Derry V Donegal Ulster Final

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I can see your point about Monaghan's shooting but a lot of those shots, especially in the first half, were down to the pressure from Derry. They were really excellent defensively. Monaghan had a good purple patch in the 2nd half and to be honest I felt they were going to reel Derry back in had that 3rd goal not gone in. I felt the momentum had shifted but it was a huge moment. But in terms of the shooting, I'd say we are better at engineering a score and being patient, we have plenty of experience at this stage not to take shots from really difficult areas etc., but who knows how players will react once they are out on the field.

My worry is playing too much of that possession based stuff, if we motor up the pitch fast then we can get at Derry, but if we do too much of the slowly slowly stuff, while we are good at being patient I just think this Derry side will lap that up, turn us over and break at pace which will have us exposed.

The matchups will be very important like you say, who would you have on McKindless? Ryan didn't work on him last year. I think we have a few options for McGuigan and even though he had a rough day on Lynch the last day I would like McCole to pick him up.

I just hope our half forwards make a step up in this game because they weren't great against Cavan and we need everyone firing for this final I feel.

Really looking forward to it!"
Yea, like I mean Monaghan clearly weren't expecting the intensity that Derry showed yesterday and hence took a lot of pot shots during the game. The one thing about Donegal is that they will be more patient in working the scores and for this will be more structurally prepared for the key players of Derry.

Personally, I'd probably put McFF on him as well as a sweeper to nullify the driving runs he makes from deep. McCole is the man for McGuigan then. Derry do have other dangerous forwards but I think we have good enough players to nullify them.

One thing is for sure, we will have to counter attack with intensity because Derry get men behind the ball quickly so we need to make the ball do the work whenever we do counter attack. I think Brennan will be key for us because it'll likely be McCloskey marking him and McCloskey is quick and attacks a lot too so if Brennan can put a few points on the board early then there will be more emphasis on McCloskey marking Brennan. For me, it's McKindless and McCloskey who are the danger men coming from deep for Derry that needs to be closely monitored at all times. If we nullify these two lads as well as do a job on McGuigan, we will win by 4 or 5 points.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 16/05/2022 12:32:08    2417642

Replying To Lockjaw:  "How about McFadden-Ferry to start at CHF solely to sicken McKinless? A lot of Derry's best stuff was initiated from deep by McKinless yesterday. If he had a terrier like Odhran negating his influence it could go a long way to breaking Derry.

I'd like to see McCole start on McGuigan. They're similarly matched in terms of physique and McCole has been excellent in 2022, albeit had a tough afternoon against Cavan.

Midfield will be another key battleground. We can't allow Conor Glass to dictate things in there. Jason McGee has that fantastic spring and fielding ability as he demonstrated against Armagh. I think he'd be best suited for Glass. If he can edge that battle it will be significant.

I'd expect to see McKaigue take McBrearty. He did an excellent job on him last year, but as we all seen Paddy needs to be watched every second until the final whistle or he'll punish.

Like a lot of others have mentioned already, I think we'll need to attack at pace and go direct early when it's on. Derry operate a similar spider's web type defence that Donegal used to do so well. If there is slow ponderous attacking they'll strip the ball with glee and look to punish on the counter.

The big word in my opinion is conviction. If Donegal go out with the right focus and aggressively go at Derry from the start I still think we're a wee level above an improving Derry. But make no mistake, if we're any way off it, Derry will gladly seize the initiative and inflict what would be a very sore defeat on us."
McFadden - Ferry at CHF would be an interesting and logical tactic to counteract McKinless's influence. My main concern would be with placing him in a position unfamiliar to him is that he might interrupt the natural attacking flow of your forward line, they were within half an under/over hit pass short of creating three or more goal chances against Cavan. Donegal must hit the ground running and keep the scoreboard ticking over from the off. Your corner forwards will be well shackled early on so there will be an onus on your half forward line (and middle 8) to contribute to the scoring .
I would start McFadden -Ferry for his pace and tenacity alone and have him pick up McKinless when he moves forward. Need to begin with your strongest 15 and not to be introducing him when chasing a 5-6 point lead. In short the best way of curbing McKinless is to have a couple of scoring forwards running at him with pace.
Looking forward to a great contest and a fascinating tactical battle in Clones.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 16/05/2022 14:36:03    2417745

Replying To Curlew66:  "McFadden - Ferry at CHF would be an interesting and logical tactic to counteract McKinless's influence. My main concern would be with placing him in a position unfamiliar to him is that he might interrupt the natural attacking flow of your forward line, they were within half an under/over hit pass short of creating three or more goal chances against Cavan. Donegal must hit the ground running and keep the scoreboard ticking over from the off. Your corner forwards will be well shackled early on so there will be an onus on your half forward line (and middle 8) to contribute to the scoring .
I would start McFadden -Ferry for his pace and tenacity alone and have him pick up McKinless when he moves forward. Need to begin with your strongest 15 and not to be introducing him when chasing a 5-6 point lead. In short the best way of curbing McKinless is to have a couple of scoring forwards running at him with pace.
Looking forward to a great contest and a fascinating tactical battle in Clones."
I feel that Odhran has been a wee bit unfairly pigeonholed solely as a spoiler but he is actually quite decent on the ball. He is also very adept at bursting into wee pockets of space in an attacking sense and I've seen him dispatch a few goal chances in his time like an accomplished forward. I remember a league game against Meath about 2 years ago when he attcked a wee gap that opened up and he absolutely buried the chance. It would be a bit of a curve ball for McKinless to have a guy not only capable of tagging him, but could also hurt Derry going in the other direction if a chance presented itself.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 16/05/2022 15:37:22    2417794

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I feel that Odhran has been a wee bit unfairly pigeonholed solely as a spoiler but he is actually quite decent on the ball. He is also very adept at bursting into wee pockets of space in an attacking sense and I've seen him dispatch a few goal chances in his time like an accomplished forward. I remember a league game against Meath about 2 years ago when he attcked a wee gap that opened up and he absolutely buried the chance. It would be a bit of a curve ball for McKinless to have a guy not only capable of tagging him, but could also hurt Derry going in the other direction if a chance presented itself."
Yeah Odhrán is fantastic going forward, a really neat footballer whose solo doesn't give the defender the opportunity to have a bite at it. However, all his attacking to date has been from the wing, providing the support width, but I'm sure if given the right instructions that he could certainly do a job on McKindless. If we really wanted to go after McKindless, Eoghan Ban would be my choice, and keep McFadden-Ferry on the wing.

I was at the match yesterday, and you could see it live, as soon as McKindless got a run on Shane Carey, on the half way line and before he had even received the ball, it had danger written on all over it. Carey was replaced before half time.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 16/05/2022 19:53:22    2417919

Replying To MurphBalls:  "I'm from Donegal!

I have us down to hammer everyone? I had Donegal to beat Cavan by 10. They won by 6. I wasn't far off. Yes, I was surprised by how good Cavan was and anyone saying before the game that Cavan was this and that and that league didn't mean anything was full of it. Cavan are clearly the exception to that. Cavan were sooooo bad in the league. I watched them play London live in London and that was what I was basing my prediction on. I'll admit now that I was wrong and I admitted it already. Cavan are a good team.

Now, I have Donegal by 4/5 points. Monaghan were so erratic yesterday taking potshots from everywhere. Donegal won't do that. Donegal will be way more controlled and will deal with Derry's top players a lot better than what Monaghan did. If we get our matchups right, especially on McKindless running from deep, and McGuigan, I think we will win by 4/5 points."
Apologies, it was a genuine question as you're very confident of us.

I do agree that Monaghan did miss scorable chances and this is where we need to be more clinical. Towards the end of the first half they seemed to get into their groove, find the pass in the right area with patience but then it was a little too late because they had conceded the two goals.

Which is the other issue, defence. I fully agree with you about McKinless. They will do their homework on us but we need to negate the strongest aspects in their game; the transition speed and mobility. I think we may need to sit very deep for long spells particularly early in the game. Our intensity and focus levels in defence need to be way superior to the previous two games due to Derry's movement and speed. Our tracking back if we push high up on the kickout needs to be manic and fully committed. Their keeper, while he did well the last day, didn't look overly confident to me on a strong press. Derry got hemmed in, but the damage was done.

We simply cannot concede any type of lead the next day. We must bring their game plan into a level of question which hasn't been asked until now. If we go 3/4 up early doors, can we put the foot to their throat and cause chaos? We need to be able to deal with this type of challenge if we are to contend at the top table, simple as that. But this is a big, big challenge now and superior perhaps to any I even envisaged from Monaghan or Tyrone. Derry have really emerged now and it's actually great to see them back at this level but I'm wary as hell of them! A bit of a sleeping giant has woken for me. A county who really have underperformed are finally getting their act together and in style.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 16/05/2022 21:05:12    2417932

Momentum is with Derry, have beat last years Ulster & All Ireland Champions Tyrone and Ulster runners up Monaghan who recently beat Dublin in the final round of the National League, and I can't see Donegal stop this train.
Donegal have been shakey and inconsistent thoughout the National League and also against Armagh and Cavan in Championship, great players, but they lack intensity and collective focus and players aren't fully behind their management and system. I'm expecting a tight game, but I can't see Donegal offering anything better than Tyrone or Monaghan.

Rory Gallagher and the team have done an amazing job with Derry, the players have all bought into it and its given some of the more seasoned veterans a new lease of life. Seeing players like Chrissy McKaigue and Benny Herron finally get their day in the sun is long-overdue.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 17/05/2022 13:39:24    2418111

Its definitely building for great final tbh its good see derry there. Hopefully get fully fit team and we can get hands back on cup again would imagine close game like it was in ballybofey but we need step it up a lot to beat them. In terms of tickets location can you access the pitch from the hill if we do win?

Tom123 (Donegal) - Posts: 20 - 17/05/2022 13:52:29    2418119

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Momentum is with Derry, have beat last years Ulster & All Ireland Champions Tyrone and Ulster runners up Monaghan who recently beat Dublin in the final round of the National League, and I can't see Donegal stop this train.
Donegal have been shakey and inconsistent thoughout the National League and also against Armagh and Cavan in Championship, great players, but they lack intensity and collective focus and players aren't fully behind their management and system. I'm expecting a tight game, but I can't see Donegal offering anything better than Tyrone or Monaghan.

Rory Gallagher and the team have done an amazing job with Derry, the players have all bought into it and its given some of the more seasoned veterans a new lease of life. Seeing players like Chrissy McKaigue and Benny Herron finally get their day in the sun is long-overdue."
Personally, I can't see it. Donegal will offer more of a structural presence than what Tyrone and Monaghan offered. The red card and penalty turned the tie against Tyrone and against Monaghan it looks like Derry would be pinned back but at the end of the day if you concede 3 goals in a match, often times you will lose the match. I don't think Derry will score 3 goals against Donegal and will Derry score enough points to beat Donegal?

Donegal saw off Armagh and Cavan without really getting out of 3rd gear. The National League isn't really a good indicator of Donegals abilities. Donegal were missing a lot of key players in the league and are only now getting back into full swing. The two games against Armagh and Cavan will help get the fluidity back in the team and hopefully put a few strong performances together now. It's all about how Donegal setup against Derry. If we nullify the runners from deep it'll be a 4/5 point victory for Donegal.

I'm not the biggest fan of Donegals playing style but I think this is the exact style that can nullify Derry. Although, if Derry do beat Donegal I think they'll go on to the AI final to meet Dublin/Kerry.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 17/05/2022 14:01:46    2418124

Replying To Tom123:  "Its definitely building for great final tbh its good see derry there. Hopefully get fully fit team and we can get hands back on cup again would imagine close game like it was in ballybofey but we need step it up a lot to beat them. In terms of tickets location can you access the pitch from the hill if we do win?"
You should be able to aye, they normally open up the gates down to the Pat McGrane and then onto the pitch from there.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 17/05/2022 14:16:45    2418138

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Momentum is with Derry, have beat last years Ulster & All Ireland Champions Tyrone and Ulster runners up Monaghan who recently beat Dublin in the final round of the National League, and I can't see Donegal stop this train.

Rory Gallagher and the team have done an amazing job with Derry, the players have all bought into it and its given some of the more seasoned veterans a new lease of life. Seeing players like Chrissy McKaigue and Benny Herron finally get their day in the sun is long-overdue."
Good to see you posting again! Am I right in saying you haven't been on here in a good while? Always enjoyed reading your very knowledgable posts, although on this occasion of course I hope that your analysis proves to be wrong.

I think the key question is whether Donegal can lift the intensity levels. There is undoubted talent there but so far in 2022 we seem to be incapable of a full 70 minute performance. There were mitigating factors during the league with a host of players missing at one point or another. We're very close to full strength now and a good 3 week lead time into the final to prepare physically, psychologically and tactically.

If we cannot raise our game sufficiently for an Ulster final against near neighbours coached by a former manager then serious questions will need to be asked. I am of the opinion that we will however, and that being the case will be a wee bit too strong for a rapidly improving Derry team. I get the feeling that there is a determination in the Donegal ranks to prove that we aren't bottlers and to finally live up to expectations. A convincing Ulster final win would certainly be a good start in that regard.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 17/05/2022 14:52:43    2418155

Replying To Curlew66:  "McFadden - Ferry at CHF would be an interesting and logical tactic to counteract McKinless's influence. My main concern would be with placing him in a position unfamiliar to him is that he might interrupt the natural attacking flow of your forward line, they were within half an under/over hit pass short of creating three or more goal chances against Cavan. Donegal must hit the ground running and keep the scoreboard ticking over from the off. Your corner forwards will be well shackled early on so there will be an onus on your half forward line (and middle 8) to contribute to the scoring .
Looking forward to a great contest and a fascinating tactical battle in Clones."
McKinless hasn't been lining out at CHB despite wearing 6. I don't think McFadden-Ferry would be a match for him physically to be honest and would be targeting McKinless with kickouts if that was the case. On the game I think Donegal will match us tactically and win the game with a few to spare.

oakleaflad (Derry) - Posts: 46 - 17/05/2022 16:42:10    2418203

Welcome back Gary

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 17/05/2022 16:59:16    2418207

I'm afraid Derry will run through us and get goals or we will be forced to concede numerous easy frees. I think our priority should be shutting Derry down to 15 points. Derry will know they need around 18 points to win. This is a great test of our defence and it will offer us a chance to see what Paddy Campbell brings to the table.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1141 - 17/05/2022 17:47:14    2418220

Always been a big admirer of Derry football, irks me that Gallagher is taking all the credit for derrys resurgence. Great work at underage in Derry at minor level over the last 6 or 7 years not being alluded to by any of the so called expert pundits. I am not a fan of Mr Gallagher or his football philosophy. If Derry were playing anyone else and with another manager I would be rooting for them. But as a Donegal man I am hopeful we can do the business, may the best team win.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 17/05/2022 21:34:37    2418264

I suppose looking at this game I'd agree the momentum is all with Derry, if ye manage to beat us and win Ulster it will set ye up for a great stab at the All Ireland,
I just don't know where we are at, we still rely too much on Michael Murphy, we have great players, just not sure if we are a great team nowadays, we'll see anyway on the day what performance both teams can bring,
if Donegal really click I think we'll win, hopefully.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 17/05/2022 22:00:42    2418268

Hi guys, bit of help needed.

The Gerry Arthurs Stand is the main seated stand in Clones isn't it? I see tickets for that are €35 per person, with no discounted rates for young kids.

Does the Pat McGrane/Eastern stand have seated area? I see juvenile tickets there are €5 which is ideal. My kids would be too small for standing so hoping to have us all seated.

Thanks.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 18/05/2022 14:39:20    2418422

Donegal won't win the All Ireland but might have a kick in them to win an Ulster title. Derry are a coming team, should of been promoted and are very well coached. They're a team with potential to give the All Ireland a go, we won't know until they reach Croke Park, but we know the Mayo's, Dublin's, Kerry's will beat this Donegal team.

Looking forward to the Ulster Final where experience could be key. Derry need a strong ref as Donegal know how to win frees in the scoring zone and they'll try to use Derry's physicality and hard (fair) tackling to their advantage by falling when tackles come in; another tactic of Donegal is their key players will be putting pressure on the referee from early on, they're players who are well know as Derry would be unknown personalties and that can impact a referee.

If the ref is clued into that and strong, Derry don't let the occasion get to them then I think they could win it comfortably.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 18/05/2022 15:04:12    2418444

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi guys, bit of help needed.

The Gerry Arthurs Stand is the main seated stand in Clones isn't it? I see tickets for that are €35 per person, with no discounted rates for young kids.

Does the Pat McGrane/Eastern stand have seated area? I see juvenile tickets there are €5 which is ideal. My kids would be too small for standing so hoping to have us all seated.

Thanks."
The Pat McGrane is seated but uncovered, and opposite the Gerry Arthur Stand. The Eastern Stand is seated and uncovered also.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 18/05/2022 15:29:25    2418456

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi guys, bit of help needed.

Thanks."
The Pat McGrane is all seated benches, there is no cover there. The Hill is behind the McGrane which is all standing.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/05/2022 15:36:20    2418458

Replying To sam1884:  "Donegal won't win the All Ireland but might have a kick in them to win an Ulster title. Derry are a coming team, should of been promoted and are very well coached. They're a team with potential to give the All Ireland a go, we won't know until they reach Croke Park, but we know the Mayo's, Dublin's, Kerry's will beat this Donegal team.

Looking forward to the Ulster Final where experience could be key. Derry need a strong ref as Donegal know how to win frees in the scoring zone and they'll try to use Derry's physicality and hard (fair) tackling to their advantage by falling when tackles come in; another tactic of Donegal is their key players will be putting pressure on the referee from early on, they're players who are well know as Derry would be unknown personalties and that can impact a referee.

If the ref is clued into that and strong, Derry don't let the occasion get to them then I think they could win it comfortably."
Here Sam, give your head a wobble. I happened to be a neutral observor at the Derry Monaghan game on Sunday, and just to be clear, Derry have very little to learn when it comes to the dark arts. No 15 was down at least twice to get the game stopped in the 6 or 7 minutes before he was substituted. I expect him to be fit for the next day ;-). I also counted maybe 6 or 7 occasions at least when Monaghan had the momentum where Derry players went down, and lay on the ball, and Monaghan players went wrestling to get the ball back, resulting in another 30 or 40 seconds taken off the clock on each occasion. But sure get your I told you so's in early.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 18/05/2022 15:43:14    2418460