After Andy

Great to see Furlong back.

To go back to the original title of the thread, After Andy, and to put forward my two cents on Meath going forward:

1/ I agree that M'O'Rourke is the outstanding candidate for the Meath job, he has to be the target, and in my own view the other names being touted are distant choices in comparison. I'd also double down on the negatives of an appointment of an internal manager. None of them are in the right ballpark for what we should be looking for.

2/ We are putting the cart before the horse in that, quite literally, you could morph the DNA of Alex Ferguson, Pep Guardiola, Don Revie, Paidi O Se, Sean Boylan, Jim Gavin etc and create a super manager and they couldn't wave a magic wand and make the current players and structures of Meath top class. I said a few weeks back that Meath needs a very comprehensive 15/20 year plan aimed at constructing the new stadium, training and development of kids born from 2015 on to be given the best training in football from the age of 5/6 upwards from now on and forever, appointment of coaches and instructors linked with clubs/gyms/schools to carry out the right processes on players and the appointment of a new generation of thinkers (very badly needed) in admin level within the county, should they be there. Without these pre-requisites, we are going nowhere. It doesent matter who is the manager. That has to be said.

A top flight manager could turn things around in Meath, esp if they are allowed pick their players and play to the strengths of the collective, and (this is very important), the age old thing in Meath of politics is cast aside. You do get the feeling that the prescriptive running game of Andy has really taken its toll on these players we have atm and many of them are capable of being there or there abouts in another playing system. I submit however that as of right now, in my opinion, we havent got one single top class player. We have 15/20 very competitive players, but no one on the higher level. An advantage we have is that we have successful youths coming through who deserve a shot, and we have a huge population and a lot of clubs so players will always be there and no matter how bad things may seem they will always be of a good standard when put into a Meath squad. The basic foundations are there, but in my view we need a lot of radical change to turn things around and to kick the relative mediocrity we have come to accept. If im being honest lads, and Id love to hear your feedback on my thoughts, im not optimistic.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 21/05/2022 17:23:00    2419221

Replying To nobull456:  "Well god bless your energy for research. Wishing you the best on your road to recovery with health matters. I suspect we may be of the same vintage ( I was in Croke Park for all irl final in 1954 when we beat Kerry by 6 points)
and of course all the others since then. I am in agreement with a lot of your points in particular about the need to keep modernising the CB. I wish them to be much more proactive in clearly enlightening themselves firstly about the type of manager we need NOW for the modern game. SPREAD that gospel to all relevant parties by involvement to assist with succession planning etc. Past is gone, has no value other than learn from mistakes.
Not too worried about WHO is next manager is , BUT vital that the person has the required ingredients in their DNA to fit the role. I expect leadership from CB they say WHAT they need in the person ,and then fill the need
Malachy or Colm or a n other not important. I happen to be a big fan of Colm o Rourke ..an all time great player of course. I am impressed with his thinking on management matters especially with his contact in his work with college football ,International rules etc., how he sees sport in general.and the role it can play in educational and development .I have never had any direct contact with him so really dont know how good he is at bringing people with him. I see him as the daddy pundit on the Sunday game. Always well able with reasoned analyis to deliver his view and deal with counter views. I suspect he would be likewise with the CB , and i assume they can handle that as required
I can understand the tendency to" grab"say Malachy or whoever is available BUT any potential manager needs to know what he is being asked for ,and not just the other way round. To me Acountibility works both ways. Criteria for same needs to be agreed by both parties. I wonder how far the CB have come on deciding the type of person they need as the starting point to move forward?"
Thanks for your best wishes I really appreciate them. I started followed Meath in mid 80s, but i love to hear stories of the teams 40s 50s 60s teams. That 1954 team was an incredible team. Stopped great Cavan team from winning 3 in a row and then stopped Kerry's first truly great team from winning 4 in a row. And of course, is our first All Ireland winning team. Oldest team ever to win Sam Maguire. Our first great team, we owe those men so much, they are the true pioneers and first greats of Meath football.

I would have no problem with Colm O Rouke either. O Rourke is remarkable in that his whole career is being about proving the doubters wrong. They said he would never play again after a serious injury at 19 he got in the mid-70s. He played for another 19 year inter county til 1995. They said in mid 80s he would never win All Ireland, within 3 years he won 2 All Irelands. He lost county final after county final in 80s with Skyrne, people though he would never win one. And he did in the end in the early 90s won 2 in a row. They said St Pats would never win schools All Ireland, he won 3 schools in 5 years All Irelands with St, Pats. When Simontown lost county final in mid 00s they said he would never win county final with Simontown. Ten years later he won 2 in a row county titles with Simontown. He is a born winner, he is a warrior, in my view Meath's greatest ever footballer along with Trevor Giles. And one last thing missing is to become successful Meath inter county manager. But my gut feeling is he wouldn't put his name forward. My first choice is Malachy O Rourke, but Colm O Rourke would be my second. O Rourke would try to build a management team around him of high level. But as I said I cannot see Colm taking over now.
As you said I would love to see every level of our county modernise, especially county board. Be the best in class. Set the highest standard of the field for Meath football. General manager for our underage teams is a great idea, but there are so many areas we need to improve and modernise in.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/05/2022 17:47:52    2419228

Replying To Young_gael:  "Great to see Furlong back.

To go back to the original title of the thread, After Andy, and to put forward my two cents on Meath going forward:

1/ I agree that M'O'Rourke is the outstanding candidate for the Meath job, he has to be the target, and in my own view the other names being touted are distant choices in comparison. I'd also double down on the negatives of an appointment of an internal manager. None of them are in the right ballpark for what we should be looking for.

2/ We are putting the cart before the horse in that, quite literally, you could morph the DNA of Alex Ferguson, Pep Guardiola, Don Revie, Paidi O Se, Sean Boylan, Jim Gavin etc and create a super manager and they couldn't wave a magic wand and make the current players and structures of Meath top class. I said a few weeks back that Meath needs a very comprehensive 15/20 year plan aimed at constructing the new stadium, training and development of kids born from 2015 on to be given the best training in football from the age of 5/6 upwards from now on and forever, appointment of coaches and instructors linked with clubs/gyms/schools to carry out the right processes on players and the appointment of a new generation of thinkers (very badly needed) in admin level within the county, should they be there. Without these pre-requisites, we are going nowhere. It doesent matter who is the manager. That has to be said.

A top flight manager could turn things around in Meath, esp if they are allowed pick their players and play to the strengths of the collective, and (this is very important), the age old thing in Meath of politics is cast aside. You do get the feeling that the prescriptive running game of Andy has really taken its toll on these players we have atm and many of them are capable of being there or there abouts in another playing system. I submit however that as of right now, in my opinion, we havent got one single top class player. We have 15/20 very competitive players, but no one on the higher level. An advantage we have is that we have successful youths coming through who deserve a shot, and we have a huge population and a lot of clubs so players will always be there and no matter how bad things may seem they will always be of a good standard when put into a Meath squad. The basic foundations are there, but in my view we need a lot of radical change to turn things around and to kick the relative mediocrity we have come to accept. If im being honest lads, and Id love to hear your feedback on my thoughts, im not optimistic."
Thanks Young_gael, I appreciate your comments. I agree with what you say we need to improve our off the field activiites regarding county board and structures substantially. We need to set up well run academies which are the best in the country, top class strength and Conditioning coaches which are the best in the country, educate our young players on education, on nutrition, diet, on hydration, on mental preparation, on proper effective strength and conditioning. All starting at a young age. Limerick have ten-year deal with third level institution could we to do the same. Get all our coaches to talk to elite performance coach's, professors talk to the best. Fnd out what the elite think and try to enact on that information. We should decide what type of player we want. For years we seem to have allot of small pacey players. Limerick looked at this area and decided 6ft 4 hurlers were the future. What is best type of player for us. A culture where ego or me me me needs to stamp out. It's all about the team. We need to develop key modules and tutorials to develop the players. All the managers and coaches are singing from same hymn sheet. Junior academies should be set all over the county. limerick hurling has worked with Munster rugby. Could we work in some way with leinster rugby? Improve our sponsorship deals, try and sort out Pairc Tailtean, we need a massive overhaul and modernisation of Meath football structures. it can happen and needs to happen. There are improvements but more is needed.

And yes Malachy O Rourke has to our number one choice. Anything I read about him, his approach is very to Sean Boylan. Hes very good at modern day tactics. His Monaghan team were very well organised, a very well coach team. But there was a huge bond between the players. And the way ex player talk about him is similar to the way Meath players talk about Sean. Meath players say Sean changed their life in and outside football. He had a huge influence on his players. Malachy O Rourke is the same. Players talk about the impact he had on them. He is a different management style to Andy. After 6 years of the same voice, a new manager with new ideas and a new approach could give this young team a new lease of life. Malachy O Rourke is probaly the most respected and revered manager in Ulster football currently. My fear is Donegal go for him first, and he will go to Donegal. We need to act fast, like Louth did with Mickey Harte.

Regards the future I am optimistic. People reference we are the new Cavan, We are not. Cavans population after 1950s declined, it one of the few counties where its population declined in the last few decades. Ours has doubled in two decades. Which in those 20 years has led to massive issues, one being we lost our identity as a county. But the ladies and minors sucess have shown a new modern successful Meath identity is emerging which is built on the old Meath identity. We along with kildare have the youngest population of any counties in Ireland. Meath had the highest young dependency ratio of any county at 39 per cent. The percentage change in the primary school population by county in recent years has saw Fingal having the largest increase rising by 19 per cent (6,273) to 39,349, followed Meath which rose by 14.4 per cent to 27,198. The smallest increase was recorded in Mayo where the population of primary school children rose by just 36 children, (0.2%) from 14,531 in 2011 to 14,567 in 2016. County by county, for 13-18 year olds, the change in the secondary school population by county since 2016 is the greatest actual increase in this age group was in Fingal, Cork County, Kildare and Meath. Percentage wise the highest increases were again in Fingal (20.1%), Meath (18.1%), Laois (17.6%), Kildare (16.7%) and Louth (16.7%). This means while counties like Mayo on the western seaboard their young population is declining, while our young population is increasing faster than any other county in the state along with kildares. Cavan population decreased after 50s, ours exploded after 2000, especially the young population in the county. There is huge potential there to tap into .And with East leisnter project and 4 U17 minor leinster titles in 5 years and 1 All Ireland minor title and ladies underage and senior sucess, we are at last are seen the fruits of work the being done at underage and we are taking advantage of population growth.There is a steely determination with Mccarthy U20 manager in 2023 and O Bric U20 manager in 2024 to turn around our fortunes at U20. I believe that can happen. And my gut feeling and also based on structures work being done, Meath will continue to produce good underage over the next 20 years. It will be up and down and not every year. But once we break our duct at 20 I dont expect us to be waiting another 20 years for a leinster title. I could be wrong but those 4 leinster minor titles and All Ireland winning title are a sign something has changed fundemtally at underage. Underage sucess can be building block for future senior sucess. It doesn't guarantee success, but its impossible to win without underage success. So I am optimistic. When I look at new Meath footballers eg Emma Duggan, Emma Troy, Mary kate lynch, Vicki Wall, Conor Ennis, Liam Kelly, Sean Emmanuel, Eoghan Frayne, they are different to players we have been producing at senior and under age in last 15 years. They are talented footballers with a winning mentality, the way they think its like we belong in Croke Park not just playing Dublin and Tyrone but beating Dublin and Tyrone. I am optimistic and if we appoint the man below , M O Rouke , my optimism will grow. Anyway I will leave it there for a while, I am only repeating myself. Just one point against Dubs we had 8 player 21 and 22. They have years ahead of them and under the right manager eg Malachy O Rourke they could really blossom eg Harry Hogan 21 Robin Clarke 22 Cathal Hickey 21 Matthew Costello 21 Shane Walsh 21 Jack O Connor 22 Jack Flynn 21 Jordan Morris 22. While O Hare Muldoon on the bench are 21 and McGowan 22.

* Here is the article below I would recommend people to check out about Malachy O Rourke. Its from the Irish News and its titled "Malachy O'Rourke: the manager and man revered wherever he goes"
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2021/10/28/news/malachy-o-rourke-the-manager-and-man-revered-wherever-he-goes-2491519/

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/05/2022 19:18:28    2419236

Here is the article from the Irish News and its titled "Malachy O'Rourke: the manager and man revered wherever he goes"
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2021/10/28/news/malachy-o-rourke-the-manager-and-man-revered-wherever-he-goes-2491519/

Malachy O'Rourke: the manager and man revered wherever he goes

Eighteen years after he guided The Loup to the unlikeliest of Ulster Club titles, Malachy O'Rourke reluctantly goes up against the loughshore club as they meet his new charges Glen in the Derry SFC semi-final. Yet as Cahair O'Kane discovers, there is nothing but reverence for him everywhere he's been…

Cahair O'Kane
28 October, 2021 01:00

WHEN Aideen McFlynn would answer the house phone and find it was Malachy O'Rourke looking for her husband, it was never a swift handover.
'How are you? How's school going?' he would enquire.
Almost as quick as he'd learned the names of his players, he'd learned the names of their wives and girlfriends as well.
"All the girlfriends and wives loved Malachy. And then if he was taking you away on a training weekend, there wasn't much said," smiles Paul McFlynn.
"That was the personal touch that he had. He knew peoples' names. Simple things."
Budding managers will perhaps read that and make a note, that the way to keep a football team happy around the field is to ensure they're happy around home.
But there was no gimmick with O'Rourke. It wasn't a game, it wasn't about getting onside. It's simply his nature as a man.
O'Rourke is now in charge of Glen, seeking to guide them to a first ever Derry senior football championship.
If he manages it, the reverence with which he'll be held in Maghera might come close to that with which he's held in The Loup, up against whom he'll go this weekend.
He's been 16 years removed from Derry club football, a time long enough to usher in a mobile phone generation but not quite enough to avoid a reunion of sorts.
Twins Colm and Dominic McVey, their cousin Paul, Aidan McAlynn, Paul Young and Gavin Mallon will all be in The Loup squad on Sunday that will go up against O'Rourke having played under him at some point of his three-year reign on the loughshore.
But where many past managers can be reviled when they stand in the opposing dugout, he is revered by the club that he guided not only to a first Derry title in almost 70 years, but an unfathomable Ulster crown.
That was really the beginning for Malachy O'Rourke. He'd been living in Ballygawley since 1992 and would win a county title with Errigal Ciaran in 2006 under Marty McElkennon.
It was McElkennon who played Cupid when The Loup turned right into March 2003 without a new manager appointed. He had been in along with Patsy Forbes the previous year as they won their first ever senior league and reached the county final, but the Ardboe man had made it clear from the start that it was a one-year thing.
McFlynn was captain and his father Bernard was chairman. They took a selection of players to The Gables restaurant just outside Dungannon, where O'Rourke and Leo McBride were there to meet them at McElkennon's direction.
The marriage was quickly arranged. The players had the right answers and were discerning enough to recognise the men facing them had the right questions.
O'Rourke's coaching began in St Joseph's Enniskillen, where he is still the PE teacher. He fell in with Leo McBride around Ballygawley and took off for Tyholland, whom they guided into senior football in Monaghan for the first time in their history.
The Loup were taking a bit of a punt but McElkennon, so well regarded around the place himself, was sure they were a good fit.
One of the first nights they were together, O'Rourke produced a small laminated card for each player. One side was covered head-to-toe in the word 'TEAM'. Flip it over and in text barely legible to the human eye, the word 'ME'.
"It sounds so simple, but he said you're just that small part of what we're trying to do here, you're only one individual that's part of the group," said McFlynn.
"I don't have mine but I know certain boys around the Loup, boys you wouldn't expect, that still have that card, that kept it.
"He told us to put it somewhere you'd put it every day, be it your wallet, your office desk, your bedroom at home, wherever, and look at it as a daily reminder.
That story resonates with Dessie Mone as he reaches for his kitbag. The Clontibret man was one of Monaghan's most trusted defensive lieutenants during O'Rourke's seven-year reign that brought two Ulster titles to a county that hadn't won one for 25 years.
Everywhere Mone has carried his kitbag for years, he's carried a small laminated card given to the Monaghan players by their manager.
"It has a Zulu war cry on it, the one done by the whole of South Africa before the [rugby] World Cup final.
"I have it in my hand here now."
Niya besaba na? (Are you afraid of them?)
Hayi! Asiba sabi! (No! We are not afraid!)
Siya bafuna! (We want them!)]
O'Rourke's ability to inspire could appear curious to those that don't know him.
Study his manner in front of a TV camera or on the line at a match, it's a stoic, relaxed, unflustered way of being.
That's his default setting. And sure, like any manager, there are times when he could push the decibel levels up.
But his methods were different from blood-and-thunder. O'Rourke loves to read. A sponge for detail and for information, he's able to bring something new to training sessions and to meetings all the time.
"I remember in the earlier days, if he had a point to get across, he'd pull boys into the huddle and in a very gentle way he might have a bit of a parable," says Vinny Corey, another key defensive lynchpin from Monaghan's golden generation.
"It could have been about anything - it could have been about a farmer, it could have been about a frog! There would always have been a wee laugh in it, but the point was got across, you always knew the point he was making."
Dessie Mone's favourite was when he likened the men in front of him to the thick-set Honey Badger, known for getting itself out of tight spots.
"We would have felt like we were backed into a corner with the media, that we were never getting the credit due for our football ability.
"Mal would talk about the Honey Badger, being backed into the corner. That was a great one.
"And you wouldn't be leaving the meetings tensed up, you'd be focussed and fired-up but it'd be a relaxed calm before the storm."
When Limerick hurlers added a symbol to the back of their jerseys in 2020, the mystique factor grew around a brilliant team. They weren't the first to do it and they won't be the last.
But if anything sums Malachy O'Rourke up, it's that for all of his seven years in Monaghan, they had a team motto.
The players carried it every day they went out but it remains so discreet that neither Vinny Corey nor Dessie Mone will lift the lid, even after he's gone.
"It was in a very discreet place and always visible to us, but not visible to anyone else. It was very effective," says Corey.
"I wouldn't want to say it because I don't think it's ever been said and I'm not gonna be the one to say it. It wasn't like what The Loup boys had but it was a very powerful message and something we always drew from."
THE art of management is sometimes not the what, but the when.
When The Loup won the 2003 Derry title, they drank Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. When they arrived for training on Wednesday night, the John McLaughlin Cup was sitting on a table in the middle of the changing room.
By the time they came back into it after the session, there was nobody looking about a cup.
"There was this real buzz, nearly disbelief that this happened around the club, supporters out watching training," says McFlynn.
"We went out thinking it'd be a run-of-the-mill session. It was an absolute guttin' match. An absolute killin' session that boys could barely walk or talk after it. There were boys vomiting over the wire in the top corner.
"We'd never done that kind of training with them. It was a case of 'that's done, let's get ready for Bryansford' and it just went from there. That was the Wednesday, we trained Friday and Sunday. It was back to reality and working hard."
O'Rourke pulled his teams together with his good nature and retains great friendships wherever he's been, but always knew what distance to keep too.
When they won those titles, he didn't take a beer after one and drank two bottles of Miller before departing from the other. When Monaghan won Ulster, he stayed long enough to pass himself, telling the players it was their night, not his.
In three years in The Loup, he was only ever in the changing room on match days. He never set foot inside it at training sessions, pulling his boots on at the back of the car and going straight on to the pitch.
In Cloghan, he and his management team had their own changing room.
For a man who has won everywhere he's gone, it would be hard to rank his achievements but taking The Loup to an Ulster Club title would at the very least be swimming with the big fish.
Bryansford dispatched, they had the self-belief to go as first-time county champions and beat Crossmaglen and then St Gall's.
"He has an unbelievable ability to motivate ye, make you believe in yourself and make the group believe," says McFlynn.
"It's not a one-off, it's not two or three powerful speeches. It's a slow, drip-feed process of belief that he instils within you. It's hard to put it into context.
"My wife will say to me 'all hail Malachy'. Any time his name's brought up, I'm at a wedding or in a conversation, she'll say 'ah Jesus, don't mention his name' because I'm away off gushing.
"That wouldn't just be me, that would be across the team. If Johnny [McBride] was talking about him or Paul Young or our Shane or Finty Devlin, everybody speaks of him with the same reverence."
They didn't win another county title in his second or third year but McFlynn still puts their 2005 semi-final win over Ballinderry in a basket with the club's best ever.
"Ballinderry beat us in the league up in The Loup by 27 points one Sunday evening. It was a humiliation. Eight weeks later, we beat them in a championship semi-final by three points."
A clear-the-air meeting, some introspective thinking on all sides and a return to basics settled things down.
They were playing Kilrea in a league game a fortnight before the semi-final and went out for dinner and bowling in Ballymena afterwards.
"You're getting off the bus that night and he reached us a sheet. On the sheet was a number of powerful quotes, but it was how he used the quotes to effect, to relate them to us. They were quotes about adversity and what we were facing.
"I remember getting off the bus that night in The Loup and the hairs standing on the back of my neck, you wanted the game to be played there and then.
"That ability to do that, I don't think there's anyone else could have turned that around in the space of eight weeks and have us believe we could go out and win it.
"I'd always have compared him to Eamonn Coleman. Eamonn was a psychologist, whether he knew it or not. Malachy's very similar in his ability to motivate you.
"I mind chatting to him after he left and he would have said the two most important words in management are 'well done', the Alex Ferguson mantra.
"He was really good at building on that positive and building boys up, but at the same time being realistic. If you had a bad game or things weren't going well, you knew about it, but in a nice way."
There won't be a bad word spoken in his direction by anyone from The Loup on Sunday. They will want to stop his latest crusade for silverware, but they think far too much of him to ever make it about beating him.
Through it all, he has delegated to Leo McBride and Ryan Porter in particular, two men without whom he would admit that he would have had no success.
Others that have been in that environment would all say the same, that the quality of the men he surrounded himself with was central to a managerial career that seems destined to return to inter-county football at some point.
Not going straight back in with another county was a tip of the cap to the Monaghan players he'd been with for seven years, and one that only improved his standing with a group that already thought the world of him.
He'd make a point of being at the wakes he needs to be at in The Loup.
He and Leo McBride were down on the pitch after coming up to watch the 2009 final in which they secured the coveted second county title they felt they'd left behind by losing to Bellaghy in '05.
In Glen, they already adore him. The players think so much of him and the wives do too.
And there dotted through the Owenbeg crowd on Sunday will be some of his former Monaghan players, whose affinity for him is such that they're planning to get into their cars and make the journey up to see how he's getting on.
Malachy O'Rourke the manager is respected in every corner of Ireland.
Malachy O'Rourke the man? Few are better thought of.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/05/2022 19:20:07    2419237

Replying To Young_gael:  "Great to see Furlong back.

A top flight manager could turn things around in Meath, esp if they are allowed pick their players and play to the strengths of the collective, and (this is very important), the age old thing in Meath of politics is cast aside. You do get the feeling that the prescriptive running game of Andy has really taken its toll on these players we have atm and many of them are capable of being there or there abouts in another playing system. I submit however that as of right now, in my opinion, we havent got one single top class player. We have 15/20 very competitive players, but no one on the higher level. An advantage we have is that we have successful youths coming through who deserve a shot, and we have a huge population and a lot of clubs so players will always be there and no matter how bad things may seem they will always be of a good standard when put into a Meath squad. The basic foundations are there, but in my view we need a lot of radical change to turn things around and to kick the relative mediocrity we have come to accept. If im being honest lads, and Id love to hear your feedback on my thoughts, im not optimistic."
Here is another section of article from Irish mirror on Malachy O Rourke
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/gaelic-football/gaelic-football-news/marty-mcgrath-explains-malachy-orourke-12636050

Marty McGrath explains why Malachy O'Rourke is one of the brightest managerial talents in the game
Former star McGrath was one of his key players with Fermanagh
BY
Pat Nolan
00:00, 2 JUN 2018

Ten years on from their last Ulster semi-final win, Fermanagh are back at Healy Park and Malachy O'Rourke is on the line.
This time, however, he's plotting a course for Monaghan to another provincial decider at his native county's expense, having masterminded that famous victory for them over Derry in Omagh a decade ago.
They ultimately lost the Ulster final to Armagh after a replay and by the end of the 2010 campaign,
He took the reins in Monaghan more than five years ago, bringing them from Division Three to the top flight and keeping them there, as well as winning two Ulster titles.
Former star Marty McGrath was one of his key players with Fermanagh and explains why O'Rourke is one of the brightest managerial talents in the game.
"He gains the respect of the players and seems to get a balance between playing to the game plan but also letting them play," says McGrath. "Giving them freedom to express themselves as well.
"Getting that balance is the thing but he seems to be able to get the best out for the players by maybe setting down the game plan but also saying, 'Look, I'm not curtailing you from doing something off the cuff'. "Definitely Malachy was a big influence on my career from school level to county so I'd rate him right highly now to be honest."

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/05/2022 19:38:33    2419240

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks for your best wishes I really appreciate them. I started followed Meath in mid 80s, but i love to hear stories of the teams 40s 50s 60s teams. That 1954 team was an incredible team. Stopped great Cavan team from winning 3 in a row and then stopped Kerry's first truly great team from winning 4 in a row. And of course, is our first All Ireland winning team. Oldest team ever to win Sam Maguire. Our first great team, we owe those men so much, they are the true pioneers and first greats of Meath football.

I would have no problem with Colm O Rouke either. O Rourke is remarkable in that his whole career is being about proving the doubters wrong. They said he would never play again after a serious injury at 19 he got in the mid-70s. He played for another 19 year inter county til 1995. They said in mid 80s he would never win All Ireland, within 3 years he won 2 All Irelands. He lost county final after county final in 80s with Skyrne, people though he would never win one. And he did in the end in the early 90s won 2 in a row. They said St Pats would never win schools All Ireland, he won 3 schools in 5 years All Irelands with St, Pats. When Simontown lost county final in mid 00s they said he would never win county final with Simontown. Ten years later he won 2 in a row county titles with Simontown. He is a born winner, he is a warrior, in my view Meath's greatest ever footballer along with Trevor Giles. And one last thing missing is to become successful Meath inter county manager. But my gut feeling is he wouldn't put his name forward. My first choice is Malachy O Rourke, but Colm O Rourke would be my second. O Rourke would try to build a management team around him of high level. But as I said I cannot see Colm taking over now.
As you said I would love to see every level of our county modernise, especially county board. Be the best in class. Set the highest standard of the field for Meath football. General manager for our underage teams is a great idea, but there are so many areas we need to improve and modernise in."
Yeh i agree with all of that

Yeh i agree with all of that . I suspect both O Rourkes will be unavailable. It will be not be easy task to pick up from here. My keypoint is because things were allowed to deteriorate to such an extend over the last 2 or 3 years that the problem that needs to be fixed firstly is at the top table .The CB could not even do a review properly ,and that makes me think could they even do a proper review anyway, Did they ever have any stitched in criteria for review? what objectives were set??? I can only use 1 word incompetence,and that cant continue. So CB get its house in order firstly look at mistakes made,remedial action required and implement that. I wont hold my breath on that one .Although i suspect it wont happen Colm O Rourke is the man to challenge the set up and thats what is needed. I totally accept that he or anyone else cannot be allowed to run riot and do what they please either Thats where competence is required by CB .Accountibility is 2 sided and terms agreed O Rourke wont be found short on delivery. Can the CB mark him ? They may not like the challenge. I fully agree he would be as effective as a manager as he was as a player. Yes he would be a handful and thats whats ne eded precisely So my answer revolves around what TYPE of person do we need from WHERE WE ARE AT NOW. Either way CB needs to get its act toghether . They have the ultimate honour to LEAD.(You are more polite using need to modernise where i call it incompetence ). ,but we have the same objective.
I am asking the CB to show leadership in creating beter standards and thus a better culture, and most likely that will have to done without either o Rourkes .If one were available then i go for Colm for the reason i gave FROM WHERE WE ARE NOW and what needs to be done and Colm is the TYPE to do it .He knows the course in Meath. As you say he is a born winner and a warrior. However as a long time supporter i still live in hope that firstly the CB "modernise" and that they will not be allowed off the hook by opting for the easy option "grap yer man" he'l do the job ,and we get without a real review AGAIN.....Sucession planning " ah we will be gone ...over to the next crowd" CB lead now make it known the type of person you want and how will accountibilty work this time? and what legacy will you leave behind?

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 21/05/2022 20:57:11    2419282

Robbie Brennan is not the next man we need. He fell out with multiple people over the years in Crokes. They play an awful brand of football too. We need someone who will unite the county not make further divisions. Don't even mention Colm O'Rourke either, his lack of insight on the Sunday game tells you enough about how out of touch he is with the modern game. We need a combination of an experienced man manager and young forwarding thinking coaches, this can be 3-4 people. Who are they? We need a thorough interview process over the next 6 weeks to find out. We need to have someone lined up before the Senior club championship. The coaching has been a disaster last few years. Brought in 2 new coaches this year then got rid of them half way through the league this year. I know that Meath were being coached a new kickout tactic for Dublin's kickouts THE DAY BEFORE the Dublin game this year. Scandalous stuff. All the videos that have been posted online from Meath training sessions are all drills, great fun for kids but way out of touch with how the game is played. The manager plays a huge role in motivation, keeping players happy, setting the culture etc. but the coaching is so important now that the new incoming coaches have to be scrutinised too.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 04/06/2022 21:17:23    2422252

Thanks for all your efforts Andy. New man needed, complete overhaul. Compete in 2025

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 04/06/2022 21:32:36    2422261

Anyone who suggest colm o rourke is very out of touch with what we need. He isn't the man to fix the issue. We need someone from outside the county someone who has the forward thinking that o rourke doesn't possess.. the good old days of meath been a super power and us holding them on a pedestal are over. We need to build a playing style, not be hoping to play like we did in the 90s or 00s. This style needs to be incorporated from u14 academy all the way up to senior. We need to create a identity or a philosophy of how we play the game!... Andy can't harbour all the blame, some must fall at the players feet aswell. We need a culture change and that will not come from within their isn't any manager in meath good enough or experienced enough to take it. We need to head hunt and pay a top class manager

CMAN1570 (Meath) - Posts: 53 - 04/06/2022 21:51:08    2422269

Have little hope that CB will get the right man, expect a lot of bluff and bluster, time wasting and infighting before they make a move. Even if they get their act together its difficult to see any top class manager/coaching team willing to take the job, the bar has been set so low in recent years we will probarly get a short term bounce with any new manager. Whoever comes is starting from a very low base and has a massive job to do, a panel with zero confidence and lacking in the basic skills required. Hopefully a bit more thought goes into appointment for the sake of Meath football

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 05/06/2022 15:06:29    2422418

Malachy O'Rourke good manger , would be a good fit for this Meath team

Éamonn Fitzmaurice good manger , my first choice

Anthony Moyles and Bernard Brogan , i think could be a excellent working managerial team

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 05/06/2022 15:16:47    2422422

Unite the county now.who it is, is very important dont need be real coach material just people person get great team behind them.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 05/06/2022 17:38:06    2422482

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Malachy O'Rourke good manger , would be a good fit for this Meath team

Anthony Moyles and Bernard Brogan , i think could be a excellent working managerial team"
I don't really care who gets it once they believe in themselves and the players. That only rules out Colm orurke.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2022 17:40:46    2422483

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't really care who gets it once they believe in themselves and the players. That only rules out Colm orurke."
. May I suggest you check and report accurately on what Colm actually said that could rule him out Colm a defeatist I don't think so. Agenda?? . Again you may be saved by the bell as very unlikely he will! be a candidate.. He can be awkward and has a problem accepting "gombeenism" That could rule him out maybe.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 05/06/2022 18:21:46    2422512

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't really care who gets it once they believe in themselves and the players. That only rules out Colm orurke."
Why would it rule out orourke?
2 sfc titles in the past few years? Very much in touch with the club scene in Meath. Would command respect and has the intelligence to build a strong back room team.

Don't see why he should be ruled out.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 05/06/2022 18:33:04    2422514

We want to unite the county - just because you go to every game does not give you the right to continue on with petty agendas on these pages.

As I said elsewhere, let the county board appoint an appropriate committee to choose the right candidate that wants the job. That includes all possible candidates - probably wont be Colm O'Rourke but a poster like you on here thankfully doesn't get to decide.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 05/06/2022 19:55:28    2422567

It doesn't have to be Colm O'Rourke, in fact it almost certainly won't be for a number of reasons. But the idea that he's the only candidate who can't be Meath manager is ridiculous.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 05/06/2022 20:38:38    2422584

Replying To Jinxie:  "Why would it rule out orourke?
2 sfc titles in the past few years? Very much in touch with the club scene in Meath. Would command respect and has the intelligence to build a strong back room team.

Don't see why he should be ruled out."
Colm wouldnt go near this job ! He would be mad to get involved with this lot

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/06/2022 20:57:14    2422601

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Colm wouldnt go near this job ! He would be mad to get involved with this lot"
Quite possibly, and I suspect your probably right that he won't want it. Bit my question was asking why he should be ruled out of contention RD had said. I don't think he should be. That's all

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 06/06/2022 09:18:14    2422659

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Malachy O'Rourke good manger , would be a good fit for this Meath team

Anthony Moyles and Bernard Brogan , i think could be a excellent working managerial team"
First two good choices but Moyles was not a success in Paul's or Dunshaughlin in laying a foundation for the managers following. In fact not sure either could be counted as successful management stints at all. Average at best. Bernard Brogan, not sure what he has done either. But the Dublin insight may be useful. Outside choice Tones manager. Well liked within, seems to have a strategy that they play to.

Greensheen (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 06/06/2022 11:27:41    2422718