New Meath Manager

Replying To Tinchy1:  "New sponsor is most certainly Noel Moran - don't think it's much of a secret. He's a good GAA man so I'm sure he'll provide whatever funding is needed. And I'm sure it's hoped we can attract a big name as we have the money from a big sponsor to pay. However, Eamon Fitzmaurice is definitely not in the running for the Meath job. I don't think there is anyone internally who is qualified to take this job so I'd be fine with the right outsider getting it. However the County Board are going for Barry Callaghan with Sean Kelly."
Why would Noel Moran provide money for a decent appointment if its going to be Barry Callaghan. The two things just don't add up.

There's no smoke without fire of course but I don't see Noel Moran putting a decent sized pot of money behind an internal candidate who won't be needing funds.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/07/2022 11:32:49    2430445

Replying To brian:  "Why would Noel Moran provide money for a decent appointment if its going to be Barry Callaghan. The two things just don't add up.

There's no smoke without fire of course but I don't see Noel Moran putting a decent sized pot of money behind an internal candidate who won't be needing funds."
There is no decision made on who is going to be manager, formal interviews are taking place starting Saturday. All anyone can be sure of is who is interested and who will be interviewed. Anything more certain I'd think is spoofing, of course maybe I have heard wrong info but I don't think candidates have been formally interviewed only sounded out. There are two candidates that the committee would be learning towards but as Colm found out in the past a name alone won't get you there if they don't like the plan you put forward.

Noel is putting money behind it and that's who I was alluding to but seems quite well known.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 08/07/2022 11:46:23    2430448

Replying To Tinchy1:  "New sponsor is most certainly Noel Moran - don't think it's much of a secret. He's a good GAA man so I'm sure he'll provide whatever funding is needed. And I'm sure it's hoped we can attract a big name as we have the money from a big sponsor to pay. However, Eamon Fitzmaurice is definitely not in the running for the Meath job. I don't think there is anyone internally who is qualified to take this job so I'd be fine with the right outsider getting it. However the County Board are going for Barry Callaghan with Sean Kelly."
"However the County Board are going for Barry Callaghan with Sean Kelly."

That can't be true! Are you sure you don't mean the Meath Junior team?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 08/07/2022 12:24:47    2430470

Replying To brian:  "Why would Noel Moran provide money for a decent appointment if its going to be Barry Callaghan. The two things just don't add up.

There's no smoke without fire of course but I don't see Noel Moran putting a decent sized pot of money behind an internal candidate who won't be needing funds."
Noel wants to sponsor Meath GAA - not just give money to get a manager and as I mentioned "I'm sure it's hoped we can attract a big name as we have the money from a big sponsor to pay". If Fitzmaurice said' 'yea I'll take it if you give me €100k, I'm sure Noel would give the money. However, the county board are going for Callaghan. They can't attract a big name and they'd rather go internal anyway.

Tinchy1 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 08/07/2022 12:52:01    2430479

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "There is no decision made on who is going to be manager, formal interviews are taking place starting Saturday. All anyone can be sure of is who is interested and who will be interviewed. Anything more certain I'd think is spoofing, of course maybe I have heard wrong info but I don't think candidates have been formally interviewed only sounded out. There are two candidates that the committee would be learning towards but as Colm found out in the past a name alone won't get you there if they don't like the plan you put forward.

Noel is putting money behind it and that's who I was alluding to but seems quite well known."
Interviews have started already

Tinchy1 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 08/07/2022 12:53:34    2430480

Replying To Crinigan:  "If going internal I'd give Kevin Reilly my backing in the absence of any outstanding candidates.

Young, smart, energetic and progressive (in a good way, not saying he's woke!)."
Omg this is getting worse, if this is the criteria, ie young, smart, energetic then we have an abundance of options, re those mentioning Barry Callaghan with Sean Kelly, will Kelly interview himself for that role ? Maybe Conor o Donohue as another addition to the ticket

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 08/07/2022 13:10:24    2430484

Replying To brian:  "RD who's scully?? Or did you mean Shane Supple? I'm guessing the later and that's a honest mistake there. Think he was involved in the U20 backroom team with Bernard. The huge concern I would have is that Bernard doesn't seem to have a trainer/coach of any substance on his ticket. There's no Cian O'Neill, Donie Buckley or Peter Donnelly on the ticket, but maybe that'll be resolved after they'd be appointed."
Sorry yes that's who I meant. Haven't been on in awhile got a dose of covid again

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2022 13:29:44    2430490

Replying To Jinxie:  "Shouldn't be any appointment without that absolutely critical & major detail satisfied first....

Donie Buckley is a free agent so to speak, so youd hope some of them had the sense to snap him up on their ticket if they hadnt already got a very strong candidate there.

@royaldunne - just regarding the expense issue & any concerns that the CB might have around that for EF. As I had said her previously, if he's a viable option & is willing to commit, then finance should come secondary. And even at that, I cant see how they cant be somehow imaginative about getting sponsors or some donor on board to help with this, its common place in other counties where similar has taken place.
Id be disappointed if its a thing they did got put off by finance after having 2 meetings with him & given that they identified him as their number 1 target.... That doesnt reflect well on them if they hadnt allowed for the expense. Jesus even posters on here had flagged that straight away that the logistics of getting him here would have a cost, but Id have expected that the CB would have seen that & mitigated against that in their overall projection??
And again, I'm sure there are "outside the box" ideas to help make it work against the costs. Like for example, both of our football sponsors have helicopters... Our hurling sponsor build & develop houses/apartments all over the county & beyond. So surely getting him up from Kerry to Dunganny in a timely manner & providing a room for nights he isnt travelling back should be negotiated with relative ease if they were the hurdle in place? Beyond that we are into remuneration, which again, they surely weren't expecting him to do on a charity basis.... Any top manager is going to have a cost, so I'm sure they had their eyes open when perusing that too.

BTW RD, I'm questioning the validity of anything you are saying, more questioning the noises you are hear from the CB itself if they are the concerns that they have."
I agree with you wholeheartedly. It's just what I'm hearing. But from my own perspective the funds should not be a issue

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2022 13:30:50    2430491

Replying To brian:  "God no that's not aimed at you at all joe, pretty sure I'm on record as having said i wouldn't call you a BS merchant. Like Jinxie I'd include you in that cohort of lads that can see through things and be realistic and reasoned in their views. I know we wouldn't always see eye to eye but as a poster you have my absolute respect.

On your other post A very common and real concern we all rightly have is a lack of experience with any internal set up i concur with this. I think there's a huge lack of an astute manager within the county who's tactically aware and can play with multiple ways to meet the modern game. Has any manager in the club game won a couple of senior championships since Eamonn Barry with Dunshaughlin back at the turn of the millenium?? I also think there's a lack of a coach or trainer with the ability to get the team fitter, faster, stronger and improve the basic skills of team play."
So it is me ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2022 13:35:02    2430493

Anyone any idea when will the County Board will decide on a manager or have interviews taken place yet

Royalmc (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 11/07/2022 15:10:05    2431437

I hear Colm O'Rourke is in for it now or at least open to a conversation about the job.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 11/07/2022 15:33:19    2431448

Replying To Royalmc:  "Anyone any idea when will the County Board will decide on a manager or have interviews taken place yet"
Interviews started on Saturday as far as I know, should hear something this week about who is favoured I'd guess.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 11/07/2022 15:35:34    2431450

I see on the main page Andy is up for the Antrim job. If he gets it best of luck to him with it and hopefully he's able to improve them a bit.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 11/07/2022 17:46:40    2431510

Amazing to see how quick Antrim could have got their business wrapped up & put to bed & we are still not even finished round 1 discussions & in some cases still sounding people out from what I've heard.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 12/07/2022 13:21:34    2431647

Replying To Jinxie:  "Amazing to see how quick Antrim could have got their business wrapped up & put to bed & we are still not even finished round 1 discussions & in some cases still sounding people out from what I've heard."
Jinxie, i think that's par for the course with the people running our county board. In fact I think it might've been you that flagged this when you saw who the 3 man committee was. And were there reports that Kavanagh has removed himself from the committee, so there's an open seat there.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 12/07/2022 14:06:13    2431666

Whats the urgency for an announcement? Its mid July. No announcement yet means they are doing a thorough job and not rushing into anything. Senior club championship doesnt start for 3 weeks. People would be giving out if the process was rushed. Meath fans are the biggest moaners in Ireland I reckon.

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 12/07/2022 14:43:10    2431680

Replying To Meathgaa5:  "Whats the urgency for an announcement? Its mid July. No announcement yet means they are doing a thorough job and not rushing into anything. Senior club championship doesnt start for 3 weeks. People would be giving out if the process was rushed. Meath fans are the biggest moaners in Ireland I reckon."
And sure only senior club players are all that the county management should be looking at for the county team I suppose yeah?

There was ample time to have a managment team in place for the start of Junior/Inter & Senior championships.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 12/07/2022 15:45:39    2431706

Replying To Jinxie:  "And sure only senior club players are all that the county management should be looking at for the county team I suppose yeah?

There was ample time to have a managment team in place for the start of Junior/Inter & Senior championships."
Hopefully sorted this week, good point about Junior/Inter. new management have to cast a wide net and not just focus on Senior Championship players.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 12/07/2022 16:07:41    2431715

Replying To Jinxie:  "Amazing to see how quick Antrim could have got their business wrapped up & put to bed & we are still not even finished round 1 discussions & in some cases still sounding people out from what I've heard."
It's very slow. Plus I think you may be right on them now sounding out others. Very disappointing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2022 17:38:06    2431739

And sure only senior club players are all that the county management should be looking at for the county team I suppose yeah?

There was ample time to have a managment team in place for the start of Junior/Inter & Senior championships.
Jinxie (Meath)

Hopefully sorted this week, good point about Junior/Inter. new management have to cast a wide net and not just focus on Senior Championship players.
seadog54 (Meath)

=================================================================================================

Well said lads, i think it was a bit of a blind spot for Andy in that he didn't seem overly interested in lads from Inter/Junior clubs unless they were established or coming through from underage. Think i said it often he never seemed to go out and identify a lad like Boylan did in Brian Stafford, John McDermott or Peader Byrne from the smaller clubs and who didn't play much at underage and go on to be a mainstay of teams.

Hopefully whomever gets the job and you'd hope its close to being wrapped up so they can watch all of the championships Senior, Intermediate and Junior and start the talent identification process. I don't care where a lad is from if it's Oldcastle or Clonee and what standard they have played at, so long as they're eligible and want to commit then that will be good.

And as i mentioned last week there will be some lads who will also be making themselves available again now that Andy has departed. That's not a knock on Andy, you'll never get on with everyone but it'll be interesting to see who's back involved once the new management team is in place

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 12/07/2022 17:49:36    2431741