Armagh Vs Galway

Another important aspect to consider is the influence senior county footballers have on children. I coach underage soccer and gaelic and it's amazing the things they'll try to replicate. A simple example I had a laugh at recently was one of the young lads I coach clearing the studs of his boots before taking a free. Despite the fact that we were training on an all-weather pitch.

So do not underestimate the effect that regular melees might have on underage players. Monkey see monkey do in a lot of cases. See how harmless a bit of handbags is when you're waiting hours in A&E with some kid who has suffered an injury.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 27/06/2022 16:23:59    2428082

Replying To kiloughter:  "On that particular day the two teams were allowed down the tunnel of the hogan stand at the same time and there were clashes. I don't know what the reason was but Shane Walsh was nailed by Padraig O'Hora just before half time and am sure that did not help. Unfair to say we have form in this when for years we have been accused of having a 'soft centre'. People cannot have it both ways and for the record Shane Walsh is targeted in most matches as he was yesterday. Linesmen often fail to pick this up. However I agree with you on the point regarding the Armagh fans. They were a credit to their county yesterday and certainly the many around me were great GAA gaels. They brought colour and mixed well with the many pockets of maroon cladded supporters from what I could see."
But you see some from Ulster want it both ways. Ulsterman has long been the prime example but is by no means the only one.

Very fast to point the finger at others but it's an entirely different story when it happens the other way around.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/06/2022 16:33:57    2428086

Replying To gilly1910:  "That is a pathetic excuse to justify eye gouging, or Northern teams been given the green light to engage in carry on that has no place on any sporting field. Yes we know that playing GAA probably carries a much greater significance to Northern Nationalists, but to say that it entitles them to carry on with completely and utterly unacceptable behaviour is utter rubbish."
Theres no one saying its acceptable but unfortunately if you are reared in a violent world you'll be different to a fellow reared in leafy Peaceful Galway or Clare or most other southern counties .

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 27/06/2022 16:34:03    2428087

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Bans are fine but Galway will suffer from bans more than Armagh as they still in the championship. So what's fair there?"
You raise a fair point, however, i think the GAA needs to fix what is broken first. 2-3 different ways to appeal and get off; no wonder the vast major of offenders get off on a technicality. Secondly you don't have to be columbo to identify the serious offenders yesterday. Just review the footage and ban the culprits. I would say the evidence is there in full view and clear cut, there should be no grounds for appeal. I have no idea why the two players; one from Galway and one from Armagh were sent off. I saw these players doing nothing except trying to stop what was materialising.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 27/06/2022 16:35:38    2428089

Replying To Lockjaw:  "So your answer is that we should just move on and forget about it? Until the next time? Where is the line to be drawn then? Maybe if someone's vision is irreparably damaged? Or someone suffers a broken jaw and expensive dental bills? Maybe a good neck injury from a headlock?

The reason Armagh are being singled out more than most is because they are the common denominator.

"An intense agenda to get as many Armagh players suspended as possible" .....Excuse me...what? The Letterkenny melee was their second of the league campaign.

"yes mistakes happen but fairness across the board would go a long way to solving the disciplinary issues in my opinion"

Again - what? Mistakes? Once maybe, but three high profile incidents in 6 months is not a case of mistakes happening.
Fairness would be accepting responsibility and taking your punishment. The disciplinary issues clearly aren't going away where Armagh are concerned."
Sensible GAA people have called for a review amongst the GAA and how they organise big events. There is no doubt the GAA does have issues in club and county events and the sensible thing to do is look after individuals and deal with everything in private with annoucement then made. Well being and caring of our members should form part of any process with learning lessons also included.

Trial by social media amongst GAA members is unfair and a clear agenda against one or two counties helps nobody as those counties will see an unfairness in that, leading to appeals etc whilst ignoring wider issues.

Until we realise the GAA as a whole has a problem nothing will change. Donegal posters are very vocal on this issue particularly against Armagh which also formed part of the agenda post Letterkenny, it certainly had an initial impact but ultimately it failed as when it really mattered everything that built up led Armagh to hammering them in Clones and ending their championship.

Let authorities deal with what happened yesterday, look after everyone involved, include county boards, player bodies etc and lets stop with this trial by social media.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 27/06/2022 16:52:41    2428096

Replying To Tom1916:  "2017 - Cavan Gaels and Crosserlough melee as a result of a racist remark - Match Abandoned!!
2018 - Brewster Pk Qualifier against Down - Cavan player sparked a melee after scoring a point at the end of the match - Ciaran Whelan said the following on the Sunday Game

"He clips the score, two points up and it's game over - Cavan have won. There was obviously something going on with O'Hagan. There was a bit of bad blood there and he goes over and goads him.

Cavan are in the next round - they're done and dusted. He goes back to him again at the final whistle and then another Cavan player comes into O'Hagan. Then this kicks off a nasty scene where officials get involved, mentors get involved. Cavan end up getting two players sent-off after the match - Conor Moynagh and Dara McVeety - they were the instigators.

When you get to a position like that, you've won, you're in the next round. Down have nothing to lose, you should just walk off the field. Now it's going to hurt them badly in the next round."

Cavan have been at it for years."
Armagh at it during the parade against Cavan 2014. Glad ye are out! Good riddance!

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 27/06/2022 16:55:05    2428097

Replying To oneoff:  "If you're going to talk about Cavan why not bring up the the 2014 Ulster championship game with Armagh?"
because that was not Cavan's fault.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 17:02:30    2428101

The Armagh gouger and the Galway lad who threw a punch at him look to me to be the only players worth sanctioning. The rest didn't look like anything too serious. What a game of football to watch though. Credit to both teams for providing such a spectacle

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/06/2022 17:10:56    2428107

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Armagh at it during the parade against Cavan 2014. Glad ye are out! Good riddance!"
thankfully your attitude is not representative of anyone but yourself, the good Cavan people that I know have a bit more in them and are thankfully in the vast vast majority.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 17:17:04    2428113

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Armagh were involved in THREE bust ups this year alone, it seems that this is not an isolated incident. The guy who got sent off almost spear tackled Tierney and Morgan should have been sent off early. Walsh was targeted all game for what would have been an assault if it happened in the streets. Galway were no angels wither and Comer should have been booked or sent off for the jeering and the incitement that resulted in the brawl. The camera caught at least FIVE off the ball incidents (on both sides) and we also had an eye gouging incident. We had an Armagh manager who stated if you are pushed what are you supposed to do? We had EIGHT minutes of injury time in second half of regular play (that's 22.8% of second half was stoppages, sorry just didn't see that much including the sending off) and TWO minutes of injury time in the TEN minutes of first half extra time (that's technically 20% of first half extra time lost to injury -> that did not happen). We had Walsh and Morgan doing their best MMA and a linesman and umpire do nothing about it. A captain and co-captain sent off for nothing more than being captains of their teams, because the ref couldn't find the REAL culprits on both sides.

1) The ref and the support staff were a disgrace and should never be in charge of a game again.
2) We need a time clock and not leave it in the discretion of the ref. Its used in women's GAA, Rugby, basketball and hockey, fans and players know exactly where they stand
3) We need a video ref so that right players (on both sides) are sent off for off the ball incidents, works great in Rugby as a ref cannot see everything going on in real-time
4) The eye gouger should be banned for life if not criminal charges. Just because an attack happens on the field does not absolve you from criminal accountability.
5) Have separate entrances for dressing rooms, this has been shown in other sports to stop all out brawls
6) Sending off should have championship /League match bans and not time bans
7) The idea of "taking a yellow" for the team should be hit with cumulation of yellows leading to a county fine and/or loss of future home games/revenue.

There is an underlying cynical "dark arts" creeping into GAA that needs to be eradicated, the stuff that went on yesterday would not be tolerated in soccer, rugby or any other high level sport. Ice Hockey had this problem in the 90's where enforcers became the idols of the sport. Nowadays enforcers are almost extinct and the game is a lot better for it. For those that say GAA is different, its not. The game has evolved into a professional (esque) high speed, high stakes sport with a lot on the line that has no place for the tactics and un-sportsmanship conduct that we witnessed yesterday."
Please stop with faux outrage.

Galway have been involved in 2 serious brawls in their last two Croke Park championship appeareances.

Quoting Pat McEnany, Galway are not blameless this year with Comer the prime mover:

"So these were the two boys who could have provoked the melee. But you could have chosen Damien Comer.

"Choose two guys and send them for inciting hand-to-hand combat, and you could have chosen anyone. You could pick Comer, Morgan on the videotape.

And same venue last year, Galway brawl in the tunnel. Looks to me like Aidan O'Shea being targetted. The video is out there for anyone to see.

But those nice Galway players would never stoop to targetting an opposition player out of sight in the tunnel, would they?

It's happened. It's happened before and it'll happen again.

Answer is suspensions will follow for the guilty. That's all.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 27/06/2022 17:21:16    2428117

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "You raise a fair point, however, i think the GAA needs to fix what is broken first. 2-3 different ways to appeal and get off; no wonder the vast major of offenders get off on a technicality. Secondly you don't have to be columbo to identify the serious offenders yesterday. Just review the footage and ban the culprits. I would say the evidence is there in full view and clear cut, there should be no grounds for appeal. I have no idea why the two players; one from Galway and one from Armagh were sent off. I saw these players doing nothing except trying to stop what was materialising."
My own County benefited from some loophole in the rules just last week, Counties are sending in Senior Counsels to test the rules, so the GAA will have to put together a rule for discipline or rather indiscipline that will stand the test of a High Court if necessary. Ordinary GAA people who make up these committees have no hope against these top Legal people.
Gouging or kicking on ground are appalling and hopefully will be identified with a long ban.

It was an epic game though so a shame it happened.

So many people have pointed out this but letting highly charges players down same tunnel makes for trouble happened at Munster Final in Thurles as Pat Spillane pointed out Croak Park have a million rules.
Last time I was there had to hand over Cap of Water Bottle before returning to Stand I presume they though plastic caps were a danger so why on Earth would you let 40 lads in same confined space with emotions high it looked dreadful and only gives other Sports the high Moral Ground nothing about great game.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 27/06/2022 17:24:24    2428120

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Another important aspect to consider is the influence senior county footballers have on children. I coach underage soccer and gaelic and it's amazing the things they'll try to replicate. A simple example I had a laugh at recently was one of the young lads I coach clearing the studs of his boots before taking a free. Despite the fact that we were training on an all-weather pitch.

So do not underestimate the effect that regular melees might have on underage players. Monkey see monkey do in a lot of cases. See how harmless a bit of handbags is when you're waiting hours in A&E with some kid who has suffered an injury."
You are so right Children do mimic a lot of that stuff including all the possible injuries that they can name

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 27/06/2022 17:27:15    2428122

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Another important aspect to consider is the influence senior county footballers have on children. I coach underage soccer and gaelic and it's amazing the things they'll try to replicate. A simple example I had a laugh at recently was one of the young lads I coach clearing the studs of his boots before taking a free. Despite the fact that we were training on an all-weather pitch.

So do not underestimate the effect that regular melees might have on underage players. Monkey see monkey do in a lot of cases. See how harmless a bit of handbags is when you're waiting hours in A&E with some kid who has suffered an injury."
Two lads who acted how you should in a brawl . And really showed they are proper captains got punished. There would have been young boys and girls from both of their clubs looking at that and properly confused at how they were the ones punished

I don't blame McGeeney for defending his players in public but he should have had words behind closed doors but obviously hasn't because it keeps on happening

Hope he got to hear McDaids interview. The melee inspired them and gave them a kick up the h**e they needed when they let Armagh back into it. Imagine if it hadn't happened a lot of the Galway heads had dropped and momentum was with Armagh

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/06/2022 17:37:17    2428126

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "You raise a fair point, however, i think the GAA needs to fix what is broken first. 2-3 different ways to appeal and get off; no wonder the vast major of offenders get off on a technicality. Secondly you don't have to be columbo to identify the serious offenders yesterday. Just review the footage and ban the culprits. I would say the evidence is there in full view and clear cut, there should be no grounds for appeal. I have no idea why the two players; one from Galway and one from Armagh were sent off. I saw these players doing nothing except trying to stop what was materialising."
Agreed fix the loopholes. Joke that lads caught on camera where the fist connects with the face or fingers in eyeball yet can appeal and get off on a technicality almost every single time. It's an embarrassment. They shouldn't appeal in the first place but the will when they know they'll likely get off.

Players are treated like crap by the GAA. Without them the GAA is nothing but a few big wigs think nothing of player welfare

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/06/2022 17:47:37    2428129

Replying To Tom1916:  "thankfully your attitude is not representative of anyone but yourself, the good Cavan people that I know have a bit more in them and are thankfully in the vast vast majority."
Tom not sure about that. I would have the exact same opinion as my county colleague as 2014 lives very long in the memory. Armagh are beginning to build a massive repertoire and something has to change. We have had our moments for sure as with most countries but the frequency of Armagh's being the common denominator has to stop. Then again maybe its time for Armagh to take a trawl over the rules book to find some sort of justification.

Someone brought up about separate entrances which i think is a complete red herring. If we cannot have two teams enter and leave a pitch from the same location then they have no place on it.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 27/06/2022 17:51:27    2428132

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Armagh were involved in THREE bust ups this year alone, it seems that this is not an isolated incident. The guy who got sent off almost spear tackled Tierney and Morgan should have been sent off early. Walsh was targeted all game for what would have been an assault if it happened in the streets. Galway were no angels wither and Comer should have been booked or sent off for the jeering and the incitement that resulted in the brawl. The camera caught at least FIVE off the ball incidents (on both sides) and we also had an eye gouging incident. We had an Armagh manager who stated if you are pushed what are you supposed to do? We had EIGHT minutes of injury time in second half of regular play (that's 22.8% of second half was stoppages, sorry just didn't see that much including the sending off) and TWO minutes of injury time in the TEN minutes of first half extra time (that's technically 20% of first half extra time lost to injury -> that did not happen). We had Walsh and Morgan doing their best MMA and a linesman and umpire do nothing about it. A captain and co-captain sent off for nothing more than being captains of their teams, because the ref couldn't find the REAL culprits on both sides.

1) The ref and the support staff were a disgrace and should never be in charge of a game again.
2) We need a time clock and not leave it in the discretion of the ref. Its used in women's GAA, Rugby, basketball and hockey, fans and players know exactly where they stand
3) We need a video ref so that right players (on both sides) are sent off for off the ball incidents, works great in Rugby as a ref cannot see everything going on in real-time
4) The eye gouger should be banned for life if not criminal charges. Just because an attack happens on the field does not absolve you from criminal accountability.
5) Have separate entrances for dressing rooms, this has been shown in other sports to stop all out brawls
6) Sending off should have championship /League match bans and not time bans
7) The idea of "taking a yellow" for the team should be hit with cumulation of yellows leading to a county fine and/or loss of future home games/revenue.

There is an underlying cynical "dark arts" creeping into GAA that needs to be eradicated, the stuff that went on yesterday would not be tolerated in soccer, rugby or any other high level sport. Ice Hockey had this problem in the 90's where enforcers became the idols of the sport. Nowadays enforcers are almost extinct and the game is a lot better for it. For those that say GAA is different, its not. The game has evolved into a professional (esque) high speed, high stakes sport with a lot on the line that has no place for the tactics and un-sportsmanship conduct that we witnessed yesterday."
I would agree with you, these guys are super fit, pacey with huge strenght. When you look at the sending off incident for the poorly executed charge, no one did he intend to hurt, but he did. The potential damage to players as a result of mistimed tackles etc is bad enough. However add some malecontent yahoo into the mix with instructions from his management team and its only a matter of time before a neck is broke.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 27/06/2022 18:09:13    2428138

Christ on a bike. The taoiseach has commented on the matter.

This is a joke while I agree with a ban that affects club and county for the eye gouged. This is absolutely ridiculous with everything going on in Ireland that man has the nerve to comment on this.

Keep your nose out of the GAA and do your job. The state of the country and he has the nerve to comment on this

TK should be dealt with and get a decent ban from club and county but how about the taoiseach addresses the housing/healthcare/cost of living crisis . The nerve of the man

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/06/2022 18:19:25    2428143

Few bitter people coming out from under the rocks, where was their negative opinions of Armagh last week when everyone was eulogising about them. Cheap shots. He did what he did and will no doubt be sanctioned (not punished) accordingly. You wouldn't see the rugby fraternity denigrating their game to this extent, where eye gouging originated.
Was the only match worth watching over the weekend, huge credit to all involved

Galway surprised me with their sheer will to win, together with their ability to keep calm under pressure. Usually they rely on a few usual suspects when the pressure comes on, yesterday the whole team stood up. They will be a handful for Derry, should be a cracking game. Fancy the winner to go the whole way,
Hopefully

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/06/2022 18:29:07    2428146

Replying To SaffronDon:  "The Armagh gouger and the Galway lad who threw a punch at him look to me to be the only players worth sanctioning. The rest didn't look like anything too serious. What a game of football to watch though. Credit to both teams for providing such a spectacle"
There was 2 wrestling on the ground. I didn't see what happened there but potentially one or both of those.

Also thought I saw some stamping but it could've been a stumble so not sure on that.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 27/06/2022 18:33:01    2428148

Sean Cavanagh's comment on mass brawls "sometimes this is okay when it is the playing members that are involved, it's a show of raw emotion in the white heat of battle. Then you get men involved that shouldn't be there." Dear oh dear I will give him the benefit of the doubt, but there is the attitude and the problem.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 27/06/2022 18:44:57    2428151