Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022

Getting confused now, Kildare Senior or maybe fair supporters dont want to play in Croke park, but the U20's do, as i said last week teams will want to play anywhere that best suits them.

Somewhere or Nowhere.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/05/2022 14:10:35    2416258

Replying To TheUsername:  "Getting confused now, Kildare Senior or maybe fair supporters dont want to play in Croke park, but the U20's do, as i said last week teams will want to play anywhere that best suits them.

Somewhere or Nowhere."
Such venue issues have never been a problem for you.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/05/2022 14:30:09    2416266

Replying To daytona11:  "Such venue issues have never been a problem for you."
You're dead right there. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/05/2022 15:01:19    2416279

I see it has just been announced that the 2 games will be streamed on GAAGO. Clever of the GAA to hold back until ticket sales reach a certain level. Not bit bitter after paying €90 for 3 tickets when we could have watched at home for a tenner. I know #nothingbeatsbeingthere

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 12/05/2022 17:07:41    2416751

Replying To BigSur:  "I see it has just been announced that the 2 games will be streamed on GAAGO. Clever of the GAA to hold back until ticket sales reach a certain level. Not bit bitter after paying €90 for 3 tickets when we could have watched at home for a tenner. I know #nothingbeatsbeingthere"
The link to watch those two Leinster semi finals have been on the GAAGO website since Monday.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 12/05/2022 17:30:31    2416755

If you buy it on gaago do you get to keep it and watch it when we get home ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2022 17:42:23    2416757

Replying To bdbuddah:  "For sure in Daniel Flynn and Feeley Kildare have 2 top class footballers. Kildare appear to have potential to kick on and be competitive at the top end of the championship but the truth is this has been said about a few Kildare teams in the last 15 years but looking back now we can see that when this was previously said it turned out to be a mirage. I will buy into this Kildare having being a team capable of competing with the top teams when they get a few championship wins against top teams. I'm not saying they won't be able to do this just saying wait until it happens before talking about how good they are.
Living near the Kildare border and knowing a lot of Kildare people Kildare supporters in the past often buy into hype about Kildare senior team before they achieve anything.
In terms of arrogance, I don't remember Bernard Flynn saying that in 2020 but wouldn't read too much into it, he is in the media so has to say these things to be noticed. I do remember on a thread on hoganstand shortly after you beat us easily 2017 where Kildare posters were taking exception to their 2017 team being compared to the Meath team of the late noughties who got through to two semi finals through the qualifiers.
Your funny they way you say that Kildare were really far the better team in the 9 point loss to Meath in 2020 as was proven by your hammering Meath by 3 points in the league playoff some time later."
Over 30 years following Kildare I've seen more than my share of false dawns. However on this occasion there is a lot more substance than hype in terms of underage success over the past 10 years or more. None of this guarantees anything but coupled with a high calibre senior management team all the indicators are good. Time will tell. I agree that the litmus test is a championship win against Dublin or teams like Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo (which we did in 2018) or Kerry etc

Newbridge was a classic case of a "3 point hammering", having lost two of our best forwards and reduced to 14 men of course Meath had an opportunity to rally but never looked likely to ever win that match.

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 12/05/2022 17:47:05    2416760

Replying To Temple56:  "Croke Park is great venue when it has 50000+ in attendance but anything below that leaves an empty atmosphere.

The Leinster championship needs a lift. Even if Dublin/Meath was played in O'Moore Park I would still expected Dublin to win but what about the atmosphere it would bring. 22000 people in O' Moore park would be way better for the Leinster Championship in the long run instead of 40000 in Croke Park. It would create a buzz around the competition again.

Again with the Kildare/Westmeath game. If this was in Tullamore it would have 15000+ in attendance and would create an unbelievable atmosphere."
15000+ in attendance are you expecting 14000 Kildare supporters to go? Cusack park has been an empty atmosphere for all the league. The Gaelic grounds had about 200 people in attendance during the league game. These lads are use to not having supporters. I raised the issue before on this platform Westmeath has a very poor support base, it's just how it is. I'm delighted the players are getting a game in croke park they put in the hard hours and I can only imagine they would rather play there then some nother venue, was that not always the dream as a youngster to get into croke park regardless if it doesn't suit the supporters need for an atmosphere. Now that's a Westmeath perspective. I imagine Dublin players are use to it and wouldn't mind. But this get them out of croke park debate fulled by the media has caught fire. Have yet to read one player saying they don't want to play in croke park yet.

ear2ground (Westmeath) - Posts: 109 - 12/05/2022 18:28:04    2416775

Replying To TheUsername:  "Getting confused now, Kildare Senior or maybe fair supporters dont want to play in Croke park, but the U20's do, as i said last week teams will want to play anywhere that best suits them.

Somewhere or Nowhere."
Double Header Senior Football in Croke Park = Bad - Spread out crowds; half interested spectators; assigned seating in a predominantly empty stadium.

All Ireland / Leinster Final at any level in Croke Park = Good - The highlight of many players playing career; they've worked hard to get there give them the big stage.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 285 - 13/05/2022 10:08:13    2416804

Replying To brianb:  "Double Header Senior Football in Croke Park = Bad - Spread out crowds; half interested spectators; assigned seating in a predominantly empty stadium.

All Ireland / Leinster Final at any level in Croke Park = Good - The highlight of many players playing career; they've worked hard to get there give them the big stage."
A funny one, i could see why Kildare seniors wouldn't want to play Dublin seniors there (not sure on WM), i can see why the U20s may want to play, but i could see why Tyrone could want to play them elsewhere to given its accessibility to Kildare as opposed to somewhere like Clones, maybe they wouldn't mind the jaunt to Corker, but would be ore on Kildares doorstep. Like i say teams will want to play wherever best suits them really, so concrete principals are a moving target as far as i can see, have a lot of Kildare friends, going to COS on Sat and then the return trip Sun to Croker, which does seem a bit mad in fairness.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/05/2022 12:27:19    2416852

In 2 minds about going up to croker sunday, the thoughts of sitting in an empty croke park is putting me off, i was at westmeath v kildare a few years back and swore i would never go to a game in an empty croke park again, such a shame these 2 games are not played in Tullamore and Portlaoise/Navan it would make for such a good atmosphere, anyway the powers to be in Leinster GAA show no signs of changing so what can ya do...

dec (None) - Posts: 269 - 13/05/2022 12:35:09    2416855

Replying To dec:  "In 2 minds about going up to croker sunday, the thoughts of sitting in an empty croke park is putting me off, i was at westmeath v kildare a few years back and swore i would never go to a game in an empty croke park again, such a shame these 2 games are not played in Tullamore and Portlaoise/Navan it would make for such a good atmosphere, anyway the powers to be in Leinster GAA show no signs of changing so what can ya do..."
Better tickets now available on ticketmaster - lower hogan half way line etc.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 13/05/2022 18:06:33    2416922

Good luck to all teams today. I include Dublin in that. From a Meath perspective what a great thing it would be to hand Dublin their first loss since 2010 in Leinster and it not even shown on tv.
So here's hoping for a all Meath Leinster final and fantastic craic in lead up to it. For those who don't know I am a devout royal living in Westmeath.
All the best to cillian Andy and all the team and management.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2022 10:06:46    2417161

1-17 to 5 points at halftime, what's happened with Meath since this time last year?

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 15/05/2022 17:29:08    2417275

Replying To royaldunne:  "Good luck to all teams today. I include Dublin in that. From a Meath perspective what a great thing it would be to hand Dublin their first loss since 2010 in Leinster and it not even shown on tv.
So here's hoping for a all Meath Leinster final and fantastic craic in lead up to it. For those who don't know I am a devout royal living in Westmeath.
All the best to cillian Andy and all the team and management.
Hon the royal"
Jaysus old pal yer going backwards, sure we're not even any good this year.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 15/05/2022 17:40:49    2417278

Dublin can afford to loose the bulk of their team and regenerate within months because of the huge difference in resources they have over all other counties.

I had decided to not attend the Leinster final after 10 minutes of the second game and went to leave at half time only to be beaten out the gate by Dublin fans ahead of me. Even some of their own fans are bored of this farce. The rest of them still get some bizarre kick out of booing freetakers and goading opposition when 16 points up. I don't understand the mentality of that. Its not like there is any sporting merit in their dominance.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 15/05/2022 18:21:38    2417313

Replying To jonno:  "1-17 to 5 points at halftime, what's happened with Meath since this time last year?"
That was more about the state Dublin was in last year. Meath remain the same a middle of the road division 2 team.

Kildare issues defensively still a big issue and up against a free scoring Dublin next doesn't bode well.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 15/05/2022 18:43:52    2417321

Replying To Yondu:  "That was more about the state Dublin was in last year. Meath remain the same a middle of the road division 2 team.

Kildare issues defensively still a big issue and up against a free scoring Dublin next doesn't bode well."
Yep, looks like the Dubs are back firing on all cylinders and the way Kildare were defending today they'll be easily opened up. Attacking was good at times but did a lot of daft stuff when they should have been closing out the game.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 15/05/2022 19:05:22    2417342

Dublin have certainly sharpened up over the past month or so. A lot more intensity too. The way the championship is falling out they most likely will make last four.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2563 - 15/05/2022 19:10:58    2417349

Replying To Daith:  "Dublin can afford to loose the bulk of their team and regenerate within months because of the huge difference in resources they have over all other counties.

I had decided to not attend the Leinster final after 10 minutes of the second game and went to leave at half time only to be beaten out the gate by Dublin fans ahead of me. Even some of their own fans are bored of this farce. The rest of them still get some bizarre kick out of booing freetakers and goading opposition when 16 points up. I don't understand the mentality of that. Its not like there is any sporting merit in their dominance."
We must have played well, haven't seen post like this in a couple of years.

Looking forward to getting a hold of Kildare I'm the hole of the 6 in a row!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/05/2022 19:26:45    2417359