Kildare Vs Dublin - Leinster Final

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Dublin looked awesome yesterday and maybe now some people might give Dessie a break. He was on a hiding to nothing coming in after Jim but he has nt done bad. I'm not sure Dublin would have won all ireland in 2020 under Jim. A win ní g team that reaches its goal get stale a d it takes defeat to bring back hunger. Yes Dubs were poor during the league but they were missing alot of players.. Now its the championship that really matters and Dublin look so strong again. Dessie has brought in Lahiff and Lee Gannon and Costello finally showing his true worth under Dessie. Now tbf Kildare s defense looked weak but great credit has to go to Dublin and to Dessie. On Kildare in fairness to them they battled away and never threw in the towel like many teams would have."
Bigger test lie ahead Mick, i dont think anyone whose seasoned with the Dubs will be drawing conclusions based on Leinster. We've a bit to go and bigger tests. Ill give him credit, in that he seems to have learned lessons in approach and directness and changed from the possession based model, equally hes brought on the likes of Gannon and O Dell and i think Lahiff has been an unsung force so far.

We've a way to go yet and stiffer competition awaits. Dubs will get behind a building project, if they can see it and our Championship form is good, but Dessie knows the gig to and whats expected in Dublin, if we're progressing he will be backed, if he isnt getting the best and building he wont be. Heros and villians are made in 70 mins. But i will say the sounds out of the camp are a lot better then before Easter.

I said at the start of year that Dessie is where Jim Gavin was in 2015, its how you respond to that, that will prove key as it was for Jim. There is and always was talent in this team, they should be tiliting for titles, if they are not, Dubs will feel hes not getting the best out of them and that is the land any critiuqe is breed, thats the gig really and no one better then Dessie to know it. Hes doing well at the moment, he and the players are at it. But Dubs know we have bigger tests ahead and particularly bigger tests of the back line. I want to see how he responds when a team puts the snare on us and we have to break them down, will he stay direct or return to pocesssion ball.

Hes done all he can so far this championship and a day you are beating a this year Div 1 team by racking up a score North of 30 is a good day, which seems mad given we've been relegated really, goes to show. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2022 15:15:20    2420758

Replying To TheUsername:  "Bigger test lie ahead Mick, i dont think anyone whose seasoned with the Dubs will be drawing conclusions based on Leinster. We've a bit to go and bigger tests. Ill give him credit, in that he seems to have learned lessons in approach and directness and changed from the possession based model, equally hes brought on the likes of Gannon and O Dell and i think Lahiff has been an unsung force so far.

We've a way to go yet and stiffer competition awaits. Dubs will get behind a building project, if they can see it and our Championship form is good, but Dessie knows the gig to and whats expected in Dublin, if we're progressing he will be backed, if he isnt getting the best and building he wont be. Heros and villians are made in 70 mins. But i will say the sounds out of the camp are a lot better then before Easter.

I said at the start of year that Dessie is where Jim Gavin was in 2015, its how you respond to that, that will prove key as it was for Jim. There is and always was talent in this team, they should be tiliting for titles, if they are not, Dubs will feel hes not getting the best out of them and that is the land any critiuqe is breed, thats the gig really and no one better then Dessie to know it. Hes doing well at the moment, he and the players are at it. But Dubs know we have bigger tests ahead and particularly bigger tests of the back line. I want to see how he responds when a team puts the snare on us and we have to break them down, will he stay direct or return to pocesssion ball.

Hes done all he can so far this championship and a day you are beating a this year Div 1 team by racking up a score North of 30 is a good day, which seems mad given we've been relegated really, goes to show. ;)"
Yeah User I concur with your post but there are only 3 or 4 teams I believe that can win the all ireland and Dublin def one of them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 29/05/2022 16:29:55    2420787

I don't think anybody would have lived with that Dublin side yesterday. Their movement and physicality is incredible. They have made use of the enormous resources and funding that they have available to them and have pushed on even from the Gavin years. Even watching some of their warm up drills is breathtaking.

Time for the other counties in the province to pull out of the Leinster Championship. The competition is a joke, has been for 10 years and it will never get any better. People have already been voting with their feet. Attendances are apalling and it's easy to see why.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 29/05/2022 17:07:01    2420795

Replying To yew_tree:  "We poked the bear. I never believed Dublin were gone away. If the much anticipated Dublin v Kerry semi final happens this year I'd back Dublin to come out on top."
Me too. With a bit to spare.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/05/2022 17:14:21    2420796

Replying To baire:  "Get rid of the Munster and Leinster championships in football, it's a joke. Throw Kerry in with Connacht and the Dubs in with Ulster! Both counties to play all their provincial games away for the first 10 years. There is a precedent i.e. the Galway hurlers in Leinster!"
Been saying that for ages, move a couple of teams about like the hurling.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 29/05/2022 17:38:42    2420804

Dublin are serious contenders for the All Ireland title.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 29/05/2022 17:41:59    2420806

Replying To baire:  "Get rid of the Munster and Leinster championships in football, it's a joke. Throw Kerry in with Connacht and the Dubs in with Ulster! Both counties to play all their provincial games away for the first 10 years. There is a precedent i.e. the Galway hurlers in Leinster!"
I would Ulter would be delighted with your suggestion. How about the two of them into Munster or just disband the Provincials.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 29/05/2022 17:56:50    2420816

Replying To Daith:  "I don't think anybody would have lived with that Dublin side yesterday. Their movement and physicality is incredible. They have made use of the enormous resources and funding that they have available to them and have pushed on even from the Gavin years. Even watching some of their warm up drills is breathtaking.

Time for the other counties in the province to pull out of the Leinster Championship. The competition is a joke, has been for 10 years and it will never get any better. People have already been voting with their feet. Attendances are apalling and it's easy to see why."
Agreed.

Wasting people's time at money at the minute.

The gulf in resources reflect the gulf in class. The gap is not closing at all, and it's easy for people in other provinces to say it's up to Meath, Kildare, laois, Westmeath etc to get better, but Dublin would do the same in other provinces. Ala what Kerry are doing in Munster.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 29/05/2022 18:59:35    2420837

Put Dublin into Ulster and the interest in the Ulster championship would fall off, like what happened in Leinster when Dublin win the first 5 or 6 Ulster championships they compete in and the penny drops with people up there that this is the new normal.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 29/05/2022 19:53:58    2420863

Replying To Saynothing:  "Been saying that for ages, move a couple of teams about like the hurling."
Or time for an open draw

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 29/05/2022 19:54:11    2420864

Have to say a touch of class from Kildare after the game yesterday, Glen Ryan, visited the Dublin dressing room, and on behalf of the Kildare squad, made a contribution to the#Support4Drummo campaign.

Class in permanent lads, fair play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2022 21:33:39    2420904

Replying To yew_tree:  "Last years final performance was pathetic form Mayo and I wouldn't be surprised if monaghan beat us next weekend. However despite not winning Sam our performances in big games have been excellent in the past 10 years.

Kildare are not Carlow or Wicklow. Ye have a massive population, resources and cash available. Ye should be doing so much better. I'll throw Meath into that as well. Dublin are running rings around ye."
Don't forget the underage success Kildare have had in recent times also. Seriously bad gameplan and heads went down early because the 1st 20 minutes weren't approached right tactically. Yes they won the 2nd half but by that stage the game was long over.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12027 - 30/05/2022 07:50:40    2420914

Look there's not a whole lot wrong with the Ulster Championship to be fair. Any sort of restructure has to take into account that it should remain. I do fee it's workable though. You could have 2/3 Southern Conference type championships though and run them at the same time as Ulster.

We've been talking about restructuring things for years on here. The stumbling block is always Ulster. So leave it and look for other solutions. Or else as others have eluded to move the Dubs and Kerry around. We don't have a Connaght hurling ulster hurling championship of note anymore.

It really is time to act.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 30/05/2022 09:59:41    2420956

Replying To Daith:  "I don't think anybody would have lived with that Dublin side yesterday. Their movement and physicality is incredible. They have made use of the enormous resources and funding that they have available to them and have pushed on even from the Gavin years. Even watching some of their warm up drills is breathtaking.

Time for the other counties in the province to pull out of the Leinster Championship. The competition is a joke, has been for 10 years and it will never get any better. People have already been voting with their feet. Attendances are apalling and it's easy to see why."
Its hard to know if Dublin were that good or if Kildare allowed them to look that good - We'll see that later in the championship. Kildare conceded the same goal 4 times as well as being more alert to the break of the ball off the post - a more experienced back line wouldn't let that happen so easy.

Not following runners; being drawn towards the ball; leaving men free inside; ball watching. It wasn't one or two players off; it was the entire line from half forward back. We saw a complete system breakdown in the first half.

I think we should keep the faith. Systems are easier to fix than not having the players or not having the hard yards done. There were plenty of men back for the goals - we need them to do the right thing.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 292 - 30/05/2022 10:22:05    2420961

Replying To brianb:  "Its hard to know if Dublin were that good or if Kildare allowed them to look that good - We'll see that later in the championship. Kildare conceded the same goal 4 times as well as being more alert to the break of the ball off the post - a more experienced back line wouldn't let that happen so easy.

Not following runners; being drawn towards the ball; leaving men free inside; ball watching. It wasn't one or two players off; it was the entire line from half forward back. We saw a complete system breakdown in the first half.

I think we should keep the faith. Systems are easier to fix than not having the players or not having the hard yards done. There were plenty of men back for the goals - we need them to do the right thing."
Keep the faith? Sure there was no drive or intensity shown by Kildare team whatsoever, no bit of fight in the players. They're some of the most basic requirements to win anything.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 30/05/2022 13:40:22    2421078

Des Cahill was up in arms last night about how awful the Ulster Final was to watch, and how un competitive the Munster Championship is, but not a single utterance of complaint about the Leinster Final. Just that Dublin are back and it's great. An absolute joke of a competition and such a waste of everyone's time. But Cahill knows which side his bread is buttered on. Marty Morrissey falls into the same categorie. Waxing lyricals about the Dublin beating up a team by 14 points and winning 12 in a row, but moaning and groaning throughout the Ulster final, a game that was in doubt right up until the end of extra time and had a team winning there first title since 1998. I know which one I'd rather watch. RTÉ cannot hide there distain for Ulster teams.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 30/05/2022 14:02:37    2421095

Replying To Bon:  "Keep the faith? Sure there was no drive or intensity shown by Kildare team whatsoever, no bit of fight in the players. They're some of the most basic requirements to win anything."
I still think this Kildare side has the makings of a very good team. Certainly the makings of the best Kildare team in the last 20 years. I also think this management team will get the best out of them.

I didn't see a lack of drive in the team but I did see a shell shocked team not knowing what to do. A day like Sunday could set us back years if we let it. Lets remember Dublin themselves shipped 5 goals against Meath before they went on to become the best team this century. Lets take our beating; learn from it; not dwell on it for too long and move forward.

So what can we learn? 3 of the starting backs were on the team that shipped 5 goals against Meath 2 years ago. Individually they are not good enough to contain a reasonably adept forward line never mind the most potent line in the country. Until we unearth maybe 2 top man markers we'll need a defensive structure more like last year's Leinster final allied with a hard running fast breaking game feeding ball into the likes of Jimmy Hyland and Dan Flynn. That will cause all teams a lot of trouble.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 292 - 30/05/2022 14:33:48    2421114

Anyone see an attendance figure??

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1436 - 30/05/2022 17:43:29    2421232

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Anyone see an attendance figure??"
I went looking for it - seems to be a closely guarded secret!

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 292 - 31/05/2022 11:06:16    2421322

Replying To yew_tree:  "Last years final performance was pathetic form Mayo and I wouldn't be surprised if monaghan beat us next weekend. However despite not winning Sam our performances in big games have been excellent in the past 10 years.

Kildare are not Carlow or Wicklow. Ye have a massive population, resources and cash available. Ye should be doing so much better. I'll throw Meath into that as well. Dublin are running rings around ye."
yew_tree, just came on to say I regret referencing mayo with the word pathetic, while I'm here can I add I'm a hurling guru, since the game a highly respected player said about Dublin football that they have a new weapon called shock n' awe, he said their aim is to destroy their opponents on the score board in the first 15 or 20 minutes, he went on to say there is no county within 7 or 8 points at least of Dublin. Continued success to Mayo.

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 31/05/2022 11:19:49    2421326