Donegal V Cavan Ulster Semi Final

I know that Cavan can almost disregard the league in terms of a predictor for championship performance, but as Cavan supporters, if you build and get promotion again next year, it will absolutely stand to yous in championship football. Just that consistency of playing a higher level, it'll really be a positive for this Cavan team who in my view are easily contenders in Ulster if things fall their way. Defensively I think yous are set up brilliantly and have a great physicality which is hard for Donegal in particular to deal with. And now with someone like Lynch up front, what a brilliant find for Cavan, he faded in the 2nd half but yesterday will stand to him.

Just a word on McKiernan. Maybe because it's been 3 years since I saw Cavan in the flesh but has he grown a few feet since 2019?!?! What a man, and jeez he fielded one ball in that 2nd half that was absolutely incredible. Both sides had some great fielding and contests in the middle yesterday but that McKiernan fetch was the best of the lot.

I think yous should go all out for the Tailteann Cup, an intercounty title is an intercounty title at the end of the day in my view. Plus the more games Cavan get at intercounty the better for this side to grow.

From a Donegal POV I'm a bit surprised by some of the reactions. Considering we lost to Cavan in 2020, what did people expect really? We played poorly in the 1st half and a better side than Cavan would probably have been further ahead, or even if Cavan had that bit of luck they would have been themselves (the Patton save being the key moment). But at the end of the day we came out in that 2nd half and played brilliant stuff, Cavan came back at us and yes we got some luck with the goals but we were on top in my view. Both sides knew a goal was going to be the killer score.

I think that game will bring our lads on a lot, the knowledge that we didn't play as well as we can but that we got over the line in a proper arm wrestle and battle in the heat of Clones. It was great to be back and I'm excited for the Ulster final!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/05/2022 11:11:52    2415848

Replying To cavanman47:  ""Cavan seemed to be missing nothing early on, one of them days when 90% of your shots go over the bar"

Really?? We scored 9 points from 17 shots in the first half.
I'm not sure what the stats were for the 2nd half but it definitely wasn't a case of us being economical in front of goal at any point during the game.

And what about McGonnigle's point? He completely skewed it and it somehow split the posts! There were Donegal fans beside me laughing at it and questioning where the ball wouldve gone if he connected properly with it. Not to mention 2 other skied efforts leading to goals. We've only ourselves to blame for not dealing with those 2 high balls but fortune definitely favoured Donegal yesterday in that respect."
Yeah that's fair, though I've just watched it back and at 25 mins yous had 9 points from 10 shots. I think it tailed off badly after that for yous, but especially in that first period yous were well on top and really doing well with the attacks. It changed in the 2nd half for sure, it was a game full of momentum swings. The McGonagle one was hilarious, I was cursing him as soon as he hit it!

Also a wee note, I'm not sure who mentioned the McKiernan goal chance in the 2nd minute and potential penalty. I thought from where I was sat in the Pat McGrane it was a penalty, but watching it back there, he gets the handpass in and immediately palms the ball down to try and hit it quickly. He doesn't connect well with it and it's saved by Patton. No penalty for me.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/05/2022 11:27:50    2415857

Replying To JoeSoap:  "
Replying To cavanman47:  ""Cavan seemed to be missing nothing early on, one of them days when 90% of your shots go over the bar"

I'm not sure what the stats were for the 2nd half but it definitely wasn't a case of us being economical in front of goal at any point during the game.

And what about McGonnigle's point? He completely skewed it and it somehow split the posts! There were Donegal fans beside me laughing at it and questioning where the ball wouldve gone if he connected properly with it. Not to mention 2 other skied efforts leading to goals. We've only ourselves to blame for not dealing with those 2 high balls but fortune definitely favoured Donegal yesterday in that respect."
Yeah that's fair, though I've just watched it back and at 25 mins yous had 9 points from 10 shots. I think it tailed off badly after that for yous, but especially in that first period yous were well on top and really doing well with the attacks. It changed in the 2nd half for sure, it was a game full of momentum swings. The McGonagle one was hilarious, I was cursing him as soon as he hit it!

Also a wee note, I'm not sure who mentioned the McKiernan goal chance in the 2nd minute and potential penalty. I thought from where I was sat in the Pat McGrane it was a penalty, but watching it back there, he gets the handpass in and immediately palms the ball down to try and hit it quickly. He doesn't connect well with it and it's saved by Patton. No penalty for me."
I think if he'd caught it, there was enough in the challenge for it to be a foul. The fact he tried to get the shot away probably made Lane's mind up.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 09/05/2022 11:39:04    2415863

Also a wee note, I'm not sure who mentioned the McKiernan goal chance in the 2nd minute and potential penalty. I thought from where I was sat in the Pat McGrane it was a penalty, but watching it back there, he gets the handpass in and immediately palms the ball down to try and hit it quickly. He doesn't connect well with it and it's saved by Patton. No penalty for me."
If you watch the penalty incident again though, he was grabbed from behind and tackled as he's trying to kick it. How then is that not a penalty? He doesn't connect well as he's been pulled back, like therefore that's a penalty any way you look at it...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 09/05/2022 11:54:39    2415876

Anyway, my own thoughts echo a lot of what is said above. Do think Cavan turned up, as I expected they would, and overall a 6 point win flatters Donegal. That didn't watch like a game that covered the bookies spread. The game is a matter of inches. Cavan hit the crossbar late 1st half, and a good lead would have been deserved at half time, and then Bonners team talk changes. A chancey goal that comes off the inside of the post gives Donegal a lead with 10 minutes to go. That game was still in the melting pot before that, and Cavan had some momentum after coming back from 3 points down with some lovely points by McKiernan. Would have been a fascinating last 10 minutes only for the goal, and then well the heads dropped from our boys. Shows that we're at this level, or at least very close to it. It's the way things fall, Cavan get one of their two goal chances, then we've a very different chat this morning.

And without being rude to Donegal, ye have to get a lot better than yesterday. Saw the game off and managed the last 10 minutes well, but were very far off the pace at times for the difference in divisions that many reference all the time (not that I buy that about this Cavan team though). Cavan showed what Armagh didn't do: used the kick out, claiming the ball, moving fast to scoring zone, quick breaks from turnovers, and made hay at times with this. Bonner is not as tactically astute as Graham and won in spite of some of these things with opportunistic scoring. There's a blueprint there for other teams, who might get the luck on their day, or take their goals.

This certainly wasn't the walk in the park or the beating some here thought it would be and last 2 games between the two shows the gap is a lot closer than the 2 meetings before those.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 09/05/2022 12:07:23    2415880

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To JoeSoap:  "[quote=cavanman47:  ""Cavan seemed to be missing nothing early on, one of them days when 90% of your shots go over the bar"

I think if he'd caught it, there was enough in the challenge for it to be a foul. The fact he tried to get the shot away probably made Lane's mind up."]That's exactly how I saw it on watching it back, now in fairness I'd have no complaints if a penalty was given and as I said when I was watching it live I was convinced it was a penalty. If he catches it, McFadden is in the process of steam rolling into him from behind so there'd be absolutely no doubt in that case.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/05/2022 12:18:18    2415890

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Anyway, my own thoughts echo a lot of what is said above. Do think Cavan turned up, as I expected they would, and overall a 6 point win flatters Donegal. That didn't watch like a game that covered the bookies spread. The game is a matter of inches. Cavan hit the crossbar late 1st half, and a good lead would have been deserved at half time, and then Bonners team talk changes. A chancey goal that comes off the inside of the post gives Donegal a lead with 10 minutes to go. That game was still in the melting pot before that, and Cavan had some momentum after coming back from 3 points down with some lovely points by McKiernan. Would have been a fascinating last 10 minutes only for the goal, and then well the heads dropped from our boys. Shows that we're at this level, or at least very close to it. It's the way things fall, Cavan get one of their two goal chances, then we've a very different chat this morning.

And without being rude to Donegal, ye have to get a lot better than yesterday. Saw the game off and managed the last 10 minutes well, but were very far off the pace at times for the difference in divisions that many reference all the time (not that I buy that about this Cavan team though). Cavan showed what Armagh didn't do: used the kick out, claiming the ball, moving fast to scoring zone, quick breaks from turnovers, and made hay at times with this. Bonner is not as tactically astute as Graham and won in spite of some of these things with opportunistic scoring. There's a blueprint there for other teams, who might get the luck on their day, or take their goals.

This certainly wasn't the walk in the park or the beating some here thought it would be and last 2 games between the two shows the gap is a lot closer than the 2 meetings before those."
Yeah I think you've the nail on the head in terms of the game but I would be less critical of our boys, though I seem to be one of the few in that regard! I actually think Cavan are perfectly set up to exploit our weaknesses, in terms of physicality and meeting our running game, and then being able to exploit our lighter half-back line as well as being well able to contest in the middle. We've big men around half forward and midfield now and are able to win our own ball, but Cavan's set up is more than capable of competing and winning against us there. Galligan, McKiernan, Smith, Moynagh all big men and great fielders.

I do agree that I think Graham is more tactically astute than Bonner but I actually think there are very few managers as astute as Graham so it's no slight to Bonner in my view. The ability of the players too though, there was no one man following Murphy about the place there yesterday, no dirty nonsense or punching tackles like Forker for Armagh, great communication in defence where Faulkner would pick Murphy up at one stage but then if he goes out the field let someone else take him. The mixing of the attack especially in that first half was excellent too with big man going in and out. It's not easy to communicate that and make sure you're not exposed defensively. Personally I think there are very few teams that would set up like that against us, or actually be able to execute it as well as Cavan did. The template is there for other teams without a doubt and maybe Derry have the defensive individuals to manage it as well in fact, but I think it's the sort of rivalry now that Cavan are one side that we will always be in a right humdinger of a contest with no matter what.

We weren't at the pitch of the game in that first half and Cavan should have punished us more or if yous had that bit of luck with the penalty or Patton's save, it's a different game for sure. But that's how tight it is and personally I'm just delighted and think coming out the other end of a contest like that will stand to our lads. I'd be quietly confident going into an Ulster final now after overcoming that Cavan test, but I'm an optimist by nature!

I know there was a bit of dismissiveness about the league but as a supporter do you not think it would stand to your boys if you were at a higher level in the league? It's not the winning or losing of that game yesterday necessarily, and maybe the underdog status suits yous, but I think this Cavan side should be in the conversation for Ulster every year at the moment

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/05/2022 12:38:43    2415904

Any tackle over the shoulder from behind anywhere else on the pitch is a foul , it wasn't given or ref didn't see it either way we move on ,good luck to Donegal in the final have some serious players if used properly.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 09/05/2022 12:46:52    2415913

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Yeah I think you've the nail on the head in terms of the game but I would be less critical of our boys, though I seem to be one of the few in that regard! I actually think Cavan are perfectly set up to exploit our weaknesses, in terms of physicality and meeting our running game, and then being able to exploit our lighter half-back line as well as being well able to contest in the middle. We've big men around half forward and midfield now and are able to win our own ball, but Cavan's set up is more than capable of competing and winning against us there. Galligan, McKiernan, Smith, Moynagh all big men and great fielders.

I do agree that I think Graham is more tactically astute than Bonner but I actually think there are very few managers as astute as Graham so it's no slight to Bonner in my view. The ability of the players too though, there was no one man following Murphy about the place there yesterday, no dirty nonsense or punching tackles like Forker for Armagh, great communication in defence where Faulkner would pick Murphy up at one stage but then if he goes out the field let someone else take him. The mixing of the attack especially in that first half was excellent too with big man going in and out. It's not easy to communicate that and make sure you're not exposed defensively. Personally I think there are very few teams that would set up like that against us, or actually be able to execute it as well as Cavan did. The template is there for other teams without a doubt and maybe Derry have the defensive individuals to manage it as well in fact, but I think it's the sort of rivalry now that Cavan are one side that we will always be in a right humdinger of a contest with no matter what.

We weren't at the pitch of the game in that first half and Cavan should have punished us more or if yous had that bit of luck with the penalty or Patton's save, it's a different game for sure. But that's how tight it is and personally I'm just delighted and think coming out the other end of a contest like that will stand to our lads. I'd be quietly confident going into an Ulster final now after overcoming that Cavan test, but I'm an optimist by nature!

I know there was a bit of dismissiveness about the league but as a supporter do you not think it would stand to your boys if you were at a higher level in the league? It's not the winning or losing of that game yesterday necessarily, and maybe the underdog status suits yous, but I think this Cavan side should be in the conversation for Ulster every year at the moment"
Oh I don't doubt playing a higher league will be far far better for us. I just don't think it's the be all and end all. Like some very lazy pundits out there continually say Div 1 v Div 4 for yesterday, when we all knew it wouldn't be like that. This Cavan team have played many seasons in Division 1 and 2, and Div 2 more our level only for the weird Leagues we fell through the Divisions. Of course it will help us on to be up there and we should be, just the bigger picture tells a more broader picture than just, oh Cavan are Division 4. It's not like that

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 09/05/2022 13:13:33    2415931

Someone said Cavan scored 9 points from their first 10 shots so I suppose that's where my perception came from,
semi finals are there to be won and we got the job done not playing very well, I rem the '92 All ireland semi final being a brutal game but that all changed come the final.
looking back at it today with relief really, great to be in there with a chance of winning Ulster again and I hope we see Michael Murphy lift the Anglo Celt this year and have a right good go and winning the Sam Maguire.
I see a bright future for Cavan football, it's very hard to figure how that team slipped all the way down to div 4,they play the game the right way, Ulster is getting more competitive though with Derry looking like contenders again,
it really is a fantastic Championship, next Sunday is another humdinger of a game in prospect, not sure which of them I'd prefer to meet in the final.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2754 - 09/05/2022 13:48:48    2415943

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "

Someone said Cavan scored 9 points from their first 10 shots so I suppose that's where my perception came from,
semi finals are there to be won and we got the job done not playing very well, I rem the '92 All ireland semi final being a brutal game but that all changed come the final.
looking back at it today with relief really, great to be in there with a chance of winning Ulster again and I hope we see Michael Murphy lift the Anglo Celt this year and have a right good go and winning the Sam Maguire.
I see a bright future for Cavan football, it's very hard to figure how that team slipped all the way down to div 4,they play the game the right way, Ulster is getting more competitive though with Derry looking like contenders again,
it really is a fantastic Championship, next Sunday is another humdinger of a game in prospect, not sure which of them I'd prefer to meet in the final."
I'd feel the Monaghan full forward line would be better than the Cavan full forward line. I'd expect Monaghan with their experience to pip Derry next weekend. Leaving a Monaghan / Donegal final that probably would require Donegal improvement for them to win.
I didn't see much improvement in Donegals display yesterday from the Armagh game.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/05/2022 14:12:30    2415952

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Oh I don't doubt playing a higher league will be far far better for us. I just don't think it's the be all and end all. Like some very lazy pundits out there continually say Div 1 v Div 4 for yesterday, when we all knew it wouldn't be like that. This Cavan team have played many seasons in Division 1 and 2, and Div 2 more our level only for the weird Leagues we fell through the Divisions. Of course it will help us on to be up there and we should be, just the bigger picture tells a more broader picture than just, oh Cavan are Division 4. It's not like that"
All the lffs and buts Donegal winning not playing well Cavan clutching at straws.Dont think yesterdays performance would win the final though.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 09/05/2022 14:18:03    2415955

Replying To Breffni1969:  "
Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "[quote=cavanman47:  ""Cavan seemed to be missing nothing early on, one of them days when 90% of your shots go over the bar"

it really is a fantastic Championship, next Sunday is another humdinger of a game in prospect, not sure which of them I'd prefer to meet in the final."
I'd feel the Monaghan full forward line would be better than the Cavan full forward line. I'd expect Monaghan with their experience to pip Derry next weekend. Leaving a Monaghan / Donegal final that probably would require Donegal improvement for them to win.
I didn't see much improvement in Donegals display yesterday from the Armagh game."]To be fair Donegal were terrible yesterday. Too many handling errors and not enough of conviction. I would expect Donegal to improve against a better side in Monaghan or Derry but I'm not expecting anything from this Donegal team if they keep on going with this style of football they play. But I hope I'm wrong.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 09/05/2022 14:21:15    2415957

A semi final is for winning. Many's a team played brilliant in a semi final but didn't repeat it in the final. I feel we're quite capable of winning it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 09/05/2022 14:25:51    2415960

Replying To Breffni1969:  "
Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "[quote=cavanman47:  ""Cavan seemed to be missing nothing early on, one of them days when 90% of your shots go over the bar"

I didn't see much improvement in Donegals display yesterday from the Armagh game."]I thought we played much better against Armagh, looked like our blood was up for it and no wonder, we hadn't as much intensity about us yesterday, got the job done though I suppose that's all that matters in semi finals,
if we'd strolled to a big win yesterday it wouldn't be good prep for a final either.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2754 - 09/05/2022 14:40:31    2415972

Replying To [email protected]:  "
Replying To JoeSoap:  "[quote=cavanman47:  ""Cavan seemed to be missing nothing early on, one of them days when 90% of your shots go over the bar"

Any tackle over the shoulder from behind anywhere else on the pitch is a foul , it wasn't given or ref didn't see it either way we move on ,good luck to Donegal in the final have some serious players if used properly."]There is no rule that defines a tackle from behind or over the shoulder as a foul. Kevin McStay often talks about it in commentary but that doesn't make it illegal.
Anyway, Cavan were excellent for 55 minutes yesterday but just hadn't quite the luck , the bench or the spread of scoring threat to get over the line against a very good Donegal team. I'm guessing there won't be many front line retirements so there is a good core to come back with next year.
A Tailteann cup run would be beneficial for the younger panel members too.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 09/05/2022 14:41:01    2415973

Donegal have gone back wards there build up play is far too slow and apart from the first ten minutes of the second half when murphy stayed on the square ye had no idea how to break Cavan down and had not one decent goal scoring chance until the two lucky goals went in and Cavan had to chase the game. Monaghan have improved and are no longer relying on Mcmanus and their full forward line at the moment is much stronger than Cavans. Unless Donegal show a serious improvement in the final ( i dont think they can) our farney neighbours will be ulster champions as Derry as usual are way over hyped even more so than Armagh. Best of luck to both of ye i dont care who wins as long as Tyrone are gone

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 456 - 09/05/2022 14:59:06    2415985

Replying To MurphBalls:  "
Replying To Breffni1969:  "[quote=Tirchonaill1:  "[quote=cavanman47:  ""Cavan seemed to be missing nothing early on, one of them days when 90% of your shots go over the bar"

I didn't see much improvement in Donegals display yesterday from the Armagh game."]To be fair Donegal were terrible yesterday. Too many handling errors and not enough of conviction. I would expect Donegal to improve against a better side in Monaghan or Derry but I'm not expecting anything from this Donegal team if they keep on going with this style of football they play. But I hope I'm wrong."]Given that we've beaten Monaghan twice in the last 3 years, and Derry haven't gotten far enough to even meet us, on what basis are you considering either of them a "better side"?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 09/05/2022 15:04:45    2415989

Replying To rorysboys:  "A semi final is for winning. Many's a team played brilliant in a semi final but didn't repeat it in the final. I feel we're quite capable of winning it."
Just look at Mayo last year sure, they beat a shadow of a Dublin team in semi and you'd swear to hear their players queuing up to be interviewed after the game that they had just won the All Ireland they've been trying in vain to win for 70 odd years, they forgot they still a had the small problem of beating Tyrone though.
Better we go into this final knowing we have major improvements to make than going in with hangers on and pundits patting us on the back. Cavan done us a big favour yesterday, hopefully we learn our lessons from it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2754 - 09/05/2022 15:07:38    2415991

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Oh I don't doubt playing a higher league will be far far better for us. I just don't think it's the be all and end all. Like some very lazy pundits out there continually say Div 1 v Div 4 for yesterday, when we all knew it wouldn't be like that. This Cavan team have played many seasons in Division 1 and 2, and Div 2 more our level only for the weird Leagues we fell through the Divisions. Of course it will help us on to be up there and we should be, just the bigger picture tells a more broader picture than just, oh Cavan are Division 4. It's not like that"
You fail to grasp that the 2 Donegal goals came from mistakes by the Cavan backs.
Now we might get away with those mistakes in Div 3/4 but as shown yesterday Donegal pounced on those mistakes very very quickly.
Now that should answer your question about playing at a higher level.
We need to be consistently floating between Div 1 and 2 to gain experience from making the defensive mistakes that led to both goals yesterday.
Lads like McBrearty can destroy you in 5 mins even though you have kept tabs on them for 65 mins .
Higher level consistently leads to more experience gained and more long term improvement .
Which part can you not understand???

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/05/2022 15:12:43    2415995