Armagh Vs Galway

Replying To sam1884:  "Look trial by social media helps nobody and it needs to be called out, as an almost more serious issue than the melees. There is no doubt Armagh were singled out for happened in Letterkenny, with an intense agenda to get as many Armagh players suspended as possible and to single out an entire county which almost worked.

It certainly had the impact of affecting Armagh in the Ballybofey game but ultimately the Armagh team got an opportunity to put a lot of wrongs right which they did in Clones later on. We need to remember this is an amateur sport and we need to look after players, yes mistakes happen but fairness across the board would go a long way to solving the disciplinary issues in my opinion.

Let authorities deal with any issues behind the scenes and the rest of us look forward to the rest of the championship, I think Galway will have already moved on to preparing for Derry whilst Armagh I'm sure will get on with the rest of their GAA season at home."
So your answer is that we should just move on and forget about it? Until the next time? Where is the line to be drawn then? Maybe if someone's vision is irreparably damaged? Or someone suffers a broken jaw and expensive dental bills? Maybe a good neck injury from a headlock?

The reason Armagh are being singled out more than most is because they are the common denominator.

"An intense agenda to get as many Armagh players suspended as possible" .....Excuse me...what? The Letterkenny melee was their second of the league campaign.

"yes mistakes happen but fairness across the board would go a long way to solving the disciplinary issues in my opinion"

Again - what? Mistakes? Once maybe, but three high profile incidents in 6 months is not a case of mistakes happening.
Fairness would be accepting responsibility and taking your punishment. The disciplinary issues clearly aren't going away where Armagh are concerned.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9128 - 27/06/2022 14:16:58    2428014

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "What do you mean by hassle from the crowd exactly? Are you suggesting that the Armagh crowd were going to attack the officials? If so that's disgusting assertion, you should be ashamed of yourself.

Here's a google search some posters might like to have a look at before commenting:

galway mayo connacht final brawl 2021

Looks like Galway have a bit of form for this type of stuff as well."
On that particular day the two teams were allowed down the tunnel of the hogan stand at the same time and there were clashes. I don't know what the reason was but Shane Walsh was nailed by Padraig O'Hora just before half time and am sure that did not help. Unfair to say we have form in this when for years we have been accused of having a 'soft centre'. People cannot have it both ways and for the record Shane Walsh is targeted in most matches as he was yesterday. Linesmen often fail to pick this up. However I agree with you on the point regarding the Armagh fans. They were a credit to their county yesterday and certainly the many around me were great GAA gaels. They brought colour and mixed well with the many pockets of maroon cladded supporters from what I could see.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 27/06/2022 14:18:54    2428016

Replying To OpenStand:  "The carry on of some Armagh players and subs is all a by product of political history over the last 100 years.
Armagh Nationalists/GAA folk suffered horrifically at the hands of Loyalist/British gangs and this creates a very battle hardened community who will literally die for their jersey/identity .
We in the south over the last 100 years haven't experienced that but many of these armagh players came from familys/communitys that suffered horrifically . It doesnt excuse it but the Galway and Armagh players worlds they were brought up in are poles apart unfortunately ."
Oh for god's sake. A bit of manners is as easily carried. No excuses.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/06/2022 14:19:29    2428017

Replying To Joxer:  "Right on cue. The "Dublin based media" are at it again blaming the poor downtrodden Ulster gaels. Eye gouging passes for physicality now? The South just don't under this. Time to stop the nonsense and call this behaviour out. No team should be allowed to brawl their way to a AI semi and gouging like that should never be classified as "Ulster physicality" that other provinces "don't comprehend". I can't see many Ulster supporters sticking by your comments. It's a shame as Armagh are a cracking team but when you look at Derry, for example, that nasty streak isn't there. Armagh need to play like Armagh but probably conduct themselves like Derry."
The majority of the national media is Dublin-based. A journalist from Timbuctoo could be Dublin-based. Dublin is the capital city of Ireland shocker. Sure them Dublin based media are getting extra funding....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 27/06/2022 14:20:15    2428019

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The majority of the national media is Dublin-based. A journalist from Timbuctoo could be Dublin-based. Dublin is the capital city of Ireland shocker. Sure them Dublin based media are getting extra funding...."
Ha, exactly. Ulsterman's bitterness has mostly been directed towards the South in general over the years, as his Ulster siege mentality gets the better of him, although he does reserve special treatment for the Dubs. For all we know he could be talking about Malachy Clerkin in the Times.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/06/2022 14:52:10    2428031

Replying To sam1884:  "Look trial by social media helps nobody and it needs to be called out, as an almost more serious issue than the melees. There is no doubt Armagh were singled out for happened in Letterkenny, with an intense agenda to get as many Armagh players suspended as possible and to single out an entire county which almost worked.

It certainly had the impact of affecting Armagh in the Ballybofey game but ultimately the Armagh team got an opportunity to put a lot of wrongs right which they did in Clones later on. We need to remember this is an amateur sport and we need to look after players, yes mistakes happen but fairness across the board would go a long way to solving the disciplinary issues in my opinion.

Let authorities deal with any issues behind the scenes and the rest of us look forward to the rest of the championship, I think Galway will have already moved on to preparing for Derry whilst Armagh I'm sure will get on with the rest of their GAA season at home."
Armagh have been involved in numerous rows under McGeeney,inclining in challenge games against Dublin. Himself and Ciaran Mckeever were no saints as players, they should know by now not to react

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 27/06/2022 14:52:36    2428032

It is incorrect I believe to suggest that extended squad members should not have been on the pitch. Once the final whistle is blown the game is over, and extended panel members are entitled to go to the dressing room and are available for selection for extra time. Each time a red card is issued in a game the ref and another ref who was not officiating at the game should be asked to review the incident with the aid of any available video the next day. The ref should be able to uphold or revise the decision and that should be the end of it, no more appeals.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 27/06/2022 14:54:13    2428033

Replying To gilly1910:  "That is a pathetic excuse to justify eye gouging, or Northern teams been given the green light to engage in carry on that has no place on any sporting field. Yes we know that playing GAA probably carries a much greater significance to Northern Nationalists, but to say that it entitles them to carry on with completely and utterly unacceptable behaviour is utter rubbish."
Well said. I never read as much rubbish.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 27/06/2022 14:59:22    2428035

Replying To Breffni1969:  "It's not just this year that Armagh started that craic. They been at it for years.
Just glad they got beaten because Armagh v Derry would have been the worst advertisement for Gaelic football this century."
2017 - Cavan Gaels and Crosserlough melee as a result of a racist remark - Match Abandoned!!
2018 - Brewster Pk Qualifier against Down - Cavan player sparked a melee after scoring a point at the end of the match - Ciaran Whelan said the following on the Sunday Game

"He clips the score, two points up and it's game over - Cavan have won. There was obviously something going on with O'Hagan. There was a bit of bad blood there and he goes over and goads him.

Cavan are in the next round - they're done and dusted. He goes back to him again at the final whistle and then another Cavan player comes into O'Hagan. Then this kicks off a nasty scene where officials get involved, mentors get involved. Cavan end up getting two players sent-off after the match - Conor Moynagh and Dara McVeety - they were the instigators.

When you get to a position like that, you've won, you're in the next round. Down have nothing to lose, you should just walk off the field. Now it's going to hurt them badly in the next round."

Cavan have been at it for years.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 15:13:42    2428042

Replying To tommy k:  "Damo Comer was very good throughout too and has been very consistent all year."
A warrior and provides great leadership.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3750 - 27/06/2022 15:23:13    2428047

Replying To greysoil:  "Oh for god's sake. A bit of manners is as easily carried. No excuses."
Monaghan Senior League game between Latton and Magheracloone had to be ABANDONED after serious violence broke out between players and spectators - not much manners there.

Monaghan League match against Kerry - melee during the 2nd half and Monaghan player sent off after attempted eye gouge on a Kerry player. David Clifford also claims that he was hit in the testicles during the match. These facts can be googled as they were all reported on the national media.

Monaghan players and officials involved in a melee in Clones during a league game against Kildare, the melee started just before half time and continued down the tunnel with punched being thrown.

I just googled those few facts, no county is innocent. This is not an 'Armagh' problem it is a GAA problem and happens in club and county games in all 32 counties.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 15:24:28    2428049

Replying To Lockjaw:  "So your answer is that we should just move on and forget about it? Until the next time? Where is the line to be drawn then? Maybe if someone's vision is irreparably damaged? Or someone suffers a broken jaw and expensive dental bills? Maybe a good neck injury from a headlock?

The reason Armagh are being singled out more than most is because they are the common denominator.

"An intense agenda to get as many Armagh players suspended as possible" .....Excuse me...what? The Letterkenny melee was their second of the league campaign.

"yes mistakes happen but fairness across the board would go a long way to solving the disciplinary issues in my opinion"

Again - what? Mistakes? Once maybe, but three high profile incidents in 6 months is not a case of mistakes happening.
Fairness would be accepting responsibility and taking your punishment. The disciplinary issues clearly aren't going away where Armagh are concerned."
The Donegal Competitions Controls Committee (CCC) will await the referee's report before deciding what action to take after the abandonment of an All-County League game this afternoon.

The Glenfin v Cloughaneely game in Division 2 was abandoned with just three minutes of the game remaining after a mass brawl broke out.

Cloughaneely were leading the game, at Pairc Tabhoige in Glenfin, 3-7 to 0-9 when it was abandoned by match referee Mark Dorrian.

Just 1 example

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 15:30:09    2428055

Replying To Tom1916:  "2017 - Cavan Gaels and Crosserlough melee as a result of a racist remark - Match Abandoned!!
2018 - Brewster Pk Qualifier against Down - Cavan player sparked a melee after scoring a point at the end of the match - Ciaran Whelan said the following on the Sunday Game

"He clips the score, two points up and it's game over - Cavan have won. There was obviously something going on with O'Hagan. There was a bit of bad blood there and he goes over and goads him.

Cavan are in the next round - they're done and dusted. He goes back to him again at the final whistle and then another Cavan player comes into O'Hagan. Then this kicks off a nasty scene where officials get involved, mentors get involved. Cavan end up getting two players sent-off after the match - Conor Moynagh and Dara McVeety - they were the instigators.

When you get to a position like that, you've won, you're in the next round. Down have nothing to lose, you should just walk off the field. Now it's going to hurt them badly in the next round."

Cavan have been at it for years."
If you're going to talk about Cavan why not bring up the the 2014 Ulster championship game with Armagh?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/06/2022 15:36:35    2428060

Replying To Tom1916:  "2017 - Cavan Gaels and Crosserlough melee as a result of a racist remark - Match Abandoned!!

Cavan have been at it for years."
At it for years. The last melee from 2018..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 27/06/2022 15:40:00    2428062

I hear Ciilian McDaid, Cathal Sweeney, Jack Glynn, Owen Gallagher, and to a lesser extent Sean kelly & Damian Comer are Galway players being looked over Sundays melee, plenty from Armagh also inc non playing members

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 27/06/2022 15:40:21    2428063

I'm so delighted Galway won and Armagh have yet again dragged Gaelic football into disrepute,
I thought the Galway players showed great sportsmanship despite the nasty provocations and were classy in victory too.
From what I've seen of the next door neighbours fans in Derry and not being a fan of RG either I really hope Galway win the semi final too.
Galway need to shore up the full back line and practice dealing with high ball dropping into the square because Derry will have seen that weakness and be ready to exploit it.
It was a great game of football, one of the best and most exciting in years but it will be remembered for all the wrong reasons thanks to Armagh's 'tactics' yet again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 27/06/2022 15:46:17    2428065

Armagh were involved in THREE bust ups this year alone, it seems that this is not an isolated incident. The guy who got sent off almost spear tackled Tierney and Morgan should have been sent off early. Walsh was targeted all game for what would have been an assault if it happened in the streets. Galway were no angels wither and Comer should have been booked or sent off for the jeering and the incitement that resulted in the brawl. The camera caught at least FIVE off the ball incidents (on both sides) and we also had an eye gouging incident. We had an Armagh manager who stated if you are pushed what are you supposed to do? We had EIGHT minutes of injury time in second half of regular play (that's 22.8% of second half was stoppages, sorry just didn't see that much including the sending off) and TWO minutes of injury time in the TEN minutes of first half extra time (that's technically 20% of first half extra time lost to injury -> that did not happen). We had Walsh and Morgan doing their best MMA and a linesman and umpire do nothing about it. A captain and co-captain sent off for nothing more than being captains of their teams, because the ref couldn't find the REAL culprits on both sides.

1) The ref and the support staff were a disgrace and should never be in charge of a game again.
2) We need a time clock and not leave it in the discretion of the ref. Its used in women's GAA, Rugby, basketball and hockey, fans and players know exactly where they stand
3) We need a video ref so that right players (on both sides) are sent off for off the ball incidents, works great in Rugby as a ref cannot see everything going on in real-time
4) The eye gouger should be banned for life if not criminal charges. Just because an attack happens on the field does not absolve you from criminal accountability.
5) Have separate entrances for dressing rooms, this has been shown in other sports to stop all out brawls
6) Sending off should have championship /League match bans and not time bans
7) The idea of "taking a yellow" for the team should be hit with cumulation of yellows leading to a county fine and/or loss of future home games/revenue.

There is an underlying cynical "dark arts" creeping into GAA that needs to be eradicated, the stuff that went on yesterday would not be tolerated in soccer, rugby or any other high level sport. Ice Hockey had this problem in the 90's where enforcers became the idols of the sport. Nowadays enforcers are almost extinct and the game is a lot better for it. For those that say GAA is different, its not. The game has evolved into a professional (esque) high speed, high stakes sport with a lot on the line that has no place for the tactics and un-sportsmanship conduct that we witnessed yesterday.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 27/06/2022 15:47:06    2428066

Some of the comments here and in the media are over the top,
It was a great game and didn't deserve to be the curtain raiser, but that's another story.
Galway deserved to win the game , most Armagh would agree with that. The melee looked bad and in particular for one incident and no one in Armagh can justify that.
Armagh had one player sent off ( I though it was harsh ) but on reflection it was dangerous. Morgan could have walked too , as him and Walsh were at each other all game with one striking and the other kicking. There was so many incidents in the game, one could write a 10,000 report on it.
The referee wasn't great for both sides with throw balls, a very obvious dive which was shown on the big screen clearly not dealt with
To sent off 2 completely innocent players was totally unjustified and the comments coming out of Croke Park re the 2 players was wrong.
Nugent was a massive loss. Cromer is no angel but didn't warrant that.
We all knew penalties were coming and Galway scored theirs - fair play.

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1672 - 27/06/2022 16:16:03    2428077

Replying To The_analyser:  "A warrior and provides great leadership."
A warrior who should have got the red card instead of his innocent captain…. Should have got booked earlier for his unnecessary tussle with the Armagh goalkeeper…. A bit of a loose cannon in my view

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1919 - 27/06/2022 16:22:23    2428080

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "Why are you talking about a Dublin based journalist. What does it matter where he or she is based? Also who are you talking about?"
The same journalist whose comments have been shocking over the yrs
Obviously you know him

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1672 - 27/06/2022 16:22:53    2428081