Armagh Vs Galway

Replying To sam1884:  "Sensible GAA people have called for a review amongst the GAA and how they organise big events. There is no doubt the GAA does have issues in club and county events and the sensible thing to do is look after individuals and deal with everything in private with annoucement then made. Well being and caring of our members should form part of any process with learning lessons also included.

Trial by social media amongst GAA members is unfair and a clear agenda against one or two counties helps nobody as those counties will see an unfairness in that, leading to appeals etc whilst ignoring wider issues.

Until we realise the GAA as a whole has a problem nothing will change. Donegal posters are very vocal on this issue particularly against Armagh which also formed part of the agenda post Letterkenny, it certainly had an initial impact but ultimately it failed as when it really mattered everything that built up led Armagh to hammering them in Clones and ending their championship.

Let authorities deal with what happened yesterday, look after everyone involved, include county boards, player bodies etc and lets stop with this trial by social media."
Sam you've been keen to stick the boot in to Donegal with wee comments about how we buy frees and all the rest. I don't know what your issue is with Donegal in general but it's clear to me from your posts that you've some problem with us.

The only reason Donegal posters were vocal about what happened in Letterkenny is because of what people saw happen clear as day number 1, and number 2 what happened with the appeals. We accepted the bans we were given and then for the Armagh players to all get off without issue, especially one player in particular who was clearly seen to be striking in the video footage - it would be akin to the gouger to get away without a ban on some silly technicality. The "initial impact" was what, that Armagh had a full deck going in to Ballybofey? Are you peddling the ol' grand conspiracy nonsense that McConville and McDonnell came out with in the week leading up to that game?

I wouldn't be one to blame all Armagh people or say things like "typical Armagh" which I know one or two Donegal posters are in the habit of saying. What happened against Galway was a load of nonsense peacocking with one really serious, horrible incident. The lad will know he has done wrong and I have heard he has done all the right things since then in contacting Galway/Comer etc. I hope that the idiots online don't have an impact on his own mental health. But at the end of the day there are no excuses for what he done, he should rightly get a lengthy ban and there should be no appeal from Armagh if they've any self-respect at all.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/06/2022 19:00:10    2428156

Apart from the eye gouge and I think a Galway player swinging one box it was all alot of handbags not much to see. Way over blown in the media and alot of former players who done alot worse talking nonsense.
It's not nice to see but it's nothing compared to what happened in 96 and the 'battle of Omagh ' and others Ive seen and to be honest if rather talk about the great games that was played.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 27/06/2022 19:03:28    2428158

Unbelievable game of football. Great to see our keeper Gleeson run over to shake his opposite numbers hand after the penalty shoot out and Comer showing great sportsmanship went over to his opposite numbers too to shake hands. Other than the eye gouge incident which was very poor, the rest of the tussle anyone who has played football has been involved in something similar numerous times. Two great footballing teams playing proper football, unreal talent on both sides. what a game and what a sport when played like that. Football and hurling are the best sports in the world

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 27/06/2022 19:08:58    2428160

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Some of your supporters let the jersey down incredibly as they returned up the M1. Witnessed shocking behavior at the services - mostly young lads on buses but not doing anything for brand Armagh"
I think you'll see the exact same behaviour from some lads on buses from all counties . Lads, drink buses.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 27/06/2022 19:22:22    2428162

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A warrior who should have got the red card instead of his innocent captain…. Should have got booked earlier for his unnecessary tussle with the Armagh goalkeeper…. A bit of a loose cannon in my view"
Nothing he did with the Armagh goalkeeper or the melee that deserved a card in my view.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3739 - 27/06/2022 19:30:14    2428164

Replying To sam1884:  "Sensible GAA people have called for a review amongst the GAA and how they organise big events. There is no doubt the GAA does have issues in club and county events and the sensible thing to do is look after individuals and deal with everything in private with annoucement then made. Well being and caring of our members should form part of any process with learning lessons also included.

Trial by social media amongst GAA members is unfair and a clear agenda against one or two counties helps nobody as those counties will see an unfairness in that, leading to appeals etc whilst ignoring wider issues.

Until we realise the GAA as a whole has a problem nothing will change. Donegal posters are very vocal on this issue particularly against Armagh which also formed part of the agenda post Letterkenny, it certainly had an initial impact but ultimately it failed as when it really mattered everything that built up led Armagh to hammering them in Clones and ending their championship.

Let authorities deal with what happened yesterday, look after everyone involved, include county boards, player bodies etc and lets stop with this trial by social media."
I hardly think the melee in Letterkenny was the major contributing factor in us losing so tamely in the qualifier match....

Take your pick from...

1. The team being subdued after a thoroughly demoralising Ulster final defeat.
2. Inexplicable errors which gifted Armagh the chance to get back into the game.
3. Poor tactical decisions and a team which has been regressing in general under current management.

You make it sound like Bonner and Co hatched a devious plan to target Armagh's indiscipline when it's clear to all and sundry that Armagh will blindly take care of that themselves.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 27/06/2022 19:30:21    2428165

Thanks to the Galway team and supporters who made yesterday an unbelievably enjoyable day.

Just a few things ....

Whatever anyone choses to post or speculate, not one person in Armagh has or will condone the incident that happened between TK and Comer. However it is sad that it has completely overshadowed what was overall, a highly skilled, fast attacking and physical game - probably the best of the year.

As for the witch hunt against TK himself and the subsequent trial by social, national and political media - a large number in the GAA community could do with wobbling their heads. He is not the first, nor will he be the last to do similar in the heat of match day. A quick Google will show that many of the counties represented by posters on this forum have been guilty of the same (not that that makes it any more excusable) but people seem to have very short memories of these incidents. I suggest you do so to jog the memories.

At the end of the day, he is a human being and an amateur athlete that has made a big mistake. I'm sure he will be utterly devastated and regretful with his actions and I hope he reaches out to Comer and offers an apology, it would be the right thing to do.

Sure, Armagh have had their fair share of melees this year, and it's certainly something we don't want to see carried forward. But contrary to popular opinion, Armagh people arent "thugs", and I hope the Galway people in the stands yesterday enjoyed the atmosphere our team and supporters brought with them.

The GAA needs to take some responsibility for the development of melees in gaelic games. How often both in football and hurling have opposing teams clashed during the intervals approaching and entering the tunnel?

Lastly, I'm extremely proud of the team and management. And can't thank them enough for the enjoyment they have given us supporters this year. Onwards and upwards for 2023!

Ps. Any Donegal poster want to elaborate on how exactly Mackin got the fractured eye socket that warranted him wearing adapted eye wear during the match yesterday? Throwing stones in glass houses and all that!!

Orchardgael22 (Armagh) - Posts: 15 - 27/06/2022 19:50:53    2428173

Yesterday's match was phenomenal. It had everything. Two brilliant teams. The melee put a sour taste to an otherwise great spectacle. It was all handbag stuff apart from the eye gouging. Padraig Joyce need not worry . He will have a full hand for the game against Derry. The Armagh guy sent off after the melee and the Galway lad should not have got red cards.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 27/06/2022 20:11:26    2428185

Replying To ponger:  "Tom not sure about that. I would have the exact same opinion as my county colleague as 2014 lives very long in the memory. Armagh are beginning to build a massive repertoire and something has to change. We have had our moments for sure as with most countries but the frequency of Armagh's being the common denominator has to stop. Then again maybe its time for Armagh to take a trawl over the rules book to find some sort of justification.

Someone brought up about separate entrances which i think is a complete red herring. If we cannot have two teams enter and leave a pitch from the same location then they have no place on it."
I would agree with alot of what you say, but to condemn all Armagh gaels over a few disgusting and unsavoury incidents is in my opinion unfair as I would suggest all clubs and counties are at it. What happened in 2014 was wrong, no question but does that mean that all Armagh gaels are condemned for eternity for the sins of their fathers. I also disagree with appeals as do every other Armagh person I speak to, take your punishment and move on but again they are not the only county to appeal (I was very impressed with Donegal not appealing and they have led the way in that respect), I also agree that people should be able to use the same tunnel but I think you would agree that boys who have been training and investing every fibre of strength both physical and mental over a year to reach a game that matters so much and in such an atmosphere can lose the run of themselves and behave in ways that they would not normally behave, it happens fans and supporters too - I remember our elderly parish priest at a club game years ago when we were winning by 2 points and a goal went in off the post from a 45 in the last minute, he stood up and shouted 'For F**k sake' lol. Lets all move on and realise that there are eejits in every county and team but the vast najority are good decent people trying their best.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 20:38:45    2428192

Replying To tom84:  "Apart from the eye gouge and I think a Galway player swinging one box it was all alot of handbags not much to see. Way over blown in the media and alot of former players who done alot worse talking nonsense.
It's not nice to see but it's nothing compared to what happened in 96 and the 'battle of Omagh ' and others Ive seen and to be honest if rather talk about the great games that was played."
Of course we would rather talk about the game , But you cant ignore that a man almost lost his 2 eyes,

germac (Down) - Posts: 533 - 27/06/2022 20:47:49    2428194

Replying To Trucker1:  "Unbelievable game of football. Great to see our keeper Gleeson run over to shake his opposite numbers hand after the penalty shoot out and Comer showing great sportsmanship went over to his opposite numbers too to shake hands. Other than the eye gouge incident which was very poor, the rest of the tussle anyone who has played football has been involved in something similar numerous times. Two great footballing teams playing proper football, unreal talent on both sides. what a game and what a sport when played like that. Football and hurling are the best sports in the world"
Agree, a lot of positives yesterday for both Galway and Armagh. Great atmosphere. Think it should have went to a replay, as a neutral would have liked to see both teams go at it again. GAA should look at ways at diffusing emotions, maybe separate exits for teams or non players not allowed on field.

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 27/06/2022 20:52:41    2428195

Replying To Trucker1:  "Unbelievable game of football. Great to see our keeper Gleeson run over to shake his opposite numbers hand after the penalty shoot out and Comer showing great sportsmanship went over to his opposite numbers too to shake hands. Other than the eye gouge incident which was very poor, the rest of the tussle anyone who has played football has been involved in something similar numerous times. Two great footballing teams playing proper football, unreal talent on both sides. what a game and what a sport when played like that. Football and hurling are the best sports in the world"
Couldn't agree more Trucker1, it was a brilliant game of football and Galway deserved to come out on top.The eye gouging incident was sickening and is not part of our games but to listen to the likes of Catherine Martin of the Greens getting involved makes my blood boil. I doubt she ever was at a GAA match in her life.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 273 - 27/06/2022 21:19:05    2428200

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Sam you've been keen to stick the boot in to Donegal with wee comments about how we buy frees and all the rest. I don't know what your issue is with Donegal in general but it's clear to me from your posts that you've some problem with us.

The only reason Donegal posters were vocal about what happened in Letterkenny is because of what people saw happen clear as day number 1, and number 2 what happened with the appeals. We accepted the bans we were given and then for the Armagh players to all get off without issue, especially one player in particular who was clearly seen to be striking in the video footage - it would be akin to the gouger to get away without a ban on some silly technicality. The "initial impact" was what, that Armagh had a full deck going in to Ballybofey? Are you peddling the ol' grand conspiracy nonsense that McConville and McDonnell came out with in the week leading up to that game?

I wouldn't be one to blame all Armagh people or say things like "typical Armagh" which I know one or two Donegal posters are in the habit of saying. What happened against Galway was a load of nonsense peacocking with one really serious, horrible incident. The lad will know he has done wrong and I have heard he has done all the right things since then in contacting Galway/Comer etc. I hope that the idiots online don't have an impact on his own mental health. But at the end of the day there are no excuses for what he done, he should rightly get a lengthy ban and there should be no appeal from Armagh if they've any self-respect at all."
Yes Joe, we have self-respect. We are all mortified by what that player did in what was a 50/50 pushing match with 50/50 responsibility on both teams and he'll serve his punishment and rightly so (we also accept that our lads are too easily fired-up and need to stay away from these bust-ups in the future - a problem that is endemic in the GAA).
The hate on here though is horrendous with 1 poster even suggesting that Armagh supporters could attack the officials - and people wonder why we have a chip on our shoulders?
It was an amazing occasion for us yesterday and an unbelievable day. We brought atmosphere, excitement and colour to Croker and the GAA needs a team like us.
The Galway people I met yesterday were fantastic and they deserved their victory and I wish them well - a super team. But, I'll be backing our neighbours from here on and hopefully we see Sam back in the wee 6 again.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 27/06/2022 21:25:03    2428203

Replying To galwayfball:  "Agreed fix the loopholes. Joke that lads caught on camera where the fist connects with the face or fingers in eyeball yet can appeal and get off on a technicality almost every single time. It's an embarrassment. They shouldn't appeal in the first place but the will when they know they'll likely get off.

Players are treated like crap by the GAA. Without them the GAA is nothing but a few big wigs think nothing of player welfare"
If the players who are visibly guilty through video evidence are punished fairly then county boards should do the right thing and accept it but if this is not the case then the GAA need to ensure the punishment sticks. I don't want to see players sent off or punished unjustly. The incident yesterday was unfortunate because the game itself resembled what gaelic football use to represent before games because like moving statues. This game had two well prepared teams fighting to the death. Playing good attacking football supplemented by a great atmosphere and support from Armagh. Give me this any game over the game between Kerry and Mayo or any of the two games any day; i'll even forgive the odd melee.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1908 - 27/06/2022 22:03:18    2428213

Watched the game on player last night, have to say it seemed to me the most disappointed person with the result was Eamon Fitzmorris. He questioned every free awarded to Galway (which were few and far between), downplayed the red card and was crestfallen when McDaid goaled. Perhaps it was due to Donaghy been involved with Armagh? Galway were excellent apart from a few mistakes and the calamities in the goalmouth. Mchugh had a great game but his one mistake led to a point for Armagh which could have been a goal. O'Laoi was horsed off the ball a couple of times and Shane gave away the ball twice with serious consequences. I am sure Derry will launching plenty in around the house the next day. Hopefully Connor will be able to mentally recover by then. He had a decent game up the 72nd minute. If everyone is available this Galway team are capable of beating any of the remaining teams.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 28/06/2022 07:46:04    2428214

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I hardly think the melee in Letterkenny was the major contributing factor in us losing so tamely in the qualifier match....

Take your pick from...

1. The team being subdued after a thoroughly demoralising Ulster final defeat.
2. Inexplicable errors which gifted Armagh the chance to get back into the game.
3. Poor tactical decisions and a team which has been regressing in general under current management.

You make it sound like Bonner and Co hatched a devious plan to target Armagh's indiscipline when it's clear to all and sundry that Armagh will blindly take care of that themselves."
I never mentioned 'plan' from inside, what I said was when it happened in Letterkenny which it shouldn't have, there was then a very quick agenda away from camp from many quarters to put the blame on one side, and get as many Armagh players as possible suspended. My belief is the agenda was so quick it led to chaos in the disciplnary processes with procedures threw out the window through pressure which was probably subsequently proven.

My point is everyone should take a step back including media, both mainstream and social with the GAA taking a clear look in the background discussing with many stakeholders involved, particularly county boards and player bodies to then work through the disciplinary process when an incident happens; we'd see less appeals when it's clear things are happening by the book and not in reaction to what is happening in many quarters. Also welfare would form part of that process instead of letting the full force of the media control the narrartive.

You're correct Donegal are regressing, through the passage of time though and as this thread should be about, exciting, high quality teams like Galway and Armagh are coming through who produced one of the games of the last decade with all the skills evident in Croke Park along with a style many neutrals were happy to see come through.

I hope Donegal regroup but I think a lot of counties have moved ahead of them with their emergence and the result in Clones with some extra motivation was the reason Armagh won so easily, the Ballybofey game for various reasons impacted Armagh's build up and subsequent performamce imo.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 28/06/2022 08:06:11    2428215

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Thanks to the Galway team and supporters who made yesterday an unbelievably enjoyable day.

Just a few things ....

Whatever anyone choses to post or speculate, not one person in Armagh has or will condone the incident that happened between TK and Comer. However it is sad that it has completely overshadowed what was overall, a highly skilled, fast attacking and physical game - probably the best of the year.

As for the witch hunt against TK himself and the subsequent trial by social, national and political media - a large number in the GAA community could do with wobbling their heads. He is not the first, nor will he be the last to do similar in the heat of match day. A quick Google will show that many of the counties represented by posters on this forum have been guilty of the same (not that that makes it any more excusable) but people seem to have very short memories of these incidents. I suggest you do so to jog the memories.

At the end of the day, he is a human being and an amateur athlete that has made a big mistake. I'm sure he will be utterly devastated and regretful with his actions and I hope he reaches out to Comer and offers an apology, it would be the right thing to do.

Sure, Armagh have had their fair share of melees this year, and it's certainly something we don't want to see carried forward. But contrary to popular opinion, Armagh people arent "thugs", and I hope the Galway people in the stands yesterday enjoyed the atmosphere our team and supporters brought with them.

The GAA needs to take some responsibility for the development of melees in gaelic games. How often both in football and hurling have opposing teams clashed during the intervals approaching and entering the tunnel?

Lastly, I'm extremely proud of the team and management. And can't thank them enough for the enjoyment they have given us supporters this year. Onwards and upwards for 2023!

Ps. Any Donegal poster want to elaborate on how exactly Mackin got the fractured eye socket that warranted him wearing adapted eye wear during the match yesterday? Throwing stones in glass houses and all that!!"
See this is the problem. Instead of calling out the obvious and accepting responsibility, deflection and whataboutery seek to absolve.

I haven't seen anyone stereotype the entire population of Armagh as thugs despite what is being suggested.

Earlier in this thread I suggested that the GAA need to get their house in order. Their disciplinary process is too easily circumvented. It's like having a child that isn't punished for misbehaviour. If there is no deterrent then repeat behaviour will happen. You say that lots of other counties are involved in similar incidents? True. But if players (bans) and county boards (fines) were properly sanctioned then I can guarantee you everyone would think twice about their next melee.

Donegal were punished for their part in the Letterkenny melee and accepted punishment. I would suggest not punished enough given the injury that young Mackin suffered. But this just further illustrates my point. If these melees aren't harshy dealt with they will continue and injuries such as the one Mackin suffered, or worse will inevitably occur.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 28/06/2022 08:54:33    2428224

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Thanks to the Galway team and supporters who made yesterday an unbelievably enjoyable day.

Just a few things ....

Ps. Any Donegal poster want to elaborate on how exactly Mackin got the fractured eye socket that warranted him wearing adapted eye wear during the match yesterday? Throwing stones in glass houses and all that!!"
Very fair and balanced post. Fully agree with everything. Well said.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 28/06/2022 09:20:50    2428229

Replying To sam1884:  "I never mentioned 'plan' from inside, what I said was when it happened in Letterkenny which it shouldn't have, there was then a very quick agenda away from camp from many quarters to put the blame on one side, and get as many Armagh players as possible suspended. My belief is the agenda was so quick it led to chaos in the disciplnary processes with procedures threw out the window through pressure which was probably subsequently proven.

My point is everyone should take a step back including media, both mainstream and social with the GAA taking a clear look in the background discussing with many stakeholders involved, particularly county boards and player bodies to then work through the disciplinary process when an incident happens; we'd see less appeals when it's clear things are happening by the book and not in reaction to what is happening in many quarters. Also welfare would form part of that process instead of letting the full force of the media control the narrartive.

You're correct Donegal are regressing, through the passage of time though and as this thread should be about, exciting, high quality teams like Galway and Armagh are coming through who produced one of the games of the last decade with all the skills evident in Croke Park along with a style many neutrals were happy to see come through.

I hope Donegal regroup but I think a lot of counties have moved ahead of them with their emergence and the result in Clones with some extra motivation was the reason Armagh won so easily, the Ballybofey game for various reasons impacted Armagh's build up and subsequent performamce imo."
If there was an "agenda" as you say, perhaps it was because merely weeks before it Armagh were involved in a similar melee? If Letterkenny was a one-off then yes, I would question the blame solely being attributed to Armagh. But last Sunday we saw a third melee and again Armagh were involved. So it's understandable that people cannot accept that these were one-off isolated incidents.

I agree with you however about the online hysteria. Unfortunatley that is the world we live in now. During the pandemic we had amateur virologists and experts in immunistation appear from nowhere disputing what world renowned doctors and consultants were telling us. Court cases are even more delicate because juries need to be insulated from all the online "justice" being bandied about.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 28/06/2022 09:28:39    2428230

From a netural point of view I have to say being a Down man I wanted Armagh to win (not that I have anything against Galway). I have many good friends who support Armagh but this melee crap has to stop before someone gets seriously injured. As the pundits stated that there are 2 sets of changing rooms at Croke park. Why aren't they used to prevent incidients like this. On saying that these incidients should not occur.

The other thing that should be looked into is the involvement of the benches. I also believe that there should be severe repercussions for anyone involved in these incidients. If there isn't this will become a common feature of the game as anyone who wants to stop the game for whatever reason will start a fracas.

But more importantly what are we teaching our young players.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 28/06/2022 09:29:40    2428231