New Meath Manager

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "I'd say the same back to you about Andy's name seadog over the u20 ;)"
Joe I said a few posts back that all involved in u20 issue have every right to their good name, Andy, BF and Chairman, was it a missunderstanding or has one or other got some explaining to do? At this stage I doubt we will ever know. Local media seem to be steering clear of issue, however, I feel they could have done more to hold CB accountable over last fee years.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 23/07/2022 15:46:40    2433742

Replying To seadog54:  "Brian how could a man who some say let down the u20s and cast serious doubt on previous manager and Chairman even get to interview stage ? If it were the case he should have been told he could not be considered or if too late, withdraw from process or face consequences of the true facts of the u20 shambles been made public. Failure to take such a stance make it look like Chairman and/or CB have something to hide. As I said before BF is entitled to his good name until facts are made public to the contarary. I am in no way saying he is the right man for the job, a lot would depend on experience and strength of backroom team. As for players not playing for him, I think vast majority of players will at least give any new manager a chance to show what they have got before making any such decision."
The true facts are obviously not an issue for flynn.if it was I'm sure he wouldn't have bothered to put name forward.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 23/07/2022 16:45:26    2433764

Replying To Borderroyal:  "The true facts are obviously not an issue for flynn.if it was I'm sure he wouldn't have bothered to put name forward."
You don't know Bernard do you ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2022 16:50:30    2433766

Replying To Borderroyal:  "The true facts are obviously not an issue for flynn.if it was I'm sure he wouldn't have bothered to put name forward."
Thats the way I would read it. Must feel he is on solid ground.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 23/07/2022 16:52:47    2433769

Replying To royaldunne:  "You don't know Bernard do you ?"
And?

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 23/07/2022 17:48:46    2433780

Pretty much similar. I did ask about one particular candidate and was told her withdrew after interview. Why i do not know. I do know that in Westmeath the talk is that bf has it in the bag. Who or where that info is coming from or how accurate it is would be another story.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 18211 - 22/07/2022 15:41:52
" The talk in Westmeath".
What a load of tosh.
Have a bit of sense lad.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 23/07/2022 18:25:14    2433786

Replying To atta:  "Pretty much similar. I did ask about one particular candidate and was told her withdrew after interview. Why i do not know. I do know that in Westmeath the talk is that bf has it in the bag. Who or where that info is coming from or how accurate it is would be another story.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 18211 - 22/07/2022 15:41:52
" The talk in Westmeath".
What a load of tosh.
Have a bit of sense lad."
In fairness, Flynn lives in Westmeath so gossip from there is as valid (if gossip can be considered valid) as from anywhere on that particular subject.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 23/07/2022 18:33:30    2433789

Replying To Borderroyal:  "And?"
He would have no problem in putting his name forward if he was wrong. So I would not draw any conclusions from that. I say that as a friend of Bernard on both professional and personal grounds. And knowing full well that he knows exactly who I am and if he read this would know exactly who wrote. And what's more he'd agree with what I wrote. That's the type of man he is. And one of the things that made him successful in the 00s in Mullingar. I'm still 50/50 on who is right in the situation. But I do know if you say something enough when there is others been quite then that becomes the narrative. That's how it works in business

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2022 21:23:19    2433822

Replying To Crinigan:  "In fairness, Flynn lives in Westmeath so gossip from there is as valid (if gossip can be considered valid) as from anywhere on that particular subject."
Exactly. He lives on Ardmore road.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2022 21:26:25    2433824

Rumours and gossip are just that.
It is dragging on a bit now.
The whole process is becoming stale to us on the outside, in reality I would hope there is a candidate selected by now. Club championship starting now, no excuses acceptable for any further delays

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 24/07/2022 08:23:26    2433835

Replying To brian:  "Essentially Crinigan, none of us have a clue. I'm not and never have proclaimed to be in the know, unlike some on here. I would say both Joe's, seadog and Jinxie are of a pretty similar vein they wouldn't proclaim to be ITK but might hear a breadcrumb or two and share that.

The 3 man selection committee have been more tight lipped than a cavan man with his paycheck. Nothing is coming out at all about who the candidates are, who's in the running and who's not. The only thing we know for certain is BF is in as he's told the media he is and that's the only available information.

The talk of big names candidates I believe is just that and is an attempt by the committee to look like the aimed for the stars knowing it was never going to happen. Malachy O'Rourke i believe has already ruled himself out on the grounds of the travel required and Eamonn Fitzmaurice is hanging in the air and given he has a media platform could say yes or no, so who knows what his interest or level of involvement would be.

Everything else is pretty much hearsey and conjecture and open to interpretation. As i say i still think we're looking at a couple months before we hear a thing."
I actually spoke the other day with one of the 3 men that's part of the selection panel.... and let's just say I think I'd find it easier to get tactical information from the North Korean Military. Tight lipped is right.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 24/07/2022 09:25:35    2433838

Replying To Royalroller:  "I have a conspiracy theory that the new team is Bernard Flynn with Cian O'Neill and possibly Robbie Brennan, its being kept very quiet until after the AIFF. Brennan will be added to the team after the Dublin championship so as to not lose the Kilmacud dressing room."
Brennan will not take it. Also why does Cian O Neil name keep popping up on here? He is involved in an all Ireland final today

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 24/07/2022 12:22:03    2433866

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Brennan will not take it. Also why does Cian O Neil name keep popping up on here? He is involved in an all Ireland final today"
I been wondering that myself

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/07/2022 18:21:52    2433971

Replying To royaldunne:  "I been wondering that myself"
It would go some way to explaining the delay in any announcement if a manager or member of the team was involved elsewhere!

Royalroller (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 24/07/2022 19:39:16    2434016

Replying To Royalroller:  "It would go some way to explaining the delay in any announcement if a manager or member of the team was involved elsewhere!"
True.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/07/2022 07:38:19    2434086

Colm o Rourke with Eamonn FitzMaurice as his number 2.

Loyaltotheroyal1978 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 25/07/2022 07:56:38    2434089

Replying To Royalroller:  "It would go some way to explaining the delay in any announcement if a manager or member of the team was involved elsewhere!"
Jesus I dunno.
The chances of us announcing a management team of lads involved in yesterday's game is unlikely. I hope I'm wrong tho.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 25/07/2022 08:38:29    2434097

Fair play to Monaghan for setting their stall out and going after getting Jason Sherlock. According to the Irish Independant they hope to have him appointed this week if he is agreeable.

We are getting behond a joke at this stage. I certainly hope we are going to get a nice surprise some morning soon ourselves but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Donegal are also chasing down Jim McGuinness again. Surely Meath would have been an attractive job for Jason Sherlock to be interested in? Right on his door step and we are not that far off Monaghans level at the minute as they are a team slightly in decline.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 25/07/2022 09:15:38    2434104

Cian O'Neill lives and works in Cork. He only travelled up to Kildare as it was his own county and his family home is in Newbridge. Can't see him being attracted by Meath, he's enjoyed coaching the last few years with Cork and Galway.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 25/07/2022 09:33:58    2434108

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Fair play to Monaghan for setting their stall out and going after getting Jason Sherlock. According to the Irish Independant they hope to have him appointed this week if he is agreeable.

We are getting behond a joke at this stage. I certainly hope we are going to get a nice surprise some morning soon ourselves but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Donegal are also chasing down Jim McGuinness again. Surely Meath would have been an attractive job for Jason Sherlock to be interested in? Right on his door step and we are not that far off Monaghans level at the minute as they are a team slightly in decline."
Why would Jason sherlock be a good appointment for meath.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 25/07/2022 10:17:26    2434130