New Meath Manager

It can be amusing how a poster was a definite anti Colm O Rourke and said so here . Then when he is appointed on merit the same poster can put unrealistic targets for Colm . The same poster ran out of excuses in other situations .The same poster seems confused ,and can forget that this is all about the future of Meath football.
It amazes me how the WHO bit is so crucial for some, and misses the point completely. The future of Meath football was put at the top of the agenda that matters. Maybe time to bin any other agenda.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 29/07/2022 15:09:23    2435250

Replying To Proudroyal:  "In fairness Brian, I wouldn't knock anyone for believing they can win any game.Ive played football all my life(still trying)and never went out thinking we wont win.Every player should go out believing they can win otherwise what's the point.Dont get me wrong I've got a few hidings in my time but also won games we probably shouldn't have won because we raised our game and believed.That was a trait under Boylan never give up or stop believing.In Jim McGuinness book he says getting the (Donegal)players to believe in themselves was one of the most important things he done.You ate right it might not be a bad thing to get somone to look at the mental side of things as the beatings would leave scars.I also think you're right about it taking 3 to 5 years to see the best of the team under Colm and if we can see progress every year then that would be good.its hard not to get a bit excited ge is probably the best Meath man for the job and that seems to be an issue with some (outside manager)so at least we have him in and everyone should get behind him.I also believe Colm will be good with the young lads as he knows how to deal with them as he has been doing that all his life with his job.That is the longterm goal nurture the young lads coming through and install belief,character and gameplans into them.We may not see success until after Colm is gone (HOPEFULLY not)but this is a crucial time in Meath football.Lets hope the county board give Colm what they promised and we can get nearer to the top teams sooner rather than later."
Never gone to a game believing we won't win. Like you said.
I'm sorry if that annoys people. But that's what I'll continue to do. I just can't do it. We play Dublin next year be it in league and or championship (probably both) I will take a lie detector test while saying Meath will win. I actually think that is the problem with some of the players. They don't believe in themselves or their teammates

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/07/2022 15:39:34    2435258

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Rochford is in the backroom team for the Mayo job with McStay https://t.co/xODOpzrrP8

He wasn't part of Flynns ticket. Why was he naming him?"
Heard this discussed on a podcast this week. Seems there's a few names being linked with more than one backroom team, just speculation. But possibly Flynn had Rochford lined up and McStay asked him to join his bid afterwards. It's mad auld banter this summer with the speculation. It's like predicting the soccer transfers before the transfer window closes. Makes for good clickbait. I'd say some lads are sitting in a pub thinking up mad stuff to send to Whatsapp groups for the windup.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 29/07/2022 20:08:41    2435311

Replying To royaldunne:  "Never gone to a game believing we won't win. Like you said.
I'm sorry if that annoys people. But that's what I'll continue to do. I just can't do it. We play Dublin next year be it in league and or championship (probably both) I will take a lie detector test while saying Meath will win. I actually think that is the problem with some of the players. They don't believe in themselves or their teammates"
And back you go to abusing players, its always the players isn't it RD.

I actually think that is the problem with some of the players. They don't believe in themselves or their teammates

I tell ye what, you go and tell any of the 35-40 players involved on the panel they don't believe in themselves or their team mates and see what response you get from them.

I've said plenty of things about Andy's set up and team not being adequately prepared but one thing i would never have doubted about Andy Mcentee or a team he coached was his ability to motivate players and have them ready to run through a brick wall if they had.

Saying players don't believe in themselves and their team mates but they need to be getting promotion next year.... i dunno how you reconcile those things in your own head, its genuinely baffling.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/07/2022 15:35:41    2435431

Replying To brian:  "And back you go to abusing players, its always the players isn't it RD.

I actually think that is the problem with some of the players. They don't believe in themselves or their teammates

I tell ye what, you go and tell any of the 35-40 players involved on the panel they don't believe in themselves or their team mates and see what response you get from them.

I've said plenty of things about Andy's set up and team not being adequately prepared but one thing i would never have doubted about Andy Mcentee or a team he coached was his ability to motivate players and have them ready to run through a brick wall if they had.

Saying players don't believe in themselves and their team mates but they need to be getting promotion next year.... i dunno how you reconcile those things in your own head, its genuinely baffling."
To be fair Brian I think RDs point is if they believed on themselves they are good enough for promotion. Whether or not that's a realistic aim not so sure.

Given Dublin are in D2 I don't think it's going to be a runner as one place realistically.

As an aside to pick up on your comment on Andy, I thought it was nice to hear Colm rightly say no one has worked as hard at Meath football than Andy over last 6 years, tactically he fell short but nice to see him commended for the effort.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 30/07/2022 15:58:54    2435437

Replying To brian:  "And back you go to abusing players, its always the players isn't it RD.

Saying players don't believe in themselves and their team mates but they need to be getting promotion next year.... i dunno how you reconcile those things in your own head, its genuinely baffling."
Well Brian, I think he(Royaldunne) was replying to me when I said about the players under Boylan about never giving up or in Jim mac gunniess book where he says one of the most important thing was to make the players(Donegal)believe they are better than they think.I dont think Royaldunne was having a pop at the players not speaking for him just my take on things.I would never doubt the commitment,drive or desire from Andy's management team or the players to make Meath winners again but as you said in a previous post the mental scaring (especially v Dublin)may run deeper than we think.I remember reading a book (hayes I think)when Meath had the hoodoo over Dublin for a few years back in late 80s early 90s and him saying we just cant lose to Dublin no matter what,we cant let them believe they can beat us.We got to keep them down,make them doubt themselves.I think unfortunately it's the other way round now.I hope Colm can heal the scars a bit if you know what I mean.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 30/07/2022 17:10:53    2435460

In fairness, confidence within squad has been a big issue of late, there has been an obvious lack of belief and seemed to spread throught entire panel. Everything had gone stale, no effort to adopt a style of play that might suit the players, management/coaches told us system was fine, players just needed to do better. So little wonder self belief dropped off. Cannot see how manager motivated players, no evidence to suggest this. As for running through brick wall, more like going through the motions. Its a big issue for COR, getting confidence back and building a culture that puts team front and centre.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 30/07/2022 17:28:43    2435468

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "

To be fair Brian I think RDs point is if they believed on themselves they are good enough for promotion. Whether or not that's a realistic aim not so sure.

Given Dublin are in D2 I don't think it's going to be a runner as one place realistically.

As an aside to pick up on your comment on Andy, I thought it was nice to hear Colm rightly say no one has worked as hard at Meath football than Andy over last 6 years, tactically he fell short but nice to see him commended for the effort."
That's exactly it joe.
I don't know why that needs explaining to some. But there you go.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2022 18:31:08    2435494

Replying To Proudroyal:  "

Well Brian, I think he(Royaldunne) was replying to me when I said about the players under Boylan about never giving up or in Jim mac gunniess book where he says one of the most important thing was to make the players(Donegal)believe they are better than they think.I dont think Royaldunne was having a pop at the players not speaking for him just my take on things.I would never doubt the commitment,drive or desire from Andy's management team or the players to make Meath winners again but as you said in a previous post the mental scaring (especially v Dublin)may run deeper than we think.I remember reading a book (hayes I think)when Meath had the hoodoo over Dublin for a few years back in late 80s early 90s and him saying we just cant lose to Dublin no matter what,we cant let them believe they can beat us.We got to keep them down,make them doubt themselves.I think unfortunately it's the other way round now.I hope Colm can heal the scars a bit if you know what I mean."
That's exactly it. You put it better than I did. But that's exactly the point I was making

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2022 18:32:18    2435495

Replying To seadog54:  "

In fairness, confidence within squad has been a big issue of late, there has been an obvious lack of belief and seemed to spread throught entire panel. Everything had gone stale, no effort to adopt a style of play that might suit the players, management/coaches told us system was fine, players just needed to do better. So little wonder self belief dropped off. Cannot see how manager motivated players, no evidence to suggest this. As for running through brick wall, more like going through the motions. Its a big issue for COR, getting confidence back and building a culture that puts team front and centre."
I think they were motivated to play for Andy seadog but due to the tactics not working or suiting it just went stale, don't think it was players not playing for Andy necessarily and I think Andy put his players front and centre but sadly his footballing approach left them short and it was a hard style to play/impossible to do it over 5 seasons.

If we can get back to quick ball inside and letting the ball do the work and not players running spirits non stop you will see a difference. I know you never liked Andy but think his blatent short comings tactically and how his players reacted to him are different!

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 31/07/2022 11:42:52    2435574

There can be no argument that Andy and all the managers in the last 20 years gave it their best shot with little success. None of them owe Meath anything as stated by Colm o Rourke in to days Independent.
Reading that article i suppose the anti Colms might say "ah paper does not refuse print " . I often said it myself. In this case whilst i dont know Colm personally i am convinced his is just the man the doctor ordered for this sick patient. Colm does tell us about LOYALTY being important .He proved that by DEMONSTRATING loyalty many times in the Meath jersey .A good example was when the came on in the 2nd half in All ireland final in 1991 probably against medical advice .In Colms language for him and loyalty he passes with honours. Yet he wants to put something back and be manager...great. Reading his article several lines stand out to indicate he is the man for the job "after 40 years every day is a school day (as a pupil) " not afraid to call for help" " surround myself with people who may know more than i do in areas" Life" balance" for players ,(i assume training sessions will be always about quality rather than quantity ) etc. The group dynamic approach...i like that! The job being results driven and can generate even anger etc when players not selected etc .so everthing in the garden wont be rosy. We know that now Colm you dont need to tell us. You know that social media is a reality ,and you wont escape either. This poster believes that you are unlikely to miss much sleep over what keyboard warriors like me might say You are crafty enough to know that you might be a so and so at a given point and a last minute score to give us a win and you are a saint. As he said its a results driven role and Colm has enough ringcraft to roll with the punches . REFRESHING!
I see a culture where learning is very much on the agenda. where each player will take personal resposibility for improving his skillset and be accoutable, where everything will be about the team .Where it will be a management Team where COLM happens to be the capain,co ordinator ,dogs body if necessary and the man who ultimately will take charge for everything related to on field performance. I have no doubt no stone will be left unturned whilst Colm is around . The best of luck to him and his team.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 31/07/2022 13:41:11    2435593

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "
Replying To seadog54:  "[quote=brian:  "And back you go to abusing players, its always the players isn't it RD.

In fairness, confidence within squad has been a big issue of late, there has been an obvious lack of belief and seemed to spread throught entire panel. Everything had gone stale, no effort to adopt a style of play that might suit the players, management/coaches told us system was fine, players just needed to do better. So little wonder self belief dropped off. Cannot see how manager motivated players, no evidence to suggest this. As for running through brick wall, more like going through the motions. Its a big issue for COR, getting confidence back and building a culture that puts team front and centre."
I think they were motivated to play for Andy seadog but due to the tactics not working or suiting it just went stale, don't think it was players not playing for Andy necessarily and I think Andy put his players front and centre but sadly his footballing approach left them short and it was a hard style to play/impossible to do it over 5 seasons.

If we can get back to quick ball inside and letting the ball do the work and not players running spirits non stop you will see a difference. I know you never liked Andy but think his blatent short comings tactically and how his players reacted to him are different!"]The players absolutely played for Andy. One senior player had stepped away from team until the sh1#show that was the cb and then he came back to show his support for Andy. The players (95%) adored him. I do hope it's the same for Colm. I know some of them don't like him personally but once they can play under him and regard him highly then there is no problem. You don't have to like ur manager all you have to do is respect him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/07/2022 18:17:38    2435633

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To Thejoeshow:  "[quote=seadog54:  "[quote=brian:  "And back you go to abusing players, its always the players isn't it RD.

If we can get back to quick ball inside and letting the ball do the work and not players running spirits non stop you will see a difference. I know you never liked Andy but think his blatent short comings tactically and how his players reacted to him are different!"]The players absolutely played for Andy. One senior player had stepped away from team until the sh1#show that was the cb and then he came back to show his support for Andy. The players (95%) adored him. I do hope it's the same for Colm. I know some of them don't like him personally but once they can play under him and regard him highly then there is no problem. You don't have to like ur manager all you have to do is respect him."]Ah.. i dont think Colm would be too pushed about ADORATION anyway. I am not sure either about players that may not like him, or how that is relevant at this point. Not sure either how that statement is supportive of him. I think Colm would accept a fair shot from supporters including the usual settling in period. I think we all accept that nobody will be made to measure for the roll of manager in any situation initially. Ah no i think he will do a good job where his sense of humour will even be beneficial. I think enjoyment will be evident for players . I see positivity going forward. i wont put times on achievement. I fully expect skills levels and accountability to be the currency in play.I expect mistakes will be used as learning points . i expect cintinuous improvement to be our immeadiate aim from here. Wont be easy and inevitably there will be casualties as he says himself. Whats new there when there is such a difficult job to be done at this time .No better man to do it !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 31/07/2022 21:26:25    2435667

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Eamonn is #2 gents and ladies: fitz is on the ticket. 3pm announced potentially"
You were way of the mark on this one joe

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 13/08/2022 09:37:07    2437245

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "You were way of the mark on this one joe"
Absolute nonsense. I would say those who claimed they knew about cors app 2 weeks in advance were also talking through their...

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 13/08/2022 15:45:34    2437288

He would want to name a coach or 2 soon. The current set up he has won't cut the mustard.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 14/08/2022 12:58:03    2437336

Replying To Ed2010:  "Absolute nonsense. I would say those who claimed they knew about cors app 2 weeks in advance were also talking through their..."
I'd be suprised if Murray isn't added to the backroom staff. He's not staying with the ladies so he may as well (unless he has his eye on Cavan). They know eachother well.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 14/08/2022 21:42:42    2437438

Replying To Crinigan:  "I'd be suprised if Murray isn't added to the backroom staff. He's not staying with the ladies so he may as well (unless he has his eye on Cavan). They know eachother well."
Crinigan, not picking at your point here, more asking why you think Murray might go to the men's team. I get the idea there was a natural ending to things after the Kerry match but not sure the whole thing is about to break up en masse.

He's worked with the girls team for years, and a lot of these girls before they were with the senior team at underage level. i don't think he's interested in the men's game as much. Wall and Lally will be back for 2023, Dunno what Emma Troy's story is and which of the Aoibheann's (Cleary or Leahy) is leaving and if they'll be back but think the ladies team is going through evolution and not revolution. Eivers should still be available to them too, so only Gariggan seems to be departing.

Mickey Graham is staying with Cavan for another two years so that job isn't available.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/08/2022 12:39:52    2437492

Replying To Crinigan:  "I'd be suprised if Murray isn't added to the backroom staff. He's not staying with the ladies so he may as well (unless he has his eye on Cavan). They know eachother well."
Id be shocked if he got any where near it...

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 16/08/2022 11:34:29    2437613

Replying To southmeathgael:  "He would want to name a coach or 2 soon. The current set up he has won't cut the mustard."
COR addressed this and other issues when he spoke to the clubs at recent meeting, hopes to have backroom team completed in time for next months meeting. Article on HS. Seems to be well on top of things, would not expect anything else.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 16/08/2022 17:21:00    2437710