Donegal V Cavan Ulster Semi Final

Replying To obreaslainp:  "I'm really looking forward to Sunday's match now. I'll be driving up from Dublin with my two young lads. It will be their first Championship game so I'm really hoping that it will be one to remember for all the right reasons.

Does anyone have any parking recommendations? I was planning on taking the M1/N2/R180/R183 coming in the Donegal Road. I haven't driven before. Thanks in advance."
If you're coming in the R183, you'll see plenty of match day traffic parked on the roadside. That's not a bad option and is about a 15 minute walk to the pitch. Might be a bit of a stretch for very short legs though.

If you continue on towards the town, there's plenty of waste ground around the town centre that gets turned into €5 car parks on the day. There's a particularly large one near the crossroads at the Barry McGuigan Park. Always plenty of Gardai about who I'm sure would be happy to point you in the right direction.

Hope you and the boys have a great day.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 05/05/2022 15:34:24    2415089

Do Donegal supporters foresee any changes to the 15 who started the last day? I think McFadden-Ferry might come in for McMenamin. If Gallen was fit he might start ahead of Jamie Brennan. It'll be interesting to see what the match ups are.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9147 - 05/05/2022 15:51:32    2415093

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Do Donegal supporters foresee any changes to the 15 who started the last day? I think McFadden-Ferry might come in for McMenamin. If Gallen was fit he might start ahead of Jamie Brennan. It'll be interesting to see what the match ups are."
On Declan's interview with Donegal Sport Hub he said that Oisín Gallen was still out injured so I doubt we'll see him in action this weekend. I do see McFadden Ferry re-joining the matchday 15 probably in place of Mogan. I'd probably leave the rest of the team as they lined out last time against Armagh.

obreaslainp (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 05/05/2022 16:16:39    2415099

Replying To obreaslainp:  "On Declan's interview with Donegal Sport Hub he said that Oisín Gallen was still out injured so I doubt we'll see him in action this weekend. I do see McFadden Ferry re-joining the matchday 15 probably in place of Mogan. I'd probably leave the rest of the team as they lined out last time against Armagh."
I just don't see mogan being dropped. I would think he's the quickest player on the donegal team and covers come pile of ground. He also helps link things together as well. Though against stronger opposition than armagh I'm not a 100% sure the balance is quite right with him and mchugh more or less half backs. Mogan in theory could replace a shane o'donnell as well though he played great against armagh.
If you were to look at the defense the last day mcff could come in for mcmenamin but mcmenamin has an edge that is needed in a team.
Mcgonagle was a definite starter until he got injured but not sure you could drop Jason mcgee based on armagh and they'd probably be cautious about not playing mcfadden because he does help with the defense. Mcgonagle could match up against mckeirnan though. Jamie brennan maybe didn't gave his best against armagh but think I'd stick with. Corner forward is horrible position given how claustrophobic it is. Though at his best I don't there is a player who does as well in them conditions.
Ultimately I'm not quite sure what bonner will go with and training will have a bearing as well.

Also the poster from monaghan gave great advise on the parking. No matter what way I'd come in I'd go as far in as I can and pay for parking if I have too. Sometimes you get lucky and don't have too and can't see there being too big a crowd on Sunday.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 696 - 05/05/2022 19:10:20    2415139

Looking forward to this game. Cavan under Graham bar last year have been impressive in the championship. People rightly point to their 2020 win but don't forget they were v good the year previously getting to the final. Donegal will need to be at their best to win this one as Cavan with no pressure on them will give it everything and similar to ourselves still a doubt over quality of donegal defence compared to what was there few years back. Armagh didn't exploit it but think Cavan will. Donegal through should have the firepower to edge this narrowly. Think might end being the match armagh donegal was predicted to be but didn't as only one side showed up.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1802 - 06/05/2022 09:48:12    2415169

Some interesting match-ups in prospect as per usual for this fixture.
High McFadden and McGee against Thomas Galligan and McKiernan possibly is a big clash. Possible that Cavan will look to keep McKiernan out of that area to have more influence on the scoreboard- McFadden would tie him up but may have more problems with a more mobile player like Gerry Smith.

Cavan's strength looks to be in defence. Faulkner on Murphy could be something else. Faulkner would be happy to follow him out the field so Cavan won't worry where the Great One operates. Killian Brady on Paddy Mac will be a niggly mess.
Matching Langan will be critical for Cavan - I don't think Killian Clarke has the focus to do it for 70+ minutes. Gerry Smith possibly but could be operating in midfield. Paddy Lynch has been impressive for 18 months now. EBG or Caolan Ward could do a good job on him.

All in all, based on the recent lineups you would think that Cavan's backs can do very well but their forwards might run out of options man-for man. That would put me thinking Donegal by 3 or 4 points. If there is any hint of a dip from 100% in Donegal they will be on the wrong side of the result however.

Will be one to savour.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 06/05/2022 14:16:52    2415271

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I just don't see mogan being dropped. I would think he's the quickest player on the donegal team and covers come pile of ground. He also helps link things together as well. Though against stronger opposition than armagh I'm not a 100% sure the balance is quite right with him and mchugh more or less half backs. Mogan in theory could replace a shane o'donnell as well though he played great against armagh.
If you were to look at the defense the last day mcff could come in for mcmenamin but mcmenamin has an edge that is needed in a team.
Mcgonagle was a definite starter until he got injured but not sure you could drop Jason mcgee based on armagh and they'd probably be cautious about not playing mcfadden because he does help with the defense. Mcgonagle could match up against mckeirnan though. Jamie brennan maybe didn't gave his best against armagh but think I'd stick with. Corner forward is horrible position given how claustrophobic it is. Though at his best I don't there is a player who does as well in them conditions.
Ultimately I'm not quite sure what bonner will go with and training will have a bearing as well.

Also the poster from monaghan gave great advise on the parking. No matter what way I'd come in I'd go as far in as I can and pay for parking if I have too. Sometimes you get lucky and don't have too and can't see there being too big a crowd on Sunday."
The problem with playing Ryan McHugh and Peadar Mogan together at wing back, Cavan will sit deep and force short kickouts and then immediately put pressure on us coming out of defence, bit like Armagh tried at the start of the 2nd half in Ballybofey.

Basically Cavan management will figure they can force turnovers on a large percentage of the Donegal kick-outs, especially with out lightweight wing backs being no match physically for the Cavan half forwards who will hit our wing backs hard at our own 45. We may get some through, but really its all about impacting the percentages.

I would make more sense to play Ryan McHugh at left wing forward and put somebody more physical at left wing back, maybe Tony McClenaghan or Jack McKelvey who more powerful runners. Stephen McMenamin did a good job on Gearoid McKiernan in 2018 and 2019, I would expect this again, McFadden Ferry might pick up Lynch.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1118 - 06/05/2022 14:19:08    2415273

Replying To seanie08:  "Looking forward to this game. Cavan under Graham bar last year have been impressive in the championship. People rightly point to their 2020 win but don't forget they were v good the year previously getting to the final. Donegal will need to be at their best to win this one as Cavan with no pressure on them will give it everything and similar to ourselves still a doubt over quality of donegal defence compared to what was there few years back. Armagh didn't exploit it but think Cavan will. Donegal through should have the firepower to edge this narrowly. Think might end being the match armagh donegal was predicted to be but didn't as only one side showed up."
I think Donegal are well fired up for this one, I think after beating Cavan well in 2018 and 2019, we probably took our eye off the ball in 2020 and it cost us a 3rd Ulster title in a row. Donegal will definitely need to improve on the Armagh performance to beat Cavan, but I think we will and suspect we will overcome them in what should be a relatively tight match.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1118 - 06/05/2022 14:24:11    2415275

The 2019 final was high scoring and Donegal won it well.

The 2020 final was a much tighter affair and Cavan came out on top.

If one team wants a tight game at this level, then it'll be a tight game. And I think Cavan will set up that way first half.

Donegal to be a point up at the end of a cagey first half.

The 2nd half will be a bit more open I think, but not exactly end to end, and very few goal chances.

If Cavan are within 2 points with 15mins to go, we will win.

Cavan by 1.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 06/05/2022 18:15:25    2415338

Donegal are rightly hot favourites for this one and the only hope for Cavan is that everyone of the fifteen give their best performance in two years, If this happens then we could be in for a really good match and hopefully unlike 2019 the huge Cavan following who will be there will give the team a push on and get them over the line. I live in hope Cavan abu.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 456 - 07/05/2022 11:06:28    2415377

Cavan are short of pace and this has always been our downfall against division 1 teams. We have skillful footballers, solid defenders and goalkeeper, lots of physicality, but on the hard dry ground of clones, we are going to struggle with Donegal runners, no question about that. There are very few ways of counteracting pace.

Key for Cavan will be to hurt Donegal when we get our chances. Donegal's obvious weakness is at the back. I know McCole has had a very good year but I think our forwards will fancy their chances doing damage against him, Eoin ban, Patton, etc. There's definitely cracks to exploit there. Donegal are short leaders at the back. There could be goals here for Cavan. We missed a couple of guilt edge chances in 2019 and again in 2020 before finally finishing one. We will have to take our goal chances Sunday.

Mickey likes to throw out a rabbit. Personally I would like to see Conor Madden start along side Lynch. Madden is a huge man with lots of football in him and I thought he and Lynch linked up well in the McKenna Cup. There is also some talk of Cian Reilly starting on Jamie Brennan. I'm not personally gone on that one. The only match up I feel strongly on is McLoughlin on Langan.

Kickouts will be interesting. Donegal's big press has worked well for them, but I think Cavan may want that press. There will be opportunities to go long to Galligan, McKiernan and Smith, catching donegal out of position.

Hopefully Lane will let us tackle. The two worst sights in the game at the moment is both the mark, and also the ref putting his arm in the air for the slightest of pulls and drags. Let it go like hurling, and forget about being consistent etc.

There definitely seems to be an expectation coming out of Donegal that they should win this with a bit to spare. Damien Diver said Donegal have to "walk through Cavan" who are "in the way". If Cavan can stick in this or stay slightly ahead, Donegal could easily become frustrated and erratic.

Final prediction would be a Donegal win. I don't have a great feeling about this one from a Cavan point of view. Hopefully we keep it competitive and grow into the game. As the first poster said, you can't beat an ulster championship game in clones with a big crowd, lots of colour and the sun shining down on your back.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 322 - 07/05/2022 11:43:33    2415391

Serious amount of grievance mining coming out of some quarters!

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 07/05/2022 14:19:25    2415406

Replying To greatpoint:  "Serious amount of grievance mining coming out of some quarters!"
From who, towards who? Very cryptic… "greatpoint"

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 07/05/2022 16:39:14    2415433

Replying To greatpoint:  "Serious amount of grievance mining coming out of some quarters!"
That's a great point.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2754 - 07/05/2022 19:19:52    2415457

Game day lads. Safe travels to both sets of supporters heading to Clones. Looks a good day for it. Hope we get a great game. Donegal are favourites and have been backed by every pundit and media outlet to win well, but I think Cavan will have something to say about it. They're cautious of us and looking over their shoulders, and they know we can stand up to them. I think we'll bring a big performance. Bring it on!

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 08/05/2022 11:10:23    2415510

Prediction time, Donegal 1-18, Cavan 0-15.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 08/05/2022 11:39:24    2415517

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Game day lads. Safe travels to both sets of supporters heading to Clones. Looks a good day for it. Hope we get a great game. Donegal are favourites and have been backed by every pundit and media outlet to win well, but I think Cavan will have something to say about it. They're cautious of us and looking over their shoulders, and they know we can stand up to them. I think we'll bring a big performance. Bring it on!"
Donegal will win by 10 points, no more, no less!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1921 - 08/05/2022 11:59:49    2415522

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Game day lads. Safe travels to both sets of supporters heading to Clones. Looks a good day for it. Hope we get a great game. Donegal are favourites and have been backed by every pundit and media outlet to win well, but I think Cavan will have something to say about it. They're cautious of us and looking over their shoulders, and they know we can stand up to them. I think we'll bring a big performance. Bring it on!"
Once bitten twice shy doesn't make us afraid, it just makes us more determined! Hope it's a great game and safe travels to all. Can't attend due to an injury so I'm sickened but hopeful I'll have an Ulster final to attend after today.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/05/2022 12:03:28    2415524

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Once bitten twice shy doesn't make us afraid, it just makes us more determined! Hope it's a great game and safe travels to all. Can't attend due to an injury so I'm sickened but hopeful I'll have an Ulster final to attend after today."
But to be fair, ye were thrashed on all but the scoreboard only for the ref, and Bonner was tactically outclassed. Something that regularly happens to him. We'll have something for them today, we always do in Ulster

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 08/05/2022 12:26:34    2415525

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "But to be fair, ye were thrashed on all but the scoreboard only for the ref, and Bonner was tactically outclassed. Something that regularly happens to him. We'll have something for them today, we always do in Ulster"
'Thrashed' is a serious bit of a revisionism now lol… the goal in injury time came after being a point game at worst till then… 'Thrashed' might be a word to describe the previous Ulster final where we had you beat inside 20 minutes. But anyway, we all see things differently.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/05/2022 13:16:01    2415536