After Andy

Andy will go one way or another. Who is there to replace him? We would be very naive to think that it has to be a Meath man to come in. Tomás Ó'Sé would be an option but he lives in Cork. Would the CB pay the money he would want? It needs to be someone defensively minded. Maybe the the Tyrone u20 management. McGeeney if Armagh get a bad qualifier draw. I'm sick of looking at Meath being out fought and out muscled. That's why I would like to see someone of northern persuasion. Someone who would make us play on the edge but disciplined.

urizen (Meath) - Posts: 115 - 16/05/2022 10:06:49    2417527

Replying To urizen:  "Andy will go one way or another. Who is there to replace him? We would be very naive to think that it has to be a Meath man to come in. Tomás Ó'Sé would be an option but he lives in Cork. Would the CB pay the money he would want? It needs to be someone defensively minded. Maybe the the Tyrone u20 management. McGeeney if Armagh get a bad qualifier draw. I'm sick of looking at Meath being out fought and out muscled. That's why I would like to see someone of northern persuasion. Someone who would make us play on the edge but disciplined."
The sad reality is that you could put God almighty in charge of Meath and it won't make a difference. As long as the Leinster Championship still is a thing Meath (and every other county in Leinster) will never beat Dublin.

Meath should and could be better than they are, absolutely, but we nearly at this stage need to ignore Dublin and just focus on everything else and aim to get to the standard of every other top county like Mayo etc. Dublin have been financially dopped by the GAA and with their population they are never coming down off the level they are at now, that is just a fact. How the GAA keep getting people to turn up for games like yesterday is something else.

Meath were bad yesterday, very very bad, but don't think if tactics were a little different or if someone else was managing the team that result would have been any different. Dublin will beat Kildare by 8-10 points (maybe more), will walk though the quarter final, will beat Kerry in a tight game in the semi final and will win the All Ireland final by 8-10 points.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 16/05/2022 10:31:20    2417550

Replying To urizen:  "Andy will go one way or another. Who is there to replace him? We would be very naive to think that it has to be a Meath man to come in. Tomás Ó'Sé would be an option but he lives in Cork. Would the CB pay the money he would want? It needs to be someone defensively minded. Maybe the the Tyrone u20 management. McGeeney if Armagh get a bad qualifier draw. I'm sick of looking at Meath being out fought and out muscled. That's why I would like to see someone of northern persuasion. Someone who would make us play on the edge but disciplined."
From outside (If that route will be looked at)

Malachy O'Rourke - and would take the job on too...

In my opinion, he would have better resources (McManus aside) than he had in Monaghan & he didnt do too bad there.

From within

There are no Standouts for me unfortunatley. Carthy stay with 20's?
Barry Callaghan? - Done a lot with various underage teams & familiar with the players, but never really had the lead role for long periods.
Moyles? Talks a great game, seems knowledgable when he speaks, but again, very little on the ground experience.
Ward? - As above
Paul Garrigan? Won a couple of senior championships with Balltingals in Wicklow & was very instrumental in the ladies success last year.

A mix of lads like Moyles, Ward & Garrigan (ala what Kildare have done, who are clever, modern game oriented men) with a strong head coache/manager?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 16/05/2022 10:34:21    2417552

Replying To Jinxie:  "From outside (If that route will be looked at)

In my opinion, he would have better resources (McManus aside) than he had in Monaghan & he didnt do too bad there.

From within

Barry Callaghan? - Done a lot with various underage teams & familiar with the players, but never really had the lead role for long periods.
Moyles? Talks a great game, seems knowledgable when he speaks, but again, very little on the ground experience.
Ward? - As above
Paul Garrigan? Won a couple of senior championships with Balltingals in Wicklow & was very instrumental in the ladies success last year.

A mix of lads like Moyles, Ward & Garrigan (ala what Kildare have done, who are clever, modern game oriented men) with a strong head coache/manager?"
Would add Kevin Reilly to that mix

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 16/05/2022 10:53:51    2417566

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Would add Kevin Reilly to that mix"
Dya know there was another player boucing around my head but it went blank, but thats who it was.

Yeah Kevin Reilly, A Moyles & Cian Ward, maybe even Brian Farrell. Theres a pool of lads there to build something with.

Even 4 of the above with Colm O'Rourke? Between players and managers theyd accound for the last few Keegan cups.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 16/05/2022 11:03:49    2417578

Replying To Jinxie:  "Dya know there was another player boucing around my head but it went blank, but thats who it was.

Yeah Kevin Reilly, A Moyles & Cian Ward, maybe even Brian Farrell. Theres a pool of lads there to build something with.

Even 4 of the above with Colm O'Rourke? Between players and managers theyd accound for the last few Keegan cups."
all would be mad to take the job, without clear understanding, that all parties are aligned...and mostly that means the Top Table of the CB ....if they don't "understand " the problem, after explaining it to them...then any good manager or management team worth its salt, wouldn't accept the Job. ...the CB, are this morning scrambling in the dark talking about S&C, Andy, Fitness, individual performances...all a waste of time , until they realise that there has to be a whole change of mentality within the decision makers....find ourselves a John Costello & a few other like minded people ...and then you will get good quality people to put their hands up for the individual Team roles. ,....you would want to be off your head to take the job in the current environment
Obvious candidate to be in the mix is O bric...but problem for him is, he cant put a ring of steel around a Senior County squad like he did with the minors...so even if he comes on-board..he has to deal with the issues of the CB

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 16/05/2022 11:50:28    2417615

Robbie Brennan was involved with Crokes and went to an AI Club final. There was a lot of the constant recycling and slow ball in how they played too but not sure if he would leave a big club like Crokes. He was involved in the Bernard Flynn set up but seemed to be well down the pecking order behind the Leahy fella.
Barry Callaghan and Sean Kelly are men who have been around and are well respected in the county and any setup should have them involved in my opinion.
As far as McCarthy goes I think he should stay with the u20s and try to recover lost ground from this year before even entertaining the top job.
Not sure about the 'Kildare' version as there are a few personalities mentioned that may not gel and it would be hard to pick out a single leader amongst them. Also none of them have managed at county level I think.
If I was putting money on it Id say Malachy O Rourke but whether thats a long term solution is debatable.
I think the dream candidate would be Paul Kinnerk but thats the same for every senior football and hurling team in the country.
Whoever it is needs to capitalise on the wealth of young talent that has come through from minor for the last 4/5 years and begin with the skills and talent and add the conditioning rather than the other way round which hasnt worked imo.

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 16/05/2022 12:30:45    2417639

Replying To Jinxie:  "From outside (If that route will be looked at)

From within

Ward? - As above

A mix of lads like Moyles, Ward & Garrigan (ala what Kildare have done, who are clever, modern game oriented men) with a strong head coache/manager?"
Thats joined up thinking not sure if those lads could do it.but what harm could it do to try.a good manager who gets county support from all corners.unite the county and support fair play and give the youth there chance and build a team for 3 years.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 16/05/2022 12:35:00    2417645

So... I would think this is probably the lowest point in the past few years for me as for the first time I genuinely believed we were going to be competitive!

I think a root and branch review is needed of the whole set up! We have issues in both football and hurling and one area where we have seen progress, at under age level, is in danger of being wasted if not dealt with properly with the right structures and management team being put in place.

I think without this, it will be hard to attract the right managers for the county job!

In terms of the football, it is hard to identify someone from the current crop of managers. I see Kevin Reilly and Brian Farrell mentioned and both have had some element of success but are largely inexperienced to date! From an outside perspective I see Malachy O'Rourke mentioned . He is an excellent manager who has done great work with Monaghan and more recently with Glen up in Derry! I am less sure that he would come to Meath!

Davy Byrne has the experience behind him of working under Jim Gavin and could probably bring some of the Dub set up into play for Meath - but not sure he would take or the county board would give it to him!

I don't know what the answer is - but what is really important, is that we keep the younger lads involved and add to them with the successful under age teams of the past few years and develop a culture that attracts players to compete wholeheartedly to be part of the set up and we the followers remain supportive of the massive efforts they put in over the tough winter months!

The likes of Harkin, Hickey, Hogan, Costello, Flynn, Morris, O'Connor are all quality players - with the right structures they could really flourish!

And for what it's worth - how about looking ladies manager Eamonn Murray - he is brought an intermediate team to Senior success and they remain the shining light within the Meat structures!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 16/05/2022 12:39:08    2417647

Replying To ABK67:  "Robbie Brennan was involved with Crokes and went to an AI Club final. There was a lot of the constant recycling and slow ball in how they played too but not sure if he would leave a big club like Crokes. He was involved in the Bernard Flynn set up but seemed to be well down the pecking order behind the Leahy fella.
Barry Callaghan and Sean Kelly are men who have been around and are well respected in the county and any setup should have them involved in my opinion.
As far as McCarthy goes I think he should stay with the u20s and try to recover lost ground from this year before even entertaining the top job.
Not sure about the 'Kildare' version as there are a few personalities mentioned that may not gel and it would be hard to pick out a single leader amongst them. Also none of them have managed at county level I think.
If I was putting money on it Id say Malachy O Rourke but whether thats a long term solution is debatable.
I think the dream candidate would be Paul Kinnerk but thats the same for every senior football and hurling team in the country.
Whoever it is needs to capitalise on the wealth of young talent that has come through from minor for the last 4/5 years and begin with the skills and talent and add the conditioning rather than the other way round which hasnt worked imo."
Paul Kinnerk would be the dream alright but not a hope in hell I dont think. Unless he's motivated by a huge challenge.... & even then would the distance be an issue?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 16/05/2022 13:10:04    2417672

Eamonn Murray

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 16/05/2022 13:18:45    2417679

Replying To Royalblufill:  "So... I would think this is probably the lowest point in the past few years for me as for the first time I genuinely believed we were going to be competitive!

I think a root and branch review is needed of the whole set up! We have issues in both football and hurling and one area where we have seen progress, at under age level, is in danger of being wasted if not dealt with properly with the right structures and management team being put in place.

I think without this, it will be hard to attract the right managers for the county job!

In terms of the football, it is hard to identify someone from the current crop of managers. I see Kevin Reilly and Brian Farrell mentioned and both have had some element of success but are largely inexperienced to date! From an outside perspective I see Malachy O'Rourke mentioned . He is an excellent manager who has done great work with Monaghan and more recently with Glen up in Derry! I am less sure that he would come to Meath!

Davy Byrne has the experience behind him of working under Jim Gavin and could probably bring some of the Dub set up into play for Meath - but not sure he would take or the county board would give it to him!

I don't know what the answer is - but what is really important, is that we keep the younger lads involved and add to them with the successful under age teams of the past few years and develop a culture that attracts players to compete wholeheartedly to be part of the set up and we the followers remain supportive of the massive efforts they put in over the tough winter months!

The likes of Harkin, Hickey, Hogan, Costello, Flynn, Morris, O'Connor are all quality players - with the right structures they could really flourish!

And for what it's worth - how about looking ladies manager Eamonn Murray - he is brought an intermediate team to Senior success and they remain the shining light within the Meat structures!!"
by teh way...and i do know the thread is mainly about Andy & management.,...but no way should some of the players yesterday get a pass ...if the Right Management Team is appointed...some of these young men would have to face some real hard truths about themselves...in the interest of them truly becoming inter county standard...talent BS...character is needed

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 16/05/2022 13:20:08    2417682

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Eamonn Murray"
Not a hope of Eamonn Murray leaving the ladies for this pitiful bunch, why would he, he has talent and character in abundance with the girls, we have a few talented mens players but no character and no fighters, yesterday's first half against dublin was pathetic in which they were able to score 1-17 at ease in 35 minutes, still lots of question marks surround dublin unfortunately meath didn't ask any of them.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 16/05/2022 14:17:39    2417724

Replying To BigJoe14:  "The sad reality is that you could put God almighty in charge of Meath and it won't make a difference. As long as the Leinster Championship still is a thing Meath (and every other county in Leinster) will never beat Dublin.

Meath should and could be better than they are, absolutely, but we nearly at this stage need to ignore Dublin and just focus on everything else and aim to get to the standard of every other top county like Mayo etc. Dublin have been financially dopped by the GAA and with their population they are never coming down off the level they are at now, that is just a fact. How the GAA keep getting people to turn up for games like yesterday is something else.

Meath were bad yesterday, very very bad, but don't think if tactics were a little different or if someone else was managing the team that result would have been any different. Dublin will beat Kildare by 8-10 points (maybe more), will walk though the quarter final, will beat Kerry in a tight game in the semi final and will win the All Ireland final by 8-10 points."
I think thats a nonsense argument with all due respect and its the kind of attitude that has us tolerate Andy McEntee for 6 years now.

The least we expect is a tactical plan and a bit of pride in the jersey...to be annihilated once by Dublin is one thing, but 6 times!???? And without even trying something different. Like its beyond belief at this stage.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 16/05/2022 14:43:49    2417751

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "by teh way...and i do know the thread is mainly about Andy & management.,...but no way should some of the players yesterday get a pass ...if the Right Management Team is appointed...some of these young men would have to face some real hard truths about themselves...in the interest of them truly becoming inter county standard...talent BS...character is needed"
I think thats a given. Brains and leadership on the field are sorely missing.

I'd go with either a young team of K Reilly, Farrell and Ward (not Moyles, he's well suited to Newstalk!) or go out of the county for one of the following:

Malachy O Rourke
Paul Galvin (Meath connection via uncle)
Tony McEntee
Jim McGuinness (my dream ticket, I think he's brilliant)
Kieran McGeeney (if genuinely interested, not a fan of managers taking over too many counties)
Davy Byrne/Paul Clarke/Paul Curran (to tap into what the Dubs are at and try and learn something, all 3 have Meath connections)

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 16/05/2022 14:51:54    2417758

Replying To Crinigan:  "I think thats a given. Brains and leadership on the field are sorely missing.

I'd go with either a young team of K Reilly, Farrell and Ward (not Moyles, he's well suited to Newstalk!) or go out of the county for one of the following:

Malachy O Rourke
Tony McEntee
Kieran McGeeney (if genuinely interested, not a fan of managers taking over too many counties)
Davy Byrne/Paul Clarke/Paul Curran (to tap into what the Dubs are at and try and learn something, all 3 have Meath connections)"
Id agree with a few on that list, but not all.
Galvin disspaointed me a little with the Wexford thing so im not sire there....

McGuiness seems to be happy with the punditry, he hasnt really put his hand up since the soccer experiments

Malachy O'Rourke would be a good choice if looking outside county.

From within, Colm O'Rouke, with Ward, Kevin Reailly & B Farrell. B Murphy either...

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 16/05/2022 15:31:43    2417790

Will be interesting to see how the new Ratoath manager performs. It is a testing club for managers, due to diversity of interests.
They have players but can he win Keegan and go onto Leinster.If he can bring a Meath club onto all Ireland success then could be an asset.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 16/05/2022 15:39:45    2417798

Replying To Crinigan:  "I think thats a given. Brains and leadership on the field are sorely missing.

Malachy O Rourke
Tony McEntee
Davy Byrne/Paul Clarke/Paul Curran (to tap into what the Dubs are at and try and learn something, all 3 have Meath connections)"
Before we even start considering who the candidates for the job are, we really have to look at the qualifications of the people scouting, interviewing, trying to attract and appointing any new management.
The first step is having the right persons on the Managerial Appointment Committee (MAC) that makes the recommendation to the County Board for the best candidate for the job.
In reality that MAC should be appointed immediately and be in place when the position officially becomes available and have all the preparatory work complete and not be like last year waiting till it was too late.
If the make up of the MAC is not of the highest quality there is a very great chance that the new manager will be of the same elk.
I hope some of the people at the top table of the County Board can leave their egos aside and in the best interests of Meath Football appoint a very small group of people onto a Managerial Appointment Committee that are highly qualified to carry out that role.
Of course we have to hope that there is at least one right person out there available for the managers job that the MAC could source and convince to take on the role.
The appointment of a new manager is only one small thing of very many things we have to get right if things are to improve.
Regardless of who was right or wrong, we are where we are and only a unity of purpose, with quality people who have a genuine love of and concern for Meath Football, with no hidden agendas can help take us out of the present situation.
The MAC should be in place and should be preparing a survey/feedback from the existing panel members (confidential) to be taken after Andy steps down which would probably give an insight as to what is needed/missing from their perspective.
The people on the MAC should probably be a bit more open minded than me too, as the only name mentioned so far (in posts above) I would like is Malachy O Rourke, most of the others mentioned are certainly not right or qualified for the position, maybe apart from O' Bric who probably is just not experienced enough yet and Paul Curran who has just come into Dunshaughlin, let's see how he does with Dunshaughlin this year.
In reality what would be a way more important appointment (even more so than the managerial appointment) would be if we could convince the Dublin chairman John Costello to take the chairman's job in Meath, change the structures and turn Meath football around the same way he did with Dublin.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 16/05/2022 16:13:30    2417818

Replying To Jinxie:  "Id agree with a few on that list, but not all.
Galvin disspaointed me a little with the Wexford thing so im not sire there....

McGuiness seems to be happy with the punditry, he hasnt really put his hand up since the soccer experiments

Malachy O'Rourke would be a good choice if looking outside county.

From within, Colm O'Rouke, with Ward, Kevin Reailly & B Farrell. B Murphy either..."
Colm O'Rourke doesnt seem to be interested. He probably needs the Sunday Game gig and his column in the Sunday Independent from a financial point of view. He wold probably fnd it difficult to get those back if he went to the Meath manager role for say 4 or 5 years.

I think the county board needs to be forming a committee as soon as possible to identify a replacement manager. They should have the committee lined up to announce after Meath lose at whatever stage they eventually lose in the qualifiers.

Even if they have a decent run I think the race is run for Andy and you would expect that he realises that himself - I'd say he'll step down when we go out of the All Ireland.

We need to announce the people charged with identifying the successor asap after that.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 16/05/2022 16:26:12    2417824

Replying To Ashrules:  "Will be interesting to see how the new Ratoath manager performs. It is a testing club for managers, due to diversity of interests.
They have players but can he win Keegan and go onto Leinster.If he can bring a Meath club onto all Ireland success then could be an asset."
Not really sure what that has to do with things! If any Meath Club could get a decent run in the club championship it would be a start! Not sure why it matters that it is Ratoath!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 16/05/2022 16:30:50    2417827