2022 All-Ireland SFC Quarter-Finals

Replying To Rockies:  "
Replying To anotheralias:  "[quote=Rockies:  "[quote=Rockies:  "[quote=hyperache:  "Galway v Armagh
Kerry v Mayo
Dublin v Cork
Derry v Clare

Glad we didn't get the obligatory all Ulster clash, some nice games there

Galway v Armagh: Big test for both teams, Galway have come through Connaught/ Qualifiers in recent years promising so much, but have fallen flat on their face. I think they are stronger this year but I also think Armagh might be too streetwise for them. Croke Park really seemed to suit Armagh when they beat Dublin in the league, and if they get any sort of lead - expect them to be hard to peg back. Armagh by 3

Kerry v Mayo: Wasn't impressed with Mayo on Saturday, they showed great fight and spirit to come back - but we know having seen them come to Croke Park on big occasions before - they are all fight and spirit. They will need to improve big time to even trouble Kerry. Only worry for Kerry is that after coming through a very uncompetitive Munster championship, will they be vulnerable against a division 1 team? Kerry will have one eye on Dublin in the semis and complacency could be their only Achilles heel here. Kerry by 5

Dublin v Cork: Would have been nice to see Dublin get a test at this stage, an Armagh or Mayo might have been interesting but this is as one sided as they come. Cork narrowly avoided the drop in the league, watched them play Meath in Navan this year and they were a shambles. They've definitely improved since, but have benefited from a nice set of qualifier fixtures at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Would be shocked if they kept it under 12-15 points, Dublin look menacing this year. Dublin by 17

Derry v Clare: Great fixture for both teams, real underdog story. Derry were unlucky to miss out on promotion to Division 1 but proved they are every bit a division 1 team in the Ulster Championship this year. Their style is not pretty but it's effective and I think they will have too much for Clare. The Banner have been impressive, they would have been underdogs in both qualifier games but found a way through and it wouldn't be a huge shock if they did it again here. But big opportunity for Derry, a winnable Semi Final awaits them if they come through it and I think they will. Derry by 4"
Derry are the turnaround team of the decade. A few years ago, they were languishing in division 4, and lucky not to be perennial candidates for the Tailteann Cup. Hopefully that doomed competition doesn't bury teams like Cavan from even competing for Sam!"
I would include Down also. Down and Cavan, the traditional Ulster football kingpins, not even competing for Sam, denigrates the whole competition. Teams like Cork and Derry can turnaround fast, and shouldn't be hindered by Croke Park autocrats!"]Down and Cavan both played in the top level championship this year . They just didnt get a second chance to play. I'm not going to bring up the debate whether its right or wrong for div 3/4 teams to get only 1 chance.... but they did get 1 chance."]Offaly appear to be consigned to the scrap heap of Tailteann Cup, despite recently winning underage competition. Croke Park stifles green shoots from traditional counties like this."]Are you seriously suggesting that the like of Cavan, Down and Offaly should be kept out of the tailteann cup (and gain automatic entry to the qualifiers every year) just because they won a few all irelands donkeys years ago.
I suppose Cork should as well, no matter how bad they get.

There is a reality that Cork, Meath, Down, Offaly (and Derry i up p to this year) have fallen so much they are all fighting to get into the top16 in the country.
They are all at least 10 years from competing for SAM on a regular basis.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 13/06/2022 19:24:08    2424800

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Interesting to see that all the Kerry, Mayo and Galway supporters will all have to travel long distances back home to be available for work on Monday morning, while the Dublin supporters who live near Croke Park will be able to enjoy a few pints on Saturday night again."
Dare I saw it a Mayo v Kerry minor/senior double header should have been played in Limerick or even Galway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/06/2022 19:51:39    2424811

Replying To Temple56:  "Are Clare better than Donegal/Tyrone/Monaghan/Kildare? I don't think so...

Clare deserve to be in the QFs as they have qualified fairly through the current system but they are not in the top 12 teams in the country."
Any system should be open for underdog to break through. The majority of team sports has that in their Cup competitions

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 13/06/2022 19:54:06    2424814

Replying To hyperache:  "Meath haven't won a Leinster Championship since 2010, and an all Ireland since 1999, so successful on paper. But it might just be the worse Meath team for 20 years Clare beat.

League form is a definitely more relevant in football though, the top hurling teams don't seem to give a toss about it. But you can't take results literally, because if you do - this year's league and championship looks like that: Clare beat Meath who beat Cork who beat Limerick who beat Clare who lost to Meath."
Well about fifteen years ago Limerick put five goals past ye and were very unlucky to lose by a point to the Royals in a right good game in Portlaoise about ten years ago. On both occasions Meath were not as poor as they are now. I think if most teams had to face Cork or Kerry year in year out interest in football would also subside in their counties.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 13/06/2022 20:26:46    2424823

Replying To hyperache:  "Meath haven't won a Leinster Championship since 2010, and an all Ireland since 1999, so successful on paper. But it might just be the worse Meath team for 20 years Clare beat.

League form is a definitely more relevant in football though, the top hurling teams don't seem to give a toss about it. But you can't take results literally, because if you do - this year's league and championship looks like that: Clare beat Meath who beat Cork who beat Limerick who beat Clare who lost to Meath."
Well about fifteen years ago Limerick put five goals past ye and were very unlucky to lose by a point to the Royals in a right good game in Portlaoise about ten years ago. On both occasions Meath were not as poor as they are now. I think if most teams had to face Cork or Kerry year in year out interest in football would also subside in their counties.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 13/06/2022 20:27:11    2424824

Replying To hyperache:  "I think Munster is one of the weakest provinces to be honest. If you take the top 3 teams from every province, and pair them off - Munster come off worse every time.

Munster: Kerry, Cork & Clare
Leinster: Dublin, Kildare & Meath
Ulster: Armagh, Derry, Donegal. Some might argue Tyrone but just basing off this year.
Connacht: Galway, Mayo, Roscommon.

Yeah Kerry beat pretty much everyone from every province, but as do Dublin. Meath have played Cork this year and beat them well, and played Clare twice with each team winning a tight game. But Meath would probably always start as favourties.

Kildare would beat both Clare and Cork in my opinion.

Armagh, Derry or Donegal would all be big favourites against Clare or Cork.

Galway & Mayo would beat Clare or Cork and Roscommon would definitley start as favourties if they played Clare again tomorrow.

So I don't know how people can say the Munster championship is somehow the strongest just because 3 teams have made it through to the last 8. Cork beat Louth and Limerick at home to go through, and they didn't breeze past either one. While Clare have definitely earned their right to be there, they avoided the big guns enroute. The look of the draw has definitely played a role here. A bit of common sense needed from people. Statistics only tell one side of the story."
I'm the first to say Cork are struggling and have not covered themselves in glory getting where they are, but they are there. However I don't see even this Cork team being too concerned about that Meath team in Championship. Cork are probably seen as the weakest left, but they wouldn't be if Meath were there.
Roscommon to me look a side very similar to Cork in that they are a bit clueless. However even they took Galway to 3 points. Galway will not get that chance to be so profligate against Armagh.
Everybody here saying Donegal should be there and Kildare. It's as though the recent terrible performances don't matter. Cork did lose to Kerry by 10'points, but what happened to Kildare against Dublin?
It's very easy to say that Cork are poor. I'm not blind. I can see they're not the greatest. However, let's be honest. Some of the teams mentioned on here such as Kildare, Meath, Roscommon and a few more are not much better when it matters in championship. Clare certainly deserve to be seen in the same light as all of those teams. There's comments here about them pulling off shocks against Roscommon and Meath when I'd see them as peers in division 2. Especially Meath.
Clare will be quietly happy with the draw. Will they beat Derry. Maybe not, but they know them well and will prefer them to the other 3 maybe.
I'd also say Armagh will be happy with their draw. If Roscommon put 2-16 up against Galway, I'd say the Armagh attack will fancy it.
For me it's likely to be Dublin, Armagh and the two hardest to call are potentially the other two games, but I'll go with Kerry and Derry, but would not be surprised if those two were reversed. I will caveat by saying that Mayo cannot give Kerry the start they have given everybody else though, or it will be over before half time.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 13/06/2022 20:28:09    2424825

Munster clearly the strongest province.

The real question is have Kerry been putting too much stock in winning the coveted Munster title?

Is that the reason they've only won one All-Ireland in the last 15 years?

They're going all out to win Munster and then coming into the All-Ireland series battered and bruised after titanic battle after titanic battle and losing to fresher teams later on. The system really is unfair.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/06/2022 20:52:18    2424826

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The GAA have made a balls of the q final set up in Croker also.

No one from Derry or Clare will stick around to watch Dublin hockey Cork (and no one from Cork will go at all)

No one from Kerry will be there on the Sunday add not many from Mayo either. Play the Armagh crowd will be up the road as fast as lightning if they win"
Do you want them to lock the gates and force the crowd to watch the 2 games?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 13/06/2022 20:55:38    2424827

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Fixtures announced. Very unfair on Cork an evening game on a sat evening. With low accommodation it means day travel very hard for Cork supporters. No reason why game could nt be played at 4pm."
It's worse than that Mick.

It means my in-laws are staying over.

Disaster.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/06/2022 21:48:17    2424837

Replying To MesAmis:  "It's worse than that Mick.

It means my in-laws are staying over.

Disaster."
Brilliant! Ah Mesamis it's something to look forward to ha ha

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/06/2022 08:22:27    2424846

Replying To MesAmis:  "Munster clearly the strongest province.

The real question is have Kerry been putting too much stock in winning the coveted Munster title?

Is that the reason they've only won one All-Ireland in the last 15 years?

They're going all out to win Munster and then coming into the All-Ireland series battered and bruised after titanic battle after titanic battle and losing to fresher teams later on. The system really is unfair."
That's the way the cookie crumbles. Like Ulster we will grin and bear it.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/06/2022 08:30:07    2424849

Top tier: Division 1 and top 3 of Division 2.
Mid tier: 4th Division 2 to 5th Division 3.
Bottom tier: Bottom 3 of Division 3 and Division 4.

Using the above as a guide, top tier teams should be confident of provincial success. The Connacht finalists and Ulster winner back this up.
While Munster has only 1 team in the top tier, 3 are highly placed in the mid tier. This has resulted in Munster having 67% representation in the All-Ireland series and the most number of counties in the quarter-finals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7824 - 14/06/2022 09:07:17    2424858

Tough test against Armagh for Galway but Armagh won't get half the space they got against Donegal. In fairness our historically naïve defence has done well in the previous two games. Comer staying injury free which is never guaranteed could be the difference. I predict a repeat of 2001 quarter final with a 1 point win for Galway. Interestingly, we played Derry in the semi-final that same year.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 14/06/2022 09:07:58    2424859

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Fixtures announced. Very unfair on Cork an evening game on a sat evening. With low accommodation it means day travel very hard for Cork supporters. No reason why game could nt be played at 4pm."
Game is on SKY who probably tell GAA when to schedule.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 14/06/2022 09:08:28    2424860

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "
Replying To Rockies:  "[quote=anotheralias:  "[quote=Rockies:  "[quote=Rockies:  "[quote=hyperache:  "Galway v Armagh
Kerry v Mayo
Dublin v Cork
Derry v Clare

Glad we didn't get the obligatory all Ulster clash, some nice games there

Galway v Armagh: Big test for both teams, Galway have come through Connaught/ Qualifiers in recent years promising so much, but have fallen flat on their face. I think they are stronger this year but I also think Armagh might be too streetwise for them. Croke Park really seemed to suit Armagh when they beat Dublin in the league, and if they get any sort of lead - expect them to be hard to peg back. Armagh by 3

Kerry v Mayo: Wasn't impressed with Mayo on Saturday, they showed great fight and spirit to come back - but we know having seen them come to Croke Park on big occasions before - they are all fight and spirit. They will need to improve big time to even trouble Kerry. Only worry for Kerry is that after coming through a very uncompetitive Munster championship, will they be vulnerable against a division 1 team? Kerry will have one eye on Dublin in the semis and complacency could be their only Achilles heel here. Kerry by 5

Dublin v Cork: Would have been nice to see Dublin get a test at this stage, an Armagh or Mayo might have been interesting but this is as one sided as they come. Cork narrowly avoided the drop in the league, watched them play Meath in Navan this year and they were a shambles. They've definitely improved since, but have benefited from a nice set of qualifier fixtures at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Would be shocked if they kept it under 12-15 points, Dublin look menacing this year. Dublin by 17

Derry v Clare: Great fixture for both teams, real underdog story. Derry were unlucky to miss out on promotion to Division 1 but proved they are every bit a division 1 team in the Ulster Championship this year. Their style is not pretty but it's effective and I think they will have too much for Clare. The Banner have been impressive, they would have been underdogs in both qualifier games but found a way through and it wouldn't be a huge shock if they did it again here. But big opportunity for Derry, a winnable Semi Final awaits them if they come through it and I think they will. Derry by 4"
Derry are the turnaround team of the decade. A few years ago, they were languishing in division 4, and lucky not to be perennial candidates for the Tailteann Cup. Hopefully that doomed competition doesn't bury teams like Cavan from even competing for Sam!"
I would include Down also. Down and Cavan, the traditional Ulster football kingpins, not even competing for Sam, denigrates the whole competition. Teams like Cork and Derry can turnaround fast, and shouldn't be hindered by Croke Park autocrats!"]Down and Cavan both played in the top level championship this year . They just didnt get a second chance to play. I'm not going to bring up the debate whether its right or wrong for div 3/4 teams to get only 1 chance.... but they did get 1 chance."]Offaly appear to be consigned to the scrap heap of Tailteann Cup, despite recently winning underage competition. Croke Park stifles green shoots from traditional counties like this."]Are you seriously suggesting that the like of Cavan, Down and Offaly should be kept out of the tailteann cup (and gain automatic entry to the qualifiers every year) just because they won a few all irelands donkeys years ago.
I suppose Cork should as well, no matter how bad they get.

There is a reality that Cork, Meath, Down, Offaly (and Derry i up p to this year) have fallen so much they are all fighting to get into the top16 in the country.
They are all at least 10 years from competing for SAM on a regular basis."]Down won all Ireland's in 1960,61,68,91, 94… all of them more recent than Mayo. Tailteann Cup will go the way of it's predecessor Tommy Murphy Cup!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 14/06/2022 09:13:43    2424862

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yet a team that was beaten by 23 points, beat Clare at home and yet Clare beat both Meath, the second most successful county in Leinster and beat the Runners up in Connacht. If hurling is anything to go the League means absolutely nothing."
Hurling and football are different sports, fundamentally so, no point in comparing them IMO, especially given that the elite pool is much less deep in hurling. And I would definitely argue that being in Division One matters for football, given that very few counties have come from Division Two to win Sam in recent decades.

There's no way that the Munster Football Championship is competitive, either at present or historically. Kerry with their 83 wins are far out ahead of anyone else, and the last two provincial seasons have been cakewalks for them.

This is not a dig at Limerick or anyone else, in fact I would rate Limerick as one of the premier sporting counties of Ireland. But Cork definitely had a more manageable route to the quarter-finals this year than several of the other teams who ended up there, especially the other sides coming through the qualifiers. Fair play to Clare on their wins over Meath and Roscommon, but if they repeat the trick against Derry, it will be a massive shock.

To claim on that basis that Munster is the best football region in Ireland seems daft to me, or indeed on the basis of the new qualifier system allowing four teams in.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/06/2022 09:30:01    2424867

Replying To Rockies:  "Game is on SKY who probably tell GAA when to schedule."
Yes Rockies. The gaa tell us that they lose money opening croke park unless they have a certain figure but when sky are on board they compensate the gaa and call the shots. The fans are even a thought. The gaa have become a very selfish organisation.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/06/2022 09:54:24    2424875

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well about fifteen years ago Limerick put five goals past ye and were very unlucky to lose by a point to the Royals in a right good game in Portlaoise about ten years ago. On both occasions Meath were not as poor as they are now. I think if most teams had to face Cork or Kerry year in year out interest in football would also subside in their counties."
Yet if counties in Leinster put forward a similar reason why interest is waning the self-help gurus are on here telling them to stop feeling sorry for themselves and to try harder.

The reality is that there is one winner of the championship every year. That has now been made the preserve of a very small number of counties. There are a good number of counties making up the rest of the 16 who could all beat each other on any given day and the fior-gaels will latch onto it straight away telling us we have a great competition and how teams are making progress. Clare have been a solid division 2 team for a few years now, so it is no surprise that when the draw is kind they can make the last 8. But next year when it is someone else's turn the "progress" these teams are making will be forgotten about and people will clutch at the next straw.

I get that people like to see some hope for their team, but you have to be realistic. No-one is getting closer to that small group of potential winners and won't be any time soon. The best news at the weekend was the crowd size in croke park. Finally people are seeing this sham for what it is and staying away. Hard luck if your team gets to the semi-finals and finals though, as you are probably going to have to make up the shortfalls in revenue with what you'll pay for your tickets.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 14/06/2022 10:29:10    2424884

Replying To hopballref:  "Tough test against Armagh for Galway but Armagh won't get half the space they got against Donegal. In fairness our historically naïve defence has done well in the previous two games. Comer staying injury free which is never guaranteed could be the difference. I predict a repeat of 2001 quarter final with a 1 point win for Galway. Interestingly, we played Derry in the semi-final that same year."
That game against armagh in 01 was a couple of games before the quarter I think.
I remember watching it in a pub in new York surrounded by boisterous armagh fans,well, they were boisterous until Paul Clancy sent them packing.
Let's hope for more of the same on Sunday week.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 14/06/2022 10:32:32    2424886

Replying To legendzxix:  "Top tier: Division 1 and top 3 of Division 2.
Mid tier: 4th Division 2 to 5th Division 3.
Bottom tier: Bottom 3 of Division 3 and Division 4.

Using the above as a guide, top tier teams should be confident of provincial success. The Connacht finalists and Ulster winner back this up.
While Munster has only 1 team in the top tier, 3 are highly placed in the mid tier. This has resulted in Munster having 67% representation in the All-Ireland series and the most number of counties in the quarter-finals."
Ah, so now you want to re-tier things? I recall you shooting down any suggestion I had on another thread when I said that the current tiers are not fit for purpose as they are...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 14/06/2022 11:17:55    2424899