Derry V Donegal Ulster Final

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "bbc said it was a great game, r t e said it was boring"
RTE are right for once. 2 awful provincials yesterday plus a putrid game of football today. Connacht final was okay.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 29/05/2022 20:18:53    2420876

Replying To sam1884:  "The big factor coming into the game was Donegal's reliance on handpassing the ball into the scoring zone, running at an opposition player and then throwing themselves to the ground, for their reliable free takers to kick points throughout the game.

When this happened in the 8th minute and a referee gave a free out to the shock of Donegal players it was obvious a referee had his homework done or as he is an Ulster referee maybe knew of the tactic.

At that stage I thought Derry have a great chance. To be fair it led Donegal to look for scores from play and they hit some great points, but without those usual easy scores were never going to pull away from Derry.

This allowed Derry to remain competitive and by extra time had a greater will to win and a greater all round fitness to become Ulster Champions. I think it's the end of this Donegal team, they've had a great decade and fair play to them but new teams are coming through Ulster and they're nowhere near the standard of Dublin or Kerry.

As for Derry the All Ireland is unlikely but they've just beaten three Division 1 teams so that gives a clue of their ability. They avoid Dublin or Kerry to the final so it wouldn't be a surprise if they end up in an All Ireland Final and then who knows. Congratulations to them."
"running at an opposition player and then throwing themselves to the ground, for their reliable free takers to kick points throughout the game"

All teams do this; as you say, great to see the ref not being codded by that carry-on on this occasion; once in sight of the posts, strong lads falling over like skittles if an opposing player so much as looks sideways at them. About time some of them were carded for it.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 29/05/2022 21:10:50    2420892

Firstly I will congratulate Derry on their victory and wouldn't begrudge them it.

I wouldn't be Bonner's biggest fan, and I wouldn't fault the player's effort. But I think it's the players who must shoulder the majority of the blame on this occasion. When the game was in the melting pot we made some really poor decisions on the ball. Brennan, langan and mcbrearty our marquee forwards hardly touched leather had no impact on the game, our other marquee forward spent most of the game directing traffic and hardly crossed the 45. We missed three well positioned 45s I'm sorry of that's dean Rock, Sean O'Se or cluxton you can be sure those will be converted. Ryan McHugh missed two that he would normally kick over. We had too many lads who just didn't turn up.

It all had echoes of Tyrone 2017 & 2018, mayo 2019, Cavan 2020....big occasion and we were found wanting. This team has given us some great days out but has come up short in terms of moving to the next level. We just aren't at that level, yes we have been there or therabouts, but haven't been able to convert our chances in the big games when it has really mattered. Over 90 mins the defence kept Derry to a manageable score. It was at the top end of the pitch that we really struggled, yet again.

We play too much low risk, low intensity football. The game is evolving, it's time Donegal evolved with it.

A tough loss for team, management and supporters...will be hard to pick everyone up for the back door.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 29/05/2022 21:15:14    2420894

Not pretty to watch but Marty Morrissey complaining about hand passing, did he not watch football between 2015 and 2020.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 29/05/2022 21:24:45    2420900

I watched all 3 provincial finals this weekend. In Munster and Leinster, I dozed off / switched off at half time. Literally nothing to keep me interested. Seen tougher challenge matches.

Sure, today with Derry v Donegal was tactical, but so were Real Madrid last night, and I don't hear a mass outcry about their extremely defensive approach to their game.

Too many traditional GAA fans addicted to schoolboy defending. Most of them would be better served following basketball.

One of the worst games I ever seen was the high-scoring Tyrone-Down drawn Ulster final in 2003, when Tyrone leaked 4 goals. Goals galore, much excitement, game lauded as a "classic".

Whereas I thought it was a joke, with comedy defending on both sides, but especially by Tyrone. Great crack for the day-trippers, but incredibly infuriating to watch if, like me, you think that defending is as much an art as attacking.

I enjoy watching teams trying to figure out a defence. Rogers was heroic in extra time today. "Boring" or not, I was gripped by the game and interested throughout. Obviously, I'm not as sophisticated as some, but I'll live with that ; )

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 29/05/2022 21:25:46    2420901

Congratulations to Derry, a long wait in the wilderness is over for them, hope they keep the focus and do well in the quarter final, better team won on the day but it was an awful game to be at imo,
then again reading the previous comments here compared to the Munster and Leinster finals at least it was a contest.
I know we keep saying we have this great talented bunch of players in Donegal but it's just not happening for them, they played well in flashes today but I can't see us doing much this year now, depends who we draw for the quarter final, very disappointing for us but again well done to Doire, enjoy it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 29/05/2022 21:51:44    2420909

Replying To Rolo2010:  "RTE are right for once. 2 awful provincials yesterday plus a putrid game of football today. Connacht final was okay."
Poor game and style of football but a wins a win and better than the two senior finals from yesterday. People on this site pay big money to go over the water to see similar sh..e . Pat Spillane used to go to see boring boring Arsenal. Thought Donegal could have had a penalty in last minute.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 29/05/2022 21:55:19    2420910

Fair play to bbc. They would almost convince you that you are watching an exciting game of football.

Jesus wept it was horrible game.

Reminds me of the muck games that Donegal and Tyrone produced from 2011-2018.

I thought the game had moved on but it appears that Rory Gallagher is willing to drag it back again.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 30/05/2022 08:14:54    2420919

Replying To essmac:  "I watched all 3 provincial finals this weekend. In Munster and Leinster, I dozed off / switched off at half time. Literally nothing to keep me interested. Seen tougher challenge matches.

Sure, today with Derry v Donegal was tactical, but so were Real Madrid last night, and I don't hear a mass outcry about their extremely defensive approach to their game.

Too many traditional GAA fans addicted to schoolboy defending. Most of them would be better served following basketball.

One of the worst games I ever seen was the high-scoring Tyrone-Down drawn Ulster final in 2003, when Tyrone leaked 4 goals. Goals galore, much excitement, game lauded as a "classic".

Whereas I thought it was a joke, with comedy defending on both sides, but especially by Tyrone. Great crack for the day-trippers, but incredibly infuriating to watch if, like me, you think that defending is as much an art as attacking.

I enjoy watching teams trying to figure out a defence. Rogers was heroic in extra time today. "Boring" or not, I was gripped by the game and interested throughout. Obviously, I'm not as sophisticated as some, but I'll live with that ; )"
Was the Ulster final harder to watch than the leinster final or the munster final?
29000 people were left voiceless on the edge of their rough timber seats in game that looked like it might never end with a winner. It was an entertaining game that had moments of total frustration and absolute brilliance. I certainly know I would either watch a game that goes down to the wire than a game that is over in 15 minutes.
Ulster football championship is going to be put to the sword because of the uncompetitive nature of the other provinces . In the last 20 years all 9 counties have played in the Ulster final .

Derryman2 (Derry) - Posts: 12 - 30/05/2022 08:40:24    2420931

Comhghairdeas Doire, McKaigue said it well, it was just your time.

Devastated from a Donegal POV.

Anyone going on about the quality of the game can do one, Pat Spillane waxing lyrical about the Dubs at half time of an absolute dead rubber in the Leinster final going on about the skills and amazing play, well I am sick to my stomach losing that game yesterday but I was invested in every single second of that match and as tense and downright awful and slow as it was at times, the skills and energy on display were unbelievable from both sides. Some of the point taking was excellent, the fielding and movement, and the quality of the tackling - in a sport where really it is set up for the attackers to win frees and it is very difficult for defenders, the quality on show yesterday I thought was top top class, not only from Derry but also from a Donegal side often told that our defence is weak. At the end of the day until Extra Time I didn't feel Derry were cutting us open at ease, but in ET their unbelievable engines really told, the fitness in that side is incredible.

So I've no time for people whingeing about the quality of the match. Hurlers on the ditch.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 30/05/2022 09:14:48    2420939

Replying To essmac:  ""running at an opposition player and then throwing themselves to the ground, for their reliable free takers to kick points throughout the game"

All teams do this; as you say, great to see the ref not being codded by that carry-on on this occasion; once in sight of the posts, strong lads falling over like skittles if an opposing player so much as looks sideways at them. About time some of them were carded for it."
I agree it's becoming part of the game but it's very noticable with Donegal in particular especially over the past couple of years. The tactic tends to give Donegal at least 5 easy points per game and it goes a long way to keeping them in front.

I said here if the referee wasn't alert yesterday Derry would find it difficult to win the match. When the ref gave the free out in the 8th minute it was clear the Donegal tactic of winning easy frees wasn't going to work, it was a major moment in terms of how the game could be won for Derry. Fair play to the referee for seeing it, you're correct as well, hopefully all referees start to see these tactics and stops giving frees for players just falling inside the scoring zone.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 30/05/2022 09:24:13    2420942

Replying To totalrecall:  "Firstly I will congratulate Derry on their victory and wouldn't begrudge them it.

I wouldn't be Bonner's biggest fan, and I wouldn't fault the player's effort. But I think it's the players who must shoulder the majority of the blame on this occasion. When the game was in the melting pot we made some really poor decisions on the ball. Brennan, langan and mcbrearty our marquee forwards hardly touched leather had no impact on the game, our other marquee forward spent most of the game directing traffic and hardly crossed the 45. We missed three well positioned 45s I'm sorry of that's dean Rock, Sean O'Se or cluxton you can be sure those will be converted. Ryan McHugh missed two that he would normally kick over. We had too many lads who just didn't turn up.

It all had echoes of Tyrone 2017 & 2018, mayo 2019, Cavan 2020....big occasion and we were found wanting. This team has given us some great days out but has come up short in terms of moving to the next level. We just aren't at that level, yes we have been there or therabouts, but haven't been able to convert our chances in the big games when it has really mattered. Over 90 mins the defence kept Derry to a manageable score. It was at the top end of the pitch that we really struggled, yet again.

We play too much low risk, low intensity football. The game is evolving, it's time Donegal evolved with it.

A tough loss for team, management and supporters...will be hard to pick everyone up for the back door."
I'm in agreement with you here totalrecall, alright the management has alot to ans for in the way there setting this team up but there's a few fellas on that team with big reputations who persistently aren't preforming, maybe they are the best of what we've got atm and if it is were punching above ourselves this while then so. I think the collective would need a long hard look at themselves on the way there playing this while.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 30/05/2022 09:56:55    2420955

Replying To Derryman2:  "Was the Ulster final harder to watch than the leinster final or the munster final?
29000 people were left voiceless on the edge of their rough timber seats in game that looked like it might never end with a winner. It was an entertaining game that had moments of total frustration and absolute brilliance. I certainly know I would either watch a game that goes down to the wire than a game that is over in 15 minutes.
Ulster football championship is going to be put to the sword because of the uncompetitive nature of the other provinces . In the last 20 years all 9 counties have played in the Ulster final ."
Congratulations on your deserved win yesterday. Just because teams are evenly matched doesn't mean the game is good. That is yesterday's legacy. Derry were stopped from playing football. Not just their brand of football, but football in general. Hard to applaud that. Gallagher had to be patient and eventually it paid off. He was guilty of this himself in 2016 v Tyrone, getting succered at the death. He has moved on from this to manage in a very exciting way. Good luck in next games, I hope Derry do v well. Support was A1 y'day.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/05/2022 10:27:52    2420963

Why could nobody in the Donegal management team see that by playing Murphy back where he was, it was bringing Rodgers up the field and he was doing serious damage, basically won them the game in extra time. Derry won the tactical battle completely, leaving McMenamin and Ward on the ball, knowing they would do no damage. Ward passed up at least 4 good shooting chances, a player at that level needs to be able to kick a ball over the bar. I'd love to know what Stephen Rochford does?

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 462 - 30/05/2022 10:56:13    2420977

Replying To seanie08:  "Unless its the Dubs kerry or mayo rte doesn't want to know. Yesterday was boring ulster final today wasn't one for the purists but it had drama and excitement in spades best provincial final in years"
Maybe the best Ulster final in years but in fairness Seanie the Connacht final football wise was the best of this year's provincial decoders. The low free count tells its own story but the pace and counter attacking from Galway particularly from what neutral observers tell me was a joy to watch. I do agree Ulster gets unfair criticism at times and have produced some really good games over the years. The Leinster and Munster championship are just one traffic unfortunately.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 30/05/2022 11:07:20    2420986

Replying To Tyrion:  "I'm in agreement with you here totalrecall, alright the management has alot to ans for in the way there setting this team up but there's a few fellas on that team with big reputations who persistently aren't preforming, maybe they are the best of what we've got atm and if it is were punching above ourselves this while then so. I think the collective would need a long hard look at themselves on the way there playing this while."
Couldn't disagree with you more.

It was clear from early on how Donegal were instructed to play by the management from early on - CAUTIOUS CAUTIOUS CAUTIOUS to the point that they played keep ball to get to extra time. Well that backfired spectacularly as Derry were clearly the fitter team in extra time. Absolutely nothing to do with the players 'not performing' - they're not allowed to perform to their strengths. Murphy playing in the full back line case in point.

They were set up yesterday not to win the game but not to lose the game - maybe the grand plan was to take it to penalties?

Compare this to Galway (a similar level of players to ourselves) who are playing an attractive brand of football which their players are flourishing in. They went at Derry in the league and beat them out the gate in their back yard.

This management has had five seasons with a talented squad and still not as much as an AL semi final never mind a final or title. And I can guarantee you we won't this year either if we go out again with that 'gameplan' that was evident yesterday. Is it any wonder Derry supporters outnumbered us yesterday, who would pay to watch that tripe?

Unforgiveable.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 795 - 30/05/2022 11:09:05    2420987

Replying To Derryman2:  "Was the Ulster final harder to watch than the leinster final or the munster final?
Ulster football championship is going to be put to the sword because of the uncompetitive nature of the other provinces . In the last 20 years all 9 counties have played in the Ulster final ."
Congrats Derry. Tbf Connacht is not uncompetitive. 3 relatively matched teams in the smallest province County wise. I think the big issue is Munster and Leinster. I have no idea what Meath and to a lesser extent Kildare have been doing for the last 20 yrs given Football is their primary code and game with hurling a poor second. I know Kildare have done great work underage with both codes and that yet may bear fruit. Ulster is always competitive irrespective of standard.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 30/05/2022 11:16:59    2420993

Well done to Derry, they were the better team overall and deserved their win. It was a real dog of a game, the first 10 minutes were probably the worst I've ever seen - which is saying something. It was exciting because the game was close but both teams showed very little ambition, just going over and back trying not to give away turnovers. These are great games if you win them but sickening when you lose.

For some reason Donegal have gone back to the dark days of safety first defensive football. The first two years under Bonner 2018-19 we played some great attacking football and were decent to watch, ultimately we couldn't deliver on the national stage but we were improving and I was happy. However we are now back playing an ultra defensive game, trying to fist pass our way slowly up the field, no kick passing. I think we will find it hard to recover in the qualifiers, that defeat will have sucked the life out of us.

Best of luck to Derry for the remainder of the campaign, it was nice to see their fans enjoying their victory yesterday. They are doing nothing revolutionary in terms of a game plan, its the tried and trusted way Rory plays. However they have a real desire and hunger about them and will avoid Dublin and Kerry now on the path to the final, so you never know. Derry have some terrific individual players - Conor Glass, Brendan Rodgers, Chrissy McKaigue, Shane McGuigan, etc. I could go on.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 30/05/2022 11:32:59    2421000

Firstly congratulations to Derry on a deserved victory. There was great colour and atmosphere in Clones yesterday and not a hint of any bother. It was always going to be a tight one and Derry just had that wee bit more conviction in extra time to see themselves home. Gallagher has them so well set up tactically but Derry have some outstanding footballers too.

You'll not get a better man marker in the country than Chrissy McKaigue. Brendan Rogers must be the most dangerous full back in the game! McGuigan didn't get much space to operate in yesterday but he was unerring from frees. Conor Glass is a machine and I really like the wing forward Cassidy. He has a couple of wee tricks in his locker to get away from a marker and is well able to kick a score.

For ourselves it was just bitterly disappointing. We offered little variety in our attacking play. It all just looked so predictable. We all knew that Derry would operate a defensive screen so patience was required. But not to the point that it would put you to sleep. I have a hard time accepting that Donegal do not possess players who can beat a man or kick a point from distance. Or who can kick long accurate diagonal balls into the danger area the odd time where one of the best full forwards in the game might capitalise?

Anyway comghairdeas arís muintir na Doire. We'll just have to lick our wounds and see what the qualifier draw brings.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 30/05/2022 11:35:41    2421003

Replying To greenfan:  "Why could nobody in the Donegal management team see that by playing Murphy back where he was, it was bringing Rodgers up the field and he was doing serious damage, basically won them the game in extra time. Derry won the tactical battle completely, leaving McMenamin and Ward on the ball, knowing they would do no damage. Ward passed up at least 4 good shooting chances, a player at that level needs to be able to kick a ball over the bar. I'd love to know what Stephen Rochford does?"
I think that's unnecessarily harsh on Ward, yes Derry let him and McMenamin and McCole have the ball but had we been more accurate and played with more speed in our build up, it wouldn't have mattered. At the end of the day Brennan was scoreless and missed a sitter, Langan scoreless and 2 very bad misses first half, McBrearty wrapped up and no impact from general play, McHugh 2 bad wides, Murphy missed 2 45s, McGonagle blocked down twice with the wrong option taken - I don't like naming players but I don't think Caolan Ward having the ball in attacking positions was the losing of the game yesterday. Never mind the fact that McMenamin being in an attacking position led to the move which got our goal.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 30/05/2022 11:37:49    2421008