Mayo V Monaghan

Replying To MayoDan:  "We reached the last 2 finals without those players! I would argue we did manage to replace Andy by bringing through Tommy Conroy and Ryan O'Donoghue. Looks like neither of them are available this weekend however. Cillian was in the form of his life pre Achilles injury too. I also think the addition of Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin and Mattie Ruane meant we still had more than enough pace/energy around the middle."
Clarke and Barrett were playing in 2020 and as you say, we look to be missing Ryan O'Donoghue and Tommy Conroy this weekend.

Would you pick the likes of McLoughlin or Plunkett over peak Higgins, Boyle or Vaughan? O'Hora over Barrett? Personally I wouldn't at this point in time. Paddy Durcan makes both sides though. I still think Clarke is a better keeper than Hennelly even if the latter is now worth a few points to us from placed balls.

Mullin hasn't really looked on it in the past year or so, though injuries have largely been responsible for that. Ruane has also been off the boil since the All-Ireland last year.

The run to the All-Ireland finals was helped somewhat by the knockout format, luck of the draw (e.g avoiding Kerry, drawing Tipp, Dublin having an off-year) and us having players largely based at home IMO.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/06/2022 15:06:41    2422018

Replying To Gleebo:  "Clarke and Barrett were playing in 2020 and as you say, we look to be missing Ryan O'Donoghue and Tommy Conroy this weekend.

Would you pick the likes of McLoughlin or Plunkett over peak Higgins, Boyle or Vaughan? O'Hora over Barrett? Personally I wouldn't at this point in time. Paddy Durcan makes both sides though. I still think Clarke is a better keeper than Hennelly even if the latter is now worth a few points to us from placed balls.

Mullin hasn't really looked on it in the past year or so, though injuries have largely been responsible for that. Ruane has also been off the boil since the All-Ireland last year.

The run to the All-Ireland finals was helped somewhat by the knockout format, luck of the draw (e.g avoiding Kerry, drawing Tipp, Dublin having an off-year) and us having players largely based at home IMO."
We wouldn't have beaten Dublin last year with Clarke in goals. Hennelly has made some mistakes down the years but when on form he's top class. I rate Mullin and McLaughlin very highly. They're ahead of where Vaughan, Boyle and possibly even Higgins were at that age. Ruane was man of the match in 2 consecutive connacht finals. Not something you can say about Parsons/Seamie O'Shea as good as they were.

Why did the knockout format help us exactly? The 4 teams in the semi finals last year were the same as 2019, 2017, 2015 and 2013. We avoided Kerry in 2020 because they failed to beat a mediocre Cork team. Dublin had an "off year" yet didn't lose a single league or championship game in 70 minutes.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 03/06/2022 16:09:49    2422032

Team announced:

1. Rob Hennelly - Breaffy

2. Lee Keegan - Westport

3. Oisín Mullin - Kilmaine

4. Enda Hession - Garrymore

5. Paddy Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels

6. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore

7. Eoghan McLaughlin-Eoghan MacLochlainn-Westport

8. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy

9. Matthew Ruane - Breaffy

10. Bryan Walsh - Ballintubber

11. Aiden Orme - Knockmore

12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber

13. James Carr - Ardagh

14. Jack Carney - Kilmeena

15. Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber

Subs - R Byrne, P O'Hora, R Brickenden, D McHugh, C O'Shea, Jordan Flynn, K McLoughlin, D McHale, C Loftus, J Doherty F Boland

If that team starts it'll be quite surprising. No less than 6 halfbacks in defense. Good to see Jordan Flynn make the bench, must have terrific powers of healing fair dues to him. Great too to have Rob back, although Rory did very well while he was out.

No sign of ROD, but a fairly tall set of forwards assuming they all start. Bench has Rory, 3 backs (2 of them halfbacks), 2 midfielders and 5 forwards, so apart from O'Hora being dropped into the FB line most changes will probably be up top. Jack Carney could also be rotated with Aidan.

With all of the mobility and not so many man markers I can't see the defense going man for man and it (plus the subs) suggests a lot running from deep. Some early ball into the likes of Carr and Cillian has to be part of the gameplan.

We'll see soon enough. Would have concerns if Monaghan do what Galway did on what still is a tight pitch (longer but no wider).

With ROD out I think Monaghan will have the better scorers, so how much ball they get and the quality of it will be the key factor. Hopefully we can squeeze by, but it's shaping up to be tight.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/06/2022 18:14:35    2422046

Replying To Yondu:  "It's the here and now the top two are Kerry and Dublin, the likely All-Ireland semi final whereby this years AI winner should come from.

Vish, any time Dublin or Kerry leave themselves open one on one it usually ends in an easy score for the opposition. Their strength in defending in numbers and counter attack with pace. Both have clinical forwards and when on the top of their game they are excellent in decision making and shot selection."
Ah I'm not sure that holds water, the here and now, like the top two that came down in the last shower or will come down in next shower, top one or two demands some consistency more than that imo.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 683 - 03/06/2022 18:30:17    2422049

Replying To Gleebo:  "Clarke and Barrett were playing in 2020 and as you say, we look to be missing Ryan O'Donoghue and Tommy Conroy this weekend.

The run to the All-Ireland finals was helped somewhat by the knockout format, luck of the draw (e.g avoiding Kerry, drawing Tipp, Dublin having an off-year) and us having players largely based at home IMO."
Rob Hennelly; Lee Keegan, Oisin Mullin, Enda Hession; Paddy Durcan, Stephen Coen, Eoghan McLaughlin; Aidan O'Shea, Matthew Ruane; Bryan Walsh, Aiden Orme, Diarmuid O'Connor; James Carr, Jack Carney, Cillian O'Connor.

Hopefully he starts Stephen Coen on Gary Mohan and Oisin at 6. I don't rate Brian Walsh too highly. Looks good when he has plenty of time and space but not not aggressive enough trying to get ball. Hopefully he has improved. I like Carney, glad he's starting. Aidan Orme has a bit to prove but loads of potential. He kicked it wide but I admire the way he went to kick looking for an equaliser v Galway when many teammates were shot shy on the day. Defence will be very busy trying to contain the Monaghan attack.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 03/06/2022 20:24:43    2422056

Just left this memory to the last minute!..... Being a Monaghan man married to a Mayo Lass... 'tis a significant game for both of us. Me, of course a fervent Monaghan supporter!...

Many Mayo folk will remember the famous draw/replay in '96 ( I think), all-Ire final. to cut a VERY long story short, Pat McEneaney ( Mon Ref) sent off Liam McHale in that in-famous brawl... Mayo were LIVID!...... McEnaney became despised in Mayo ( & ps; I dont agree)

In those day's, the NFL, started in Oct., just weeks after the all-Ireland...

... guess what!.... Mayo's 1st lge game was v Mon in C'bar!...... I was at it !....

The Monaghan Capt., that day was Frank McEnaney ( bro of Ref, pat)...

I was in the stand in C'bar when the Mon team took the field... I feared the worst.. a severe booing!

To my amazement, the Monaghan team got a STANDING OVATION frfom the Mayo fans!

.. as long as I live, that memory . will live with me,... thanks Mayo, but c'mon on the Farney !

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 03/06/2022 22:05:02    2422065

i feel Monaghan will get over the line today and MCmanus will have a stormer. Best of luck to ye today ye might just be meeting Mayo at the right time last year was the first time they did not perform in a final for 25 years may not be as mentally strong as other years.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 04/06/2022 11:00:48    2422073

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Monaghan are spent, the die hards know it.
Mayo by 6 to 8 points."
Not so sure about this.
We know we're not the most consistent panel, but don't confuse that with not having the capacity to spring a result here.

Mon by 4.

Hon.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 04/06/2022 11:40:58    2422092

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Just left this memory to the last minute!..... Being a Monaghan man married to a Mayo Lass... 'tis a significant game for both of us. Me, of course a fervent Monaghan supporter!...

Many Mayo folk will remember the famous draw/replay in '96 ( I think), all-Ire final. to cut a VERY long story short, Pat McEneaney ( Mon Ref) sent off Liam McHale in that in-famous brawl... Mayo were LIVID!...... McEnaney became despised in Mayo ( & ps; I dont agree)

In those day's, the NFL, started in Oct., just weeks after the all-Ireland...

... guess what!.... Mayo's 1st lge game was v Mon in C'bar!...... I was at it !....

The Monaghan Capt., that day was Frank McEnaney ( bro of Ref, pat)...

I was in the stand in C'bar when the Mon team took the field... I feared the worst.. a severe booing!

To my amazement, the Monaghan team got a STANDING OVATION frfom the Mayo fans!

.. as long as I live, that memory . will live with me,... thanks Mayo, but c'mon on the Farney !"
Speaking of refs, I forgot who's doing the game today and recalling doesn't increase my optimism. I'm pretty sure that Mayo have never played a knockout game with a Connacht ref in charge (someone correct me if I have that wrong?), but have very often faced opposition from other provinces with a ref from the same. The fact that Derry have such a strong interest in the outcome, with the potential for facing either Mayo or Monaghan (if Monaghan were to put Galway out) down the road makes it a less comfortable choice. Let's hope he has a good game and shows consistency for both sides (same level of aggression in the tackle tolerated etc).

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/06/2022 12:59:15    2422112

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "i feel Monaghan will get over the line today and MCmanus will have a stormer. Best of luck to ye today ye might just be meeting Mayo at the right time last year was the first time they did not perform in a final for 25 years may not be as mentally strong as other years."
Or Tyrone had a number on them all over the field. Green eyed monster is not pretty.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 04/06/2022 14:02:54    2422123

Replying To yew_tree:  "Are we not a big gun anymore ? ;) I'll reserve judgement on the game u too I see our actual team line up which will probably be 1 min before throw in"
Ah yew_tree I actually thought about that after I posted, no offence Mayo lads, of course ye are a big gun :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 04/06/2022 14:14:17    2422125

Replying To Pericles:  "Speaking of refs, I forgot who's doing the game today and recalling doesn't increase my optimism. I'm pretty sure that Mayo have never played a knockout game with a Connacht ref in charge (someone correct me if I have that wrong?), but have very often faced opposition from other provinces with a ref from the same. The fact that Derry have such a strong interest in the outcome, with the potential for facing either Mayo or Monaghan (if Monaghan were to put Galway out) down the road makes it a less comfortable choice. Let's hope he has a good game and shows consistency for both sides (same level of aggression in the tackle tolerated etc)."
The lads with most to worry about the ref are Dessie Ward and the Hughes boys.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 04/06/2022 15:50:33    2422135

Mayo to spring a massive surprise!

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 04/06/2022 16:46:59    2422139

Ref got most of the decisions right and Monaghan were not that good.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 04/06/2022 17:40:52    2422149

Ref!!!!! Sorrym Cassidy isn't even a good 4th
Official, a joke!!

Malstheman (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 04/06/2022 17:42:25    2422151

Fair play to Mayo ground it out will need to improve to do anything further in championship We can moan about the Ref but we weren't good enough. Think we scored two points in 25 mins in second half with the wind. Mcmanus legendary player but this season one too many for him or he'd been better off the bench. Play the young lads going forward and have a go would rather lose by 5 or 6 pts having a go than play way we did in second half.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 04/06/2022 17:51:24    2422154

Some shocking showings all over the pitch, including the ref.
A few moments aside, we weren't good enough.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 04/06/2022 17:51:40    2422155

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Some shocking showings all over the pitch, including the ref.
A few moments aside, we weren't good enough."
What decisions did ref get wrong? Shocking showing in that 2nd half from Monaghan, hope to god thats the end of banty. Mayo not that good but never are in the early stages of qualifiers.

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 04/06/2022 18:03:23    2422158

Huff and puff performance from both teams.
Monaghan too reliant on the old guard to dig them out of a hole and got exposed today, but the same
fate awaits Mayo in the latter stages off the competition this year.

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 04/06/2022 18:13:38    2422169

Replying To achara:  "What decisions did ref get wrong? Shocking showing in that 2nd half from Monaghan, hope to god thats the end of banty. Mayo not that good but never are in the early stages of qualifiers."
Like against Kildare in 2011, good start but then it went away from Monaghan.
Carey for McManus though - it's ridiculous.
Three years wasted going in circles.

Plenty for Mayo to work on going foward. Season is up and running for them now. Once you get going doors open up for serious progress.

As expetced, unfortunately for Monaghan it's ended with more of a whimper than a bang.
Time for Banty and his backroom show to move on. We need someone who has a bit of tactical know how instead of this easily figured out approach.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 04/06/2022 18:21:09    2422172