New Meath Manager

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll join the back room team. My info has totally dried up. Not a sausage. It would appear that there is more people who wouldn't go near the job than wants it. Apparently (and this is just my detective bit) even those who went for interviews have since asked not to be considered"
Jaysus if that's the case it's a bad look. What changed their minds I wonder.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 20/07/2022 16:48:05    2433212

Replying To Jinxie:  "Jaysus if that's the case it's a bad look. What changed their minds I wonder."
Have no idea

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2022 19:00:24    2433243

It really is worrying, the silence around the whole thing.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 21/07/2022 14:03:07    2433372

Most jobs in the economy are offering good money at the moment as workers are scarce. Are the County Board not offering enough to attract good candidates?

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 21/07/2022 14:46:47    2433384

Replying To BigJoe14:  "It really is worrying, the silence around the whole thing."
Very worrying

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2022 14:59:41    2433389

Replying To BigJoe14:  "It really is worrying, the silence around the whole thing."
Unfortunately i expected no better than this Joe. I wasn't getting overly invested in any of the narrative and think we're in for a slog yet before anything is announced. They probably still haven't completed the review of Andy's last year and recommendations never mind the succession planning. We might hear something by Christmas about someone getting the job, if we're lucky

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2022 15:02:31    2433391

Replying To brian:  "Unfortunately i expected no better than this Joe. I wasn't getting overly invested in any of the narrative and think we're in for a slog yet before anything is announced. They probably still haven't completed the review of Andy's last year and recommendations never mind the succession planning. We might hear something by Christmas about someone getting the job, if we're lucky"
I've not been following and am far from in the know. What's happened?

From what I can interpret, am I right in supposing that local candidates were interviewed a long time ago with the expectation that there was on a shortlist of candidates being interviewed, only for powers to be to then go looking further afield for maybe bigger names, all the while leaving the long ago interviewed candidates in a bit of a vacuum wondering what's going on and feeling a bit put out as to why none of them were yet selected? Would that be a fair guess?

Unless they've a very long shortlist that's being whittled down with round after round of thorough assessment, it's hard to think differently.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 21/07/2022 21:22:47    2433470

Replying To Crinigan:  "I've not been following and am far from in the know. What's happened?

From what I can interpret, am I right in supposing that local candidates were interviewed a long time ago with the expectation that there was on a shortlist of candidates being interviewed, only for powers to be to then go looking further afield for maybe bigger names, all the while leaving the long ago interviewed candidates in a bit of a vacuum wondering what's going on and feeling a bit put out as to why none of them were yet selected? Would that be a fair guess?

Unless they've a very long shortlist that's being whittled down with round after round of thorough assessment, it's hard to think differently."
Essentially Crinigan, none of us have a clue. I'm not and never have proclaimed to be in the know, unlike some on here. I would say both Joe's, seadog and Jinxie are of a pretty similar vein they wouldn't proclaim to be ITK but might hear a breadcrumb or two and share that.

The 3 man selection committee have been more tight lipped than a cavan man with his paycheck. Nothing is coming out at all about who the candidates are, who's in the running and who's not. The only thing we know for certain is BF is in as he's told the media he is and that's the only available information.

The talk of big names candidates I believe is just that and is an attempt by the committee to look like the aimed for the stars knowing it was never going to happen. Malachy O'Rourke i believe has already ruled himself out on the grounds of the travel required and Eamonn Fitzmaurice is hanging in the air and given he has a media platform could say yes or no, so who knows what his interest or level of involvement would be.

Everything else is pretty much hearsey and conjecture and open to interpretation. As i say i still think we're looking at a couple months before we hear a thing.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/07/2022 10:14:01    2433484

Replying To brian:  "Essentially Crinigan, none of us have a clue. I'm not and never have proclaimed to be in the know, unlike some on here. I would say both Joe's, seadog and Jinxie are of a pretty similar vein they wouldn't proclaim to be ITK but might hear a breadcrumb or two and share that.

The 3 man selection committee have been more tight lipped than a cavan man with his paycheck. Nothing is coming out at all about who the candidates are, who's in the running and who's not. The only thing we know for certain is BF is in as he's told the media he is and that's the only available information.

The talk of big names candidates I believe is just that and is an attempt by the committee to look like the aimed for the stars knowing it was never going to happen. Malachy O'Rourke i believe has already ruled himself out on the grounds of the travel required and Eamonn Fitzmaurice is hanging in the air and given he has a media platform could say yes or no, so who knows what his interest or level of involvement would be.

Everything else is pretty much hearsey and conjecture and open to interpretation. As i say i still think we're looking at a couple months before we hear a thing."
Goes to show what poor gaa journalists we have in the county in fairness. Too busy writing articles disrespecting smaller clubs in the county to be actually doing something useful.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 22/07/2022 12:05:51    2433516

Replying To brian:  "Essentially Crinigan, none of us have a clue. I'm not and never have proclaimed to be in the know, unlike some on here. I would say both Joe's, seadog and Jinxie are of a pretty similar vein they wouldn't proclaim to be ITK but might hear a breadcrumb or two and share that.

Everything else is pretty much hearsey and conjecture and open to interpretation. As i say i still think we're looking at a couple months before we hear a thing."
That's right brian, I'd hear bits a few weeks back but nothing at all now. At first I thought it was a good sign but in reality I think a lot of people have met with them and heard the "vision" or the supports in place and decided no.

I would hope it's not months and think it could be weeks but I think we are now in boom or bust territory, either next week we have a big name announced like EF who didn't want to comment while season was ongoing and his articles etc or we will get BF as no one else wants to deal with the CB and for BF the allure of the title is enough to stomach them.

Just imagine if we have a manager who the CB don't want (that's not hearsay they really don't want BF) who has no experience and browned off a few of the younger players already. Christ.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 22/07/2022 12:34:39    2433521

Replying To Crinigan:  "Goes to show what poor gaa journalists we have in the county in fairness. Too busy writing articles disrespecting smaller clubs in the county to be actually doing something useful."
Ah will ye stop, I assume your the one ranting on Twitter to the man how has done more in the county to highlight how poorly players and clubs are treated in recent years than any other, about how the small club from north meath (basically cavan) cant understand rules and actually believed the county board could/would bend them just to suit them? Laughable. Injuries or not that's the rules, Why you would think a player can play up and then drop down again for a final is ridiculous as that's always been the rule. but judging by your ability(or lack of) to read the article in the chronicle and what it actually highlights, I suppose the rules book would also be a step too far for yeas.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 22/07/2022 13:51:06    2433538

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "That's right brian, I'd hear bits a few weeks back but nothing at all now. At first I thought it was a good sign but in reality I think a lot of people have met with them and heard the "vision" or the supports in place and decided no.

I would hope it's not months and think it could be weeks but I think we are now in boom or bust territory, either next week we have a big name announced like EF who didn't want to comment while season was ongoing and his articles etc or we will get BF as no one else wants to deal with the CB and for BF the allure of the title is enough to stomach them.

Just imagine if we have a manager who the CB don't want (that's not hearsay they really don't want BF) who has no experience and browned off a few of the younger players already. Christ."
What involvement do CB have in these inital stages ? Have we moved past the original three man selection panel, have any names gone forward for consideration ?You say they dont want BF, again is this the three man panel or entire CB?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 22/07/2022 15:07:03    2433560

Replying To seadog54:  "What involvement do CB have in these inital stages ? Have we moved past the original three man selection panel, have any names gone forward for consideration ?You say they dont want BF, again is this the three man panel or entire CB?"
Hi Seadog54, not trying to speak for joe here I'm sure he'll respond in time, but think given what happened last year around the supposed agreement of lack of one (something we'll never know if it existed) and then Bernard's decision to abandon the U20's weeks before the championship he wouldn't have many friends on the county board. Not sure how the 3 man committee would view him, but he might their only option.

Also agree that if BF gets the job that a few of those U20's from last year might be pretty cheesed off about the appointment and be excusing themselves from the panel to "travel". Once again we're replacing those that didn't want to play for McEntee (and there were plenty) with those who don't want to play for Flynn ( and there'll be plenty of them too)

In terms of the process, none of us have a genuine clue where its at, if the 3 man committee have made a recommendation or things are still under consideration. I don't believe the county board would be involved until a recommendation is made by the 3 man committee.

If the above point that Flynn is the only current candidate and the committee and/ or county board are reluctant then he shouldn't be appointed. If that's why there's no movement then I'd forgive the county board and allow them some leeway in what they're trying to do.

This whole situation has a stench of Eamonn Barry off it. in that he was appointed for 1 year and then moved on from as soon as could be done.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/07/2022 15:29:16    2433568

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "That's right brian, I'd hear bits a few weeks back but nothing at all now. At first I thought it was a good sign but in reality I think a lot of people have met with them and heard the "vision" or the supports in place and decided no.

Just imagine if we have a manager who the CB don't want (that's not hearsay they really don't want BF) who has no experience and browned off a few of the younger players already. Christ."
Pretty much similar. I did ask about one particular candidate and was told her withdrew after interview. Why i do not know. I do know that in Westmeath the talk is that bf has it in the bag. Who or where that info is coming from or how accurate it is would be another story.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2022 15:41:52    2433570

Replying To seadog54:  "What involvement do CB have in these inital stages ? Have we moved past the original three man selection panel, have any names gone forward for consideration ?You say they dont want BF, again is this the three man panel or entire CB?"
Both

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2022 15:43:09    2433572

All true, also if it is true that John Kavanagh removed himself from the 3 man selection committee and was replaced I would wonder why that was the case. Rumour is all we are hearing but it's getting very long winded at this stage to the point where you would start to worry about where this process is at, senior club championship is upon us and others underway, I had hoped we would have our work done by now

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/07/2022 16:44:03    2433587

Replying To brian:  "Hi Seadog54, not trying to speak for joe here I'm sure he'll respond in time, but think given what happened last year around the supposed agreement of lack of one (something we'll never know if it existed) and then Bernard's decision to abandon the U20's weeks before the championship he wouldn't have many friends on the county board. Not sure how the 3 man committee would view him, but he might their only option.

Also agree that if BF gets the job that a few of those U20's from last year might be pretty cheesed off about the appointment and be excusing themselves from the panel to "travel". Once again we're replacing those that didn't want to play for McEntee (and there were plenty) with those who don't want to play for Flynn ( and there'll be plenty of them too)

In terms of the process, none of us have a genuine clue where its at, if the 3 man committee have made a recommendation or things are still under consideration. I don't believe the county board would be involved until a recommendation is made by the 3 man committee.

If the above point that Flynn is the only current candidate and the committee and/ or county board are reluctant then he shouldn't be appointed. If that's why there's no movement then I'd forgive the county board and allow them some leeway in what they're trying to do.

This whole situation has a stench of Eamonn Barry off it. in that he was appointed for 1 year and then moved on from as soon as could be done."
Brian how could a man who some say let down the u20s and cast serious doubt on previous manager and Chairman even get to interview stage ? If it were the case he should have been told he could not be considered or if too late, withdraw from process or face consequences of the true facts of the u20 shambles been made public. Failure to take such a stance make it look like Chairman and/or CB have something to hide. As I said before BF is entitled to his good name until facts are made public to the contarary. I am in no way saying he is the right man for the job, a lot would depend on experience and strength of backroom team. As for players not playing for him, I think vast majority of players will at least give any new manager a chance to show what they have got before making any such decision.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 22/07/2022 17:08:38    2433598

It's both, CB don't have much involvement yet formally but are aware but before this started BF wasn't fancied or wanted. We aren't past the panel but may be soon, 3 man panel has changed since it was announced with John dropping off.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 22/07/2022 17:31:54    2433602

I have a conspiracy theory that the new team is Bernard Flynn with Cian O'Neill and possibly Robbie Brennan, its being kept very quiet until after the AIFF. Brennan will be added to the team after the Dublin championship so as to not lose the Kilmacud dressing room.

Royalroller (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 23/07/2022 12:48:19    2433678

Replying To seadog54:  "Brian how could a man who some say let down the u20s and cast serious doubt on previous manager and Chairman even get to interview stage ? If it were the case he should have been told he could not be considered or if too late, withdraw from process or face consequences of the true facts of the u20 shambles been made public. Failure to take such a stance make it look like Chairman and/or CB have something to hide. As I said before BF is entitled to his good name until facts are made public to the contarary. I am in no way saying he is the right man for the job, a lot would depend on experience and strength of backroom team. As for players not playing for him, I think vast majority of players will at least give any new manager a chance to show what they have got before making any such decision."
I'd say the same back to you about Andy's name seadog over the u20 ;)

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 23/07/2022 14:50:18    2433717