After Andy

Replying To seadog54:  "All on the context of Meath football, no personal abuse. Its a football forum. Step back from high moral ground."
Cop on, it's a personal attack aimed at them, all the personal abuse has been linked to football but the issue is it has nothing to do with football it's personal, like what you've said.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 10/06/2022 17:08:36    2423817

2017 beat louth sligo
2019 beat offaly carlow laois clare
2020 wicklow kildare
2021 longford
2022 beat wicklow.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 10/06/2022 18:15:55    2423832

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Cop on, it's a personal attack aimed at them, all the personal abuse has been linked to football but the issue is it has nothing to do with football it's personal, like what you've said."
Your going down the rabbit hole, if thats what you want belive drive on. A lot of false outrage out there, you will have plenty of company.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 10/06/2022 18:25:41    2423833

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Cop on, it's a personal attack aimed at them, all the personal abuse has been linked to football but the issue is it has nothing to do with football it's personal, like what you've said."
Exactly.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2022 08:18:56    2423861

Replying To seadog54:  "Your going down the rabbit hole, if thats what you want belive drive on. A lot of false outrage out there, you will have plenty of company."
No rabbit hole seadog just you don't like being called out but I can live with that. Keep battling away behind the keyboard anyway

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 11/06/2022 09:49:30    2423870

Never heard such rubbish on this Forum .
Is saying a manager was poor such an awful thing Andy was a loyal meath man but that alone doesn't make you a good county manager.
Will the next man do any better who knows but going on Meath results and thats what all managers are judged on Andy McEntees time was up long ago .
I was delighted he stepped down is that such a bad thing to say ??

Royalmc (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 11/06/2022 11:37:46    2423888

Replying To Royalmc:  "Never heard such rubbish on this Forum .
Is saying a manager was poor such an awful thing Andy was a loyal meath man but that alone doesn't make you a good county manager.
Will the next man do any better who knows but going on Meath results and thats what all managers are judged on Andy McEntees time was up long ago .
I was delighted he stepped down is that such a bad thing to say ??"
Absolutely not, that's a fair comment, his time was up in the role and we badly need a new man with fresh ideas, he brought us so far and was given every chance to get to next level but obviously he isn't the man for it. No one on here is saying he was a great manager or should stay issue is with needless attacks on his character but absolutely you have to judge his results and performance of side which has been poor for the last 18-24 months

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 11/06/2022 11:43:39    2423891

Replying To Borderroyal:  "2017 beat louth sligo
2019 beat offaly carlow laois clare
2020 wicklow kildare
2021 longford
2022 beat wicklow."
Post of the year.

Nothing more to add to that. Grim. Time for some humility in the county.

We have population, good facilities and a bit of tradition. We also are in a wealthy county economically. So we have potential. But that's literally all we have.

The standard of club football is very bad and this is reflected in the standard of the county. We aren't even in top 15 I would say currently. We need a complete reset. Might be time to set up a think tank type weekend conference where open ideas are discussed and debated. I think it's time to run the county like a company, take it out of the hands of the county board and club delegates, who clearly aren't up to it. Won't happen though.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 11/06/2022 13:44:47    2423911

Replying To Royalmc:  "Never heard such rubbish on this Forum .
I was delighted he stepped down is that such a bad thing to say ??"
No. But is threatening and abusive messages by faceless cowards on internet ok ? Also the dopes who sent threatening letters to his home , is that ok? Abusing his family members is that ok ? Telling lies about our former captain that cb paid for his flights is that ok ??
Just wondering where a guy with 9 posts draws the line on what is acceptable critique and what is downright lowlifes having a pop at someone whose done more for Meath football than any of these clowns could ever dream of

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2022 15:35:06    2423927

Replying To Crinigan:  "Post of the year.

We have population, good facilities and a bit of tradition. We also are in a wealthy county economically. So we have potential. But that's literally all we have.

The standard of club football is very bad and this is reflected in the standard of the county. We aren't even in top 15 I would say currently. We need a complete reset. Might be time to set up a think tank type weekend conference where open ideas are discussed and debated. I think it's time to run the county like a company, take it out of the hands of the county board and club delegates, who clearly aren't up to it. Won't happen though."
I'll agree on club championship. Standards are One of the worst in country.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2022 18:59:09    2424003

Replying To royaldunne:  "No. But is threatening and abusive messages by faceless cowards on internet ok ? Also the dopes who sent threatening letters to his home , is that ok? Abusing his family members is that ok ? Telling lies about our former captain that cb paid for his flights is that ok ??
Just wondering where a guy with 9 posts draws the line on what is acceptable critique and what is downright lowlifes having a pop at someone whose done more for Meath football than any of these clowns could ever dream of"
So you now need 18000 posts to have an opinion on here ??
On my 9 posts where did I say any abuse is ok ???
There's low lifes everywhere but I've no doubt a very small number would stoop as low as to send treating letters to any man if this happened the guards should have been called .
Abuse of his family is not acceptable and gossip as regards paid trips home is loose talk by a small number and more than likely not even gaa supporters.
When you have social media this is always going to happen shouldn't but it will sadly .
The only thing I will say is we shouldn't let a very small minority of low lifes distract from what has been a very poor few years for meath football under Andy McEntee.
And by the way I lost my last password and username so it was easier to set up a new account

Royalmc (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 11/06/2022 20:39:31    2424047

Replying To Royalmc:  "So you now need 18000 posts to have an opinion on here ??
There's low lifes everywhere but I've no doubt a very small number would stoop as low as to send treating letters to any man if this happened the guards should have been called .
Abuse of his family is not acceptable and gossip as regards paid trips home is loose talk by a small number and more than likely not even gaa supporters.
When you have social media this is always going to happen shouldn't but it will sadly .
The only thing I will say is we shouldn't let a very small minority of low lifes distract from what has been a very poor few years for meath football under Andy McEntee.
And by the way I lost my last password and username so it was easier to set up a new account"
Well fair play to you you defended you position very well. I suggest you had nothing to defend anyway. i do find it " amusing " that your number of posts should even be mentioned or a factor at all. Now when i think about it i think 9 posts that could be fresh new thinking great thats whats needed now. Then the bubble bursts you were here before. who cares ? Anyway i agree with your views re the abuse not being acceptable etc. I like the way you brought the real issue back into focus by stating the obvious Some things just cant be defended ! Then who was it that said "common sense is not so common" ?

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 11/06/2022 21:23:20    2424074

Replying To royaldunne:  "No. But is threatening and abusive messages by faceless cowards on internet ok ? Also the dopes who sent threatening letters to his home , is that ok? Abusing his family members is that ok ? Telling lies about our former captain that cb paid for his flights is that ok ??
Just wondering where a guy with 9 posts draws the line on what is acceptable critique and what is downright lowlifes having a pop at someone whose done more for Meath football than any of these clowns could ever dream of"
The first 2 lines i completely agree with you . Your next 2 line i would call total bulls..t

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 11/06/2022 21:43:07    2424091

Replying To Royalmc:  "So you now need 18000 posts to have an opinion on here ??
And by the way I lost my last password and username so it was easier to set up a new account"
Can someone send me to site where the abuse is,cause im lost on it.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 12/06/2022 13:45:23    2424192

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll agree on club championship. Standards are One of the worst in country."
Go to many games in other 31 counties?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 12/06/2022 15:02:45    2424211

Replying To seadog54:  "Go to many games in other 31 counties?"
Meath clubs record in Leinster club championship would be all the proof needed as we rarely can compete with club champions from other counties.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 12/06/2022 15:38:50    2424232

Colm O Rourke pointing out what many on here have said for the last 18 months, the level of abuse from certain nameless Meath fans online would be a strong factor in why he would not take the Meath job (among other aspects). I suspect the carry on by some fans on twitter and here to a lesser degree would cause many to think again before giving up their time and energy.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 12/06/2022 15:41:33    2424233

Replying To Crinigan:  "Post of the year.

The standard of club football is very bad and this is reflected in the standard of the county. We aren't even in top 15 I would say currently. We need a complete reset. Might be time to set up a think tank type weekend conference where open ideas are discussed and debated. I think it's time to run the county like a company, take it out of the hands of the county board and club delegates, who clearly aren't up to it. Won't happen though."
Time for regional teams to improve standards across the board? Give some players a chance to prove themselves and improve by playing with better footballers from neighbouring parishes, competing against the better teams in the county.
Also an incentive to push on within their own club team to try make the regional team.

Can see why bigger clubs pushing for championship honours would be against it but it would also help stop transfers from struggling clubs. And if you want to be the best, you have to beat the best!

Thebantersauras (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 13/06/2022 09:45:50    2424458

Replying To seadog54:  "Go to many games in other 31 counties?"
Actually not that many county's. Been at a few dubs ones, Offaly, Longford and vast majority of Westmeath ones. And they better by some distance. You should check them out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2022 18:07:52    2424780

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Meath clubs record in Leinster club championship would be all the proof needed as we rarely can compete with club champions from other counties."
Kilcoo from Down, Corofin from Galway have been the two outstanding club teams over past number of years , is there significance in this witg regard to their county teams

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 13/06/2022 19:33:44    2424804