Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022

Replying To bdbuddah:  "It's kind of funny hearing Kildare talking about how easy they won the league match against us last year, ignoring the fact that their goalie had to pull off a point blank save right at the end which would have tied up the match."
Goalkeeper involved in pulling off save shocker...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 08/05/2022 10:41:39    2415505

Replying To bdbuddah:  "It's kind of funny hearing Kildare talking about how easy they won the league match against us last year, ignoring the fact that their goalie had to pull off a point blank save right at the end which would have tied up the match."
Even last year when we were operating at a couple of levels below where we are now we accounted for Meath with ease in a game where we had lost two of our best forwards in the first 20/25 minutes, (Dan Flynn was out injured) and were reduced to 14 men. Even in 2019 in the dying weeks of Cian O'Nelll's reign, which stage he had largely lost the dressing room and morale was at a low point, (Dan Flynn had taken a year out at that stage) Meath needed a last minute penalty to fall over the line. And this in the year that is widely regarded as the pinnacle of Andy McEntee's reign. The almost hysterical reaction of the Meath crowd afterwards was viewed with some bemusement by the travelling Kildare supporters that day. In many ways the reaction of the Meath supporters that day was/is symptomatic of the power dynamic and ambition of both counties. A victory over Meath now would hardly raise an eyebrow in Kildare and certainly would not be taken as a barometer of significant progress

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 08/05/2022 11:04:45    2415508

Kildare blew Meath out of the water that day, even after two of our best forwards hobbled off injured. A joke of a red card allowed Meath to make the score line respectable, but we're they ever in it? No.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 08/05/2022 11:25:55    2415511

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Keoghan wouldn't get near a Division 1 team now. Re Westmeath I think they are a more substantial team than Meath at the moment. Regarding last year Meath made a fist of it in the second half without ever looking like they would beat Dublin. We were saddled with a manager who had no belief in his team. We had the beating of Dublin that day but Jack O'Connor's tactics were not about winning but damage limitation. He lost the dressing room after that game.
The management team there now are all warriors. These men would bleed white. Glenn Ryan doesn't do moral victories and that is reflected in the Kildare performances this year. Ryan etc have brought these players up at least a couple of levels from where they were last year. Anyway as you say the coming weeks will tell us all where we are."
I thought Kildare could have beaten Dublin in the 2021 Leinster Final, but didn't play to win. I think Glen Ryan will make a difference this year, he is a committed Kildare man. Westmeath won't be a pushover.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 08/05/2022 12:56:38    2415533

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Even last year when we were operating at a couple of levels below where we are now we accounted for Meath with ease in a game where we had lost two of our best forwards in the first 20/25 minutes, (Dan Flynn was out injured) and were reduced to 14 men. Even in 2019 in the dying weeks of Cian O'Nelll's reign, which stage he had largely lost the dressing room and morale was at a low point, (Dan Flynn had taken a year out at that stage) Meath needed a last minute penalty to fall over the line. And this in the year that is widely regarded as the pinnacle of Andy McEntee's reign. The almost hysterical reaction of the Meath crowd afterwards was viewed with some bemusement by the travelling Kildare supporters that day. In many ways the reaction of the Meath supporters that day was/is symptomatic of the power dynamic and ambition of both counties. A victory over Meath now would hardly raise an eyebrow in Kildare and certainly would not be taken as a barometer of significant progress"
Meath were never in the match even though your goalie had to pull off a point blank save right at the end to stop us getting a draw, that's a contradiction in terms. Despite Meath being down to 13 at the end with the momentum shift in that game I would have fancied us had the game went to extra time.
A win against Meath would hardly raise an eyebrow?, It was LilywhiteGael who brought up that league playoff win last year (which he elevates to 'effectively a championship match').
Kildare supporters down the years really buy in when there is a bit of hype about their team.
Kildare teams over the years have, on a few occasion, flattered to deceive, appearing to be in position to make a breakthrough but actually hardly ever beating teams in the championship above their level so ye have to big up wins against Meath as you have few championship wins against big name teams.
In 2017 ye beat us by 9 points in the championship and we never heard the end of it. In 2020 we beat ye by 9 points (we have won 3 of the last 4 championship matches against ye) but it was never thought of in the same way in Meath.
Kildare seem to have some talent at the moment on their team and maybe these Kildare will push on and be competitive at the top but Kildare supporters should wait until ye achieve something before ye get arrogant.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1353 - 08/05/2022 13:34:12    2415540

Kildare look like they're ready to do battle, for the first time in years we could have ourselves a proper Leinster Final, unless Meath beat us then it'll be rubbish :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 08/05/2022 13:56:41    2415545

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Meath were never in the match even though your goalie had to pull off a point blank save right at the end to stop us getting a draw, that's a contradiction in terms. Despite Meath being down to 13 at the end with the momentum shift in that game I would have fancied us had the game went to extra time.
A win against Meath would hardly raise an eyebrow?, It was LilywhiteGael who brought up that league playoff win last year (which he elevates to 'effectively a championship match').
Kildare supporters down the years really buy in when there is a bit of hype about their team.
Kildare teams over the years have, on a few occasion, flattered to deceive, appearing to be in position to make a breakthrough but actually hardly ever beating teams in the championship above their level so ye have to big up wins against Meath as you have few championship wins against big name teams.
In 2017 ye beat us by 9 points in the championship and we never heard the end of it. In 2020 we beat ye by 9 points (we have won 3 of the last 4 championship matches against ye) but it was never thought of in the same way in Meath.
Kildare seem to have some talent at the moment on their team and maybe these Kildare will push on and be competitive at the top but Kildare supporters should wait until ye achieve something before ye get arrogant."
Not arrogant simply assessing the evidence in front of us. Don't think we'll take lectures on arrogance from Meath.
When ye beat us in a bizarre match in 2020 one of your former stalwarts (Bernard Flynn) took to twitter to declare ye were coming for Dublin, and we all know how that ended. (In that match we actually should have been out of sight at half time. The pattern of that first half was a truer reflection of where both teams were at and this was confirmed in the League Semi Final the following June.) I described the match as "effectively a championship match because in terms of long term development it was arguably more important than any championship match with promotion to Division 1 at stake.

Something exciting is happening in Kildare football right now. A young generation not burdened by any failures of the past are carving out their own Kildare identity and winning tradition. When appointed last year Glenn Ryan talked about embracing and celebrating our Kildare GAA identity, you can see that playing out already.
The Hawkfield Centre of Excellence has to be one of the most exciting places to be in the GAA right now where our seniors prepare for a Leinster SFC semi final, our minors a Leinster MFC semi final and the U20s an All-Ireland all of them with dynamic management teams whose only agenda is the advancement of Kildare football. Looking behind that Kildare Post-Primary schools are now seriously contesting for provincial honours, three of the four semi-finalists in Leinster this year were Kildare schools and an all Kildare final, with Naas going on to win the All-Ireland. All-in-all exciting times in Kildare. Whether all this will be enough to challenge Dublin for honours in Leinster will be enough but certainly all the right building blocks have been and are being put in place.
C'mon the Lillies

Something is happening in Kildare football right now, a young generation of footballers

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 08/05/2022 14:39:18    2415553

Have to be honest after reading through the pages on this thread; Ive always enjoyed the Meath posters and some of them are very knowledgeable and good craic as well, but please be informed posters of all other counties here, the mainstay of the vocal Meath contingent here are not representative of Meath support. Enough said.

Im my view, Kildare have a great opportunity to win the Leinster this year. Theyre a very good side - have all the attributes necessary to make an elite, top level team: Skill, Strength, size, and x-factor. Ive believed these things for years but it seems management and player belief let them down, perhaps Im wrong on that though. They should show no fear and go out and express themselves against Westmeath.

Dublin's to lose as always. I thought Wexford gave a good showing the other week but the Dubs (still a long way off where they need to be) won in 2nd gear pulling up.

That leaves Meath/Westmeath. Meath in my view are still on a slow decline since their relative breakthrough a few years ago. Theyre a decent team but will struggle against Dublin as they always do against elite sides. Westmeath have nothing to fear - they should have a pop at Kildare and we will see what way the cookie crumbles on the day.

My verdict is a Dubs - Kildare final.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 08/05/2022 14:45:15    2415558

Replying To Young_gael:  "Have to be honest after reading through the pages on this thread; Ive always enjoyed the Meath posters and some of them are very knowledgeable and good craic as well, but please be informed posters of all other counties here, the mainstay of the vocal Meath contingent here are not representative of Meath support. Enough said.

Im my view, Kildare have a great opportunity to win the Leinster this year. Theyre a very good side - have all the attributes necessary to make an elite, top level team: Skill, Strength, size, and x-factor. Ive believed these things for years but it seems management and player belief let them down, perhaps Im wrong on that though. They should show no fear and go out and express themselves against Westmeath.

Dublin's to lose as always. I thought Wexford gave a good showing the other week but the Dubs (still a long way off where they need to be) won in 2nd gear pulling up.

That leaves Meath/Westmeath. Meath in my view are still on a slow decline since their relative breakthrough a few years ago. Theyre a decent team but will struggle against Dublin as they always do against elite sides. Westmeath have nothing to fear - they should have a pop at Kildare and we will see what way the cookie crumbles on the day.

My verdict is a Dubs - Kildare final."
Don't worry, every county have people like that who don't represent the rest of their county. I would agree your assessment that a lack of player or management belief has held this Kildare team back. Particularly the manager, last year Jack O'Connor showed zero belief in his te.by how he set them up so difficult for players to believe in themselves. Fair play to Meath they had a right go at Dublin and pointed to how they could be got at. I know that a lot of the Kildare panel were angry with the attitude adopted by O'Connor and certainly among supporters there was a lot of frustration and anger among supporters coming out of Croke Park last August. Now the management team we have waited for since 2015 is finally in place. These men don't do moral victories or damage limitation, as they played themselves, they send out their players to win. Anybody who heard Glenn Ryan's interview after Kildare were defeated by Mayo and relegated last March will have heard a man who was hurting deeply and angry at the defeat to Mayo and relegation. There was no lashing out or blaming referees, or other teams or officials. No, this was a quite burning anger and the failures that were within the control of him, his management team and his players. On a deflating day for Kildare, it was one shining moment of hope to hear a manager throwing out the usual platitudes about being unlucky, his team acquitting themselves well in Division 1 etc. None of that mattered to Ryan, all he cared about was tangible and meaningful success.

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 08/05/2022 16:06:33    2415596

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Don't worry, every county have people like that who don't represent the rest of their county. I would agree your assessment that a lack of player or management belief has held this Kildare team back. Particularly the manager, last year Jack O'Connor showed zero belief in his te.by how he set them up so difficult for players to believe in themselves. Fair play to Meath they had a right go at Dublin and pointed to how they could be got at. I know that a lot of the Kildare panel were angry with the attitude adopted by O'Connor and certainly among supporters there was a lot of frustration and anger among supporters coming out of Croke Park last August. Now the management team we have waited for since 2015 is finally in place. These men don't do moral victories or damage limitation, as they played themselves, they send out their players to win. Anybody who heard Glenn Ryan's interview after Kildare were defeated by Mayo and relegated last March will have heard a man who was hurting deeply and angry at the defeat to Mayo and relegation. There was no lashing out or blaming referees, or other teams or officials. No, this was a quite burning anger and the failures that were within the control of him, his management team and his players. On a deflating day for Kildare, it was one shining moment of hope to hear a manager throwing out the usual platitudes about being unlucky, his team acquitting themselves well in Division 1 etc. None of that mattered to Ryan, all he cared about was tangible and meaningful success."
*should read "not throwing out the usual platitudes"

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 08/05/2022 16:30:31    2415603

These matches should be in Portlaoise (Dublin v Meath) and Tullamore (Kildare v Westmeath)

Would be way better atmosphere

Kildare v Westmeath in an empty Croke park (Dub&meath fans won't be in to watch it) will be be like lockdown all over

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 08/05/2022 21:24:48    2415750

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "These matches should be in Portlaoise (Dublin v Meath) and Tullamore (Kildare v Westmeath)

Kildare v Westmeath in an empty Croke park (Dub&meath fans won't be in to watch it) will be be like lockdown all over"
Couldn't agree more, awful decisions.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 09/05/2022 15:56:19    2416026

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "These matches should be in Portlaoise (Dublin v Meath) and Tullamore (Kildare v Westmeath)

Kildare v Westmeath in an empty Croke park (Dub&meath fans won't be in to watch it) will be be like lockdown all over"
Either Kildare or Westmeath will be happy enough to get the run out in Croker before having to face the Dubs in the final.

Does Leinster require a second stadium at this point which can hold 30-40k? How much work would O'Moore Park require to bring it up to the kind of standards where people would enjoy going to a game. I'm estimating that between the two games on Sunday there will be 40-45k at it so it's not a small attendance.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 09/05/2022 16:11:14    2416034

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Not arrogant simply assessing the evidence in front of us. Don't think we'll take lectures on arrogance from Meath.
When ye beat us in a bizarre match in 2020 one of your former stalwarts (Bernard Flynn) took to twitter to declare ye were coming for Dublin, and we all know how that ended. (In that match we actually should have been out of sight at half time. The pattern of that first half was a truer reflection of where both teams were at and this was confirmed in the League Semi Final the following June.) I described the match as "effectively a championship match because in terms of long term development it was arguably more important than any championship match with promotion to Division 1 at stake.

Something exciting is happening in Kildare football right now. A young generation not burdened by any failures of the past are carving out their own Kildare identity and winning tradition. When appointed last year Glenn Ryan talked about embracing and celebrating our Kildare GAA identity, you can see that playing out already.
The Hawkfield Centre of Excellence has to be one of the most exciting places to be in the GAA right now where our seniors prepare for a Leinster SFC semi final, our minors a Leinster MFC semi final and the U20s an All-Ireland all of them with dynamic management teams whose only agenda is the advancement of Kildare football. Looking behind that Kildare Post-Primary schools are now seriously contesting for provincial honours, three of the four semi-finalists in Leinster this year were Kildare schools and an all Kildare final, with Naas going on to win the All-Ireland. All-in-all exciting times in Kildare. Whether all this will be enough to challenge Dublin for honours in Leinster will be enough but certainly all the right building blocks have been and are being put in place.
C'mon the Lillies

Something is happening in Kildare football right now, a young generation of footballers"
For sure in Daniel Flynn and Feeley Kildare have 2 top class footballers. Kildare appear to have potential to kick on and be competitive at the top end of the championship but the truth is this has been said about a few Kildare teams in the last 15 years but looking back now we can see that when this was previously said it turned out to be a mirage. I will buy into this Kildare having being a team capable of competing with the top teams when they get a few championship wins against top teams. I'm not saying they won't be able to do this just saying wait until it happens before talking about how good they are.
Living near the Kildare border and knowing a lot of Kildare people Kildare supporters in the past often buy into hype about Kildare senior team before they achieve anything.
In terms of arrogance, I don't remember Bernard Flynn saying that in 2020 but wouldn't read too much into it, he is in the media so has to say these things to be noticed. I do remember on a thread on hoganstand shortly after you beat us easily 2017 where Kildare posters were taking exception to their 2017 team being compared to the Meath team of the late noughties who got through to two semi finals through the qualifiers.
Your funny they way you say that Kildare were really far the better team in the 9 point loss to Meath in 2020 as was proven by your hammering Meath by 3 points in the league playoff some time later.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1353 - 09/05/2022 20:18:03    2416074

Replying To daytona11:  "Either Kildare or Westmeath will be happy enough to get the run out in Croker before having to face the Dubs in the final.

Does Leinster require a second stadium at this point which can hold 30-40k? How much work would O'Moore Park require to bring it up to the kind of standards where people would enjoy going to a game. I'm estimating that between the two games on Sunday there will be 40-45k at it so it's not a small attendance."
What slandered would you like Portlaoise to be brought up to,?it's one of the best provincial grounds in the country.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 10/05/2022 08:54:25    2416104

Replying To dubarra:  "What slandered would you like Portlaoise to be brought up to,?it's one of the best provincial grounds in the country."
It needs increased capacity for a start. It wouldn't be capable of holding the double header at the weekend.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/05/2022 09:30:37    2416110

Replying To daytona11:  "Either Kildare or Westmeath will be happy enough to get the run out in Croker before having to face the Dubs in the final.

Does Leinster require a second stadium at this point which can hold 30-40k? How much work would O'Moore Park require to bring it up to the kind of standards where people would enjoy going to a game. I'm estimating that between the two games on Sunday there will be 40-45k at it so it's not a small attendance."
Why would you waste money upgrading O'Moore Park to fit a few more thousand in it that'll rarely need full capacity, when Croke Park is available?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 10/05/2022 09:51:11    2416118

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Why would you waste money upgrading O'Moore Park to fit a few more thousand in it that'll rarely need full capacity, when Croke Park is available?"
The same argument can be made for numerous stadiums in Munster and Connacth. Also that argument can be used if they try to press ahead with Casement Park.

Croker is suitable for a crowd of less than 50k. Fan experience does count for something when punters are handing over good money.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/05/2022 10:01:57    2416124

The upcoming semi final pairings are a good indicator of the best teams left in the Leinster championships.
The romantic in me would love to see a Westmeath vs Meath final as most of my extended family are scattered over the two counties.
The more pragmatic part of me says Dublin vs Kildare.
Depending on which Westmeath side shows up we could have a good close game there.
Kildare look strong and well organized.
Meath seem to be stuttering a lot this season and the dubs appear to be hitting their stride.

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 10/05/2022 11:30:41    2416184

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Why would you waste money upgrading O'Moore Park to fit a few more thousand in it that'll rarely need full capacity, when Croke Park is available?"
Croke Park is great venue when it has 50000+ in attendance but anything below that leaves an empty atmosphere.

The Leinster championship needs a lift. Even if Dublin/Meath was played in O'Moore Park I would still expected Dublin to win but what about the atmosphere it would bring. 22000 people in O' Moore park would be way better for the Leinster Championship in the long run instead of 40000 in Croke Park. It would create a buzz around the competition again.

Again with the Kildare/Westmeath game. If this was in Tullamore it would have 15000+ in attendance and would create an unbelievable atmosphere.

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 386 - 10/05/2022 11:54:00    2416198