Donegal V Cavan Ulster Semi Final

Replying To MurphBalls:  "No you are well entitled to your opinion lad. I suppose you can call it what comes around goes around! When a lot of us Donegal supporters (You probably call us fake supporters at this stage) voice an opinion that Bonner isn't the right man for the job anymore you seem to jump to position of "gripe" so I suppose I'm a bit like yourself!

I will not be for Clones on Sunday Week but I'm sure I'll catch it on TV somewhere ;). I suppose I'm not a real Donegal Supporter now because I won't be there?"
Wasn't expecting you to go.. from the tone of your messages you want bonner beaten. Sad really , but I know a few more posters are the same not may I add the posters on here since last Sunday. You'll not hear from them till Cavan or whoever next beats us. I've followed Donegal all my life I don't care who's the manager . I admire them all from Gary Duffy to Luke Barrett, to bonner and rochford and Campbell and to all the people who managed us down the years.. it's a tough job made harder by the cowards on social media.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 27/04/2022 15:09:14    2413660

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Donegal should win that game pulling up. It's Division 1 vs. Division 4 after all. The venue might help Cavan a little bit, but cannot see them getting anywhere near Donegal."
Cavan aren't Division 4 now. Not the League seems to matter much anyway. Why are you putting so much stock in league? We beat Donegal in 2020 after getting relegated to Division 3 weeks earlier.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 27/04/2022 15:17:43    2413664

Replying To rorysboys:  "Wasn't expecting you to go.. from the tone of your messages you want bonner beaten. Sad really , but I know a few more posters are the same not may I add the posters on here since last Sunday. You'll not hear from them till Cavan or whoever next beats us. I've followed Donegal all my life I don't care who's the manager . I admire them all from Gary Duffy to Luke Barrett, to bonner and rochford and Campbell and to all the people who managed us down the years.. it's a tough job made harder by the cowards on social media."
Would be a bit difficult since I live abroad. But I'm sure you'll be there chatting your usual baloney.

Good man you've supported them all your life! Sign of a true warrior there!

Who said anything about wanting Bonner beaten? Surprisingly to you, I've supported Donegal all my life as well, and I've even been lucky enough to pull on the jersey at underage level so I understand the hard work and commitment that goes into playing, as well as managing a team like Donegal. It doesn't mean we should all sit back and be content at watching Donegal play a dull brand of football. Bonner has put his stamp on this team and in my opinion I think he is holding them back.

I didn't ever say I wanted Donegal beaten because of who manages them. Who knows Donegal might go on and win the All Ireland this year and Bonner will truly go down as a Donegal legend who will be remembered for bringing Sam back to the hills as manager, but at the same time I still believe this brand of football we play holds us back. How many times on Sunday did we kick the ball into our forwards? I can't even think of one that really stood out to me. When you have the caliber of forwards we have, can we not vary our type of play a bit? I think the top teams will easily stamp out our static play and make it difficult for us.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 27/04/2022 16:11:32    2413692

Replying To rorysboys:  "Wasn't expecting you to go.. from the tone of your messages you want bonner beaten. Sad really , but I know a few more posters are the same not may I add the posters on here since last Sunday. You'll not hear from them till Cavan or whoever next beats us. I've followed Donegal all my life I don't care who's the manager . I admire them all from Gary Duffy to Luke Barrett, to bonner and rochford and Campbell and to all the people who managed us down the years.. it's a tough job made harder by the cowards on social media."
Interesting we had the same craic down here in Galway with some posters on PJ's back from the get go. Sad when posters have it in for their own manager so ye are not alone on Donegal on that front. PJ once said when he was starring as a player that 'pressure is for tyres'. By god himself and his team delivered in spades last Sunday.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 27/04/2022 16:21:20    2413694

Great news that the game is now a double header with Donegal V Cavan Ladies on before the main event. The Ladies bring that extra wee bit of noise and colour with them, which will be most welcome after the last couple of years.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 27/04/2022 16:40:24    2413701

The impression I get from this thread is that Cavan posters know the level of our team while certain Donegal posters have notions of theirs. Yeah you've a good side that are deserved favourites, but it's not at the level of the McGuinness era as some seem to think.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 27/04/2022 17:50:59    2413721

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Would be a bit difficult since I live abroad. But I'm sure you'll be there chatting your usual baloney.

Good man you've supported them all your life! Sign of a true warrior there!

Who said anything about wanting Bonner beaten? Surprisingly to you, I've supported Donegal all my life as well, and I've even been lucky enough to pull on the jersey at underage level so I understand the hard work and commitment that goes into playing, as well as managing a team like Donegal. It doesn't mean we should all sit back and be content at watching Donegal play a dull brand of football. Bonner has put his stamp on this team and in my opinion I think he is holding them back.

I didn't ever say I wanted Donegal beaten because of who manages them. Who knows Donegal might go on and win the All Ireland this year and Bonner will truly go down as a Donegal legend who will be remembered for bringing Sam back to the hills as manager, but at the same time I still believe this brand of football we play holds us back. How many times on Sunday did we kick the ball into our forwards? I can't even think of one that really stood out to me. When you have the caliber of forwards we have, can we not vary our type of play a bit? I think the top teams will easily stamp out our static play and make it difficult for us."
Do you manage out there lad. You seem to know a lot about. How football should be played. To me Donegal have been a running team this long while. If you were at the game you would have seen that kicking long ball was not an option on Sunday as Armagh withdrew all there players behind the ball when we were attacking especially in the first half, that's the advantage you have by going to games. In my mind all that mattered on Sunday was getting over the line. Cavan in my mind will be better and more organised than Armagh..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 27/04/2022 18:10:58    2413722

Replying To MurphBalls:  "I'm just trying to understand how Cavan are a "Real Championship Team" as mentioned by RorysBoys. Normally with a statement like that you are referencing it from historical results which I don't really know if Cavan can be given a title of a "Real Championship Team" based on historical results from the past 25 years. It just sounds silly to think that let alone say it.

Look you can throw all the stats you want at it but I'm not going to sit here and dilly dally around the fact that Donegal will beat Cavan and beat them easy. Or at least they should. I'm not going to tell you that Cavan will be a real test for us now and it'll be a tight affair because in my opinion I think Donegal will hammer Cavan. Just being realistic that's all...... bud."
Come here to me now young man , can you remind of the last time Donegal were supposed to 'hammer' Cavan? The fact that the likes of Kevin McStay said last week was Donegal's passport to the Ulster Final will make it all the more sweeter when we turn ye over in 2 weeks. No doubt the boys will come with a big perfomance and will really ask questions of this Donegal team whether or not they have the stomach for it coming down the home stretch in a tight game , so far when its mattered most they clearly havent, As mickey has said countless times before 'Talent is cheap but dedication is expensive' and 'You can't grate cheese with a spanner' is another one he loves to use. Hopefully the boys take this on board and we'll be celebrating another momentous occasion come 6 o clock Sunday week in downtown Clones

TheLordofcavanGaa (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 27/04/2022 20:36:53    2413738

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Great news that the game is now a double header with Donegal V Cavan Ladies on before the main event. The Ladies bring that extra wee bit of noise and colour with them, which will be most welcome after the last couple of years."
That's great news, I really enjoy the ladies game, funny you know looking back to 2020 I think subconsciously anyway the minds were on the Dubs. maybe we were doing too much heavy training and not really taking Cavan serious, I don't know, complacency can seep in from listening to media too, could have been a combination of a lot of things but Cavan were ready for us and deserved their win,
they didn't perform in the semi final but that was kind of to be expected after the high of the Ulster final, 2020 was a strange year with Tipp winning Munster as well.
I think this year we are getting really back to normal and the back door gives another chance now to teams like Mayo and Armagh who would have been done and dusted now if it were the 2020 system.
I was impressed listening to Declan Bonner after the Armagh game, how he and the team just focussed on Armagh with the players he had available and drew a line under Letterkenny.
I have no doubt the management and team are 100% focussed on Cavan, the 2020 final is till fresh enough in the memory, I expect a good solid performance and to win the game with the players we have we are rightly favs, but that doesn't win you anything as we know, you have to perform on the day.
I rem the pundits writing Donegal off before we beat Dublin in the famous 2014 semi final, they day we beat the team that couldn't be beat,
they asked 'who on the Donegal team would get on the Dublin team'?
they said Michael Murphy.....maybe lol.
underdogs can and do win and Declan Bonner and Donegal know that all too well, we will be ready and focused, pay no heed to WUMS on here, it's only a bit of craic.
Donegal by 4.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2754 - 27/04/2022 20:50:10    2413740

Replying To Breffni40:  "The impression I get from this thread is that Cavan posters know the level of our team while certain Donegal posters have notions of theirs. Yeah you've a good side that are deserved favourites, but it's not at the level of the McGuinness era as some seem to think."
I find it funny how you're all focusing on the thoughts of maybe one person on this thread while the majority of Donegal fans are grounded in the knowledge that this game will be tough. We aren't McGuinness era until we prove otherwise.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 28/04/2022 10:25:43    2413792

Replying To TheLordofcavanGaa:  "Come here to me now young man , can you remind of the last time Donegal were supposed to 'hammer' Cavan? The fact that the likes of Kevin McStay said last week was Donegal's passport to the Ulster Final will make it all the more sweeter when we turn ye over in 2 weeks. No doubt the boys will come with a big perfomance and will really ask questions of this Donegal team whether or not they have the stomach for it coming down the home stretch in a tight game , so far when its mattered most they clearly havent, As mickey has said countless times before 'Talent is cheap but dedication is expensive' and 'You can't grate cheese with a spanner' is another one he loves to use. Hopefully the boys take this on board and we'll be celebrating another momentous occasion come 6 o clock Sunday week in downtown Clones"
Supposed to hammer Cavan or did hammer Cavan? I can think back 2019 when, although the scoreline didn't reflect a hammering, it was well and truly a hammering. The game was over after 15 minutes. A poster mentioned that Cavan people seem to know where there team is at whereas some posters are delusional about where Donegal is at. I think that post so far off the truth about what most of us up in Donegal think where we are at. I actually think a lot of you Cavan folk are buying into what most Donegal posters are saying that this should be a tight affair blah blah. I'd put my house on it that this will not be a close affair. We are quite a bit ahead of this Cavan team and if we are to be AI contenders we should really be putting Cavan away with ease. In 2020, Cavan were rightly crowned Ulster champions but this is 2022 and I've seen nothing of Cavan since that day at the Athletic Grounds to suggest Cavan have progressed. In fact, all I've seen is regression and now you're telling me how you can't wait to celebrate another momentous occasion when you beat Donegal. I know one thing, is that there are better teams than Donegal in this years Championship and there is still a chance we can win the AI as I think we can beat anyone on our day but Cavan are a million miles off the pace.

All banter all the same. Donegal by 10+

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 28/04/2022 10:47:46    2413803

The amount of excuses from Donegal supporters for the defeat to Cavan in the 2020 Ulster final is hilarious, from one eye on Dublin to a heavy training schedule, the list goes on. Cavan were much the better side on the day, they had greater intensity in their play and attacked our weakness of trying to play the ball out from the back. Cavan have some terrific players, Raymond and Thomas Galligan, Padaig Faulkner, Conor Moynagh, Killian Clarke and the brilliant Gearoid McKienan. Paddy Lynch looks a real find as well.

Can we learn from that defeat? I would really like to think that we can but its not going to be easy.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 28/04/2022 11:48:54    2413821

Replying To Green_Gold:  "The amount of excuses from Donegal supporters for the defeat to Cavan in the 2020 Ulster final is hilarious, from one eye on Dublin to a heavy training schedule, the list goes on. Cavan were much the better side on the day, they had greater intensity in their play and attacked our weakness of trying to play the ball out from the back. Cavan have some terrific players, Raymond and Thomas Galligan, Padaig Faulkner, Conor Moynagh, Killian Clarke and the brilliant Gearoid McKienan. Paddy Lynch looks a real find as well.

Can we learn from that defeat? I would really like to think that we can but its not going to be easy."
To be fair, Cavan played out of their skin and Donegal put in one of their worst performances in recent memory. But don't forget that Donegal led that game until the 60th minute, and it was a 1 point game in injury time, when Patton made a plash out of clearing McKiernans long ball.

Cavan had to play out of their skins and everything had to go wrong for Donegal for that win to be possible. Both of those things happened. It's not like it's some sort of repeatable game plan, or that Cavan somehow have Donegal's number because of it.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 28/04/2022 12:37:04    2413838

Replying To rorysboys:  "Do you manage out there lad. You seem to know a lot about. How football should be played. To me Donegal have been a running team this long while. If you were at the game you would have seen that kicking long ball was not an option on Sunday as Armagh withdrew all there players behind the ball when we were attacking especially in the first half, that's the advantage you have by going to games. In my mind all that mattered on Sunday was getting over the line. Cavan in my mind will be better and more organised than Armagh.."
What about in the opening of the second half? Armagh pressed relentlessly, Hughie McFadden forced to meander around the back line waiting to be turned over. Against a team with a more organised press, it'll be a lot harder to hand pass our way through, or to get Bán/Ryan to just barrell through 15 men on a solo run. It was a problem throughout the league that we couldn't get up the field when the opposition would go with a full court press. A lot of positives from Sunday but I'd like to see more of a scheme for getting the ball out from the back when we're being suffocated

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 28/04/2022 12:41:48    2413839

@rory , Ure still at it Rory, the Great Proponent of all things Bonner. Donegal played well after a lack luster league. Armagh poor and what Name players do they have apart from O'Neill. Bonner will still have to go if this Donegal team is to realize it's potential and get to the holy grail ! Don't forget the countdown, me boy! Ure constantly on here with anyone that doesn't give Bonner the atta boy treatment, name calling and doing the deformation thing. I will not go away lad much to your consternation. By the way what Donegal teams have Rockford and Campbell managed. Must be ping-pong, cricket. Pray tell us, us Cowards that have held Bonner back over the years don't know. Diversity and differences of opinion , or is that only in America. Grow Up.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 28/04/2022 12:48:15    2413841

Replying To papa_pump:  "What about in the opening of the second half? Armagh pressed relentlessly, Hughie McFadden forced to meander around the back line waiting to be turned over. Against a team with a more organised press, it'll be a lot harder to hand pass our way through, or to get Bán/Ryan to just barrell through 15 men on a solo run. It was a problem throughout the league that we couldn't get up the field when the opposition would go with a full court press. A lot of positives from Sunday but I'd like to see more of a scheme for getting the ball out from the back when we're being suffocated"
Very important point here and fully agree. We are full of hard runners so why aren't they available for a 20/30 yard kicked out-ball at an angle over the hard press? Surely this needs more work and must become a viable option. Not only do you avoid crazy pressure in your own full back line but you can counter dangerously.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 28/04/2022 13:02:48    2413845

Replying To thelowball:  "@rory , Ure still at it Rory, the Great Proponent of all things Bonner. Donegal played well after a lack luster league. Armagh poor and what Name players do they have apart from O'Neill. Bonner will still have to go if this Donegal team is to realize it's potential and get to the holy grail ! Don't forget the countdown, me boy! Ure constantly on here with anyone that doesn't give Bonner the atta boy treatment, name calling and doing the deformation thing. I will not go away lad much to your consternation. By the way what Donegal teams have Rockford and Campbell managed. Must be ping-pong, cricket. Pray tell us, us Cowards that have held Bonner back over the years don't know. Diversity and differences of opinion , or is that only in America. Grow Up."
Don't make a fool of yourself now lad. You done enough of that. Surprised to see you on this forum this week , you were dead sure you'd be on this week attacking bonner and the teams like only keyboard warriors can. I feel sad for you. A bitter little person with a chip on your shoulder. You say the countdown is on. What a childish statement. See you in clones lad you are probably one of the keyboard warriors who if they met bonner would be all nice to him.. have a nice day.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 28/04/2022 13:06:54    2413847

Replying To papa_pump:  "What about in the opening of the second half? Armagh pressed relentlessly, Hughie McFadden forced to meander around the back line waiting to be turned over. Against a team with a more organised press, it'll be a lot harder to hand pass our way through, or to get Bán/Ryan to just barrell through 15 men on a solo run. It was a problem throughout the league that we couldn't get up the field when the opposition would go with a full court press. A lot of positives from Sunday but I'd like to see more of a scheme for getting the ball out from the back when we're being suffocated"
Totally agree we'll have to stop kicking short all the time. We do have big men who can win there own ball. No harm in a bit of variation.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 28/04/2022 13:09:14    2413849

Replying To thelowball:  "@rory , Ure still at it Rory, the Great Proponent of all things Bonner. Donegal played well after a lack luster league. Armagh poor and what Name players do they have apart from O'Neill. Bonner will still have to go if this Donegal team is to realize it's potential and get to the holy grail ! Don't forget the countdown, me boy! Ure constantly on here with anyone that doesn't give Bonner the atta boy treatment, name calling and doing the deformation thing. I will not go away lad much to your consternation. By the way what Donegal teams have Rockford and Campbell managed. Must be ping-pong, cricket. Pray tell us, us Cowards that have held Bonner back over the years don't know. Diversity and differences of opinion , or is that only in America. Grow Up."
Stop giving yourself the thumbs up lad. It's getting a bit silly that after every post you post, you give yourself the thumbs up. Sad.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 28/04/2022 13:12:41    2413852

Replying To sam1884:  "2022 Division 4 against Division 1, no pressure on Cavan, go out, enjoy the occasion, play a bit of football and see what happens. No pre match issues around this game for Donegal, the pressure is on them though as it's a game they should win.

If they lost to a team playing Division 4 this past spring despite what happened 17 months ago it would be a bigger shock than then. Donegal to have one eye on the Ulster Final and win comfortably."
Of course there is pressure on Cavan. This is not a game "where we have nothing to lose" as some might suggest. Our league form has been so poor that we need a good Ulster campaign. At least then we could point to the fact that we were aiming for Ulster all along.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 28/04/2022 13:13:19    2413853