Mayo V Monaghan

Think both teams were a bit rusty but the result and hopefully no new injuries are all that matters for us. Hopefully that will bring the team on a bundle. The likes of Paddy Durcan and Cillian needed that runout and will be getting closer to full match fitness. As for Monaghan, I don't think the ref cost them. I spoke to a pal who watched it on television and apparently the big calls were all correct. A bigger problem I think was the unusually inept performance from C. McManus whe missed simple (for him) chances. Safe journey home to all at the match.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 04/06/2022 18:47:54    2422182

I've seen them given springs to mind with that penalty shout at the end…Heart attack football from Mayo again.

After a decent 1st half with 80% success at the scoring end, Mayo reverted to playing a ponderous, slow, and backwards game similar to the Galway one. Shambolic 2nd half.

Monaghan not at the races and it was actually sad to see McManus that poor…what a player he has been. Mccarron was everywhere and young Mohan is one for the future.

O Se was very good. Did a lot of donkey work. Keegan and Durkan. Coen was solid. Carney showed glimpses of what he can do but he is a midfielder and not a scorer especially with his back to goal. As for Carr, Orme and even worse Bryan Walsh…not good enough.

I think we could limp on for another round or two but we are going nowhere this year.

Aside from that there was a great crowd in Castlebar, around 17k. Safe traveling home to the Monagahan fans.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 04/06/2022 19:02:21    2422190

Replying To sponger:  "Ref got most of the decisions right and Monaghan were not that good."
He got the most important ones wrong… Why on earth was an Ulster ref in charge of this game… why not a ref from Munster or Leinster….?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 04/06/2022 19:07:53    2422192

While there is no doubting that we were denied a penalty by a referee with previous against us, Monaghan were second best in this one by some distance. Best of luck to Mayo, Ulster teams aside, I hope ye go on and win it.
It was a sad spectacle to see Mc Manus leaving the fray to be substituted and replaced by a managerial delusion that Carey is an inter County footballer. Indeed I would ask the question are any of the Scotstown lads really up for it at this stage.
Conor Mc Manus will never again don the Monaghan Jersey under this manager, I would be amazed if he does
I have one question for those that say this is a happy camp, and to any NEUTRAL visitor here.
After Monaghan were beat by Derry on Sunday 15th May, why did they not get together until Friday 20th when they supposedly "sorted things out and subsequently had two weeks good training together"??? (paraphrasing the manager here) Someone please explain why a happy camp would not want to get back on the horse on the Tuesday

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 04/06/2022 19:15:17    2422195

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "He got the most important ones wrong… Why on earth was an Ulster ref in charge of this game… why not a ref from Munster or Leinster….?"
Just watched them back and like it ornot he got them all correct!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 04/06/2022 19:33:22    2422199

Replying To ponga:  "Just watched them back and like it ornot he got them all correct!"
You would say that but it was a clear penalty…. You don't be escorted of the pitch by the guards if you got the big decisions right

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 04/06/2022 19:47:50    2422204

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You would say that but it was a clear penalty…. You don't be escorted of the pitch by the guards if you got the big decisions right"
Neither penalty claim was clearcut imo, but I think he called them correctly, Monaghan's problems today were all to do with their own performance, not that of the ref, lucky not to be beaten by more.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 04/06/2022 20:23:37    2422220

We were lucky today, dead lucky. Completely dropped off after half-time and we're very fortunate with the penalty call near the end.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/06/2022 20:25:12    2422222

Replying To achara:  "What decisions did ref get wrong? Shocking showing in that 2nd half from Monaghan, hope to god thats the end of banty. Mayo not that good but never are in the early stages of qualifiers."
Let me start by saying we were not good enough today, and got the result our performance warranted.

But that ref missed a sight of stuff, was behind the play, seemed indecisive when things were clear - and oversaw two late shouts for penalties that were, at least, contentious: the second in particular. To avoid misunderstanding, we are not talking Mansy being rugby tackled in 2013 (and that wasn't in the square) but we have all seen instances like the second shout resulting in the obvious decision.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 04/06/2022 20:37:41    2422227

The 3rd quarter was melodion altogether.

Monaghan sitting back trying waiting for Mayo to give turn overs and Mayo pissing around with the ball to avoid giving them turnovers.

In the end Monaghan only tried to win the game when there were 5 points down and their top men (McCarron, Moan) were all knackered at that point.

If they were just going to hang in the game and wait until the end they should have kept Mcmanus for the last 30min

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 04/06/2022 21:10:12    2422245

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You would say that but it was a clear penalty…. You don't be escorted of the pitch by the guards if you got the big decisions right"
Nonsense!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 04/06/2022 21:13:31    2422249

Replying To ponga:  "Nonsense!"
More like fact….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 04/06/2022 21:27:57    2422256

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Let me start by saying we were not good enough today, and got the result our performance warranted.

But that ref missed a sight of stuff, was behind the play, seemed indecisive when things were clear - and oversaw two late shouts for penalties that were, at least, contentious: the second in particular. To avoid misunderstanding, we are not talking Mansy being rugby tackled in 2013 (and that wasn't in the square) but we have all seen instances like the second shout resulting in the obvious decision."
1st 1 not even worth talking about, 2nd 1 i thought was a pen on first viewing but replays clearly showed it wasn't a penalty, he went down far too easily! Monaghan lost it on the line yet again.

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 04/06/2022 21:34:07    2422262

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The 3rd quarter was melodion altogether.

Monaghan sitting back trying waiting for Mayo to give turn overs and Mayo pissing around with the ball to avoid giving them turnovers.

In the end Monaghan only tried to win the game when there were 5 points down and their top men (McCarron, Moan) were all knackered at that point.

If they were just going to hang in the game and wait until the end they should have kept Mcmanus for the last 30min"
Spot on. O Shea made the call to kill the game 10 mins into second half when Mayo were struggling. Monaghan gave the 15 minutes to recover! Monaghan bet themselves in that period.
One strange call for the free McMaus missed before being subbed, Mohan was fouled when kicking and the ball landed inside 13 yet Cassidy placed it 45 out. A point there woyld have closed it to one. Anyway if your aunty had balls...
Did Cassidy actually signal advantage for the Monaghan penalty call?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 04/06/2022 21:44:39    2422265

Banty would want to cop on with the we was robbed line. Everyone knows that game was there for the taking yesterday in second half but we just sat back 15 behind the ball. Banty even alluded to it afterwards success in keeping mayo score down. Team yesterday was crying out for pace and youth o Hanlon Mulligan and players like that need to be brought back into the set up otherwise going nowhere for all the undoubted passion and effort.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 05/06/2022 09:15:59    2422290

Replying To yew_tree:  "I've seen them given springs to mind with that penalty shout at the end…Heart attack football from Mayo again.

After a decent 1st half with 80% success at the scoring end, Mayo reverted to playing a ponderous, slow, and backwards game similar to the Galway one. Shambolic 2nd half.

Monaghan not at the races and it was actually sad to see McManus that poor…what a player he has been. Mccarron was everywhere and young Mohan is one for the future.

O Se was very good. Did a lot of donkey work. Keegan and Durkan. Coen was solid. Carney showed glimpses of what he can do but he is a midfielder and not a scorer especially with his back to goal. As for Carr, Orme and even worse Bryan Walsh…not good enough.

I think we could limp on for another round or two but we are going nowhere this year.

Aside from that there was a great crowd in Castlebar, around 17k. Safe traveling home to the Monagahan fans."
2 points from play in the whole game ? Am I right?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 05/06/2022 10:32:39    2422316

Replying To achara:  "1st 1 not even worth talking about, 2nd 1 i thought was a pen on first viewing but replays clearly showed it wasn't a penalty, he went down far too easily! Monaghan lost it on the line yet again."
Fully agree with that. Was concerned before the game that having a ref from the same province could have seen him compromised. But in truth the only decision that could have gone either way was the last one, with Lee clumsily putting both hands on the Monaghan forward. If he didn't go down looking at the ref with his hand up and instead leaned in and left Cassidy to make his own mind up, I think it would have been given and it would have served our lads right for the mad stuff they were doing right at the end. The foot block looked like it hit the Mayo defender above the knee plus he was about 2m away. Even a giraffe was safe at that distance. McManus missing was it 3 scoreable frees was a massive let off. Both teams played dire stuff for most of the second half and were lucky they were playing each other and not a team on better form. I can't recall when Mayo last played two halves well... It's been a few years now.

McHale for Orme next week and hopefully Flynn to get back in. Our defence played well apart from the malarkey at end. Don't know if we'll have ROD back, but we could badly do with him. I'm expecting Donegal out of the hat on Monday... just seems destined.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 05/06/2022 10:44:31    2422326

For me it wasn't a penalty at the end. He went down very easily. It looked like he signalled an advantage though? He had a very bad game otherwise. It wasn't as bad as the 2020 Ulster Final though, where he done his best to give it to Donegal. That was without doubt the worst reffing performance I've ever witnessed.
Banty must take on a large amount of responsibility for living yesterday. The game was there to be won for Monaghan as Mayo were struggling in the second half.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 05/06/2022 10:50:52    2422331

Replying To Belclare:  "2 points from play in the whole game ? Am I right?"

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 05/06/2022 10:55:48    2422335

Replying To GreenandRed:  "6."
Think he meant our starting forwards G&R and 2 is correct there. We've seen this before and it doesn't matter where the scores comes as far as I'm concerned, but it certainly makes getting a result a lot of hard work:(

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 05/06/2022 11:23:59    2422346