Donegal V Cavan Ulster Semi Final

Replying To foxes_denn:  "the sleeping giants are back and we love to read posts like this. Take Murphy and McHugh out of donegal and they are bang average. That is what we plan to do."
If that's the case then what about the flip side? You wouldn't even have to take any players out to make Cavan bang average.

The only way Donegal lose this is if their mentality isn't right. I don't buy all this talk of Cavan being poor in the league so that they can peak for championship. In 2019 they were beaten well in Clones, the late goal put a bit of a shine on the scoreline for the 2020 Ulster final, and straight after beating Donegal 2020, they went down to Croke Park and got mauled. Then last year they couldnt keep within an ***** roar of Tyrone. Cavan took full advantage of Donegal's complacency that day. The two squads aren't comparable.

For all this talk of Donegal fans underestimating Cavan, it seems that Cavan are way overestimating themselves...

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 27/04/2022 09:11:04    2413486

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Because Donegal are a better side!

What happened in 2020 was a complete long shot and shock. The game was played in a small narrow pitch and Cavan got their tactics right on the day. They didn't pressure Patton's kickouts. However, they applied pressure on the player receiving the ball from the kickout. I can't see Donegal being caught again.

Let's be honest here, but could you pick 3 players from the Cavan team that would start on the Donegal team?

The style of Football that Donegal play isn't pretty and in my opinion is holding them back because this style of football might not beat the top teams whereas playing teams in the lower divisions, this style of football will almost always prevail.

So, my reasoning is mostly because I think Donegal is a far more superior team than Cavan. Go back to 2019, the last time these teams played a summer football match. Donegal didn't get out of gear 2. Well this will be the same outcome.

Someone mentioned this is what we want Donegal fans to be thinking but I'm sure the players and management are more focused on the task at hand than us fans. They won't take Cavan for as granted as they did in 2020 as it's one game at a time at this point in time whereas before it was a packed season during Novemeber/December time. It's a completely different prospect meeting Donegal this time."
Yeah, easily. McKiernan, Faulkner, Thomas Galligan would be fit to start in your team. Likes of Gerry Smith, Paddy Lynch, McLaughlin, Gunner Brady might not start but would be decent additions to your panel. Aw I'm loving this stuff. You're doing the exact same as 2020, in thinking you're far better than you are, and this can come before a fall as we saw before.

Cavan did get their tactics right that day, very right. And that was with the ref actually riding us. You did the bulk of your scoring in the 1st black card period (which was a joke). Rest of the game you did very little. That's more than just tactics. Bonner has flattered to deceive last number of years, and chatting with my Donegal outlaws, he'd not be there this year only for no viable alternatives. Who's to say he's going to win the tactical battle again? Graham is a good Championship manager and is canny and will have something.

Donegal weren't perfect Sunday, and any decent team would have been able to find scores that Armagh seemed fit to miss constantly when they had the impetus. Like Donegal are favourites Sunday week, and rightly so, but this will be a tight battle on all known Championship form and prior history. You say it's a completely different prospect, but you're acting the exact same way as 2020, so bring that on. If it was different, you wouldn't be talking like that. You need to look past just the League.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 27/04/2022 09:39:47    2413497

The Cavan lads rubbing their hands with glee thinking Donegal people or the team will underestimate them aren't reading the room so to speak. The majority of Donegal fans know a clever team are coming and an astute manager. We will not underestimate Cavan because we have every reason to be wary of them. The players have experienced the taste of defeat at Cavan's hands in 2020 and there is no sense here of dismissiveness of the Cavan challenge, I certainly haven't heard it at all. You might like to think there is, if that makes you feel better about Sunday week. Funnily enough the dismissiveness of our own team's ability is coming across from Cavan quarters. Maybe we are one dimensional, maybe we are a one man team as comments here have alluded to. We do have to prove we can navigate games like this if we are a serious team. But certainly we have more talent than some here think we have.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 27/04/2022 10:03:33    2413514

I'm glad the match has been scheduled for Clones. I think a good big wide dry pitch suits us a lot better than the narrowish confines of the Athletic Grounds. Our runners should hopefully get a bit more room to operate. Eoghan Ban loves Clones for example. I'd be hopeful that Ryan can inch his way fully to his best form as well, although I recall Jason McLoughlin (I think) did a good number on him in the 2020 final.

I don't get the opinion that we can just casually dismiss Cavan. I have confidence in Donegal getting a result, but Cavan are no mugs that's for sure. Their u20's were unlucky against Tyrone recently, and we all know the success they had underage in the last decade. They'll hold no fear of Donegal, and much like the appeals saga lending itself to a siege mentality for Donegal last Sunday, I can imagine the media dismissing Cavan's chances being like catnip to Mickey Graham in terms of motivation.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9147 - 27/04/2022 10:14:01    2413519

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Yeah, easily. McKiernan, Faulkner, Thomas Galligan would be fit to start in your team. Likes of Gerry Smith, Paddy Lynch, McLaughlin, Gunner Brady might not start but would be decent additions to your panel. Aw I'm loving this stuff. You're doing the exact same as 2020, in thinking you're far better than you are, and this can come before a fall as we saw before.

Cavan did get their tactics right that day, very right. And that was with the ref actually riding us. You did the bulk of your scoring in the 1st black card period (which was a joke). Rest of the game you did very little. That's more than just tactics. Bonner has flattered to deceive last number of years, and chatting with my Donegal outlaws, he'd not be there this year only for no viable alternatives. Who's to say he's going to win the tactical battle again? Graham is a good Championship manager and is canny and will have something.

Donegal weren't perfect Sunday, and any decent team would have been able to find scores that Armagh seemed fit to miss constantly when they had the impetus. Like Donegal are favourites Sunday week, and rightly so, but this will be a tight battle on all known Championship form and prior history. You say it's a completely different prospect, but you're acting the exact same way as 2020, so bring that on. If it was different, you wouldn't be talking like that. You need to look past just the League."
Loughduff Lad. You need to start being realistic. We miles behind Donegal even on both performances last weekend. The speed of their players . Their off the ball movement alone. Yes Armagh had chances they didn't take. We are playing at a slower pace and telegram everything we do.
Unless they collapse totally we are looking at a 6/7 point defeat.
Yes you can dream and you are entitled to . But being realistic I seen nothing more than a convincing Donegal win.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 27/04/2022 10:25:23    2413523

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Yeah, easily. McKiernan, Faulkner, Thomas Galligan would be fit to start in your team. Likes of Gerry Smith, Paddy Lynch, McLaughlin, Gunner Brady might not start but would be decent additions to your panel. Aw I'm loving this stuff. You're doing the exact same as 2020, in thinking you're far better than you are, and this can come before a fall as we saw before.

Donegal weren't perfect Sunday, and any decent team would have been able to find scores that Armagh seemed fit to miss constantly when they had the impetus. Like Donegal are favourites Sunday week, and rightly so, but this will be a tight battle on all known Championship form and prior history. You say it's a completely different prospect, but you're acting the exact same way as 2020, so bring that on. If it was different, you wouldn't be talking like that. You need to look past just the League."
Look, I'm just calling out my opinion. I haven't once mentioned the league. Donegal were poor in the league yet ended up in 4th I think it was. At the end of the day when it comes to who the better team is you can't argue with who is better. 2020 was 2 seasons ago. What if we all looked back to 2019. It's 2022 and in my opinion I don't think there will be any battle on the day. I think if Donegal meet a good team like Kerry or Mayo we could be in trouble unless we evolve our style of play but the style of play that Donegal are playing at the minute will make light work of a poor Cavan team (My opinion).

I'd say out of the three players you mentioned, McKiernan would be the only player that would start (My opinion). He's been your most consistent player. To say if you take Murphy and McHugh out of the team we are bang average is just laughable coming from a Cavan man. Beat Donegal once in about 20 years, in a game Donegal was reluctantly looking forward to the AI semi final, and youse think Donegal people are getting ahead of themselves because we think we will win easily enough. It's a prediction and not every prediction is right. I just think it'll be easy money for Donegal. Again, my opinion.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 27/04/2022 10:28:41    2413526

Cavan are a different beast come Championship there's no doubt about that. Cavan folks will love any perceived dismissiveness and I'm happy for yous to run with it, one or two posters on Hoganstand can turn into the whole of Donegal saying we'll win by 20 points handy enough, sure it's all part of the craic.

I don't think the panel or management will be thinking that way and I actually think the Cavan defeat in 2020 is a huge point of hurt for this group so I fully expect them to be focussed and wanting to make amends. Cavan won't fold over so it'll be closer than the 2019 game that's for sure, however I do think we will win out in the end by 5 or 6 after a tight enough 60/65 mins say.

If I'm wrong, I'm wrong, it's not meant as disrespect to Cavan sure how could we disrespect a side that beat us so comprehensively in 2020. It should have been more that day and the ref helped Donegal out quite a bit as well. Cavan folks will be seeing the similarities to back then as well considering we beat Armagh so handily in the game before and had convinced ourselves that was the big test! But there's no doubt in my mind we'll have a rougher time of it against Cavan than we did against Armagh. Cavan have proven themselves to be a much better side than Armagh come Championship.

To get into the actual tactics/personnel, while I'm a huge fan of both Peadar Mogan and Ryan McHugh, this is the type of game I really don't think we'll get away with having both of them in the half back line. We need a bit more physicality around there I think. I also think if Cavan give us the short kickout we need to be a lot better prepared on how we get up the pitch than we were against Armagh. Because if we mess about like we did at the start of the 2nd half against Armagh, Cavan will lap that up with their tackling. I'd actually like Patton to go long more often even if the short one is on, because if Jason McGee carries on his form (and is fit) I think we have the big men around to win that battle against Cavan though of course it will be much tougher than the Armagh test. I just think the likes of McGee and Langan are that bit more mature to be able to deal with Cavan and the likes of Thomas Galligan so I'd not be as worried about going long on the kickout if we need to.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/04/2022 10:38:11    2413531

It's funny as well how people remember things differently. I remember in the run up to 2020 that the majority of Donegal posters on here were saying we shouldn't take Cavan for granted, but that if we wanted to have a crack at the Dubs we should be beating them. I myself was like a broken record saying how few Ulster titles we had, how rare it was to win 3-in-a-row and how hard that was to do and had posters from down the country going on about Donegal playing the poor mouth and that we'd beat Cavan pulling up. So while it suits the "narrative" for Cavan people to say Donegal were dismissive in 2020 and are being dismissive again, it's not how I remember it!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/04/2022 10:41:10    2413534

Replying To JoeSoap:  "It's funny as well how people remember things differently. I remember in the run up to 2020 that the majority of Donegal posters on here were saying we shouldn't take Cavan for granted, but that if we wanted to have a crack at the Dubs we should be beating them. I myself was like a broken record saying how few Ulster titles we had, how rare it was to win 3-in-a-row and how hard that was to do and had posters from down the country going on about Donegal playing the poor mouth and that we'd beat Cavan pulling up. So while it suits the "narrative" for Cavan people to say Donegal were dismissive in 2020 and are being dismissive again, it's not how I remember it!"
that's true of course also. in Cavan's case people were calling us cute after the game for being dismissive of our own chances, as if a poster on Hoganstand had anything to do with the outcome of the game!!!!!
you would expect a Donegal win here, all logic points to one, but i suppose you never know

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 27/04/2022 11:24:47    2413546

Lads, it's all in good fun. I'm enjoying the build up, and just throwing stuff in to see what's the thoughts. I know rightly it was just a few posters on this forum, but that's the fun.

However Donegal did take their eye off the ball 18 months ago. I think if anything it was the media who bigged them up to be the challenger to that Dublin team, and the final would be a mere formality. This Donegal team will not fall for it this time. But it is funny seeing some posters do the exact same as 18 months ago

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 27/04/2022 12:06:24    2413566

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Lads, it's all in good fun. I'm enjoying the build up, and just throwing stuff in to see what's the thoughts. I know rightly it was just a few posters on this forum, but that's the fun.

However Donegal did take their eye off the ball 18 months ago. I think if anything it was the media who bigged them up to be the challenger to that Dublin team, and the final would be a mere formality. This Donegal team will not fall for it this time. But it is funny seeing some posters do the exact same as 18 months ago"
The real Donegal supporters and players and management will not take Cavan lightly. Cavan are a real championship team with a proud tradition. Hopefully our lads are up for it, I am a bit nervous there's a lot at stake. Hopefully the weather is good and we get a big support behind us. Can't wait…I see the games in clones.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 27/04/2022 12:30:50    2413575

Always a good day out with the Cavan Gaels. Looking forward to getting back to Clones for a few pints in the Paragon and hopefully a good game of football. May the best team win!

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 805 - 27/04/2022 12:53:11    2413587

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Lads, it's all in good fun. I'm enjoying the build up, and just throwing stuff in to see what's the thoughts. I know rightly it was just a few posters on this forum, but that's the fun.

However Donegal did take their eye off the ball 18 months ago. I think if anything it was the media who bigged them up to be the challenger to that Dublin team, and the final would be a mere formality. This Donegal team will not fall for it this time. But it is funny seeing some posters do the exact same as 18 months ago"
Ah yeah I agree it's funny to see some people so confident, yes I am confident that we can win but I certainly wouldn't be rushing to put money on it or predicting score margins with any degree of confidence. I would take a 1 point win right now. The Cavan players have beaten us in Ulster, so it's not a huge push for them to be convinced they can do so again, whereas Armagh don't have a good record against us for many years. These things to play into it so Cavan will be right up for this. We have to be very well prepared.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 27/04/2022 13:05:29    2413594

Replying To rorysboys:  "The real Donegal supporters and players and management will not take Cavan lightly. Cavan are a real championship team with a proud tradition. Hopefully our lads are up for it, I am a bit nervous there's a lot at stake. Hopefully the weather is good and we get a big support behind us. Can't wait…I see the games in clones."
The Real Donegal supporters haha? Do you speak for all real Donegal supporters now? Are you the spokesperson for all of us here in Donegal or just the Real Donegal Supporters?

I'm not taking Cavan lightly, I'm just calling out as it is. Realistically, Donegal should not have any bother putting away Cavan. Of course, there's always a chance they could spring a surprise, Im not saying that's not possible but being realistic it should be an easy win for Donegal.

What have Cavan done in the Senior Championship in the last 25 years bar winning an out of the ordinary Ulster Championship in 2020 to suggest they are a "Real Championship Team" as you say? Such Baloney every time you type something.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 27/04/2022 13:30:05    2413611

Replying To MurphBalls:  "The Real Donegal supporters haha? Do you speak for all real Donegal supporters now? Are you the spokesperson for all of us here in Donegal or just the Real Donegal Supporters?

I'm not taking Cavan lightly, I'm just calling out as it is. Realistically, Donegal should not have any bother putting away Cavan. Of course, there's always a chance they could spring a surprise, Im not saying that's not possible but being realistic it should be an easy win for Donegal.

What have Cavan done in the Senior Championship in the last 25 years bar winning an out of the ordinary Ulster Championship in 2020 to suggest they are a "Real Championship Team" as you say? Such Baloney every time you type something."
Just my opinion lad, am I not allowed to have one. You seem to have a gripe with everything I say. Care to explain lad. Are you for clones Sunday week.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 27/04/2022 13:51:04    2413618

Replying To MurphBalls:  "The Real Donegal supporters haha? Do you speak for all real Donegal supporters now? Are you the spokesperson for all of us here in Donegal or just the Real Donegal Supporters?

What have Cavan done in the Senior Championship in the last 25 years bar winning an out of the ordinary Ulster Championship in 2020 to suggest they are a "Real Championship Team" as you say? Such Baloney every time you type something."
Donegal should win that game pulling up. It's Division 1 vs. Division 4 after all. The venue might help Cavan a little bit, but cannot see them getting anywhere near Donegal.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1921 - 27/04/2022 13:51:26    2413619

What's 25 years got to do with last few years? We're on about the here and now, and the players that Cavan have and the experience they have. Cavan's record in Ulster last 4 years under Graham is Played 10, Won 7, Drew 1, Lost 2 and there is a spine of a team there with Ulster medals and who have won more often than lost in Ulster. We were brutal back in the 00s, so not sure why going back 25 years has anything to do with the game next weekend bud...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 27/04/2022 13:53:31    2413620

This is the makings of a great game.

Cavan have form, regardless of their division 4 status. They scored 1-20 away from home and will take a lot of confidence from that. They also wont fear us after the ulster final 18 months ago. They also will have a good following in their neighbouring clones.

We also will relish a run out in clones again. The players will feel that they didnt perform to their full potential in the ulster final v cavan, which may or may not be a motivating factor in the forthcoming semis. We have good league form too, and a good win against Armagh will give players some confidence. There are players who are hitting form who havent done so for us before.

Lots to be excited about coming into this fixture. Its there for the taking for either team. The team who wants it badly enough should edge it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/04/2022 14:00:47    2413622

Replying To rorysboys:  "Just my opinion lad, am I not allowed to have one. You seem to have a gripe with everything I say. Care to explain lad. Are you for clones Sunday week."
No you are well entitled to your opinion lad. I suppose you can call it what comes around goes around! When a lot of us Donegal supporters (You probably call us fake supporters at this stage) voice an opinion that Bonner isn't the right man for the job anymore you seem to jump to position of "gripe" so I suppose I'm a bit like yourself!

I will not be for Clones on Sunday Week but I'm sure I'll catch it on TV somewhere ;). I suppose I'm not a real Donegal Supporter now because I won't be there?

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 27/04/2022 14:40:53    2413649

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "What's 25 years got to do with last few years? We're on about the here and now, and the players that Cavan have and the experience they have. Cavan's record in Ulster last 4 years under Graham is Played 10, Won 7, Drew 1, Lost 2 and there is a spine of a team there with Ulster medals and who have won more often than lost in Ulster. We were brutal back in the 00s, so not sure why going back 25 years has anything to do with the game next weekend bud..."
I'm just trying to understand how Cavan are a "Real Championship Team" as mentioned by RorysBoys. Normally with a statement like that you are referencing it from historical results which I don't really know if Cavan can be given a title of a "Real Championship Team" based on historical results from the past 25 years. It just sounds silly to think that let alone say it.

Look you can throw all the stats you want at it but I'm not going to sit here and dilly dally around the fact that Donegal will beat Cavan and beat them easy. Or at least they should. I'm not going to tell you that Cavan will be a real test for us now and it'll be a tight affair because in my opinion I think Donegal will hammer Cavan. Just being realistic that's all...... bud.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 27/04/2022 15:02:39    2413658