Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes. It's his last year. And he will not be back. He tried something different in Meath football over past number of years. It didn't work. Good luck to him he is a passionate Meath man and we thank him for his efforts. As a in house thing the cb should at this stage be already setting in place a system to appoint a new management. We can only hope that will happen. Meath have a extremely young team that need a different voice going forward who that voice is I don't know.
On a separate note Dublin were sublime, if they play like that going forward they will be very hard to stop. And I include Kerry in that."
I think you are correct, Dublin won easier than I expected. McEntee put a lot into the job, but yesterday was the end. Any candidates emerging to take over?
Dublin look like retaining the Leinster title, and having a say in the All Ireland race.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 16/05/2022 11:11:10    2417582

Embarrassing. McEntee needs to go.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 16/05/2022 12:01:08    2417622

Replying To Temple56:  "Last time I am going to say it.

Bring the two games yesterday out of Croke Park and you have two serious atmospheres in O Connor Park and O Moore Park.

I was at the game yesterday and saw some brilliant football but how many hard hits did I see? None.

Watched Derry and Monaghan on the Sunday Game last night when I got home. I had a serious atmosphere with nearly 19000 people packed in to the Athletic Grounds.

It got me thinking if that game was played in Croke Park what would the atmosphere be like? Very Poor.

Westmeath, Meath and Kildare supporters are as loud as any supporters in the country but when you go Croke Park year in year out and have atmospheres like yesterday it is hard to get excited for the championship."
I dont know, thought there was quite a crowd yesterday, wasnt it close to 40k - fair play to all, all the trains were jammers, que was All Ireland final day length all the way around and behind the station just to get into it, 3 packed trains after the game went - All four counties were on the one line - which makes sense in terms of location and Croker when you think about it. Thought the atmosphere was good, but i didnt go into the first game, Hill was full and the Nally was open.

Heard the words "big day out" more then once yesterday and great to see the kids milling about from loads of counties.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2022 12:39:55    2417648

Hopefully we can get our center back issues issues addressed. looking at it a diabolical Meath team kicked 1-14 so hopefully we will better that and not concede as much. All I'd ask the lads to do is get nice and close, don't give away possession and hit hard. I don't want to hear anymore about financial doping or any of that *****. We know the Dubs have an advantage in that sense but forget about it now.

They have regressed a lot over the last few years so it really is now or never. And you know there result isn't something that I'm talking about. Get stuck in and make the work for everything.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/05/2022 13:01:54    2417664

Quite clear the Leinster council got it badly wrong yesterday arranging those games for Croke Park, it was a dead duck of an atmosphere

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 16/05/2022 13:07:03    2417667

Replying To TheUsername:  "I dont know, thought there was quite a crowd yesterday, wasnt it close to 40k - fair play to all, all the trains were jammers, que was All Ireland final day length all the way around and behind the station just to get into it, 3 packed trains after the game went - All four counties were on the one line - which makes sense in terms of location and Croker when you think about it. Thought the atmosphere was good, but i didnt go into the first game, Hill was full and the Nally was open.

Heard the words "big day out" more then once yesterday and great to see the kids milling about from loads of counties."
You thought it was good, close to 40,000 but you didn't go to the first game.. you nor any other Dubs or Meath fans. About 20,000 at it and awfully quiet. Someone else pointed out that neither Westmeath nor Kildare fans are quiet or bad at following, but what can you do when your cheers are drowned out by the vast emptiness of Croker. It was a game that never looked like it got out of second gear and I blame the venue.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 16/05/2022 13:24:25    2417687

Replying To Sweetspot:  "You thought it was good, close to 40,000 but you didn't go to the first game.. you nor any other Dubs or Meath fans. About 20,000 at it and awfully quiet. Someone else pointed out that neither Westmeath nor Kildare fans are quiet or bad at following, but what can you do when your cheers are drowned out by the vast emptiness of Croker. It was a game that never looked like it got out of second gear and I blame the venue."
Couldn't disagree with you.

40,000 in Croke park, yet 20,000 in Tullamore & 30,000 in Portlaoise would have more than coped with both games.

The game is on and your still waiting for it to start, its so dead.

But to be fair to the leinster council, they've said that this years semi finals will be moved away from Croke Park, & I've no doubt that they will stick to that..... oh wait.... oops

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 16/05/2022 13:36:18    2417695

Replying To Jinxie:  "Couldn't disagree with you.

40,000 in Croke park, yet 20,000 in Tullamore & 30,000 in Portlaoise would have more than coped with both games.

But to be fair to the leinster council, they've said that this years semi finals will be moved away from Croke Park, & I've no doubt that they will stick to that..... oh wait.... oops"
It is up to the county boards now to say hang on, we won't play here. Are we still going with the myth that it is every players dream of playing in a three quarters empty stadium? It is ludicrous.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 16/05/2022 13:48:20    2417704

Replying To Sweetspot:  "You thought it was good, close to 40,000 but you didn't go to the first game.. you nor any other Dubs or Meath fans. About 20,000 at it and awfully quiet. Someone else pointed out that neither Westmeath nor Kildare fans are quiet or bad at following, but what can you do when your cheers are drowned out by the vast emptiness of Croker. It was a game that never looked like it got out of second gear and I blame the venue."
I thought it was a good crowd considering Leinster is a busted flush, has been for years its time is over, i think 40k for provincial semis is excellent, its a half full Croker. Its sad the way its gone, putting 30 points over on Meath pulling up is just indicative of it, when i consider some of the famous battles between the two.

But i think its a good crowd when you consider that context. Id accept the atmosphere was probably better for the second game then the first. Worst atmosphere i ever experienced was Kildare VS Armagh qualifier a few years back in Corker. Shes a different stadium in those game a cold dead block. I thought it was alright yesterday and you can imagine some of the scenes ive seen in the ground, though admittedly i only turned up for our game, wasn't the worst for a Leinster Semi.

Im not to pushed where they are held to be honest and i dont think it makes much of a difference, but i could see the sense of it in Corker yesterday given its on the train line for every county admittedly not for all of the county in question, i always like seeing children and young people get the day out in Croker to be honest, its a great facility to have in Leinster to my mind. If other Leinster counties dont play there its defacto just Dublins home ground - maybe it is anyway....

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2022 13:58:19    2417711

Replying To Jinxie:  "Couldn't disagree with you.

But to be fair to the leinster council, they've said that this years semi finals will be moved away from Croke Park, & I've no doubt that they will stick to that..... oh wait.... oops"
It's a bad joke at this stage Jinxie. I think the main issue with Croker is it's not fully enclosed. Any atmosphere is sucked out by the open end of Hill 16.
I don't think Hill 16 should be seen as a provincial ground either. It's HQ simple as that. Leinster should look at developing O'Moore Pk. Bring it to 40-45K which would be able to handle all of these double headers. You look at Munster who have at least 4 stadiums which can handle big crowds.
Unfortunately it will take people to vote with their feet at this stage. I won't be going into the Leinster Final for a number of factors. Mainly because I don't think it's an enjoyable day out.

The GAA don't care as long as they are making money and they did yesterday.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/05/2022 14:13:10    2417721

Replying To Joxer:  "Spot on. It's like a throw back to the good aul days when we were in our pomp and the same poster whinging after every Dublin win. The usual topics are covered…

Dublin advantages. - check
Dublin fans booing. - check
Fans are bored. - check
Ignore opposition fans booing - check
I'm not going to Kildare v Dublin - check

We must have played well. A Kildare fan whinging more after a defeat for Meath than Meath fans themselves. You love to see it. We must be back. The white flags of surrender will be waving in the final."
Heres a Kildare fan who will be in Croke Park on May 28. There will be plenty of white flags in Croke Park that day but not of surrender. First time since 2009-2011 era we are going into a championship match with Dublin with a serious belief of beating them. One thing is for certain is that Glenn Ryan and his management team do not do 'moral victories'. Unlike Jack O'Connor last year, these men will not be planning based on the fear of losing but rather planning based on the belief in winning and going all out for that win. After that let the cards fall as they may. If ye are good enough you'll beat us and vice versa. C'mon the Lillies

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 16/05/2022 15:40:52    2417799

Replying To TheUsername:  "I thought it was a good crowd considering Leinster is a busted flush, has been for years its time is over, i think 40k for provincial semis is excellent, its a half full Croker. Its sad the way its gone, putting 30 points over on Meath pulling up is just indicative of it, when i consider some of the famous battles between the two.

But i think its a good crowd when you consider that context. Id accept the atmosphere was probably better for the second game then the first. Worst atmosphere i ever experienced was Kildare VS Armagh qualifier a few years back in Corker. Shes a different stadium in those game a cold dead block. I thought it was alright yesterday and you can imagine some of the scenes ive seen in the ground, though admittedly i only turned up for our game, wasn't the worst for a Leinster Semi.

Im not to pushed where they are held to be honest and i dont think it makes much of a difference, but i could see the sense of it in Corker yesterday given its on the train line for every county admittedly not for all of the county in question, i always like seeing children and young people get the day out in Croker to be honest, its a great facility to have in Leinster to my mind. If other Leinster counties dont play there its defacto just Dublins home ground - maybe it is anyway...."
The thing is, I've been at 8 kildare games this year, yesterdays was by far and away the flattest performance with by far the worst atmosphere. Why was the atmosphere far more dead in the semi than the quarter, despite a tighter score line? Easy. The venue.

You say you love seeing kids in Croker.. I love seeing kids playing on the pitch at half time and running out and getting pictures and autographs with their hero's at full time. Of course the venue makes a difference. The difference between a full Tullamore/Portlaois/Navan/Newbridge and a quarter full Croke Park is unbelievable.. don't get me wrong, I'm sure it'd be different at an all Ireland semi/final, if ever I'm lucky enough to get to one and I'm sure you and the rest of Dublin have wonderful memories there over the past decade, but my God, it sucks the life out of everyone else in Leinster.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 16/05/2022 16:09:13    2417815

Just to play devil's advocate for a minute…..

Given the obvious lack of atmosphere and given the fact that the Leinster Council is unlikely to ever change its approach in terms of venue selection etc - is it time that counties actually start tailoring preparation for such eventualities? Look at the games that were played in all sports during covid in empty stadia - did we complain about the lack of quality in all of those games while we watched from home? Of course nobody liked it but all teams just got on with it and there were some great games. What about Cavan's blood and thunder Ulster Final victory over Donegal in an empty Athletic Grounds in Armagh? What about club games the length and breadth of the country that often serve up some rip roaring affairs in front of only a handful of people? What about all the club finals in Croke Park that have had less people at them than on Sunday last and nobody complained about lack of atmosphere? What about the infamous A V B games Cody has Kilkenny play in an empty Nolan Park where legend would tell you that they are unbelievable affairs in terms of intensity and quality?

I'm just raising questions above as I think there is an over emphasis on the stadium and atmosphere. Kildare and Westmeath on Sunday both knew exactly the elements they would be playing in in terms of a near empty stadium so is it an easy out to blame the flat atmosphere for putting in an under par performance on the field? I know players 100% feed off the energy of the crowd in all sports the world over but in cases where you are only in control of what you do on the pitch and what happens on the pitch then is it up to the counties in question to effectively block out the atmosphere or lack thereof and focus on producing a performance on the field?

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 16/05/2022 16:30:00    2417826

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Just to play devil's advocate for a minute…..

Given the obvious lack of atmosphere and given the fact that the Leinster Council is unlikely to ever change its approach in terms of venue selection etc - is it time that counties actually start tailoring preparation for such eventualities? Look at the games that were played in all sports during covid in empty stadia - did we complain about the lack of quality in all of those games while we watched from home? Of course nobody liked it but all teams just got on with it and there were some great games. What about Cavan's blood and thunder Ulster Final victory over Donegal in an empty Athletic Grounds in Armagh? What about club games the length and breadth of the country that often serve up some rip roaring affairs in front of only a handful of people? What about all the club finals in Croke Park that have had less people at them than on Sunday last and nobody complained about lack of atmosphere? What about the infamous A V B games Cody has Kilkenny play in an empty Nolan Park where legend would tell you that they are unbelievable affairs in terms of intensity and quality?

I'm just raising questions above as I think there is an over emphasis on the stadium and atmosphere. Kildare and Westmeath on Sunday both knew exactly the elements they would be playing in in terms of a near empty stadium so is it an easy out to blame the flat atmosphere for putting in an under par performance on the field? I know players 100% feed off the energy of the crowd in all sports the world over but in cases where you are only in control of what you do on the pitch and what happens on the pitch then is it up to the counties in question to effectively block out the atmosphere or lack thereof and focus on producing a performance on the field?"
Good point well made, atmosphere should account for maybe 2/3% of the intensity you bring to a performance, vs say your own preparation or training or tactics. I actually wonder if injury prevention was a named method in Kildares performance as I actually can't justify what I saw yesterday vs against Louth. I suppose I and plenty of others are annoyed because it makes a far bigger difference to supporters.

On the Covid argument, do you think the Ulster counties would sit back and be happy if every Ulster Semi and Final were to be played in Omagh for the next 20 years as Tyrone casually began to dominate and win every time? It's quite doubtful.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 16/05/2022 16:47:50    2417836

Replying To Sweetspot:  "The thing is, I've been at 8 kildare games this year, yesterdays was by far and away the flattest performance with by far the worst atmosphere. Why was the atmosphere far more dead in the semi than the quarter, despite a tighter score line? Easy. The venue.

You say you love seeing kids in Croker.. I love seeing kids playing on the pitch at half time and running out and getting pictures and autographs with their hero's at full time. Of course the venue makes a difference. The difference between a full Tullamore/Portlaois/Navan/Newbridge and a quarter full Croke Park is unbelievable.. don't get me wrong, I'm sure it'd be different at an all Ireland semi/final, if ever I'm lucky enough to get to one and I'm sure you and the rest of Dublin have wonderful memories there over the past decade, but my God, it sucks the life out of everyone else in Leinster."
I can understand where your coming from Pal,, I can see both sides, where your coming from, a Kildare pal of mine said a couple of weeks after the quarter that they just wanted a couple of big days out in Croker this season, guess it all preference really. Croker can be a slab admittedly with anything under 20k. - 30k.

To be honest I've always I kind of liked it half empty, like when we play in the league, we might get 20k, but you know it's relaxed and pubs trains etc aren't heaving, not to sat i don't enjoy a heaving Croker, I honestly don't mind either way. I can go ballistic with 15k in the ground as I can with 80k+. Loads of Dubs don't like it though, especially league games, so again prob each to their own.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2022 16:56:22    2417845

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Quite clear the Leinster council got it badly wrong yesterday arranging those games for Croke Park, it was a dead duck of an atmosphere"
I didn't even know these games were on yesterday, until last night. The GAA are squeezing a lot of the interest out of their intercounty competition, by shoe horning extra games and competitions into smaller & smaller timeframes. 23 'games' on one weekend, about 8or9 the next, no head nor tail to it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 16/05/2022 17:38:41    2417876

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Quite clear the Leinster council got it badly wrong yesterday arranging those games for Croke Park, it was a dead duck of an atmosphere"
Absolutely, not just no atmosphere but an empty soul destroying atmosphere, there wasn't 20k there at any one point in time, you could hear players and managers shouting,no decent food, tickets cost a small fortune if you had kids, just a disaster of a venue..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 16/05/2022 18:48:48    2417905

Look unless you have over 40,000 in croke park it's hard to generate the right atmosphere but no offence but yesterday's games were nt the type of heart pumping games anyway because both Kildare and Dublin never looked in trouble bar Kildare in first ten minutes. Also the problem with the attendence given is the crowd are never there together. There was probably never more than 30,000 in 5he stadium at any one time. Now I know alot of Dubs and Meath did nt come in for first game but what really got me was the amount of fans mainly Kildare that left before the Dublin Meath match. Would they not want to see their opposition to see how they play. Now the Dublin Meath game was over as a contest at half time and understandable more left then but to leave before the game was strange. I too think the games would have been better off in other grounds but from a selfish viewpoint I find in handy going into Croker. On the games Kildare did what they need to do and Dublin looked very good (albeit Meath looked rudderless.). On the croke park issue of course Dublin players are so used to it it gives them an advantage but that's why it's important for the likes of Kildare to get game time there. I expect Kildare to put in up to Dublin but expect a Dublin win.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 16/05/2022 19:08:04    2417910

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Heres a Kildare fan who will be in Croke Park on May 28. There will be plenty of white flags in Croke Park that day but not of surrender. First time since 2009-2011 era we are going into a championship match with Dublin with a serious belief of beating them. One thing is for certain is that Glenn Ryan and his management team do not do 'moral victories'. Unlike Jack O'Connor last year, these men will not be planning based on the fear of losing but rather planning based on the belief in winning and going all out for that win. After that let the cards fall as they may. If ye are good enough you'll beat us and vice versa. C'mon the Lillies"
Fair play to you and that's the spirit. Always like playing against the Lillies and they usually bring a big crowd. Ryan was a fierce player on the pitch so I expect that he'll have them fired up for it. The Lillies won by 3 points in the league against a Dublin side that will line out similarly in a couple of weeks. They'll take plenty of heart from that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/05/2022 19:12:14    2417913

Replying To Joxer:  "Getting the excuses in early. This is the same Dublin team who've been relegated out of D1. Meath were very poor today. A decent side would have pushed Dublin a lot closer but Meath were very poor. I didn't see any Dubs leaving at HT and I was in the lower Cusack. I saw plenty of Meath people leaving with 20 or so to go. Meath fans booed the ref off at full time and hurled abuse at him from the lower Cusack. That's probably worth bringing to your attention seeing as though you didn't witness it. Are you going to give Meath fans 200 lines now for their behaviour? The whiter than white Lillies never boo anyone."
The Dubs will most definitely win out leinster, absolutely, they also have one hand firmly fixed on the Sam Maguire Cup, without a shadow of doubt.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 16/05/2022 20:27:51    2417924