After Andy

Hope the CB move quickly to appoint the best available and not leave it to the last minute like when they appointed Banty. Cost us a fortune and left us further back. If MOR is interested I'd go for him. He has a very god track-record and always presented himself well in public and seemed to be very composed under pressure when with Monaghan. It will be interesting to see how Davy Byrne does with Skryne. He might be a good candidate next time, considering his experience with Dublin under Jim Gavin.

aghref (Meath) - Posts: 148 - 07/06/2022 13:17:24    2423004

Replying To brian:  "Looked first and foremost I want to thank Andy for what he did over the last six year. I know people think i'm not a fan of his and things couldn't be further from the truth. I hope my points over the years have been about what we saw in the field and never anything personal. What I have seen over the past 18 hours or so with his son and daughter coming out and having to defend him on social media and about some of the abuse that was sent to their home is sickening. Essentially i know he's a good man at heart and did what he thought was best for Meath football and wasn't trying to harm the county.

In years 1 - 3 I applaud him for what he did in restoring pride into the Meath jersey, bringing a bit of identity back to the team, improving the level's of fitness and strength but I think it started sliding from the Leinster final in 2019 and that game broke something within the squad which still hasn't been repaired. The 2020 league campaign and several big beatings further depleted the belief within the team and i think they played a game with a lot of bodies back and it hasn't been properly structured or implemented.

Versus Clare on Saturday they idea was as many back as possible and block up the central corridor but teams were able to find space or an out ball as we didn't come out. There were a lot of guys just marking space and not getting tight to anyone, in the Dublin game Dublin popped points for fun as they had no pressure on them. When the team started performing on Saturday and turning over the ball after 20 minutes most of the time they had nobody up the pitch. On several occasions Thomas O'Reilly had the ball on the 45 and looked up and had no out ball, he had to solo to midfield and hope lads got ahead of him to play a ball too. The idea of 15 men back just doesn't work because there's no way of breaking out.

I think Andy was almost so afraid to lose this season that this team was set up in a way to not lose and had no idea of how to win games that were there for the winning.

Looked I'm not sure what the next steps will be and who will be the next person in.

Internally
Colm O'Rourke - i think is no longer suitable for the role. I think he struggles with the modern game and will be out thought by the better managers of today. I also don't think he'd go for the role so it's a non runner.

o'Bric/ McCarthy - allow them to work with their underage teams, there's a system there, let it develop. Maybe bring in McCarthy in 2024 as part of the backroom team and O'Bric in 2025 if tat's what they want to do.

Farrell/Reilly - As someone else said we could be in a worse position doing this. I know they've won senior and intermediate titles, but doing it at intercounty level is a whole different thing. They could be very much out of their depth and we'd waste more time. I'd be happy to see them involved with a ticket and developing.

Robbie Brennan - was involved with john McCarthy and the U20's this year and i dunno how much input he had but

McDermott - Is he the hot name after bringing Tones from almost nowhere to a county title, if he could replicate things with them this year then he's a live contender.

Lar Wall - couldn't get Kells over the line in the championship so is he really going to do it for Meath

Anthony Moyles - hasn't really any pedigree at club level and would he give up his media gig and columns

Externally
Jim Gavin/ Jimmy McGuinness/ Eamonn Fitzmaurice - pie in the sky, there's no way they'd take the job. The first two don't need any more involvement in the GAA. Fitzmaurice isn't going to travel up from Kerry 3-4 times a week

Mick Deegan/ Paul Curran/ Paul Clarke/ Declan D'Arcy/Jason Sherlock - I know many won't want a Dub but these guys have worked with Jim Gavin. Clarke managed the second team to o'byrne cups so why not see if they 're interested in coming on board. Curran has managed Ballymun to county titles and and helped bring Thomas davis back to relevance. He's working with Dunshaughlin so Navan/ Dunganny isn;t that much further ;)

Davy Burke - very good mind for the game, worked across multiple counties and is highly regarded. This might be your candidate.

Malachy O'Rourke - is the outstanding candidate for the position. If he's interested and i hope the county board are already sounding him out then this should be a very short race. He got Fermanagh to Ulster finals, won Ulster with Monaghan and would stabalise the team immediately. Has managed at the very highest level and kept Mongahan in the top 7-8 teams in the country operating with about 1/3 of the population of Meath. He plays a decent brand of football but coming from Ulster could help us both defensively and with our biggest issue, breaking the blanket defence and packed area's which we simply are unable to deal with. Monaghan as a team were always supremely fit, well conditioned and strong. This has tailed off in Meath and needs to be addressed.

I think we're in for a couple of months of speculation and a lot of moans and groans, and i wouldn't bet with anyone elses money never mind my own on who'll get the job."
Excellent summary of the candidates here Brian. Seems clear an external is the obvious(only) choice but as you say, predict it at your peril.

If I had a magic wand I would go MOR with davy Burke on the ticket along side Kevin Reilly and Farrell.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 07/06/2022 13:35:02    2423020

Replying To hyperache:  "I think first of all, any criticism towards Andy McEntee should be based on what we saw on the field, leave him and his family out of it. He took over Meath at a difficult time and genuinely restored a bit of hope and optimism by taking us back to Division 1 and getting to the Super 8s - but it unfortunately has all been downhill since then. But criticism comes with the territory and when you see people like Rory Stories coming out telling us you can't say a bad word about him because "he was passionate" - give it a rest Rory. People are entitled to their opinions, and the quality of football has not been good enough. He's had 6 years, and in any walk of life - if you're not performing, expect people to call you out.

We've been beaten by every big game we've virtually played, and the last year or two the players look completely void of ideas. Saturday was just peak, the full back was taking the penalty and the goalkeeper taking the frees.. We had virtually every player behind the ball at times, so when we broke there was absolutely nobody to play it in to and the basic errors were staggering. A few hail mary balls aimed at absolutely nobody, sat in the stand in Ennis embarrassed again.

We have absolutely no plan, no intensity and some of the players out there should not be on the panel. I don't want to be harsh on players, but the Wallace's, Brian McMahon, shouldn't be anywhere near that team. Just because they play for Ratoath doesn't mean they're good enough. It's disheartening, when that's all we have to bring on to try and change a game. Jordan Morris will surely be off to Cavan, he looks like he doesn't care and Cillian O'Sullivan looks so far off the pace. We have no forwards at all. Are we just not picking the best players? Because if we are then we are truly in trouble. is the likes of Robin Clarke better than any other corner back in the county? Just think if you play for Ratoath or Dunboyne, you get a chance for that reason. The players have to take some responsibility too, very few of them have come out of the last couple of years with any credit at all.

The new manager coming in has a big big job ahead of him. Certainly potential there but Meath football has completely lost its identity over the last 10/15 years and I'm not sure how we change that. Not sure who that's going to be, Malachy O'Rourke would certainly restore a bit of stability and probably put us in the right direction. Think you can forget about Jim McGuinness, Colm O'Rourke is obviously not going to be considered, he's been critical of the county board before and just don't see him wanting it anymore. Some kind of Bernard Flynn, Geraghty, Giles etc.. management team you could see happening. Hope they get it right."
Did you watch the game at the weekend? It wasn't until joey wallace came on that meath got back into the game. Next thing you will be saying is we need a new keeper....

rubia (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 07/06/2022 13:36:20    2423022

Replying To MillerX:  "So Andy McEntee has resigned. Not surprised really. He was up against it since the County Executive voted no confidence in him only to be 'saved' by the club delegates. Now I believe the 'saving' vote of the delegates came about for a variety of reasons. Among those reasons were that some still believed in Andy McEntee while others did not like the utterly clumsy and far too late effort by the Executive to dislodge him.

At this stage I would now wish Andy well in whatever role he chooses within the game and to thank him for his efforts. Sure he made mistakes and so does everyone who attempts anything in life BUT it was not all doom and gloom and probably over achieved a little in getting the team promoted to Division 1 and reaching the Super 8s for one season and was literally within seconds of beating Tyrone in a good old fashioned, rip-roaring contest in Navan in normal time and was in contention throughout the entire extra time, unluckily not getting a free at the very end that day.

However what is NOT ACCEPTABLE is the abuse (much of it downright lies) being directed at him and his son since yesterday evening's announcement by some really disgusting keyboard warriors. Shame on those cowards."
Here here. Look at some of the rubbish directed at both of them on here. Probably same dopes who were sending letters to their home. Utter utter lowlifes.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2022 13:38:23    2423024

The "we love you Andy" reaction from some ex Players and journalistic quarters on Twitter in the past 24 hours is pretty hard to swallow - after the event! Where was this undying love and support before Andy left the post?

The personal attacks outlined in Shane's tweet are as grotesque as they are predictable by people who clearly have their own issues.

Mark Poland and Marty Clarke are the most coveted young coaches in Ulster aside from Peter Donnelly who is unattainable. They convinced Sean Boylan to be part of their Ulster winning backroom team last year. Down seem to be sticking with McCartan for another year at least - it's not unimaginable, however very unlikely!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 07/06/2022 13:45:10    2423026

Replying To bert09:  "There's only one man that can change Meaths fortunes and that man is Gerry McEntee."
;-)

I see where your going here... Any idea who he should have as selectors?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 07/06/2022 13:52:13    2423031

Disgusting lies and threats been made towards Mcentee family. Shows the level of some people, the lies we have seen on here with the agenda drivers over past few years show why no one in county wants this job.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2022 13:56:17    2423036

Replying To aghref:  "Hope the CB move quickly to appoint the best available and not leave it to the last minute like when they appointed Banty. Cost us a fortune and left us further back. If MOR is interested I'd go for him. He has a very god track-record and always presented himself well in public and seemed to be very composed under pressure when with Monaghan. It will be interesting to see how Davy Byrne does with Skryne. He might be a good candidate next time, considering his experience with Dublin under Jim Gavin."
As you say its important to move process along quickly. Stepping aside came as no surprise, so hopefully things already in motion. MOR will be in demand, so if we drag our heels that option will be gone. Would be good to see a long term succession plan in place, however that may come down to new man being open to such a move, interesting times ahead.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 07/06/2022 13:59:56    2423038

Replying To aghref:  "Hope the CB move quickly to appoint the best available and not leave it to the last minute like when they appointed Banty. Cost us a fortune and left us further back. If MOR is interested I'd go for him. He has a very god track-record and always presented himself well in public and seemed to be very composed under pressure when with Monaghan. It will be interesting to see how Davy Byrne does with Skryne. He might be a good candidate next time, considering his experience with Dublin under Jim Gavin."
Im not contradicting anyone here, but i would be suggesting that some sort of assessment is done before any appointment. There is a strong argument that the next 3-5 years is a rebuilding Job needed, not least on the panel, but on Who we are, and the Connection between the Senior County Football Team and the People of the Country . I too have looked at some of the comments posted about the abuse that Andy and his family received, and if anyone is surprised by this, they are living in LALA land . There are loads of idiots out there
I would suggest , without the benefit of the Review & a 5-7 Year Plan...that first and foremost we need a Personality & Character that will by & large unite the County . This Person , wont see Silver-wear in their tenure...and the CB & People ta large has to accept this
Their Job will be to bring all the various parts and parties to the Meath Senior Football back together as one. That includes the CB, the Clubs, (and i mean ALL the Clubs) , The current Players who are of a mind to walk away, the Development Mangers at 20, minor & below ...AND...the various Coaches & Development Officers within the County.
This , can i add...should not typically be part of the Job of the Meath Senior Football Manager...But in the absence of anyone else taking this function at an Executive level in the CB...I think it has to be the cornerstone of the Specification for the next Guy...If this Guy..does his Job right...and its a massive task...THEN..the next person in after him , can be a MOR or someone else who can take the Football aspects to another level
If anyone wants a reference to what is wrong.....and how to fix it...google Manchester United....they have had many a really good manager in to try & Fix the issues...but they were fixing the wrong problem

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 07/06/2022 14:14:30    2423043

Replying To royaldunne:  "Disgusting lies and threats been made towards Mcentee family. Shows the level of some people, the lies we have seen on here with the agenda drivers over past few years show why no one in county wants this job."
RD, whilst i agree with the sentiment of your post you're kind of jumping the shark there in closing it out.

Looked there's idiots in every county who will do stuff like this, even Boylan got it in his day. But the best way to respond to that stuff is not to give it air at all. You can be sure most of those people weren't even in Ennis on Saturday, they don't deserve the responses.

The focus should always be on those people like yourself who follow the team all over the country, in the depths of winter, to unfashionable venue's in the cold, wet and pouring rain. That's what should always matter to the players, the management and backroom staff. they play for people like that.

On the last thing you say unfortunately that's modern management, you have to deal with keyboard warriors who hide behind fake names, twitter accounts etc. Anonymity allows this type of vile and despicable behaviour. If you put yourself forward for such a position you have to accept the praise but beware that a pat on the back is only 6 inches from a push out the door.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/06/2022 14:17:32    2423045

people must be ill in this county for threats been made towards Mcentee family...like its only football for **** sake!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 07/06/2022 15:02:01    2423073

Replying To royaldunne:  "Here here. Look at some of the rubbish directed at both of them on here. Probably same dopes who were sending letters to their home. Utter utter lowlifes."
Of course you've never criticized Mick O'Dowd in your life RD!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 07/06/2022 15:23:18    2423092

Replying To Crinigan:  "Of course you've never criticized Mick O'Dowd in your life RD!"
TBF Crinigan, i don't think RD ever criticised the man, he criticised the manager and he had a point for the most part.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/06/2022 15:39:46    2423105

First of all, want to say thanks to Andy and his management team for giving it their all for the county this last six years.While things started well there is no doubt we have been sliding the last three years or so.I have read Shane paid for his own flights back home and changed them so he could get an extra session or 2 in.No matter whether you think he should be starting or on the bench or not in the squad at all that is some commitment to the county and the sort of attitude that is needed and should be applauded in my opinion.On the personal abuse unfortunately there are trolls and horrible people everywhere hiding behind keyboards.Im not going to lie I have giving out about him and criticise him about the way the team plays but just football criticism which I believe I should be allowed to do.It should never go personal.Andy has done is best and is a passionate Meath man it's a pity it didnt work out in the end.Where do we go from here?Yes MOR would seem to be the popular choice nut I dont see the county board spending big.Navan badly needs to be done up?Underage teams need more money pumped into them.Now that Andy's gone is Devonish gone?I could be wrong open to correction on that.If so we need a new sponsor will we be in a good bargaining position?So sillbthey go with the cheaper option inside the county?I have heard people say Farrell,Reilly, Flynn,Giles and moyles etc but none have inter county success.Is that the be all and and all? I dont know if it is.Cathal o bric probably should be top of the inside county option.I know it's a big step up from minor but he won an all ireland something we haven't done in years,he knows most of the young lads coming through knows what makes them click and what doesn't.I think he knows the game and leaves no stone unturned (management team as well,)If mot think it would be wise to have him part of the ticket.Alot of questions and if and buts there I know but really need to get this right.MOR is probably best option and would be good to get him but I dont see the county board going for him.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 07/06/2022 16:42:37    2423139

Replying To brian:  "Looked first and foremost I want to thank Andy for what he did over the last six year. I know people think i'm not a fan of his and things couldn't be further from the truth. I hope my points over the years have been about what we saw in the field and never anything personal. What I have seen over the past 18 hours or so with his son and daughter coming out and having to defend him on social media and about some of the abuse that was sent to their home is sickening. Essentially i know he's a good man at heart and did what he thought was best for Meath football and wasn't trying to harm the county.

In years 1 - 3 I applaud him for what he did in restoring pride into the Meath jersey, bringing a bit of identity back to the team, improving the level's of fitness and strength but I think it started sliding from the Leinster final in 2019 and that game broke something within the squad which still hasn't been repaired. The 2020 league campaign and several big beatings further depleted the belief within the team and i think they played a game with a lot of bodies back and it hasn't been properly structured or implemented.

Versus Clare on Saturday they idea was as many back as possible and block up the central corridor but teams were able to find space or an out ball as we didn't come out. There were a lot of guys just marking space and not getting tight to anyone, in the Dublin game Dublin popped points for fun as they had no pressure on them. When the team started performing on Saturday and turning over the ball after 20 minutes most of the time they had nobody up the pitch. On several occasions Thomas O'Reilly had the ball on the 45 and looked up and had no out ball, he had to solo to midfield and hope lads got ahead of him to play a ball too. The idea of 15 men back just doesn't work because there's no way of breaking out.

I think Andy was almost so afraid to lose this season that this team was set up in a way to not lose and had no idea of how to win games that were there for the winning.

Looked I'm not sure what the next steps will be and who will be the next person in.

Internally
Colm O'Rourke - i think is no longer suitable for the role. I think he struggles with the modern game and will be out thought by the better managers of today. I also don't think he'd go for the role so it's a non runner.

o'Bric/ McCarthy - allow them to work with their underage teams, there's a system there, let it develop. Maybe bring in McCarthy in 2024 as part of the backroom team and O'Bric in 2025 if tat's what they want to do.

Farrell/Reilly - As someone else said we could be in a worse position doing this. I know they've won senior and intermediate titles, but doing it at intercounty level is a whole different thing. They could be very much out of their depth and we'd waste more time. I'd be happy to see them involved with a ticket and developing.

Robbie Brennan - was involved with john McCarthy and the U20's this year and i dunno how much input he had but

McDermott - Is he the hot name after bringing Tones from almost nowhere to a county title, if he could replicate things with them this year then he's a live contender.

Lar Wall - couldn't get Kells over the line in the championship so is he really going to do it for Meath

Anthony Moyles - hasn't really any pedigree at club level and would he give up his media gig and columns

Externally
Jim Gavin/ Jimmy McGuinness/ Eamonn Fitzmaurice - pie in the sky, there's no way they'd take the job. The first two don't need any more involvement in the GAA. Fitzmaurice isn't going to travel up from Kerry 3-4 times a week

Mick Deegan/ Paul Curran/ Paul Clarke/ Declan D'Arcy/Jason Sherlock - I know many won't want a Dub but these guys have worked with Jim Gavin. Clarke managed the second team to o'byrne cups so why not see if they 're interested in coming on board. Curran has managed Ballymun to county titles and and helped bring Thomas davis back to relevance. He's working with Dunshaughlin so Navan/ Dunganny isn;t that much further ;)

Davy Burke - very good mind for the game, worked across multiple counties and is highly regarded. This might be your candidate.

Malachy O'Rourke - is the outstanding candidate for the position. If he's interested and i hope the county board are already sounding him out then this should be a very short race. He got Fermanagh to Ulster finals, won Ulster with Monaghan and would stabalise the team immediately. Has managed at the very highest level and kept Mongahan in the top 7-8 teams in the country operating with about 1/3 of the population of Meath. He plays a decent brand of football but coming from Ulster could help us both defensively and with our biggest issue, breaking the blanket defence and packed area's which we simply are unable to deal with. Monaghan as a team were always supremely fit, well conditioned and strong. This has tailed off in Meath and needs to be addressed.

I think we're in for a couple of months of speculation and a lot of moans and groans, and i wouldn't bet with anyone elses money never mind my own on who'll get the job."
I believe Colm O Rourke is highly respected for his analytical powers for the modern game and fully up to speed in all aspects of the role I believe all the top managers would listen to what he has to say. I dont see any of them outwitting him in the role. He or anyone else would not be 100% made to measure for taking things forward from where we are at. Having said that i think the dogs in the street know he will not be a candidate for the role of manager. However, I do believe Colm should be used as a valuable resource in the selection process for the new manager. I cannot think of a better equipped person to occupy an advisory role for the CB. Maybe as suggested here he may have stood on a few toes in the past .If he did i am confident it was not at the expense of Meath football or its future.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 07/06/2022 17:47:37    2423156

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "That's that, Andy gone as was inevitable. He dedicated every bit of himself to it was 100% committed at all times. I think it's clear to see from current and former players (including ones that some on here have said he fell out) supporting Andy amid the abuse that he never lost the panel and his man management wasn't an issue. I think in the end his brand of football was limited and lacked spark to keep it going once. Two things can be true, Andy was incredibly dedicated to Meath football and the players played for him but unfortunately he has very limited in some aspects tactically and was unable to solve some of the glaring issues like free taking or GK.

A new man needs to be appointed asap, Malachy o rourke ticks all boxes but I would think the CB will keep it internal and go for a combo of ex players led by Brian Farrell as it was rumoured he was the one to take over last year if they get Andy out. Personally If they go down that line with Farrell and the Reilly's etc I think hindsight will be kind to Andy."
A excellent post. And does prove what I had said and heard that the players were totally dedicated to Andy. I'd also agree in hindsight that his brand of football was limited, I guess if it was him or the best out of the players we will learn going forward

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2022 19:42:47    2423195

On reflection on matters and matters arising I suggest the CB should consider using some home grown "consultants or experts" to assist in taking stock, and planning the way forward from here. I believe both these people would be well capable ,respected. and qualified to lead the the process of selection for the role of manager. In my view those 2 people should be Colm O Rourke and Sean Boylan. I suggest that this should be done before anything else .

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 07/06/2022 19:48:11    2423196

Replying To stillaroyal:  "I totally agree with this. Lots of talk about the Banty debacle but was it really much worse than Mick O'Dowd's or Andy McEntee's reigns?

You would need a really in depth analysis of players, fixtures, injuries etc to really compare each of these. The one big mistake made was Mick O'Dowd dispensing with Joe Sheridan and Cian Ward early on.

Besides that, based on my memory, I would put all three at a similar level overall and each behind Eamonn O'Brien who was badly treated."
In fairness Eamonn O'Brien had the likes of Joe Sheridan/ Stephen Bray/ Brian Farrell/ Cian Ward/ Shane O'Rourke available to play in the forwards (I even remember at the time people were saying Geraghty wanted to comeback but O'Brien felt he didn't need him so did not ask him back), the level of talent O'Brien had at his disposal was of a different level. Even MOD had some of the above forwards plus the likes of Mickey Newman at his best.
Truth is for some reason over the years the the standard of forwards we are producing just seems to be dropping off as time goes by.
To be fair to Andy any comparison of his time as manager has to also take into account the standard of players available, the fact that he got us to Division 1 for the first time in years (backed up by getting to super 8s) and how good Dublin actually were while Andy was with us.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 07/06/2022 19:51:15    2423198

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "Im not contradicting anyone here, but i would be suggesting that some sort of assessment is done before any appointment. There is a strong argument that the next 3-5 years is a rebuilding Job needed, not least on the panel, but on Who we are, and the Connection between the Senior County Football Team and the People of the Country . I too have looked at some of the comments posted about the abuse that Andy and his family received, and if anyone is surprised by this, they are living in LALA land . There are loads of idiots out there
I would suggest , without the benefit of the Review & a 5-7 Year Plan...that first and foremost we need a Personality & Character that will by & large unite the County . This Person , wont see Silver-wear in their tenure...and the CB & People ta large has to accept this
Their Job will be to bring all the various parts and parties to the Meath Senior Football back together as one. That includes the CB, the Clubs, (and i mean ALL the Clubs) , The current Players who are of a mind to walk away, the Development Mangers at 20, minor & below ...AND...the various Coaches & Development Officers within the County.
This , can i add...should not typically be part of the Job of the Meath Senior Football Manager...But in the absence of anyone else taking this function at an Executive level in the CB...I think it has to be the cornerstone of the Specification for the next Guy...If this Guy..does his Job right...and its a massive task...THEN..the next person in after him , can be a MOR or someone else who can take the Football aspects to another level
If anyone wants a reference to what is wrong.....and how to fix it...google Manchester United....they have had many a really good manager in to try & Fix the issues...but they were fixing the wrong problem"
Can't expect the next manager to fix all problems with Meath GAA. The only job the inter county manager should be expected to perform is making the most out of the talent available in the county. I'd be careful saying it is a 5 year job, if things aren't working out change might be needed after 3 years.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 07/06/2022 20:44:33    2423207

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "Im not contradicting anyone here, but i would be suggesting that some sort of assessment is done before any appointment. There is a strong argument that the next 3-5 years is a rebuilding Job needed, not least on the panel, but on Who we are, and the Connection between the Senior County Football Team and the People of the Country . I too have looked at some of the comments posted about the abuse that Andy and his family received, and if anyone is surprised by this, they are living in LALA land . There are loads of idiots out there
If anyone wants a reference to what is wrong.....and how to fix it...google Manchester United....they have had many a really good manager in to try & Fix the issues...but they were fixing the wrong problem"
Just to be clear - you are saying the problem is one greater than the manager and the person in the role?

If that is what you are saying I agree with you 100% - there has been great work done at under age but it appears that the structures in place are not working to get the most out of the Senior team!

The problem is Bigger then just the manager and management team! I don't think anyone can question that Andy put in a huge effort and gave it everything he could! But there is no doubt that at least in terms of ranking we have gone backwards - teams like Armagh and Derry have passed us by!

I don't suggest to have any answers but I think starting with a competitive club championship, a senior team that has a good run at leinster and beyond would be a real start!

But I'm sure there is plenty of structural work behind the scenes that needs remedy!

Good luck to John Kavanagh and his team in trying to sort it out!!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 07/06/2022 21:02:13    2423209