New Meath Manager

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Fair play to Monaghan for setting their stall out and going after getting Jason Sherlock. According to the Irish Independant they hope to have him appointed this week if he is agreeable.

We are getting behond a joke at this stage. I certainly hope we are going to get a nice surprise some morning soon ourselves but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Donegal are also chasing down Jim McGuinness again. Surely Meath would have been an attractive job for Jason Sherlock to be interested in? Right on his door step and we are not that far off Monaghans level at the minute as they are a team slightly in decline."
Jesus I wouldn't have been overly excited to see Sherlock coming in.
Numerous fall outs in Dublin before his removal.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 10:43:29    2434138

Replying To Loyaltotheroyal1978:  "Colm o Rourke with Eamonn FitzMaurice as his number 2."
One can dream....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 10:46:52    2434141

Replying To Jinxie:  "Jesus I wouldn't have been overly excited to see Sherlock coming in.
Numerous fall outs in Dublin before his removal."
In that case, I take it back regarding Sherlock. I was not aware of those issues about him with Dublin. I have a feeling Colm O'Rourke will be the next manager with a strong number two with him. I don't think it would be a bad thing at all. We are not at a stage where we are on the cusp of winning a Leinster or All Ireland, but we are at a stage where there are young players and coaches coming through in the county who need to be bedded into the squad over the next two to three years and I think O'Rourke would be a solid appointment. We need in the next two to three years to get to the level that Armagh, Derry and Galway were at this year and be in the conversation as a serious team that can compete strongly at quarter-final/semi final stages on the All Ireland. Right now we are not seen as real threat, but we are not that far down the pecking order where we are a million miles off those teams mentioned.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 25/07/2022 11:59:49    2434174

Keep your phones on loud and your meath gaa twitter notifications turned on this afternoon lads!!!!

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/07/2022 12:26:12    2434187

Colm o rourke has it lads was told 2 weeks ago now

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 25/07/2022 12:26:25    2434189

Replying To BigJoe14:  "In that case, I take it back regarding Sherlock. I was not aware of those issues about him with Dublin. I have a feeling Colm O'Rourke will be the next manager with a strong number two with him. I don't think it would be a bad thing at all. We are not at a stage where we are on the cusp of winning a Leinster or All Ireland, but we are at a stage where there are young players and coaches coming through in the county who need to be bedded into the squad over the next two to three years and I think O'Rourke would be a solid appointment. We need in the next two to three years to get to the level that Armagh, Derry and Galway were at this year and be in the conversation as a serious team that can compete strongly at quarter-final/semi final stages on the All Ireland. Right now we are not seen as real threat, but we are not that far down the pecking order where we are a million miles off those teams mentioned."
I believe there had been a few issues of discontent. I remember a couple times the rumours going around about him walking. he was just a backroom member too, so while hed have seen plety & have something to bring, I dunno if it would be enough to give him enough presence as overall manager. Big step from just being a forwards coach to the big seat in my view.

On O'Rourke. Your the 2nd person today on here to suggest that & 2 people have said it to me in person today aswell.... Is there something bubbling somewhere??
I agree with your sentiments on it being a good appointment. I think He's command respect, & attract a strong backroom. His knowledge of the game & national & County level is extensive & he understands the modern game as much as the counties traditional values. here's hoping....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 12:40:45    2434202

Replying To Jinxie:  "I believe there had been a few issues of discontent. I remember a couple times the rumours going around about him walking. he was just a backroom member too, so while hed have seen plety & have something to bring, I dunno if it would be enough to give him enough presence as overall manager. Big step from just being a forwards coach to the big seat in my view.

On O'Rourke. Your the 2nd person today on here to suggest that & 2 people have said it to me in person today aswell.... Is there something bubbling somewhere??
I agree with your sentiments on it being a good appointment. I think He's command respect, & attract a strong backroom. His knowledge of the game & national & County level is extensive & he understands the modern game as much as the counties traditional values. here's hoping...."
COR would have been top of many peoples list, he ruled himself out on the grounds he had shown interest previously but for whatever reason face did not fit and now felt his time had come and gone. Hopefully a change of mind on both sides, could be the perefect appointment, knows the club scene well and would command respect across the board. Well capable of putting a strong management team in place, with an eye on succession plan.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 25/07/2022 13:01:06    2434213

Replying To seadog54:  "COR would have been top of many peoples list, he ruled himself out on the grounds he had shown interest previously but for whatever reason face did not fit and now felt his time had come and gone. Hopefully a change of mind on both sides, could be the perefect appointment, knows the club scene well and would command respect across the board. Well capable of putting a strong management team in place, with an eye on succession plan."
Yep very much agree. He'd be (in my opinion) the best shot at unifying the county. Theres a big split in Meath football at the moment, even on here it can be seen, & to have the whole county pulling together is essential if we are to move forward.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 13:19:55    2434228

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Keep your phones on loud and your meath gaa twitter notifications turned on this afternoon lads!!!!"
Any work on Backroom team Blackspot?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 13:22:11    2434230

Colm has it

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 25/07/2022 13:38:40    2434239

Replying To Jinxie:  "Any work on Backroom team Blackspot?"
No but the brother was on there whos involved with a ladies club team and he heard one of the backroom team from the Meath ladies set up. The Strength and conditioning guy but again he just heard this so can't confirm.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/07/2022 13:39:15    2434240

Replying To Jinxie:  "Yep very much agree. He'd be (in my opinion) the best shot at unifying the county. Theres a big split in Meath football at the moment, even on here it can be seen, & to have the whole county pulling together is essential if we are to move forward."
I agree. If the list of candidates that we have all heard is true then COR is the way to go.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/07/2022 13:42:20    2434245

Replying To Jinxie:  "Any work on Backroom team Blackspot?"
EF I'm told Jinxie

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 25/07/2022 13:44:30    2434246

Replying To Jinxie:  "Yep very much agree. He'd be (in my opinion) the best shot at unifying the county. Theres a big split in Meath football at the moment, even on here it can be seen, & to have the whole county pulling together is essential if we are to move forward."
There's a split if you are from the North of the county and ya have a chip on your shoulder and ya think world is against ya, the south of the county view meath as a whole and are happy to have a team of North meath men if they are the best players.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 25/07/2022 13:47:18    2434249

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "EF I'm told Jinxie"
Bray and Callaghan as it turns out!

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 25/07/2022 13:53:40    2434250

Replying To southmeathgael:  "There's a split if you are from the North of the county and ya have a chip on your shoulder and ya think world is against ya, the south of the county view meath as a whole and are happy to have a team of North meath men if they are the best players."
Thats a fairly foolish post in all fairness. Who exactly thinks the world is against them?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 13:54:34    2434251

Impressive if that's the case

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 13:55:01    2434252

Colm O'Rourke with Barry Callaghan and Stephen Bray as selectors!

Royalroller (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 25/07/2022 13:55:35    2434253

Replying To southmeathgael:  "There's a split if you are from the North of the county and ya have a chip on your shoulder and ya think world is against ya, the south of the county view meath as a whole and are happy to have a team of North meath men if they are the best players."
Cop yourself on, there's a split alright i don't deny that but this whole north and south meath things is horse manure. Very few on here peddling that bar you and a few others.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/07/2022 14:01:35    2434257

I've heard Stephen bray and barry Callaghan myself just now.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/07/2022 14:02:16    2434258