothing to do with Letterkenny whatsoever.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 28/06/2022 19:18:16    2428459

Replying To sam1884:  "There'll be one suspension and possibly fines for the County Boards imo. The 'contributing to a melee' charge doesn't stand up as has been shown this season, so it's unlikely the GAA will want to go down that road. Anyhow from a Galway perspective give a fine if need be but let the lads play an All Ireland Semi Final including rescinding Kelly's red card."
Are you off your rocker, Are you really saying , nothing to see here , move on, A Galway man almost lost his sight, for gods sake, and you seem to be saying . A fine will do ,a smack on the wrist, dont be a bold boy , Should we wait then until someone really does loose an eye, or gets a punch on the back of the head, and brain damaged for life , or even worse, a funeral out of one of these melees, IS that what its going to take, I honestly hope , this goes right to the top of Gaa agenda, and make real moves, to stamp this out

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 28/06/2022 19:24:29    2428461

It's a GAA problem . They aren't tough on perpetrators. People can get off on technicalities despite video evidence of them punching an opponent or something similar.yet nothing is done to change the loopholes.

Eventually someone will get seriously hurt and then the GAA will act as if they are shocked it has happened. One punch can do far more damage than the lad throwing the fist on the field thinks.

GAA don't care about player welfare. If they do something it'll be because of pressure from the public.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 28/06/2022 19:40:57    2428465

I've watched it about 20 times. The person jumping on the Arnagh player on the pitch at approx Armagh 45 line in middle of pitch is wearing a blue Jersey (Armagh keeper) and is clearly celebrating the equaliser. That is not Comer and if it was I presume the row would have happened there and not in the sideline.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1828 - 28/06/2022 20:41:57    2428477

Replying To Marooned:  "Comer didn't even start it. The camera just caught Comer's reaction but it was one of the Armagh lads who got in Comer's face first. Then the pushing and shoving started."
Exactly, we were over that side and it wasn't Comer who started that. Don't mind the Monaghan lad, talking about something he seen on the television and the news.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 28/06/2022 21:43:05    2428492

Some thoughts, spread out over different posts:

1. For melees, perhaps the GAA need to bring in a thing that where it happens and there are enough instant replays available, they can analyse it and immediately book/send off whoever needs it. I know that in a lot of these situations, Player A pushes Player B, B pushes A back, they end up in an embrace (!), a load of other players join in to remove A and B from the situation, and becomes a scrum with very few punches thrown. So a swarm of about 30 bodies might contain very little actual violence. A well-manned team of referee, linesmen and umpires, or anyone else along with them or in place of them, could go through the footage, determine the actions of every single person in the melee, and then say "A started it, then his teammate C came in and punched B, and also F got G in a dangerous headlock" or whatever, with no-one getting away with nothing.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 29/06/2022 07:56:17    2428500

2. This craic of a token sending off of one player from each team is only a balls. It takes everyone for fools. Sean Kelly is going to have to go to the bother of appealing a red card he never deserved, and for what? Because he told Gougey what he thought of him, out in the open and away from the mass of players in the scrum? That's not right.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 29/06/2022 07:56:42    2428501